إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الشفافية المالية: الكويت
يمكنكم أيضا
 

النظام الضريبي

تفصّل المواد 85 و 140-146 من الدستور الكويتي إجراءات إعداد الميزانية في الكويت. تقدم الحكومة اقتراحا بالميزانية إلى مجلس الأمة قبل شهرين على الأقل من نهاية كل سنة مالية. وعلى مجلس الأمة بعدئذ أن يقرّ الميزانية السنوية قبل انتهاء الشهر الثامن من دورته. وفي حال عدم إقرار الميزانية تطبّق بنود الميزانية السابقة حتى صدور الميزانية الجديدة. وتبذل الجهود لتنويع قاعدة الإيرادات للتقليل من الاعتماد على أسعار النفط العالمية من خلال إدخال ضرائب واسعة النطاق على الاستهلاك، وإزالة المنافذ المفتوحة أمـام التهرب من ضرائب الاستيراد، وجباية الرسوم على السلع الفاخرة. وعلى الرغم من الفوائض المالية الهائلة في السنوات الخمس الماضية، تعتزم الحكومة مواصلة كبح جماح الإنفاق لتقليل مخاطر التعرض لتقلبات أسعار النفط.

أعلى الصفحة

مراجعة الحسابات العامة

تأسس ديوان المحاسبة بموجب القانون رقم 30 لعام 1964 كهيئة مستقلة تتبع مجلس الأمة. وتفرض المادة 151 من الدستور على ديوان المحاسبة إجراء مراجعة سنوية لشؤون الدولة المالية وتقديمها إلى الحكومة ومجلس الأمة.

أعلى الصفحة

المشتريات العامة

تدير "لجنة المناقصات المركزية" الملحقة بمجلس الوزراء جميع المناقصات العامة. ويشترط القانون التجاري رقم 36 لعام 1964 المعدل بالقانون رقم 68 لعام 1980 على الشركات الأجنبية أن تقوم ببيع منتجاتها إلى الوزارات الحكومية من خلال شركة كويتية أو من خلال وكيل كويتي الجنسية.

أعلى الصفحة

النظام المصرفي

بنك الكويت المركزي، الذي أسس في سنة 1968، هو العمود الفقري للإدارة المالية في البلاد. ونصح صندوق الدولي بأن يكون لسلطة البنك المركزي التنظيمية على البنوك التجارية وضعا قانونيا مستقلا. وللبنك المركزي عدد من الأهداف من بينها: توجيه سياسة الائتمان. سياسة البنك النقدية حكيمة، وظل معدل التضخم ما دون 2% بين عامي 2000 و 2003. وفرض البنك المركزي عام 2004 سقفا على حد ائتمان البنوك التجارية قياسا إلى نسبة ودائعها كإجراء احترازي إزاء احتمال فقاعة سوق الأسهم.

تقدم سبعة مصارف تجارية كبرى تشكيلة واسعة من الخدمات المالية. وتشكل القروض غير المستوفاة أو المتعثرة أقل من 6% من إجمالي قروض هذه البنوك، علاوة على أن القروض مغطاة بالكامل تقريبا، فيما يغطي رأس مال البنوك الجزء غير المغطى منها. ولا يجوز تجاوز ملكية الشخص الواحد في أي بنك من البنوك الكويتية 5 % من رأسمال البنك إلا بموافقة مسبقة من بنك الكويت المركزي. إضافة إلى ذلك فان "بيت التمويل الكويتي"، وهو شركة عامة مساهمة تملك الحكومة 49 % من أسهمها، هو البنك الإسلامي الأول في البلاد. ويعمل هذا البنك على توفير بيئة "تسير فيها الفطنة المالية جنبا إلى جنب مع المبادئ الإسلامية". وتشمل خدماته الحسابات والودائع والتحويلات الأجنبية وصناديق لإيداع الأمانات، وخطابات الكفالة. وفي نيسان/إبريل 2003 صدر قانون خاص بالمصارف الإسلامية خضع "بيت التمويل الكويتي" بموجبه لرقابة البنك المركزي، وفتح الباب أمام ترخيص مصرف إسلامي آخر بعد سنة من تاريخه، وسمح للبنوك الكويتية الأخرى بإنشاء فروع إسلامية. وتم في كانون الثاني/يناير 2004 تعديل القانون المصرفي من أجل السماح للبنوك الأجنبية بالعمل في الكويت، كما صدر تشريع برلماني عدّل بموجبه القانون رقم 32/1968 مما أتاح للبنوك الأجنبية افتتاح فروعا لها في الكويت.

وقوى القانون رقم 35 لعام 2002 نظام مكافحة غسل الأموال في الكويت، كما اتخذت إجراءات ضد إساءة استخدام أموال الجمعيات الخيرية. وتمّ إعادة تنظيم اللجنة الوطنية لمكافحة غسل الأموال في نيسان/إبريل 2004.

أعلى الصفحة

الخصخصة

يسمح قانون "الاستثمار الأجنبي" رقم 8 لعام 2001 للأجانب بالتملك الكامل للشركات في الكويت. وأصبح هذا القانون نافذ المفعول في عام 2003، لكن القطاع العام ما يزال يسيطر على الاقتصاد الكويتي إذ بلغت حصته من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي ثلاثة أضعاف حصة القطاع الخاص ولم تقل عن ذلك في السنوات الأخيرة.

أعلى الصفحة

سوق الأوراق المالية (البورصة(

تأسست سوق الأوراق المالية الكويتية (البورصة) سنة 1977 وأعيد افتتاحها سنة 1992 بعد الغزو العراقي، في الوقت الذي شهدت البلاد قدرا كبيرا من إعادة التفكير وإعادة الهيكلة وإعادة البناء في القطاع التجاري من خلال الاندماج والتصفية والتملك. وقد استعادت سوق الأوراق المالية عافيتها تماما عام 1995 بعد أن أدخلت نظام التجارة الآلي. ووقّع الأردن والكويت سنة 1999 مذكرة تفاهم تسمح بتبادل إدراج الشركات في بورصتي الأوراق المالية في كل منهما. وسمح منذ عام 2000 للأجانب بالمتاجرة بالأسهم الكويتية.

بلغت رسملة السوق 7ر21 مليار دينار كويتي (3ر78 مليار دولار) بنهاية سنة 2004، أي 142% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي، وبلغ عدد الشركات المدرجة في البورصة 125 شركة. وبلغ معدل دوران الأسهم المتبادلة 3ر89% عام 2003. وارتفعت أحجام المتاجرة إلى درجة جعلت البنك المركزي يتدخل ويضع قيودا على الائتمان الاستهلاكي لإبطاء نمو السوق. وارتفع مؤشر بورصة الكويت عشرة أضعاف منذ عام 2000 بموازاة الارتفاع المستمر في إيرادات النفط الكبيرة وفي الفوائض المالية الحكومية، وسجل المؤشر رقما قياسيا بلغ 000ر11 نقطة في أواخر عام 2005 وأوائل عام 2006. ونما مؤشر البورصة بمعدل أسرع من نمو القيمة السوقية للشركات المدرجة فيه، لكن ذلك حصل لعدم قياس القيمة المرجحة للمؤشر.

وتجري مناقشة مسودة "قانون أسواق رأس المال" منذ العام 2004. وينص مشروع القانون على إنشاء هيئة تنظيمية تتولى تحسين درجة الكشف المؤسسي وضبط المتاجرة من داخل الشركات، وذلك بهدف تلبية المعايير الدولية للأسواق الناشئة.

أعلى الصفحة

المعاهد المالية

معهد الكويت للأبحاث العلمية" معهد حكومي للأبحاث والسياسات لا يهدف إلى الربح ويركز على المسائل التكنولوجية والاقتصادية. أسس المعهد سنة 1972 كبرنامج فرعي بالاشتراك مع شركة النفط اليابانية العربية، وتحول بموجب مرسوم أميري صدر سنة 1981 إلى معهد وطني للأبحاث. ويجري المعهد بحوثا تطبيقية ويعمم نتائجها دعما للتنمية الوطنية اقتصاديا وصناعيا وتكنولوجي.

ترعى "الجمعية الاقتصادية الكويتية" التي أسست كجمعية نفع عام في سنة 1970 المؤتمرات حول الاقتصاد الكويتي، وتقوم بتقديم تعليقات وملاحظات مدروسة حول قضايا الشفافية المالية والفساد.

يقوم "معهد الدراسات المصرفية" بوظائف التعليم والتدريب المؤسسي والأبحاث. كما يعدّ المعهد برامج خاصة ويجري تحليلات لأوضاع البنوك التجارية في جميع دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي.

أعلى الصفحة

معايير الشفافية الدولية

تشترك الكويت في نظام نشر البيانات العامة التابع لصندوق النقد الدولي والذي يسمح بالنشر الإلكتروني لتقرير موظفي الصندوق حول مشاورات المادة الرابعة مع الكويت. وشاركت الكويت أيضا مع صندوق النقد الدولي والبنك الدولي في نشر "تقارير التقيد بالمعايير والقواعد" المتعلقة بالرقابة المصرفية، وتنظيم الأوراق المالية ومكافحة غسل الأموال وتمويل الإرهاب.

وأجرت كل من مؤسسة "موديز" ومؤسسة "ستاندرد أند بوورز" تصنيفا لوضع الكويت الاقتصادي.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Financial Transparency: Kuwait
You may also
 

Fiscal

Articles 85 and 140-146 of the National Constitution outline budget procedures in the Kuwait. The government proposes a budget to the National Assembly at least two months before the close of each fiscal year. The National Assembly then must approve the annual budget before the close of its eight-month session. In the event that the budget is not approved, the preceding budget is applicable until the new one is issued. Efforts are underway to diversify the revenue base from dependence on international oil prices by introducing a broad-based consumption taxes, removing loopholes on import duties and levying excises on luxury goods. Despite the enormous surpluses of the past five years, the government intends to rein in spending in order to reduce exposure to the volatility of oil prices.

Top of this page

Public Audit

Law 30 of 1964 founded the State Audit Bureau as an independent body attached to the National Assembly. It is required by Article 151 of the Constitution to present an annual audit of state finances to the government and to parliament.

Top of this page

Public Procurement

The Central Tenders Committee, which is attached to the Council of Ministers, administers all public tenders. The Commercial Law 36/1964, amended by Law 68/1980, requires that foreign companies may only sell to ministries through a Kuwaiti company or an agent who is a Kuwait citizen.

Top of this page

Banking

The Central Bank of Kuwait, established in 1968, is the backbone of financial management in the country. The International Monetary Fund has advised that its regulatory authority over commercial banks have independent legal status. Among its many objectives the Central Bank directs credit policy. Monetary policy is prudent, and inflation averaged below an annual 2 percent from 2000 to 2003. The Central Bank imposed a ceiling on the commercial banks’ credit to deposits ratio in 2004 as a precaution against a potential stock market bubble.

Seven major commercial banks provide a wide array of financial services. Non-performing loans constitute less than 6 per cent of their total loans, and they are almost fully provisioned, the rest being amply covered by the banks’ capital. No single individual is permitted to own more than 5% of the capital of any Kuwaiti bank without the prior approval of the Central Bank of Kuwait. In addition to these banks, the Kuwait Finance House, a public shareholding company 49% of which is owned by the government, is the country’s first Islamic Bank. It works to provide an environment where “financial acumen goes hand-in-hand with Islamic principles.” Its services include accounts and deposits, foreign remittances, safe deposit boxes, and letters of guarantee. An Islamic banking law passed in April 2003 brought the Kuwait Finance House under the supervision of the Central Bank and opened the way for an additional Islamic bank to be approved a year later and for other Kuwaiti banks to open Islamic branches. The Banking Law was amended in January 2004 to allow foreign banks to operate in Kuwait. A legal amendment to Law 32/1968, also passed by parliament in January 2004, enables foreign banks to establish local branches.

Law 35 of 2002 strengthened Kuwait’s Anti-Money Laundering system, and measures have been taken against the abuse of charitable organizations. The National Committee on AML was reorganized in April 2004.

Top of this page

Privatization

The Foreign Investment Law 8/2001, which permits foreigners up to one hundred percent ownership of Kuwaiti companies, came into effect in 2003, but the public sector still dominates the Kuwait economy. Its share of GDP is triple that of the private sector and has not diminished in recent years.

Top of this page

Stock Exchange

The Kuwait Stock Exchange (KSE) was initially established in 1977 and reopened in 1992 in the aftermath of the Iraqi invasion, during which time there was a great deal of rethinking, restructuring, and rebuilding of the business sector through mergers, acquisitions, and liquidations. The KSE recovered strongly after it adopted an automated trading system in 1995. In 1999, Jordan and Kuwait signed a memorandum of understanding that permitted cross-listing on their respective stock exchanges, and foreigners have been permitted to trade in Kuwaiti stocks since 2000.

Market capitalization at the end of 2004 was KD 21.7 billion ($78.3 billion), 142% of GDP, and 125 companies were listed on the exchange. The turnover ratio of traded stock was 89.8% in 2003. Trading volumes soared until the Central Bank introduced limits on consumer credit to slow the market's growth. The KSE index has increased almost ten-fold since 2000, corresponding to the persistence of high oil revenues and government surpluses, to reach record highs above 11,000 in late 2005 and early 2006. The index grew more rapidly than the market value of the listed companies, however, because it is not value-weighted.

A draft Capital Markets Law, under discussion since 2004, would establish an independent regulatory authority to improve corporate disclosure, control insider trading, and to meet international standards for emerging markets.

Top of this page

Financial Institutes

The Kuwait Institute of Scientific Research (KISR) is a non-profit government research and policy institute focusing on technological and economic issues. It was created in 1972 as an offset program with the Japanese Arab Oil Company and given the status of national research center by an Emiri Decree in 1981. KISR conducts and disseminates applied research to support national economic, industrial and technological development.

The Kuwait Economic Society, founded as a public welfare society in 1970, sponsors conferences on the Kuwaiti economy and presents thoughtful commentaries on issues of financial transparency and corruption.

The Institute of Banking Studies works for education, institutional training, research and special programs and offers analyses of the commercial banks in all of the GCC.

Top of this page

International Transparency Standards

Kuwait has participated in the IMF’s General Data Dissemination System since 2000 and permits publication online of the IMF's annual Staff Report on Article IV Consultations. Kuwait has also engaged with the IMF and World Bank in publishing Reports on the Observance of Standards and Codes (ROSC) for banking supervision, securities regulation, and combating money laundering and terrorist financing.

Both Moody’s and Standard and Poor’s have rated the country.

Top of this page