إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: حقوق الإنسان: قطر
يمكنكم أيضا
 

المواثيق الدولية

صادقت قطر على أربعة من اتفاقيات الأمم المتحدة السبع الرئيسية المعنية بحقوق الإنسان, وهى: "اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز العنصري" (1976), و"اتفاقية مناهضة التعذيب وغيره من ضروب المعاملة أو العقوبة القاسية أو اللاإنسانية أو المهينة" (2000),"اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة" (2009) و"اتفاقية حقوق الطفل" (1995). وانضمت إلى "البروتوكولين الاختيارين الأول والثاني الملحقين باتفاقية حقوق الطفل" الخاصين باشتراك الأطفال في النزاعات المسلحة (2002)، وبيع الأطفال واستغلال الأطفال في البغاء والمواد الإباحية (2001).

صادقت قطر كذلك على خمس من اتفاقيات منظمة العمل الدولية الثماني المعنية بحقوق الإنسان، وهي: "الاتفاقية رقم (29) المتعلقة بالعمل الإجباري" (1998), و"الاتفاقية رقم (111) بشأن منع التمييز في العمل وشغل الوظائف" (1976), و"الاتفاقية رقم (182) المتعلقة بأسوأ أشكال تشغيل الأطفال" (2000) والإتفاقية رقم (138) بشأن الحد الأدنى للسن (2006) والإتفاقية رقم (105) بشأن إلغاء العمل الإجباري (2007).

تحفظت قطر على عدد من أحكام الاتفاقيات التي انضمت إليها على النحو التالي:
- اتفاقية مناهضة التعذيب: تحفظ عام على أي تفسير لما ورد في أحكام الاتفاقية يتعارض مع مبادئ القانون الإسلامي والديانة الإسلامية. إضافة إلى اختصاصات اللجنة المنصوص عليها في المادتين (21، 22) من الاتفاقية.
- اتفاقية مناهضة التعذيب: تحفظ عام يتعلق بكل ما يتعارض مع كل أحكام القانون والدين الإسلامي، وكذا على المادتين (21) و(22) المتعلقتين بصلاحية لجنة مناهضة التعذيب.
- اتفاقية حقوق الطفل: سحب جزئي للتحفظ الذي أبدته دولة قطر على بعض النصوص التي تتعارض مع أحكام الشريعة الإسلامية في اتفاقية حقوق الطفل لعام 1989. وظلّ هذا التحفظ ساريا فقط ضمن النطاق المحدود في إطار أحكام المادتين (2) و (14) من الاتفاقية.
-اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة: المادة 2 (أ) لأنها تتعارض مع أحكام المادة 8 من الدستور. المادة 9 الفقرة 2، لأنها تتعارض مع قانون الجنسية القطرية. المادة 15 الفقرة 1، لمخالفتها أحكام الشريعة الإسلامية. المادة 15 الفقرة 4، لمخالفتها أحكام قانون الأسرة والأعراف السائدة. المادة 16، الفقرة 1 (أ) و (ج) لمخالفتها أحكام الشريعة الإسلامية. المادة 16، الفقرة 1 (و)، لمخالفتها أحكام الشريعة الإسلامية وقانون الأسرة.

أعلى الصفحة

المواثيق الإقليمية

أما بالنسبة للمواثيق الإقليمية فقد وافقت قطر على "إعلان القاهرة لحقوق الإنسان في الإسلام", الصادر عن مؤتمر وزراء خارجية الدول الإسلامية عام 1990، وهو وثيقة إرشادية لا تحتاج لتصديق. ووافقت أيضاً على "الميثاق العربي لحقوق الإنسان/المعدل", الذي اعتمدته القمة العربية في تونس في مايو/أيار 2004, لكنها لم تصادق عليه شأن معظم الدول العربية.

أعلى الصفحة

مؤسسات حقوق الإنسان

تتوافر في قطر بعض المؤسسات الحكومية التي تعنى بحقوق الإنسان, كالمجلس الأعلى لشئون الأسرة، وإدارة حقوق الإنسان في كل من وزارتي الخارجية والداخلية.
كما توجد في قطر أيضاً مؤسسة وطنية, هي "اللجنة الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان", والتي أنشئت بموجب مرسوم أميري في 12 نوفمبر/تشرين ثان 2002؛ بهدف تحقيق الأهداف الواردة في الاتفاقيات والمواثيق الدولية ذات الصلة، ومراجعة التشريعات لبيان ملاءمتها لمبادئ حقوق الإنسان، والنظر في الشكاوى المتعلقة بحقوق الإنسان واقتراح سبل معالجتها، ورصد ملاحظات المنظمات الدولية والمنظمات غير الحكومية المعنية بحقوق الإنسان, ونشر ثقافة حقوق الإنسان. ويضم تشكيلها عدداً من الشخصيات العامة وبعض الوزراء.
ورغم ابتعادها عن معايير باريس، بثقل المكون الحكومي في تشكيلها، فقد أظهرت اللجنة جدية في تعاملها مع قضايا حقوق الإنسان, وتعرضت لقضايا حساسة على الساحة الوطنية، وعكست تقاريرها قراءة نقدية للتشريعات الوطنية التي لا تتلاءم مع المعايير الدولية وأوصت بتعديلها. وترفع اللجنة تقارير دورية للحكومة، كما تصدر تقريراً سنوياً، ولها موقع على شبكة الإنترنت. (www.nhrc.org.qa).

أعلى الصفحة

إنجازات على طريق الحكم الرشيد

1- إصدار دستور جديد في 8 يونيو/حزيران 2004 دخل حيز النفاذ في 7 يونيو/حزيران 2005 كفل جملة من الحقوق والحريات الأساسية وفي مقدمتها المساواة أمام القانون، وحظر التمييز، وعدم تقييد حرية الأشخاص إلا وفقاً لقانون، وأكد على ضمان الحريات العامة, وخاصة حرية الصحافة والتعبير وإنشاء الجمعيات ودور العبادة, وأرسى مبدأ الفصل بين السلطات التنفيذية والتشريعية والقضائية، كما تضمنت أحكامه إنشاء مجلس شورى منتخب يتكون من (45) عضواً يتم اختيار ثلثيهم بالانتخاب المباشر ويعين أمير البلاد الباقين.
2- إصدار قانون جديد للعقوبات (رقم 13 لسنة 2004)، وآخر للإجراءات الجنائية (رقم 23 لسنة 2004), يجرم الأول التعذيب ويغلظ العقوبة على مرتكبيه، ويؤكدان على حرمة الحياة الخاصة.
3- رفع الرقابة المباشرة عن الصحف، والاكتفاء بالرقابة الذاتية ابتداءً من العام 1995, وإلغاء وزارة الإعلام, والترخيص لقناة فضائية خاصة هي قناة الجزيرة التي أحدثت نقلة نوعية في الحريات الإعلامية على الساحة العربية, وتأسيس منابر ثابتة للحوارات الدولية حول "الديمقراطية والتجارة الحرة"، و "حوار الأديان".
4- إصدار قانون جديد في مايو/أيار 2004 يسمح للمواطنين بحق تكوين وإنشاء الجمعيات المهنية، ويسمح لغير المواطنين بالانضمام لهذه الجمعيات المهنية, وإن كان لا يتيح لهم تشكيل جمعيات خاصة بهم وحدهم.
5- إصدار قانون جديد للعمل في 19/5/2004 يمنح العمال لأول مرة حق تكون تنظيمات عمالية، ويجيز للعمال الحق في الإضراب عن العمل في حال تعذر التسوية الودية مع أرباب العمل, عدا العاملين في المرافق الحيوية، وساوى القانون بين المرأة والرجل في الحقوق والواجبات.
6- إصدار قانون جديد في شهر نوفمبر/ تشرين ثان 2004 يجيز عقد الاجتماعات العامة وتنظيم المسيرات بترخيص مسبق من وزارة الداخلية. 7- مصادقة مجلس الشورى على مشروع قانون يحظر استخدام الأطفال في سباق الهجن ويفرض عقوبة على المخالفين بالسجن مدة شهر وغرامة مقدارها 6000 ريال, ويحدد السن الأدنى للمشاركين في السباقات بـ18 سنة.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Human Rights: Qatar
You may also
 

International Conventions

Qatar has acceded to four of the seven major United Nations conventions on human rights, namely: the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (1976), the Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (2000), the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (2009), and the Convention on the Rights of the Child (1995). Qatar also acceded to the first and second optional protocols attached to the Rights of the Child Convention. The first protocol concerns the involvement of children in armed conflicts (2002) and the second protocol concerns the sale of children and exploiting them in prostitution and pornographic materials (2001).

Qatar has also acceded to five of the eight International Labour Organization (ILO) conventions concerning human rights, namely: Convention (29) on Forced Labour (1998); Convention (111) on the Prevention of Discrimination in Respect of Employment and Occupation (1976); Convention (182) on Worst Forms of Child Labour (2000), Convention (138) on the Minimum Age (2006), and Convention (105) on the Abolition of Forced Labour (2007).

Qatar made reservations on certain provisions of the conventions it acceded to:
- The Convention Against Torture: general reservation on any interpretation of the convention's provisions that contradicts the principles of Islamic law and religion, as well as on the jurisdiction of the committee stipulated in article (21 and 22) of the Convention.
- The Convention on Rights of the Child: Qatar partially lifted its reservations on some articles contradicting the Islamic law in the CRC of 1989. However, Qatar has kept its reservations on article (2) and (14).
- The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women: Article 2 (a) as it is inconsistent with the provisions of article 8 of the Constitution. Article 9, paragraph 2, as it is inconsistent with Qatar’s law on citizenship. Article 15, paragraph 1, as it is inconsistent with the provisions of Islamic law. Article 15, paragraph 4, as it is inconsistent with the provisions of family law and established practice. Article 16, paragraph 1 (a) and (c), as they are inconsistent with the provisions of Islamic law. Article 16, paragraph 1 (f), as it is inconsistent with the provisions of Islamic law and family law.

Top of this page

Regional Charters

Qatar has agreed to the "Cairo Declaration on Human Rights in Islam" issued in 1990 by foreign ministers of Muslim countries. The declaration is a guiding document that does not require ratification. Qatar also acceded to the "Arab Charter of Human Rights/Amended" prepared by the Arab Summit in Tunisia in May 2004. Qatar did not ratify the charter just like most Arab countries.

Top of this page

Human Rights Institutions

There are few governmental institutions that care for human rights, such as The Higher Council for Family Affairs, and the human rights administration at the ministries of foreign affairs and the interior. There is also a national institution called "The National Committee for Human Rights" that was established by an Amiri decree on November 12, 2002. Its functions include realizing the goals of the international charters and conventions on human rights; reviewing existing legislation to make sure that it is consistent with the principles of human rights; hearing complaints concerning human rights and suggesting ways of addressing them; and disseminating the culture of human rights. The National Committee is composed of public personalities and some ministers. Although this committee does not comply with Paris criteria as a result of its heavy governmental component, it has exhibited a serious attitude in dealing with human rights cases and it discussed sensitive national issues. The Committee's reports were critical of national legislation that does not adhere to international standards and recommended their modification. The Committee submits periodic reports to the government. It also publishes an annual report and has an internet website. (www.nhrc.org.qa).

Top of this page

Achievements on the Road to Good Governance

1. Promulgation of a new constitution on June 8, 2004 that became effective on June 7, 2005. The constitution guarantees several rights and basic freedoms, including equality before the law, prohibiting discrimination, restricting individual freedoms only by law, and guaranteeing public freedoms especially freedom of the press, expression, association and worship. The constitution also established separation of power and provided for establishing a 45-member consultative council composed of two thirds elected members and one-third appointed by the Amir.
2. Promulgation of a new penal code (No. 13/2004) and a new law for criminal procedures (No. 23/2004). The penal code considers torture a crime and imposes heavy sentences on perpetrators. Both laws assert the sanctity of private life.
3. Replacing direct censorship on the press by self-censorship since 1995, dissolving the ministry of information, licensing Al-Jazeera satellite station that created a qualitative difference in the freedom of Arab media, and establishing forums for international dialogues on "democracy and free-trade", and on "dialogue among religions".
4. Promulgating a new law in May 2004 that allows citizens to establish occupational associations, and gives non-citizens the right to join those associations.
5. Promulgating a new labour law on May 19, 2004 that give workers for the first time the right to establish trade unions and the right to strike if no friendly compromise is reached with their employers, with the exception of workers in vital facilities. The law also granted women and men equal rights and obligations.
6. Promulgating a new law in November 2004 that permits holding public assemblies and organizing rallies by prior approval of the ministry of interior.
7. Approval of a draft law by the consultative council that forbids employing children in camel races and punishes violators with one month imprisonment and 6000 Riyals fine (US$ 1500). The law sets minimum age for participants in camel races at 18 years old.

Top of this page