إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الشفافية المالية: البحرين
يمكنكم أيضا
 

النظام الضريبي

تحدد المواد 109-112 من الدستور إجراءات إقرار الميزانية العامة. تقترح الحكومة مشروع قانون الميزانية على مجلس النواب قبل شهرين على الأقل من إقفال السنة المالية. يناقش مجلس النواب الميزانية ثم يحيلها إلى مجلس الشورى. فان لم يصدر قانون الميزانية قبل بدء السنة المالية يعمل بالميزانية السابقة إلى حين صدوره. ولا يمكن تخصيص أي إنفاق من خارج بنود الميزانية إلا بموجب قانون. ولا يجوز لقانون الميزانية إضافة ضرائب جديدة أو زيادة الضرائب أو إدخال تعديلات على القوانين السائدة. ومع أن الإيرادات غير الضريبية ما تزال تشكل ثلثي إيرادات الحكومة، فان إيرادات الضرائب تتصاعد بثبات وبلغت 10 % من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في السنوات الأخيرة. ولا يوجد في البحرين ضريبة دخل على الشركات أو على الأفراد، ولكن يتم تحصيل أكثر من نصف الإيرادات الضريبية من المشروعات التجارية المملوكة للدولة. وتتفاوض دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي فيما بينها على وضع معيار مشترك للبيانات وإطار للمحاسبة الضريبية. ويتطلب التحضير لإقامة الاتحاد النقدي المتوقع في سنة 2010 قدرا أكبر من التسويغ. وتبحث السلطات البحرينية أيضا فرض ضريبة القيمة المضافة كوسيلة لتوسيع القاعدة الضريبية، وتدرس إمكانية التنسيق مع دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي الأخرى بهذا الخصوص.

أعلى الصفحة

مراجعة الحسابات العامة

يكفل القانون استقلال ديوان الرقابة المالية الذي يساعد الحكومة ومجلس النواب في الرقابة على تحصيل وإنفاق إيرادات الدولة. وتعمل الهيئة العليا لمراجعة الحسابات على توفير الشفافية في البحرين. وبالإضافة إلى هذه الهيئة، تعمل "هيئة المحاسبة والتدقيق للمؤسسات المالية الإسلامية" على وضع معايير محاسبية للمصارف الإسلامية. ونص دستور 1973 على أن يكون المراقب المالي للدولة مسؤولا أمام المجلس التشريعي وليس أمام الحكومة، لكن دستور 2002 لم يكن واضحا حول هذه النقطة.

أعلى الصفحة

المشتريات العامة

أقرت "لجنة تفعيل الميثاق الوطني" قانونا جديدا للمناقصات في أيلول/سبتمبر 2001. ويقضي القانون بإنشاء "مجلس المناقصات" بهدف تدقيق عملية إرساء العقود الحكومية. ولا يسمح لأعضاء هذا المجلس وأقربائهم من المشاركة في مناقصات العقود الحكومية.

أعلى الصفحة

النظام المصرفي

تأسست "مؤسسة نقد البحرين" بموجب المرسوم الأميري الرقم 23 لعام 1973 لتكون بمثابة البنك المركزي. ووحدت مؤسسة نقد البحرين مراقبة وتنظيم القطاع المالي (بما في ذلك البنوك وشركات التأمين وأسواق رأس المال) تحت سقف واحد من أجل ضبط المخاطر المشتركة لجميع مكونات هذا القطاع. والبحرين التي رسخت مكانتها كموئل عالمي للبنوك "البعيدة عن الشاطئ" (الأوفشور) هي أيضا في مقدمة الدول العاملة على تطوير الخدمات المالية الإسلامية.

ولعبت البحرين أيضا دورا إقليميا نشطا في مكافحة غسل الأموال. واستضافت البحرين في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2004 الاجتماع التأسيسي لفرع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا الإقليمي "لفرقة العمل المالي" الدولية، واستضافت أيضا أول اجتماع مكتمل لهذا الفرع ضم ممثلي 14 دولة في نيسان/إبريل 2005.

أصدرت مؤسسة نقد البحرين لوائح جديدة للبنوك الإسلامية في كانون الثاني/يناير 2002 أخذت في الحسبان السمات والمعايير المحاسبية الخاصة لهذه البنوك حسبما حددتها "منظمة المحاسبة والتدقيق للمؤسسات المالية الإسلامية" إضافة إلى التوجيهات الدولية المختلفة التي وضعتها "لجنة بازل". وتستضيف البحرين أيضا "المجلس العام للمصارف والمؤسسات المالية الإسلامية"، وهو عبارة عن إطار شامل للبنوك الإسلامية تأسس في أيلول/سبتمبر 2001. وأكدت مؤسسة نقد البحرين و "المجلس العام للمصارف والمؤسسات المالية الإسلامية" برئاسة الشيخ صالح كامل على أن أي من البنوك الإسلامية لم تطاله الحملة التي شنت على الإرهاب الدولي بعد 11 أيلول/سبتمبر 2001. وأصدرت مؤسسة نقد البحرين أوامر بتجميد أصول أي فرد أو مؤسسة يشتبه بوجود علاقة له أو لها بالإرهاب.

أعلى الصفحة

الخصخصة

تمّ في نيسان/إبريل 2000 إنشاء "المجلس الأعلى للتنمية الاقتصادية" برئاسة رئيس الوزراء. وقد تحول هذا المجلس إلى "هيئة التنمية الاقتصادية" في نيسان/إبريل 2001. وتشمل الأولويات المعلنة لهذه الهيئة خصخصة بعض الشركات والصناعات المملوكة للدولة وتنويع الاقتصاد بهدف توفير المزيد من الوظائف للمواطنين البحرينيين. ونتيجة لانخفاض حاد في الإنتاج النفطي البحريني، أدركت الحكومة أنه ما عاد في مقدورها الاعتماد على صادرات النفط لإدامة اقتصادها وبالتالي أظهرت جدية تامة بخصوص المضي في عملية تخصيص المشروعات الاقتصادية العائدة للدولة.

أعلى الصفحة

سوق الأوراق المالية (البورصة(

أسست سوق الأوراق المالية البحرينية بموجب المرسوم الأميري الرقم 4 لعام 1989، وباشرت عملياتها في حزيران/يونيو بـ 29 شركة مدرجة. تولت مؤسسة نقد البحرين الإشراف على جميع القطاعات المالية، بما في ذلك أسواق رأس المال، عام 2002 وبالتالي أشرفت على البورصة. واتخذت المؤسسة خطوات في سنة 2004 لاستكمال الإطار التنظيمي والرقابي لهذا القطاع انسجاما مع المعايير الدولية التي وضعتها "المنظمة الدولية لهيئات الأوراق المالية". وأصدرت المؤسسة "معايير الإطلاع أو الإفصاح" للشركات المدرجة في بورصة البحرين، وإضافة إلى "الأوامر التوجيهية" المتعلقة بالوقاية من وحظر غسل الأموال في بورصة البحرين. وكانت قواعد جديدة منظمة للسندات والأوراق المالية موضع بحث مع المشاركين في البورصة. وسبق لمؤسسة نقد البحرين أن نفذت اتفاقيات مع وكالات إقليمية مماثلة من دول الجوار مثل "سوق مسقط للأوراق المالية" في عام 1995، وسوق عمّان المالي عام 1996، والهيئة المصرية لسوق رأس المال عام 1997. وعلاوة على ذلك، وقعت بورصات البحرين ومسقط والكويت عام 1996 اتفاقيات لتبادل إدراج الأسهم فيما بينها. كما تم توقيع اتفاقية مع بورصة الكويت عام 1997 لتعزيز التبادل بين البلدين.

أدرجت سوق البحرين للأوراق المالية 38 شركة محلية و7 شركات أجنبية تقدر قيمتها بـ 1ر5 مليار دينار بحريني (5ر13 مليار دولار) في نهاية 2004. وكانت نسبة دوران الأسهم المتداولة 1% فقط عام 2004، لكن البحرين كانت أيضا الدولة الرائدة في إصدار الصكوك الإسلامية.

وأصدرت مؤسسة نقد البحرين دليل "إرشادات بشأن إصدار وطرح وإدراج سندات الدين الإسلامية" في بورصة البحرين. وتعتبر البحرين المركز الإقليمي الأول لإدراج وتجارة السندات الإسلامية. وتسعى المؤسسة أيضا إلى إدراج المزيد من "الشركات الخاصة والعائلية ذات الرؤية المستقبلية".

أعلى الصفحة

المعاهد المالية

مركز البحرين للدراسات والبحوث مركز حكومي بدأ يهتم مؤخرا بقضايا الصناعة والتجارة. ويتركز اهتمام المركز على المبادرات والمشروعات العامة، لكن مع تزايد أهمية الخصخصة والاستثمار ازداد انشغال المركز بشؤون القطاع الخاص.

ويقدم "معهد البحرين للأعمال المصرفية والمالية" التدريب لأعداد كبيرة من موظفي المصارف في البحرين.

أعلى الصفحة

معايير الشفافية الدولية

تنوي البحرين الانضمام إلى النظام العام لنشر البيانات التابع لصندوق النقد الدولي بعد إدراكها لقواعد بياناتها المتفرقة، وذلك استعدادا لقيام الاتحاد النقدي مع الأعضاء الآخرين في مجلس التعاون الخليجي.

وأجرت كل من مؤسستي "مودز" و "ستاندرد آند بوورز" تقييما للبحرين.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Financial Transparency: Bahrain
You may also
 

Fiscal

Articles 109-112 of the constitution outline budget approval procedures in the country. The government is to propose a budget to the Chamber of Deputies at least two months before the close of each fiscal year. The Chamber debates and in turn refers it to the Consultative Council. In the event that the budget is not enacted, the preceding budget is applicable until the new one is issued. Any disbursements which are outside the budget must be enacted by law. The Budget Law may not include additional taxes or tax increases or amendments to existing laws. Although non-tax revenues still account for two-thirds of the government's revenues, tax receipts steadily climbed, reaching 10% of GDP in recent years. Bahrain has no corporate or individual income tax but raises over half of it tax revenues from state-owned enterprises. Negotiations are under way with other members of the Gulf Cooperation Council to prepare a common data standard and fiscal accounting framework. Greater rationalization is needed to prepare for the monetary union expected in 2010. The authorities are also discussing a value-added tax as a means of broadening the tax base, if it can be coordinated with the other GCC members.

Top of this page

Public Audit

A Financial Control Office is guaranteed independence by law and is to assist the Government and the Chamber of Deputies in controlling the collection and disbursement of state revenues. A Supreme Audit Commission works to provide transparency in Bahrain. In addition to this organization, the Accounting and Auditing Organization for Islamic Financial Institutions (AAOIFI) is establishing accounting standards for Islamic banks. The constitution of 1973 stated that the country’s financial comptroller was to be responsible to the legislature and not to the government, though the 2002 constitution is unclear on this point.

Top of this page

Public Procurement

The Committee for the Activation of the National Charter approved a new Public Tenders Law in September 2001. The law establishes a Council for Tenders to audit the allocation of government contracts. Members of the Council and their relatives are not permitted to bid for government contracts.

Top of this page

Banking

The Bahrain Monetary Agency (Muassasat Naqd al-Bahrayn), established by Emiri Decree No. 23 of 1973, functions as a central bank. The BMA has consolidated the supervision and regulation of the financial sector (including banks, insurance, and capital markets) under one umbrella in order to control common risks across all components of the financial sector. Bahrain, already an international hub for offshore banking, is also at the forefront in developing Islamic financial services.

Bahrain has also taken an active regional role in combating money laundering. In November 2004 Bahrain was the meeting place for the founding of the international Financial Action Task Force’s regional Middle East and North African arm, and MENAFATF’s first plenary session assembled the representatives of 14 MENA states in Bahrain in April 2005.

The BMA issued new regulations for Islamic banks in January 2002 that take into account their special characteristics and accounting standards, as established by AAOIFI, as well as the Basle Committee's various international guidelines. Bahrain also hosts the General Council for Islamic Banks and Financial Institutions (GCIBFI), an umbrella organization for Islamic banks established in September 2001. The BMA and the GCIBFI, under the chairmanship of Sheikh Saleh Kamel, stressed that no Islamic banks were caught in the backlash against international terrorism after September 11, 2001. The BMA issued orders to freeze the assets of any individual or organization suspected of terrorism.

Top of this page

Privatization

In April 2000 a Supreme Council for Economic Development was established under the chairmanship of the Prime Minister; and this was later transformed into the Economic Development Board (EDB) in April 2001. Its stated priorities include the privatization of some state-owned industries and economic diversification with in the aim of providing more jobs for Bahraini nationals. As a result of a drastic reduction in Bahrain’s oil production, the government has realized that it can no longer depend on oil exports to keep its economy going and as a result has been very serious in privatizing state enterprises.

Top of this page

Stock Exchange

The Bahrain Stock Exchange (BSE), founded by Amiri Decree 4 of 1989, commenced operations in June of that year with 29 listed companies. The Bahrain Monetary Authority took control of all financial sectors, including capital markets, in 2002, and consequently supervises the BSE. In 2004 it took steps to complement the regulatory and supervisory framework for this sector in line with the international standards set by the International Organization of Securities Commissions. It issued the Disclosure Standards for companies listed in the Bahrain Stock Exchange as well as the Directives relating to the prevention and prohibition of Money Laundering at the Bahrain Stock Exchange. New Securities Regulations were also under discussion with industry participants. Earlier the BSE implemented agreements with neighboring similar regional agencies such as the Muscat Securities Market in 1995, the Amman Financial Market in 1996, and the Egypt Capital Market Authority in 1997. Moreover, in 1996 the Bahrain, Muscat, and Kuwait Stock exchanges signed agreements to cross-list shares. Furthermore in 1997, an agreement with the Kuwait stock exchange was signed to enhance exchange between the two countries.

This stock exchange listed 38 local and 7 foreign companies valued at BD 5.1 billion ($13.5 billion) at the end of 2004. The turnover ratio of traded stock was only about one per cent in 2004, but Bahrain was also pioneering Islamic bond issues (sukuk).

In 2004 the Bahrain Monetary Fund issued the “Guideline for the Issuing, Offering And Listing of Islamic Debt Securities” in the Bahrain Stock Exchange. Bahrain is positioned as the leading regional center for listing and trading in Islamic securities. The BSE is also seeking further listings from “Private and family-owned businesses with a future vision.”

Top of this page

Financial Institutes

The Bahrain Center for Studies and Research is a government operated center that has been branching out recently to industry and business related issues. The Center is mostly concerned with public related initiatives and projects, but as privatization and investment have become increasingly important, the Center’s involvement in the private sector has increased.

The Bahrain Banking and Finance Institute offers training for Bahrain's many bank employees.

Top of this page

International Transparency Standards

Bahrain intends to join the IMF’s General Data Dissemination System as it reorganizes its dispersed databases, in preparation for monetary union with the other members of the Gulf Cooperation Council.

Both Moody’s and Standard and Poor’s have rated the country.

Top of this page