Country Governance

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Comoros In Brief

Basic Information

Country Flag:
Country Map: United Nations Maps: Comoros
Country Name: Comoros known officially as the Union of the Comoros.
Name of Capital City: Moroni
Date of Independence: Comoros gained independence from France on July 6, 1975.

Administrative Divisions

Regions, Provinces or Governorates: 3 autonomous islands: Anjouan, Grande Comore and Mohéli.
Country Area (sq km): 1862
Population (million): 0.6 (2007)
Population, annual growth rate (%) 1975-2005: 3.1
Population, estimated growth rate (%) 2005-2015: 2.3

Political System

Type of State: Federal Republic
Date of Constitution: The Constitution of the Union of the Comoros was ratified by referendum on December 23, 2001.

Head of State

Type: head of state and head of government.
Name of Current: Ahmed Abdallah M. Sambi succeeded Colonel Azali Assoumani, Army Chief of Staff on May 14, 2006.

Executive Branch

About: The head of state is the head of government and the executive power is exercised by the government.
Name of Current: Ahmed Abdallah M. Sambi.

Legislative Branch

Type: Federal legislative power is vested in both the government and parliament.
- Assembly of the Union [French]


- See Also: Comoros - Election Calendar and Results

Human Development Indicators

Human development index (HDI): 0.428 (2010)
HDI rank (worldwide): 140 (2010)
Adult literacy rate (% aged 15 and older): 75.1 (2007)
Female secondary gross enrollment (%): 30.2 (2005)
Gross enrollment, tertiary level education (%): 2.3 (2004)
Life expectancy at birth (years): 10.706 (2010)
Poverty index (HP1-1) value (%): 20.4 (2007)
GDP per capita (PPP US$): 1176.072 (2010)
GDP per capita (PPP US$) rank minus HDI rank: 12 (2010)
* See more human development indicators on Arab Statistics (external link)

Judiciary Branch

Legal system and codification: The Comorian legal system rests on Islamic law, an inherited French (Napoleonic code) legal code, and customary law (mila na ntsi).
Administration: The judiciary is independent of the legislative and the executive.
Supreme Court: As High Court of Justice, the Supreme Court also arbitrates in cases where the government is accused of malpractice. The Supreme Court consists of two members selected by the president, two elected by the Federal Assembly, and one by the council of each island. The Supreme Court acts also as a Constitutional Council in resolving constitutional questions and supervising presidential elections.
Constitutional Court: The Supreme Court acts as a Constitutional Council in resolving constitutional questions and supervising presidential elections.
Shari'a or Personal Status: The Comorian legal system rests on Islamic law.

Membership in International Organizations

United Nations (UN):
International Monetary Fund (IMF):
World Trade Organization (WTO):
Rome Statute for the International Criminal Court (ICC):
World Bank – International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD):
World Bank – International Finance Corporation (IFC):
World Bank – Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency (MIGA):
World Bank – International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID):

Ratification of International Conventions

- Human Rights Conventions
- International Labor Organization (ILO) Conventions
- UN Conventions against Corruption and Transnational Organized Crime
- Environment Treaties