إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: حقوق الإنسان: الكويت
يمكنكم أيضا
 

المواثيق الدولية

انضمت الكويت إلى ست من اتفاقيات الأمم المتحدة الرئيسية السبع في مجال حقوق الإنسان, وهي: "العهدان الدوليان الخاصان بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية, والحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية" (1996), و"اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز العنصري" (1968)، و"اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة"(1994), و"اتفاقية مناهضة التعذيب وغيره من ضروب المعاملة أو العقوبة القاسية أو اللاإنسانية أو المهينة"(1994), و"اتفاقية حقوق الطفل" (1991). كما انضمت إلى "البروتوكولين الاختياريين الملحقين باتفاقية حقوق الطفل", بشأن اشتراك الأطفال في المنازعات المسلحة وبيع الأطفال، واستغلال الأطفال في البغاء وفي المواد الإباحية (2004).

انضمت الكويت أيضاً إلى سبع من اتفاقيات منظمة العمل الدولية الثماني المعنية بحقوق الإنسان وهي: "الاتفاقية (87) المعنية بحرية التجمع والمفاوضة الجماعية"(1961)، و"الاتفاقيتان (29)، (105) المعنيتان بالسخرة والعمل الإجباري"(1968, 1961 على التوالي)، و"الاتفاقية (111) المعنية بالقضاء على التمييز في شغل الوظائف" (1966)، و"الاتفاقيتان (138)، (182) المعنيتان بمنع استخدام الأطفال والقاصرين"(1999, 2000 على التوالي) والإتفاقية 98 حول حق التنظيم النقابي والمفاوضة الجماعية (2007).

تحفظت الكويت على أحكام بعض الاتفاقيات التي صادقت عليها, على النحو التالي:
- "العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية": أعلنت أن المادة (2 ف/2), التي تنص على ممارسة الحقوق المدونة في العهد دون تمييز. والمادة (3), التي تنص على تأمين الحقوق المتساوية للرجال والنساء في التمتع بالحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية سوف تطبق في الحدود التي يقررها القانون الكويتي. كما أعلنت أن المادة (9), التي تكفل حق كل فرد في الضمان الاجتماعي, بما في ذلك التأمين الاجتماعي سوف تقتصر على الكويتيين كما تحفظت على المادة (8 ف/1 - د), التي تكفل الحق في الإضراب.
- "العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية": أعلنت أن المادة (2 ف/1), التي تقضي بعدم التمييز من أي نوع. والمادة (3), التي تنص على ضمان مساواة الرجال والنساء في التمتع بجميع الحقوق المدنية والسياسية سوف تطبقان فى حدود القانون الكويتي، كما تحفظت على المادة (25 ف/2), التي تنص على حق كل مواطن في الانتخاب لتعارضها مع القانون الكويتي الانتخابي، كما أعلنت أن هذا الحق لا ينطبق على رجال الشرطة والقوات المسلحة.
- "اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز العنصري": أعلنت أن انضمامها إلى الاتفاقية لا ينطوي على الاعتراف بإسرائيل أو أن يكون أساساً لإقامة أية علاقات معها. وعلى المادة (22), التي تتعلق بسبل حل النزاع بين الأطراف بشأن تفسير أو تطبيق الاتفاقية.
- "اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة": المادة (7 ف/1) الخاصة بالتصويت على جميع الانتخابات والاستفتاءات العامة، وأهلية الانتخاب لجميع الهيئات التي ينتخب أعضاؤها بالاقتراع. والمادة (9 ف/2), التي تقضي بمنح المرأة حقاً مساوياً لحق الرجل فيما يتعلق بجنسية أطفالها. والمادة رقم (16 ف/6), الخاصة بنفس الحقوق فيما يتعلق بالولاية والقوامة والوصاية على الأطفال وتبنيهم أو ما شابه ذلك, حيث توجد هذه المفاهيم في التشريع الوطني. وكذا المادة رقم (29 ف/1), التي تتعلق بسبل حل النزاع بين الدول الأطراف حول تفسير أو تطبيق الاتفاقية.
- "اتفاقية مناهضة التعذيب": المادة (20), التي تتعلق بحق اللجنة الدولية لمناهضة التعذيب في دعوة أطراف الاتفاقية لدراسة ما يصل إليها من معلومات، وتقديم ملاحظات بشأنها، وإجراء تحقيق سري، وطلب زيارة الدولة في حالة إجراء التحقيق. والمادة (30 ف/1), المتعلقة بسبل حل المنازعات التي قد تنشأ بين الدول الأطراف حول تفسير أو تطبيق الاتفاقية.
- اتفاقية حقوق الطفل: تحفظ عام إزاء كل ما يتعارض مع أحكام الشريعة الإسلامية والقانون المحلي، وإعلان بشأن المادة (7) التي تتعلق بحق الطفل في الجنسية، تأكد أن الكويت تكفل منح جنسيتها للطفل مجهول الأبوين الذي يولد على أرضها طبقاً لقوانين الجنسية الكويتية، وإعلان بعدم موافقتها على المادة (21) التي تتعلق بنظام التبني، لتعارضها مع الشريعة الإسلامية.

أعلى الصفحة

المواثيق الإقليمية

وبالنسبة للمواثيق الإقليمية, وافقت الكويت على "إعلان القاهرة لحقوق الإنسان في الإسلام" الصادر عن مؤتمر وزراء خارجية الدول الإسلامية عام 1990، وهو وثيقة إرشادية لا تحتاج إلى تصديق. كما وافقت على "الميثاق العربي لحقوق الإنسان/ المعدل", الذي اعتمدته القمة العربية في تونس في مايو/أيار 2004, لكنها لم تصادق عليه شأن معظم الدول العربية.

أعلى الصفحة

مؤسسات حقوق الإنسان

يتوافر في الكويت نمطان من المؤسسات العاملة في مجال حقوق الإنسان, أحدهما في نطاق مجلس الأمة (البرلمان), وثانيهما في إطار المنظمات غير الحكومية.
ففي نطاق مجلس الأمة، تأسست "لجنة الدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان" في 24/10/1992, وتهدف إلى الدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان والعمل على تنقية التشريعات المعمول بها في الكويت من الأحكام المتعارضة مع حقوق الإنسان، ومراقبة أعمال الأجهزة الحكومية للتأكد من مدى التزامها بحقوق الإنسان، وتلقي الشكاوى والملاحظات حول الممارسات المتعلقة بحقوق الإنسان والعمل على إيجاد الحلول المناسبة لها، وتشكيل لجان تقصي للحقائق في موضوعات اختصاصها.
أما في مجال المنظمات غير الحكومية فقد شهدت الكويت نشوء بعض المنظمات العاملة في مجال حقوق المرأة مثل: "الاتحاد الكويتي للجمعيات النسائية"، و "الجمعية الثقافية الاجتماعية النسائية" (1963), وفي مجال الطفولة مثل: "الجمعية الكويتية لتقدم الطفولة العربية" (1980)، كما سمحت بوجود واقعي -وليس قانوني- لعدد من منظمات حقوق الإنسان؛ لكنها أخذت خطوة مهمة في العام (2004) بإشهار "الجمعية الكويتية لحقوق الإنسان" كأول جمعية في هذا المجال.

أعلى الصفحة

إنجازات على طريق الحكم الرشيد

1- أقر مجلس الأمة الكويتي بالإجماع في6/3/2006 قانوناً جديداً للمطبوعات يحظر سجن الصحفيين في جرائم النشر قبل صدور حكم قضائي بات، كما يسمح بترخيص صحف جديدة للمرة الأولى منذ ثلاثين عاماً.
2- أسقطت المحكمة الدستورية العليا في 1/5/2006 قانون الجمعيات الساري في البلاد منذ العام 1979، والذي يشترط إبلاغ السلطات الأمنية، والحصول على موافقتها، قبل عقد أي تجمع عام أو ندوات مفتوحة لمناقشة القضايا العامة. وقد جاء هذا القرار بعد أن لجأ عدد من الناشطين والمحامين الكويتيين إلى المحكمة الدستورية بعد إحالتهم إلى النيابة العامة بسبب ندوة عقدوها في العام 2005. وقد اعتبرت المحكمة الدستورية أن أحكام القانون تخالف المادتين (6)، (44) من الدستور والتي تضمن حق الأفراد في الاجتماع دون حاجة إلى إذن.
3- أجريت في أواخر يونيو/حزيران 2006 انتخابات مبكرة لمجلس الأمة (البرلمان) قبل عام من استحقاقها، وقد شهدت الانتخابات نسبة عالية من المشاركة، وتميزت بمشاركة النساء فيها لأول مرة. وفازت المعارضة بأغلبية المقاعد، حيث حازت على 33 مقعداً من أصل خمسين مقعداً. لكن لم تخل عملية الانتخاب من مثالب، كان أبرزها تفشي ظاهرة شراء الأصوات على نطاق واسع في بعض الدوائر، ولم يقتصر ذلك على فريق دون آخر. وكان أمير الكويت قد أصدر مرسوماً في 21/5/2006 بحل مجلس الأمة السابق، ودعا إلى إجراء هذه الانتخابات المبكرة، على خلفية نزاع بين المجلس والحكومة حول تقسيم الدوائر الانتخابية.
4- تابعت الحكومة تعزيز حقوق النساء في المشاركة السياسية، فبعد أن عدل مجلس الأمة في 16/5/2005 المادة الأولى من قانون الانتخابات التي كانت تقصر ممارسة هذا الحق على الذكور البالغين من الكويتيين، وأتاحت مشاركة النساء في الانتخابات تصويتاً وترشيحاً. بادر أمير الكويت بتعيين سيدتين في المجلس البلدي الذي جرى انتخابه في 2 يوليو/تموز 2006، كأول سيدتين تشغلان عضوية مجالس تمثيلية (يضم المجلس 16 عضواً يجري انتخاب عشرة أعضاء، ويعين الأمير ستة أعضاء). كما قام بتعيين وزيرتين في الحكومة التي أعاد تشكيلها في 25 مارس/آذار 2007.
5- تسمح الحكومة لمراقبي حقوق الإنسان المستقلين بزيارة السجون، وسمحت للجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر بزيارة السجناء، وخاصة سجناء الحرب العراقيين والبدون ورعايا الدول التي ليس لها سفارات في الكويت، والمحتجزين العائدون من جوانتنامو.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Human Rights: Kuwait
You may also
 

International Conventions

Kuwait has acceded to six of the seven United Nations conventions on human rights, namely: the two Covenants on Civil and Political Rights; on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (1996), the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (1968), the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (1994), the Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (1994), and the Convention on the Rights of the Child (1991). It has also acceded to the two optional protocols attached to the Rights of the Child convention concerning the involvement of children in armed conflicts and the sale of children and exploiting them in prostitution and pornographic materials (2004).

Kuwait has also acceded to seven of the eight International Labour Organization (ILO) conventions concerned with human rights, namely: Convention (87) on Freedom of Association and Collective Bargaining (1961). The two Conventions (29 and 105) that pertain to Elimination of Forced or Compulsory Labour (1968 and 1961 respectively); the Convention (111) on the Prevention of Discrimination in respect of Employment and Occupation (1966); the two Conventions (138 and 182) concerning the Prevention of Employing Children and Minors (1999 and 2000 respectively) and Convention (98) on the Right to Organise and Collective Bargaining (2007).

Kuwait made reservations on certain provisions of the conventions it has acceded to:
- The International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights: It declared that article (2/2) states that the exercise of rights mentioned in the covenant are to be exercised without any distinction. That it would apply article (3) pertaining to securing equal rights for men and women according to Kuwaiti law. That article (9) concerning the right of every person to social security, including social insurance, would be restricted to Kuwaiti citizens. It also made a reservation on article (8/1-d) concerning the right to strike.
- The International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights: Kuwait declared that article (2/1) means that no kind of discrimination should be practiced. That article (3) on equal enjoyment of all civil and political rights would be applied within the limits of Kuwaiti law. Also made a reservation on article (25/2) that gives every citizen the right to vote because it contradicts Kuwait's electoral law. Kuwait also declared that this right does not apply to the police and armed forces.
- The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination: Kuwait declared that acceding to this convention does not imply recognizing Israel or a basis for establishing any relations with Israel. Kuwait also made a reservation on article (22) concerning ways of resolving disputes among parties over interpreting or implementing the convention.
- The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women: article (7/1) concerning voting in all elections and public referendums, as well as in all elected committees. Article (9/2) that grants women equal right in terms of their children's citizenship. Article (16/6) that gives women equal rights in terms of guardianship, custody of children and adoption. Kuwait abides by its own laws concerning these issues. Reservation on article (29/1) concerning ways of resolving disputes among state parties over interpreting or implementing the convention.
- The Convention Against Torture: article (20) concerning the committee's right to ask parties to the convention to examine the information it has received, to write their remarks, to conduct a secret investigation, and to visit the state in question in the case of such an investigation. Article (30/1) concerning ways of resolving disputes between state parties over interpreting or implementing the convention.
- Rights of the Child Convention: general reservation on all provisions that contradict Islamic Shari'a and Kuwaiti law. Declaration on article (7) concerning the child's right to citizenship affirming that Kuwait grants its citizenship to any baby born in Kuwait to unknown parents in accordance with Kuwait's citizenship law. Stating its disapproval of article (21) concerning adoption, this is contradictory to Islamic law.

Top of this page

Regional Charters

Kuwait has agreed to the "Cairo Declaration on Human Rights in Islam" issued in 1990 by foreign ministers of Muslim countries. The declaration is a guiding document that does not require ratification. Kuwait also acceded to the "Arab Charter of Human Rights/Amended" prepared by the Arab Summit in Tunisia in May 2004. Kuwait did not ratify the charter just like most Arab countries.

Top of this page

Human Rights Institutions

Kuwait has two types of human rights institutions, a parliamentary committee and non-governmental organizations (NGOs). A parliamentary committee called "Committee for the Protection of Human Rights" was formed on October 24, 1992. The committee works on removing provisions that contradict human rights off Kuwaiti legislation; monitors the performance of government agencies in terms of their adherence to human rights principles; receives complaints and comments on practices that violate human rights, and forms fact-finding committees on issues within its jurisdiction. In the area of NGOs, Kuwait witnessed the establishment of NGOs that defend women's rights, such as "The Kuwaiti Union of Women's Associations" and "Women's Cultural and Social Society" (1963). The Kuwaiti Society for Advancement of Arab Children was established in (1980). Kuwait also allowed a de-facto existence, rather than legal existence, of some human rights NGOs. However, in 2004 Kuwait took an important step forward by licensing the first human rights organization, namely "The Kuwaiti Society for Human Rights".

Top of this page

Achievements on the Road to Good Governance

1. In the area of enhancing public freedoms, the Kuwaiti parliament unanimously approved on March 6, 2006 a new publications law that prohibits the imprisonment of journalists over publishing crimes before a final judicial decision is reached. The new law also permitted, for the first time in 30 years, the licensing of new daily newspapers.
2. The Higher Constitutional Court abolished on May 1, 2006 the civil societies law that had been in effect since 1979. That law mandated that security authorities must be notified of and approve any public meeting or open seminars that discuss public issues. The Constitutional Court's decision was taken following a complaint by some activists and lawyers who were referred to public prosecution for holding a seminar in 2005. The Court saw that the provisions of articles 6 and 44 of the constitution guarantee the right of individuals to hold public meetings without having to obtain a permit from the authorities.
3. At the end of June 2006 parliamentary elections were held one year earlier than their due date. The elections witnessed a high participation rate and were distinguished by women's first time ever participation. The opposition won the majority of seats in the parliament (33 out of 50 elected seats). However, the elections saw some faults, most notable of which was vote purchase on a wide scale in some electoral districts. Vote purchase was practiced by all political groups. The Kuwaiti ruler had issued a decree on May 21, 2006 dissolving the parliament and calling for early elections on the grounds of unresolved dispute between the parliament and government over the number of electoral districts.
4. The Kuwaiti government pursued its enhancement of women's rights to political participation. The parliament amended on May 16, 2005 the first article of the elections law which restricted the right of voting and running in elections to Kuwaiti males, thereby extending that right to Kuwaiti women. The Emir appointed 2 women to the municipal council that was elected on July 2, 2006. These were the first two female members of a representative body. The municipal council consists of 16 members, 10 of whom are elected while the Emir appoints 6 members. Then on March 25, 2007 the Emir appointed two women ministers in the newly formed government.
5. The government allows independent Human Rights observers to visit prisons. It had also allowed the International Committee of the Red Cross to visit prisoners, especially Iraqi war prisoners, citizenless prisoners, citizens of countries that have no embassies in Kuwait and prisoners who returned from Guantanamo prison.

Top of this page