إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: حقوق الإنسان: البحرين
يمكنكم أيضا
 

المواثيق الدولية

انضمت البحرين إلى ست من اتفاقيات الأمم المتحدة الرئيسية السبع المعنية بحقوق الإنسان، وهي: "اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز العنصري" (1990), و"اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة" (2002), و"اتفاقية مناهضة التعذيب وغيره من ضروب المعاملة أو العقوبة القاسية أو اللاإنسانية أو المهينة" (1998)، و"اتفاقية حقوق الطفل" (1992)، والعهد الدولي للحقوق المدنية والسياسية (2006)، والإتفاقية الدولية حول الحقوق الإقتصادية والإجتماعية والثقافية (2007)، كما انضمت إلى "البروتوكولين الاختياريين لاتفاقية حقوق الطفل" الخاصين باشتراك الأطفال في المنازعات المسلحة، وبيع الأطفال واستغلالهم في البغاء والمواد الإباحية (2004).

انضمت البحرين كذلك إلى أربع من اتفاقيات منظمة العمل الدولية الثماني المعنية بحقوق الإنسان، وهي: "الاتفاقيتان المرقمتان (29) و(105) المعنيتان بالقضاء على السخرة والعمل الإجباري"، (1981، 1998 على التوالي), و"الاتفاقية رقم (111) بشأن منع التمييز في العمل وشغل الوظائف" (2000), و"الاتفاقية رقم (182) المتعلقة بأسوأ أشكال تشغيل الأطفال" (2001).

تحفظت البحرين على عدد من الأحكام من الاتفاقيات التي انضمت إليها, وذلك على النحو التالي:
- "اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز العنصري": تحفظ عام بأن انضمامها إلى الاتفاقية لا ينطوي على الاعتراف بإسرائيل أو يعد أساساً للدخول معها في أية علاقات. وعلى المادة (22), التي تتعلق بسبل تسوية المنازعات بين الدول الأطراف بشأن تفسير أو تطبيق الاتفاقية بالعرض على محكمة العدل الدولية. حيث أعلنت أن ذلك يتطلب موافقة كل أطراف النزاعِ في كل حالة على حدة.
- "اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة": المادة (2) التي تتعلق بالمساواة أمام القانون وحظر التمييز ضد المرأة في الدساتير والتشريعات الوطنية بتأكيد تطبيقها في إطار مبادئ الشريعة الإسلامية. والمادة (9 ف/2), التي تتعلق بمنح النساء حقوقاً مساوية فيما يتعلق بجنسية أطفالهن, وذلك لتعارضها مع قانون الجنسية البحرينية. والمادة (15 ف/4), التي تتعلق بمساواة المرأة مع الرجل فيما يتعلق بحرية التنقل واختيار المأوى والمسكن, لتعارضها مع أحكام الشريعة الإسلامية التي تُلزم الزوجة بالتواجد مع زوجها. والمادة (16), المتعلقة بإزالة التمييزِ ضدّ النِساءِ في كل الأمور التي تتعلق بالزواجِ والعلاقاتِ العائليةِ, وذلك بمقدار تمشيها مع مبادئ الشريعة الإسلامية. والمادة (29 ف/1), التي تتعلق بالتحكيم بين الدول الأطراف في الاتفاقية, والإحالة إلى محكمة العدل الدولية في حالة الخلاف في تفسير أو تطبيق الاتفاقية.
- "اتفاقية مناهضة التعذيب": المادة (30 ف/1 ), المتعلقة بتسوية النزاعات بين أطراف الاتفاقية, حيث اعتبرت حكومة البحرين نفسها غير ملزمة بما ورد بها. (وفي أغسطس/ آب 1998 سحبت حكومة البحرين تحفظها على المادة رقم (20) المتعلقة باختصاصات اللجنة الدولية لمناهضة التعذيب).

أعلى الصفحة

المواثيق الإقليمية

وبالنسبة للمواثيق الإقليمية، فقد وافقت البحرين على "إعلان القاهرة لحقوق الإنسان في الإسلام" الصادر عن مؤتمر وزراء خارجية الدول الإسلامية عام 1990، وهي وثيقة إرشادية لا تحتاج إلى تصديق. وصادقت كذلك على "الميثاق العربي لحقوق الإنسان/المعدل" الذي اعتمدته القمة العربية في تونس في مايو/أيار 2004، وأودعت وثائقه لدى الأمانة العامة لجامعة الدول العربية في 18/6/2006.

أعلى الصفحة

مؤسسات حقوق الإنسان

يتوافر في البحرين نمطان من مؤسسات حقوق الإنسان، ينتمي الأول إلى الهياكل الحكومية, وأبرزها السلطة الوطنية لحقوق الانسان التي أسسها مجلس الوزراء في 11 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2007. تتولى الهيئة الحكومية مسألة وضع خطة أساسية لتعزيز حقوق الإنسان في البحرين ومراجعة التوصيات والاقتراحات وبحث الشكاوى بالإضافة إلى التواصل مع منظمات دولية وأخرى غير حكومية. لجنة حقوق الإنسان في وزارة الداخلية, وتقوم بتدريب وتثقيف الضباط على حقوق المواطن, وخصوصاً في التعامل مع حالات القبض والتحقيق والسجن. وقد أثنت "الجمعية البحرينية لحقوق الإنسان" على تعاونها معها بهدف تعزيز العمل بحقوق الإنسان ومنع الانتهاكات. ومن أبرز هذه الهياكل كذلك: "المجلس الأعلى لحقوق المرأة (22 أغسطس/ آب 2001) من أجل النهوض بحقوق المرأة، وعزز الملك صلاحياته وقدراته في 8/11/2004, بحيث يستطيع تقديم اقتراحاته لتعديل التشريعات، وإبداء الرأي في مشاريع القوانين المرتبطة بمركز المرأة قبل عرضها على الجهات المختصة، وألزم الجهات الرسمية بأخذ رأي المجلس قبل اتخاذ أي إجراء أو قرار يتعلق بالمرأة. كذلك يتوافر في البحرين - منذ بدء المشروع الإصلاحي في البلاد - عدد متزايد من المنظمات غير الحكومية المعنية بحقوق الإنسان, مثل: "الجمعية البحرينية لحقوق الإنسان" (2001), و"مركز البحرين لحقوق الإنسان" (2001), و"جمعية مراقبة حقوق الإنسان" (2004), و"جمعية حقوق الطفل" (2004), و"جمعية حماية العمال الوافدين" (2004), و"الجمعية البحرينية لمناهضة العنف الأسري" (2005).

أعلى الصفحة

إنجازات على طريق الحكم الرشيد

1- إصدار دستور جديد في 14 فبراير/شباط 2002، تضمن العديد من الضمانات لحقوق الإنسان والحريات العامة، وأخذ بنظام المجلسين في السلطة التشريعية، وأقر حق النساء في المشاركة في الانتخاب والترشيح، فضلاً عن إنشاء محكمة دستورية عليا للرقابة على دستورية القوانين. وإن كان هذا الدستور قد أثار جدلاً حول طريقة تشكيل الغرفة الثانية بالتعيين وتقاسمها سلطة التشريع.
2- إصدار قانون جديد للبلديات ونظام الانتخابات البلدية في 1 ديسمبر/ كانون أول 2001, اعتمد اللامركزية الإدارية، وإنشاء مجالس بلدية متعددة بدلاً من مركز بلدي مركزي، وأتاح اشتراك النساء في التصويت والترشيح، وأقر مشاركة المجالس البلدية مع المؤسسات الحكومية في اقتراح قوانين وتحديد أولوية مشروعاتها وبحث تظلمات وشكاوى المواطنين.
3- إقرار عدة قوانين وإجراءات لتعزيز السلطة القضائية، شملت إلغاء محكمة أمن الدولة (فبراير/شباط 2001), وتشكيل مجلس أعلى للقضاء (2000), وافتتاح المحكمة الدستورية العليا (أبريل/نيسان 2005).
4- تعزيز مبدأ المساواة بين النساء والرجال، بدءاً من إقرار حق النساء في المشاركة السياسية المشار إليه آنفاً, وتعيين عشر سيدات في مجلس الشورى، إلى إتاحة حق النساء في تولي الوظائف العليا؛ حيث شغلن مناصب وزارية وسفيرات وعميدات كليات جامعية وغيرها، وتعزيز حقوقهن المدنية مثل تعديل المادة (13) من قانون الجوازات لإلغاء شرط موافقة الزوج على حصول المواطنة البحرينية على جواز سفر.
5- السماح لأول مرة بتأسيس صحف وإذاعة وفضائية خاصة. وإنشاء جمعية للدفاع عن حقوق الصحفيين وحرياتهم (أغسطس/ آب 2000), وموافقة وزارة الإعلام في مطلع عام 2002 على تحويلها إلى نقابة بعد تعديل نظامها الأساسي، إلى حين صدور قانون الجمعيات.
6- حل مشكلة عديمي الجنسية، ومنح الجنسية لآلاف من "البدون", وتسهيل عودة الأشخاص المقيمين في الخارج من "البدون" الذين لهم أقارب يحملون الجنسية البحرينية.
7- إصدار قانون للنقابات العمالية رقم (33) لسنة 2002, يسمح بالإضراب كوسيلة مشروعة للدفاع عن حقوق العمال ومصالحهم, وفقاً لضوابط أوردها القانون, وتأسيس اتحاد عام لنقابات عمال البحرين في 12/1/2004, كتنظيم جامع لكافة النقابات على مستوى البحرين, وتم انتخاب ممثلي 40 نقابة عمالية للأمانة العامة للاتحاد في انتخابات المؤتمر التأسيسي للاتحاد في 12 يناير/ كانون ثان عام 2004.
8- أقر البرلمان في 22 مارس/آذار 2006 قانوناً جديداً لسوق العمل يخفف من القيود التي يفرضها نظام الكفيل على العامل الأجنبي، إذ سمح للعامل الأجنبي أن يغادر مكان عمله وينتقل إلى مكان آخر دون الرجوع إلى رب العمل الأصلي، شريطة أن يكون قد أنهى مدة العمل في المنشأة التي كان يعمل بها بحيث يتم تحديد هذه المدة الزمنية في بداية التعاقد بين الطرفين. وتعد هذه هي المرة الأولى في دول الخليج التي يسمح فيها للعامل بالانتقال إلى عمل آخر دون الرجوع إلى كفيله الأساسي أو صاحب العمل الذي استقدمه.
9- أجريت انتخابات تشريعية في 25 نوفمبر/تشرين ثان 2006، وتنافس فيه 220 مرشحاً بينهم 18 سيدة، وشهدت الانتخابات إقبالاً كبيراً على المشاركة بالمقارنة بانتخابات العام 2002، حيث بلغت نسبة المشاركة 73%، وانتخابات الإعادة 69% مقابل 43% في انتخابات 2002. وأسفرت الانتخابات عن فوز الموالاة بـ22 مقعداً، بينما حازت المعارضة على 18 مقعداً، وتتيح هذه النتيجة معارضة قوية تختلف عن سابقتها في المجلس المنحل. أما تمثيل المرأة، فقد فازت مرشحة واحدة بالتزكية في إحدى الدوائر، لكن لم تنجح أي مرشحة بالانتخاب، وهو ما حدث أيضاً في انتخابات العام 2002.
10- وأصدر ملك البحرين مرسوماً في 5 ديسمبر/كانون أول 2006 بتشكيل مجلس الشورى (المعين). وشملت التشكيل تجديد عضوية 24 عضواً من أعضاء المجلس السابق، وتعيين 16 عضواً للمرة الأولى من بينهم رئيس المجلس. وزاد تمثيل المرأة من 6 نساء في المجلس السابق إلى 10 في التشكيل الجديد.
11. انتهت حكومة البحرين في منتصف آب/أغسطس 2007 من إعداد مشروع قانون بشأن مكافحة الاتجار بالبشر تمهيدا لمناقشته في مجلس النواب خلال دور الانعقاد الثاني في الخريف القادم. ويتألف مشروع القانون من 10 مواد، تعرف المادة الأولى منها الاتجار بالأشخاص على أن يمشل تجنيد شخص أو نقله أو إيواءه أو استقباله بغرض إساءة الاستغلال سواء عن طريق الإكراه أو التهديد أو الحيلة أو باستغلال الوظيفة أو النفوذ. وتشمل إساءة الاستغلال استغلال ذلك الشخص في الدعارة أو الاعتداء الجنسي، أو العمل القسري أو الاسترقاق أو نزع الأعضاء. وتنص المادة الثانية على عقوب الحبس والغرامة التي تتراوح بين 2000 و 000ر10 دينار لكل من ارتكب جريمة الاتجار بالأشخاص. وتنص المادة الثالثة على معاقبة كل شخص اعتباري ارتكبت جريمة الاتجار باسمه أو لحسابه أو لمنفعته بغرامة مالية تتراوح بين 000ر10 و 000ر100 دينار، بينما تطبق المسؤولية الجنائية على الأشخاص الطبيعيين الذين ارتكبوا الجريمة. وتنص المادة الرابعة على تشديد العقوبة إذا كان المجني عليه دون سن 15 أو أنثى من ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة، أو إذا أصيب المجني عليه بمرض لا يرجى الشفاء منه. وتنص المادة السابعة على إنشاء لجنة بقرار من وزير التنمية الاجتماعية تسمى "لجنة تقييم وضعية الضحايا الأجانب للاتجار بالأشخاص". وتنص المادة الثامنة على إنشاء لجنة بقرار من وزير الخارجية تسمى "اللجنة الوطنية لمكافحة الاتجار بالأشخاص" تتشكل من ممثلي وزارات عدة وممثلين عن 3 جمعيات أهلية يرشحها وزير التنمية الاجتماعية.
12. أجرى مجلس الشورى تعديلات على قانون "الصحافة والإصدارات" في تاريخ 28 أيار/مايو 2007 لإلغاء عقوبات السجن المفروضة على الجرائم الصحافية. يجب على مجلس النواب أن يتبنى مشروع القانون الجديد حيث يُنتظر حالياً أن تتم مناقشته كي يصبح نافذاً.
13. أصدر الملك حمد بن عيسى الخليفة قانوناً في تاريخ 9 كانون الثاني/ينار 2008 لمكافحة تجارة البشر. وبحسب هذا القانون، سيواجه المدانون بجريمة التجارة بالبشر عقوبة مالية تتراوح ما بين ألفين إلى عشرة آلاف دينار. كما يدعو القانون إلى إنشاء لجنة لمكافحة تجارة البشر.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Human Rights: Bahrain
You may also
 

International Conventions

Bahrain has acceded to six of the seven major United Nations Conventions concerned with human rights, namely: the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (1990); the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (2002); the Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (1998); and the Convention on the Rights of the Child (1992), The International Covenant for Civil And Political Rights (2006), and the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (2007). Bahrain also acceded to the two optional protocols of the Rights of the Child Convention pertaining to involvement of children in armed conflicts, sale of children and exploiting them in prostitution and pornographic materials (2004).

Bahrain has also acceded to four of the eight International Labour Organization (ILO) conventions on human rights, namely: the two conventions (29 and 105) on Forced or Compulsory Labour (1981 and 1998 respectively). Convention (111) concerning the Elimination of Discrimination in Respect of Employment and Occupation (2000). Convention (182) pertaining to Forbidding the Employment of Children and Minors (2001).

Bahrain made reservation of certain provisions of the conventions it acceded to:
- The International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination: general reservation that acceding to this convention does not imply recognizing Israel or is to be considered a basis for establishing any relations with Israel. Article (22) on ways of settling disputes among states over interpreting or implementing the convention through referring the dispute to the International Court of Justice. Bahrain declared that this requires approval of all parties to the conflict on case by case basis.
- The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women: article (2) concerning equality before the law and banning discrimination against women in constitutions and national legislation. Bahrain linked implementation to principles of Islamic law (Shari'a). Article (9/2) concerning granting women equal citizenship rights for their children. Bahrain said this article contradicts its citizenship law. Article (15/4) on women and men's equal rights in terms of freedom of movement and choice of residence, because it contradicts Shari'a provisions. Article (16) on eliminating discrimination against women in all matters of marriage and family affairs; Bahrain abides by this as far as it is compatible with Shari'a principles. Article (29/1) concerning arbitration between state parties to the convention, and referring disputes over interpreting or implementing the convention to the International Court of Justice.
- The Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment: article (30/1) concerning settlement of disputes among parties to the convention; Bahraini government considered itself uncommitted by the content of this article. In August 1998, Bahrain retracted its reservation on article (20) pertaining to jurisdiction of the international committee against torture.

Top of this page

Regional Charters

Bahrain has agreed to the "Cairo Declaration on Human Rights in Islam" issued in 1990 by foreign ministers of Muslim countries. The declaration is a guiding document that does not require ratification. It also ratified the "Arab Charter of Human Rights/Amended" prepared by the Arab Summit in Tunisia in May 2004, and delivered the relevant documents to the General Secretariat of the Arab League on June 18, 2006.

Top of this page

Human Rights Institutions

There are two types of human rights institutions in Bahrain. The first type belongs to governmental structures, most prominent of which is the National Human Rights Authority created by the Cabinet on 11 November 2007. The government authority will be in charge of setting an integral plan to promote human rights in Bahrain, forward recommendations, proposals and study complaints, as well as communicating with international organizations and NGOs. The Human Rights Committee at the ministry of interior is in charge of training officers on citizens rights, especially those pertaining to arrests, interrogation and imprisonment. The Bahraini Human Rights Association commended that committee for joining its efforts in strengthening human rights work and preventing violations. The Supreme Council for Women's Rights (August 22, 2001) works on advancing women's rights. The King strengthened its jurisdiction and capacities on August 11, 2004 to enable it to submit its suggestions on legislative amendments, give its opinion with regard to draft laws that affect women's status before they are examined by specialized committees. The King ordered official agencies to seek the Women's Council opinion before making any decision or implementing any measure relating to women. Since the launching of the reform project several human rights NGOs have appeared in Bahrain. These include: "Bahrain Human Rights Association" (2001), "Bahrain Center for Human Rights" (2001), "Human Rights Watch Association" (2004), "Rights of the Child Society" (2004), "Society for the Protection of Expatriate Workers" (2004) and "Bahrain Association Against Family Violence" (2005).

Top of this page

Achievements on the Road to Good Governance

1. Promulgation of a new constitution on February 14, 2002 that includes many guarantees of human rights and public freedoms. The constitution adopted a two-chamber legislative system, approved women's right to vote and run in public elections, and stipulated the establishment of a supreme constitutional court to monitor the constitutionality of the law. However, the constitution aroused public debate over the second chamber in terms of appointing, rather than electing, its members and in terms of sharing legislative power with the elected chamber.
2. Promulgation of a new municipal law and a new municipal electoral law on December 1st, 2001 that adopted administrative decentralization, established several municipal councils instead of the single central municipal council, allowed women to vote and run in municipal elections, approved municipal councils sharing with other governmental institutions in proposing draft laws, setting their own priorities in terms of their projects and dealing with citizens' grievances and complaints.
3. Approval of several laws and procedures that enhance judicial authority, such as abolishing the State Security Court (2001), establishing a supreme judicial council (2000) and inaugurating the supreme constitutional court (2005).
4. Enhancing the principle of equality between men and women through granting political rights to women, appointing 6 women to the consultative council, facilitating women's right to occupy high-level public positions (Bahraini women hold the positions of government ministers, ambassadors, deans of university colleges) and enhancing women's civil rights through amending article (13) of the passports law by dropping the condition of obtaining the approval of husbands with regard to issuing passports to their Bahraini wives.
5. Allowing, for the first time, private ownership of radio and satellite TV stations, publishing daily newspapers and establishing an association for protecting the rights and freedoms of journalists (2000), in addition to approval of the ministry of information to transform the journalists association into a syndicate after modifying its regulations (2002), until the associations law is promulgated.
6. Resolving the problem of "citizenless" persons by granting Bahraini citizenship to thousands of persons in this category, and allowing the return of "citizenless" persons who have Bahraini relatives.
7. Promulgation of the Labour Union Law (No. 33/2002) that allowed workers to strike as a legitimate means of defending their rights and interests in accordance with legal controls. The law also allowed the establishment of a general union for Bahraini workers as an umbrella for all syndicates. A general secretary of the workers union representing 40 syndicates was elected during the founding conference of the general union in 2004.
8. The parliament approved on March 22, 2006 a new labour market law that eased the constraints of the guarantor system on foreign workers. The new law permitted foreign workers to resign and work for another employer without the permission of the original employer, on condition that the worker had completed the period of his original contract. This is the first time whereby foreign workers in any Gulf state are allowed to take another job without the approval of the employers who originally brought them into the country.
9. Legislative elections took place on November 25, 2006. A total of 220 candidates, including 18 women, contested the 40 seats of the Council of Deputies. Participation rate was higher than that of 2002 as it reached 73% in the first round, 69% in the second round compared to 43% in 2002. The opposition won 18 seats while loyal groups won 22 seats. One woman candidate won her seat uncontested, while no women were elected.
10. The King passed a decree on December 5, 2006 appointing members of the new Shura Council. The decree renewed the membership of 24 Shura members and appointed 16 new members including the Council's president. Women's representation increased from 6 to 10 members.
11. The government of Bahrain completed in mid-August 2007 a draft-law on combating trafficking in persons that will be submitted to the parliament for discussion and approval in its autumn session. The draft-law is made of 10 articles. The first article defines trafficking in person as: recruiting, transporting, housing or receiving a person for the purpose of abusing him/her, whether through coercion, threatening, deception, use of position or influence. Abuse includes exploiting that person in prostitution, sexual assault, compulsory work, semi-slavery, slavery or removal of body organs. The second article stipulates imprisonment and a fine between 2000 and 10,000 Dinars against anyone who commits the crime of trafficking in persons. Article 3, stipulates punishing any corporate person in whose name or for his benefit a trafficking crime was committed by a fine of 10,000 to 100,000 Dinars, while carrying out criminal charges against the natural persons whose committed the crime. Article 4, calls for maximum punishment if the vicitim is under 15 years of age, a female with special needs, or if the victim develops an incurable disease. Article 7, stipulates establishing a committee by order of the minister of social development, called “The Committee for assessing the conditions of foreign victims of trafficking in persons”. Article 8, stipulates establishing a committee by order of the minister of foreign affairs, called “The National Committee for Combating Trafficking in Persons” which is composed of representatives of several government ministries and representatives of 3 NGOs nominated by the minister of social development.
12. The Upper House (Majlis al Shura) passed amendments to the “press and publications” law on 28 May 2007 abolishing jail sentences for press offences. The new draft law has to be adopted by the Lower House, where it is currently awaiting discussion, in order to become effective.
13. King Hamad bin Issa al-Khalifa has issued a law on 9 January 2008 to combat human trafficking. According to the law, persons convicted of human trafficking would face prison and a fine ranging from 2,000 Bahrain dinars to 10,000 dinars. The law also calls for the establishment of a committee to combat human trafficking.

Top of this page