إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: حقوق الإنسان: ليبيا
يمكنكم أيضا
 

المواثيق الدولية

انضمت ليبيا إلى اتفاقيات الأمم المتحدة الرئيسية السبع المعنية بحقوق الإنسان وهي: "العهدان الدوليان الخاصان بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية"، و"الحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية"(1970), و"اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز العنصري"(1968), و"اتفاقية القضاء جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة"(1989), و"اتفاقية مناهضة التعذيب وغيره من ضروب المعاملة أو العقوبة القاسية أو اللاإنسانية أو المهينة"(1989)، و "اتفاقية حقوق الطفل" (1993)، و"اتفاقية حماية العمال المهاجرين وأفراد أسرهم"(2004). كما انضمت إلى "البروتوكول الاختياري الأول الملحق بالعهد الدولي للحقوق المدنية والسياسية", بشأن تقديم الشكاوى من قبل الأفراد (1989), و"البروتوكول الاختياري لاتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة" (2004), و"البروتوكولان الاختياريان لاتفاقية حقوق الطفل" بشأن اشتراك الأطفال في النزاعات المسلحة، وبيع الأطفال، واستغلال الأطفال في البغاء وفي المواد الإباحية (18/6/2004).

انضمت ليبيا أيضاً إلى اتفاقيات منظمة العمل الدولية الثماني المعنية بحقوق الإنسان وهي: "الاتفاقيتان (87) و(98) المعنيتان بحرية التجمع والمفاوضة الجماعية" (2000, 1962 على التوالي)، و"الاتفاقيتان (29) و(105) المعنيتان بالقضاء على السخرة والعمل الإجباري"(1961)، و"الاتفاقيتان (100) و(111) المعنيتان بالقضاء على التمييز في شغل الوظائف" (1962، 1975 على التوالي), و"الاتفاقيتان (138) و(182) المعنيتان بمنع استخدام الأطفال والقاصرين" (1975، 2000 على التوالي).

تحفظت ليبيا على أحكام بعض الاتفاقيات التي صادقت عليها على النحو التالي:
العهدان الدوليان : إعلان بأن انضمام ليبيا إلى العهدين لا ينطوي على الاعتراف بإسرائيل أو الدخول في أية علاقة معها
- "اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز العنصري": تحفظ عام بأن انضمامها للاتفاقية لا ينطوي على أي اعتراف بإسرائيل. وعدم الالتزام بالمادة (22), والتي تتعلق بسبل حل النزاع بين الدول الأطراف حول تفسير الاتفاقية أو تطبيقها.
- "اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة": المادة (2), التي تتعلق بتعهد الدول الأطراف بإدماج مبدأ المساواة بين الرجل والمرأة في دساتيرها الوطنية وتشريعاتها, وكفالة التحقيق العملي لهذا المبدأ، وحظر كل تمييز ضد المرأة، حيث ذكرت أن هذا المبدأ سيطبق في إطار مبادئ الشريعة الإسلامية. وعلى المادة (16/ف1), التي تلزم الدول الأطراف باتخاذ جميع التدابير المناسبة للقضاء على التمييز ضد المرأة في الأمور المتعلقة بالزواج والعلاقات العائلية؛ حيث اشترطت ألا يتعارض ما جاء في هاتين الفقرتين مع ما كفلته الشريعة الإسلامية للمرأة من حقوق. والمادة (22), التي تتعلق بحق الوكالات المتخصصة في أن توفد من يمثلها لدى النظر فيما يقع في نطاق أعمالها من أحكام هذه الاتفاقيات.

أعلى الصفحة

المواثيق الإقليمية

أما بالنسبة للمواثيق الإقليمية، فقد وافقت ليبيا على "إعلان القاهرة لحقوق الإنسان في الإسلام" الصادر عن مؤتمر وزراء خارجية الدول الإسلامية عام 1990, وهو وثيقة إرشادية لا تحتاج إلى تصديق. كما صادقت أيضاً على "الميثاق العربي لحقوق الإنسان/المعدل", الذي اعتمدته القمة العربية في تونس في مايو/أيار 2004, ولم يدخل بعد حيز النفاذ. وانضمت كذلك إلى "الميثاق الأفريقي لحقوق الإنسان والشعوب"(1983). وصادقت في على "البروتوكول الاختياري الملحق بالميثاق الأفريقي لحقوق الإنسان والشعوب", الذي ينص على تأسيس المحكمة الأفريقية لحقوق الإنسان والشعوب (فبراير/شباط 2004).

أعلى الصفحة

مؤسسات حقوق الإنسان

لا توجد في ليبيا منظمات غير حكومية مستقلة لحقوق الإنسان، ويتوافر بها بعض الهياكل الحكومية المعنية بحقوق المرأة، وبعض المنظمات المرتبطة بالحكومة, مثل: "اللجنة الليبية لحقوق الإنسان". ورغم ذلك فقد انبثقت عن "مؤسسة القذافي العالمية للجمعيات الخيرية"، التي يرأسها "سيف الإسلام القذافي" أحد أبناء العقيد القذافي، جمعية لحقوق الإنسان في ديسمبر/كانون أول 1998 عملت بنشاط في مجال تعزيز حقوق الإنسان؛ حيث أطلقت حملات واسعة للإفراج عن المعتقلين والسجناء السياسيين, تبعها الإفراج عن أعداد كبيرة منهم، كما أطلقت حملة ضد التعذيب في ليبيا والشرق الأوسط, وقامت بزيارة أماكن الاعتقال وقدمت توصيات بتحسين أوضاعها.

أعلى الصفحة

إنجازات على طريق الحكم الرشيد

1- النهوض بأوضاع المرأة, وشمل ذلك إدماج المرأة في جميع مجالات التنمية, بزيادة نسبة مشاركتها في النشاطات الاقتصادية والاجتماعية وكذا في النظام التشريعي أيضاً، وإتاحة عملها في كل المجالات - بما في ذلك السلك القضائي والقوات المسلحة - وشغل الوظائف العليا والتمثيل الدبلوماسي.
2- إلغاء محكمة الشعب (2005), التي كانت موضع انتقادات متواصلة محلياً ودولياً لغياب شروط العدالة فيها وانتهاجها نهجاً غليظاً في العقوبات، والفصل بين وزارتي الداخلية والعدل، والشروع في إعداد قانون جديد للعقوبات.
3- واصلت الحكومة سياسة إطلاق سراح أعداد كبيرة من المعتقلين والسجناء السياسيين على دفعات والتي تتبعها منذ العام 2001، حيث أصدرت في العام 2006 عفواً عن 132 سجيناً سياسياً، بعد أن أمضى معظم المفرج عنهم أكثر من سبع سنوات رهن الاحتجاز بسبب نشاطات سياسية سلمية، إثر محاكمة غير منصفة.
4- رفعت السلطات الليبية في العام 2003 القيود المفروضة على سفر الآلاف من المواطنين الليبيين الذين منعوا من مغادرة البلاد، ومنذ ذلك الحين استعاد العديد منهم جوازات سفرهم. وألغت منذ العام 2005 شرط موافقة مكتب الاتصال في اللجان الثورية لإيفاد الموظفين والطلبة للعمل أو الدراسة في الخارج. وألغت أيضا شرط موافقة مكتب الاتصال على تعيين أعضاء هيئة التدريس في الجامعات الليبية، وتعيين موظفي السفارات الليبية في الخارج.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Human Rights: Libya
You may also
 

International Conventions

Libya has acceded to the seven major United Nations conventions on human rights, namely: the two International Covenants on Civil and Political Rights; on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (1970), the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (1968), the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (1989), the Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (1989), the Convention on the Rights of the Child (1993), and the Convention on the Protection of Migrant Workers and Members of their Families (2004). Moreover, Libya has signed the first optional protocol attached to the Covenant on Civil and Political Rights concerning filing complaints by individuals (1989), and the optional protocol of the convention on Eliminating All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (2004); and the two optional protocols of the Rights of the Child Convention concerned with the involvement of children in armed conflicts, sale of children, exploiting children in prostitution and pornographic materials (18/6/2004).

Libya has also acceded to the eight International Labour Organization (ILO) conventions on human rights, namely: the two conventions (87 and 98) on Freedom of Association and Collective Bargaining (2000 and 1962 respectively), the two conventions (29 and 105) on Forced or Compulsory Labour (1961), the two conventions (100 and 111) concerning the Elimination of Discrimination in Respect of Employment and Occupation (1962 and 1975 respectively), and the two conventions (138 and 182) pertaining to Forbidding the Employment of Children and Minors (1975 and 2000 respectively).

Libya made reservations on certain provisions of the conventions it acceded to:
- The two international covenants: declared that acceding to the two covenants does not imply recognizing Israel or establishing any relations with Israel.
- The International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination: general reservation stating that its accession to the convention does not imply recognizing Israel. Libya is not committed to article (22) pertaining to ways of resolving conflict among states over interpreting or implementing the convention.
- The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women: article (2) on the obligation of states to integrate the principle of gender equality in their constitutions and national legislation, and guaranteeing actual realization of this principle. Libya said the principle would be applied according to Islamic law (Shari'a). Article (16/1) that commits states to take proper measures to eliminate discrimination against women in marriage and family affairs. Libya abides by women's rights guaranteed by Islamic Shari'a. Article (22) concerning the right of specialized agencies to send their representatives to the country in question to assess its commitment to the provisions of the convention.

Top of this page

Regional Charters

Libya has agreed to the "Cairo Declaration on Human Rights in Islam" issued in 1990 by foreign ministers of Muslim countries. The declaration is a guiding document that does not require ratification. Libya also ratified to the "Arab Charter of Human Rights/Amended" prepared by the Arab Summit in Tunisia in May 2004, which did not gain force yet. It also ratified the "African Charter for Human and Peoples' Rights (1986); The African Charter on the Rights and Welfare of The Child (2003); the protocol on establishing the African Court for Human and Peoples' Rights; and the protocol on Women's Rights (2004).

Top of this page

Human Rights Institutions

There are no independent non-governmental human rights organizations in Libya. However, there are some governmental structures and some organizations attached to the government that are concerned with women's issues, such as the Libyan Human Rights Committee. In December 1998, Al-Qaddafi International Association of Philanthropic Societies established a human rights organization that launched wide scale campaigns for the release of political prisoners. It succeeded in releasing large numbers of political prisoners under the "Waves of Freedom" campaign. It also launched an anti-torture campaign in Libya and the Middle East. It also visited detention centers and presented its recommendations on improving their condition.

Top of this page

Achievements on the Road to Good Governance

1. Advancing women's condition through integrating them in all fields of development, increasing their participation in economic and social activities, and in the legislative system. Enabling women to work in all sectors, including the judiciary and armed forces. Women also occupy high level jobs. They are also employed in the diplomatic sector.
2. Taking steps towards enhancing justice in the judicial system by abolishing the "People's Court" (2005) that was under constant local and international criticism for lack of the prerequisites of justice in its procedures and for its very heavy sentences. Separation between the interior and justice ministries, and working on a new penal code.
3. Since 2001, the government pursued releasing large numbers of detainees and political prisoners successively. It issued in 2006 an amnesty for 132 political prisoners, some of whom were sentenced to more than 7 years in prison in an unfair trial for carrying out peaceful political activities.
4. In 2003 Libyan authorities lifted the ban imposed on thousands of Libyan citizens to leave the country. Libyan government is encouraging citizens living abroad to return to Libya by offering them guarantees that they would not be prosecuted after their return.
5. The General Popular Committee removed in 2005 the pre-condition of obtaining the approval of the Revolutionary Committees on sending public employees or students to work or study abroad. It also removed the pre-condition of obtaining the "Liaison Office" approval on appointing Libyan university professors and embassies' staff. These measures were taken in the context of restricting the power of Revolutionary Committees and their meddling in local affairs.
6. The General Popular Committee has adopted two resolutions in 2005. The first resolution asserts that public medical treatment and hospitalization are offered to citizens free of charge. The second resolution forbids health sector employees to work in both the public and the private health sectors at the same time.

Top of this page