إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: حقوق الإنسان: لبنان
يمكنكم أيضا
 

المواثيق الدولية

انضم لبنان إلى ست من اتفاقيات الأمم المتحدة الرئيسية السبع المعنية بحقوق الإنسان, وهي: "العهدان الدوليان الخاصان بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية, والحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية" (1972), و"اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز العنصري" (1971), و"اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة" (1997)، و"اتفاقية مناهضة التعذيب وغيره من ضروب المعاملة أو العقوبة القاسية أو اللاإنسانية أو المهينة" (2000), و"اتفاقية حقوق الطفل" (1991) كما انضم إلى "البروتوكولين الاختياريين لاتفاقية حقوق الطفل", بشأن اشتراك الأطفال في النزاعات المسلحة (2002) وبيع الأطفال، واستغلال الأطفال في البغاء وفي المواد الإباحية (2001).

انضم لبنان كذلك إلى سبع من اتفاقيات منظمة العمل الدولية الثماني المعنية بحقوق الإنسان, وهي: "الاتفاقية (98) بشأن حق التنظيم النقابي والمفاوضة الجماعية" (1977), و"الاتفاقيتان (29) و(105) المعنيتان بالقضاء على السخرة والعمل الإجباري" (1977), والاتفاقيتان (100) و(111) المعنيتان بالقضاء على التمييز في شغل الوظائف" (1977), و"الاتفاقيتان (138) و(182) المعنيتان بمنع استخدام الأطفال والقاصرين" (2003, 2001 على التوالي).

تحفظ لبنان على بعض أحكام الاتفاقيات التي انضم إليها, على النحو التالي:
- "اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز العنصري": المادة (22), التي تتعلق بطرق حل النزاعات بشأن تطبيق الاتفاقية أو تفسيرها، وترى أنه في كل نزاع تكون طرفاً فيه يلزم موافقة جميع الأطراف ذات الصلة حتى يمكن إحالته لمحكمة العدل الدولية.
- "اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة": المادة (9 ف/2), التي تكفل المساواة بين النساء والرجال فيما يتعلق بجنسية أبنائهم. والمادة (16 ف/1), التي تلزم الدول الأطراف باتخاذ إجراءات مناسبة للقضاء على التمييز ضد المرأة في كل الأمور التي تتعلق بالزواج والعلاقات العائلية, حيث تحفظ بشأن الحق في اختيار اسم العائلة. والمادة (29 ف/1), التي تتعلق بطرق حل النزاعات بين الدول الأطراف في الاتفاقية بشأن تطبيق الاتفاقية أو تفسيرها.

أعلى الصفحة

المواثيق الإقليمية

أما بالنسبة للمواثيق الإقليمية، فقد وافق لبنان على "إعلان القاهرة لحقوق الإنسان في الإسلام" الصادر عن مؤتمر وزراء خارجية الدول الإسلامية عام 1990 وهو وثيقة إرشادية لا تحتاج إلى تصديق، كما وقع على "الميثاق العربي لحقوق الإنسان/ المعدل" الذي اعتمدته القمة العربية في تونس في مايو/أيار 2004 لكن لم يصادق عليه بعد.

أعلى الصفحة

مؤسسات حقوق الإنسان

تتوافر في لبنان عدة أنماط من مؤسسات حقوق الإنسان ينتمي بعضها للهياكل الحكومية، وبعضها في الإطار البرلماني, فضلاً عن المنظمات غير الحكومية. ومن بين نماذج المستوى الأول، تأتي "اللجنة الوطنية لشئون المرأة اللبنانية" وقد أنشئت عام 1995 عملاً بقرارات المؤتمر العالمي الرابع للمرأة في بكين من أجل تطوير أوضاع المرأة وتحقيق المساواة بين الجنسين.
وعلى المستوى البرلماني تأسست لجنة حقوق الإنسان بمجلس النواب, بهدف الدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان وضمان الحريات العامة والخاصة وتعزيز ممارستها، وكذا إلغاء النصوص والأعراف التي تؤثر على المساواة بين اللبنانيين واللبنانيات, والتوفيق بين القوانين والأنظمة اللبنانية والاتفاقيات والمواثيق الدولية لحقوق الإنسان.
كما تتوافر في لبنان العديد من المنظمات غير الحكومية العاملة في مجال حقوق الإنسان، ويعمل بعضها باختصاص عام, مثل: "الجمعية اللبنانية لحقوق الإنسان" (1985)، ويختص بعضها بحقوق النساء, مثل: "اللجنة الأهلية لمتابعة قضايا المرأة" (1993), أو حقوق الطفل, مثل: "الاتحاد اللبناني لرعاية الطفل" (1949), أو حقوق الفئات الخاصة, مثل: "الجمعية الوطنية لحقوق المعاق" (1988), كما يختص بعضها بقضايا معينة, مثل: "حركة حقوق الناس" (1989) التي تهتم بحرية الجمعيات والعمل المدني، و"الجمعية اللبنانية من أجل ديمقراطية الانتخابات" (1996), التي تهتم بالانتخابات ومراقبة الانتخابات, ويختص بعضها بأوضاع الفلسطينيين فى لبنان ومخيمات اللاجئين, مثل: "المنظمة الفلسطينية لحقوق الإنسان/حقوق" (1997), و"المنظمة الفلسطينية لحقوق الإنسان/شاهد".

أعلى الصفحة

إنجازات على طريق الحكم الرشيد

1- في مجال النهوض بحقوق المرأة, تم إنشاء هيئة وطنية للنهوض بشئون المرأة اللبنانية، وهيئة لمناهضة العنف ضد المرأة, وتم إجراء تعديل قانوني عام 1996 ألغى العذر المخل بجريمة الشرف، وآخر عام 1998 أصبح بموجبه التعليم مجانياً وإلزامياً في المرحلة الابتدائية، وتراجع معدل الأمية بين النساء، وارتفع معدل الالتحاق المدرسي للإناث. وتولت النساء حقائب وزارية لأول مرة في تاريخ لبنان فى حكومة الرئيس "كرامي" التي تشكلت في 26/10/2004، وشغلت المرأة لأول مرة أيضاً منصب المدعي العام بالنيابة في 10/11/2004, ونجحت النساء في مضاعفة عضويتهن في مجلس النواب من 3 نائبات إلى سبع في انتخابات 2005 لتصل نسبتهن إلى 7, 4% .
2- نجاح لبنان - رغم الظروف الصعبة التى واجهته- في إجراء الانتخابات النيابية في موعدهاً، وقد أجريت في ظل رقابة وطنية ودولية، وخلصت بعثة الاتحاد الأوربي إلى أن الانتخابات كانت حسنة التنظيم، لكن الإطار القانوني بحاجة إلى إصلاح شامل. كما رصد مراقبون دوليون عملية شراء أصوات.
3- أدت الانتخابات إلى وصول (61) نائباً جديداً للبرلمان الذي يتألف من (128) عضواً, وغياب وجوه وزعامات تاريخية عن عضويته، وتمكنت قوى المعارضة من الحصول على (72) مقعداً نيابياً, الأمر الذي أتاح لها أغلبية مطلقة تسمح لها بتشكيل الحكومة (كتلة الحريرى).
4- صدور قرار وزير العمل في 27/6/2005 الذي يسمح لللاجئين الفلسطينيين المولودين على الأراضي اللبنانية والمسجلين بشكل رسمي في سجلات وزارة الداخلية بالعمل في معظم المهن التي كانوا ممنوعين من ممارستها, والتي يبلغ عددها (73) مهنة، ولا يشمل القرار المهن الحرة مثل الطب والمحاماة التي تستوجب الانضمام إلى نقابات هي حكر على المواطنين.
5- قررت الحكومة اللبنانية في 8 أغسطس/ آب 2005 إلغاء القرار 60/1993 الذي كان يفرض الموافقة المسبقة لمجلس الوزراء قبل حصول أي جمعية على "علم وخبر" من وزارة الداخلية المقدم لوزارة الداخلية كي يصبح عمل الجمعيات له صفة قانونية.
6- انسحاب القوات السورية والوجود الاستخباراتي والأمني السوري من لبنان استجابة لقرار مجلس الأمن 1559 (2005)، بعد موجة عداء تجاه سوريا أطلقتها اتهامات قوي لبنانية ودولية لسوريا بارتكاب جريمة اغتيال الرئيس الحريري، وكان وجود هذه القوات موضع جدل واستقطاب كبيرين بين القوى السياسية في لبنان.
7- نشر الجيش اللبناني في جنوب لبنان لأول مرة منذ عقود، في إطار تنفيذ قرار مجلس الأمن رقم 1701، وبسط سيادة الحكومة على جميع أراضي لبنان. وقد تم نشر الجيش بسلاسة في إطار توافق سياسي بين الأطراف المعنية.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Human Rights: Lebanon
You may also
 

International Conventions

Lebanon has acceded to six of the seven United Nations conventions on human rights, namely: the Two Covenants on Civil and Political Rights; on Economic, social and Cultural Rights (1972), the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (1971), the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (1997), the Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (2000), and the Convention on the Rights of the Child (1991). It has also acceded to the two optional protocols attached to the Rights of the Child convention pertaining to involvement of children in armed conflicts and the sale of children and exploiting them in prostitution and pornographic materials (2001).

Lebanon has also acceded to seven of the eight International Labour Organization (ILO) conventions concerned with human rights, namely: convention (98) on Freedom of Association and Collective Bargaining (1977), the two conventions (29 and 105) pertaining to Elimination of Forced or Compulsory Labour (1977); the two conventions (100 and 111) on the prevention of discrimination in respect of employment and occupation (1977); and the two conventions (138 and 182) concerning the prevention of employing children and minors (2003 and 2001 respectively).

Lebanon made reservations on certain provisions of the conventions it acceded to:
- The International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination: article (22) pertaining to ways of resolving disputes over interpreting or implementing the convention. Lebanon believes that any dispute it is a part to requires the approval of all parties to the dispute on resorting to the International Court of Justice.
- The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women: article (9/2) that guarantees equal rights for men and women with regard to their children's citizenship. Article (16/1) that commits states to apply proper measures to eliminate discrimination against women in marriage and family relations; Lebanon made a reservation on the right to choose the family name (the surname). Article (29/1) concerning ways of resolving disputes among state parties over interpreting or implementing the convention.

Top of this page

Regional Charters

Lebanon has agreed to the "Cairo Declaration on Human Rights in Islam" issued in 1990 by foreign ministers of Muslim countries. The declaration is a guiding document that does not require ratification. Lebanon also acceded to the "Arab Charter of Human Rights/Amended" prepared by the Arab Summit in Tunisia in May 2004. Lebanon did not ratify the charter just like most Arab countries.

Top of this page

Human Rights Institutions

There are several types of human rights institutions in Lebanon, some institutions are governmental, some are parliamentarian and some are non-governmental. An example of governmental institutions is the National Committee for the Affairs of Lebanese Women that was established in 1995 in accordance with the resolutions of the Fourth International Women's Conference held in Pejing. At the parliamentary level a human rights committee was formed with the aim of protecting human rights and guaranteeing public and private freedoms, especially the exercise of these freedoms. The committee also works on legal texts that affect equality among Lebanese men and women, and on creating harmony between Lebanese laws and regulations on one side, and international human rights conventions and charters on the other. Lebanon also has many NGOs active in the field of human rights, such as: "The Lebanese Human Rights Association" (1985); "The Civil Society for Pursuing Women's Affairs" (1993); "The Lebanese Union for Child Care" (1949); "The National Association for Rights of the Disabled" (1988); and "Peoples Rights Movement" (1989) concerned with the freedom of associations and civil action. Also, The Lebanese Association for Democratic Elections (1996) concerned with observing elections. Some NGOs, are interested in the condition of Palestinian refugees and camps in Lebanon, such as "The Palestinian Organization for Human Rights/Rights" (1997) and "The Palestinian Organization for Human Rights/Witness".

Top of this page

Achievements on the Road to Good Governance

1. In an effort to advance women's rights, a national authority for advancing Lebanese women's affairs and another authority for combating violence against women were established. Moreover, a legal amendment was introduced in 1996 that removed the pardoning alibi of honour crimes. Another Amendment was introduced in 1998 making elementary education mandatory and free of charge. Illiteracy rate among females was reduced, and female school enrolment increased. Women held ministerial positions for the first time in Lebanon's history in prime minister Karami's government on October 26, 2004. On November 10, 2004 the first Lebanese woman occupied the position of public prosecutor. Women doubled their parliament membership from 3 to 7 deputies in 2005 elections. Women constitute 4.7% of Lebanon's parliament members.
2. Lebanon succeeded in holding legislative elections in due time despite the harsh circumstances it was facing. The elections were observed by national and international teams. The European mission concluded that the elections were well organized, but their legal framework needed comprehensive reform. International observers detected vote purchasing incidents.
3. The 2005 elections carried 61 new deputies to the parliament that consists of 128 deputies. Prominent political leaders lost their parliamentary seats, and the opposition controlled 72 seats or an absolute majority that enabled them (Hariri Block) to form the government.
4. On June 27, 2005 the minister of labour issued a decision that allows Palestinian refugees born in Lebanon and registered at the ministry of interior to work in most of the 73 occupations previously barred to them. The decision does not include the professions such as medicine, law and engineering that are confined to Lebanese citizens.
5. The Lebanese government abolished on August 8, 2005 Decision No. 60/1993 that required apriori approval by the council of ministers for establishing a new civil society.
6. Withdrawal of Syrian forces from Lebanon in response to UN Security Council 1559/2005, following a wave of hatred against Syria launched by Lebanese and international parties accusing Syria of assassinating prime minister Rafiq Hariri. The presence of Syrian force was a source of bitter dispute among Lebanese political groups.
7. The Lebanese Army was deployed in South Lebanon, for a the first time in decades, in the context of implementing UN Security Council resolution 1701, and as a means of establishing government sovereignty over all Lebanese territories. The army was deployed peacefully in context of political agreement among the concerned parties.

Top of this page