إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الشفافية المالية: لبنان
يمكنكم أيضا
 

النظام الضريبي

وفقا للمادتين 82 و 83 من الدستور الوطني يقر مجلس النواب الموازنة العامة ويتمتع بسلطة فرض ضرائب جديدة. ومنذ سنة 2000 أصبحت الإيرادات الضريبية اللبنانية الأعلى بين دول الشرق الأدنى إذ تجاوزت 16% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي. لكن خدمة الدين العام الهائل (قدّره صندوق النقد الدولي بـ 167% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2005 وما زال في حال ارتفاع مستمر). تستنفذ أكثر من نصف الموازنة العامة وتحد من قدرة مجلس النواب على إعادة تخصيص المصروفات. ولا يجوز لمجلس النواب زيادة النفقات العامة الواردة في الموازنة. لكن شؤون لبنان المالية ستكون أكثر شفافية لو تضمنت الميزانية النفقات الرئيسية لمجلس الإنماء والإعمار الذي يتعاون مع المانحين الأجانب في المجالات التالية: وضع خطة عامة للتنمية والتمويل مع الدولة؛ تنفيذ المشروعات التي أقرها مجلس الوزراء؛ وإعادة تأهيل الإدارة العامة. كما تحذف من الموازنة نفقات المؤسسات شبه الحكومية مثل شركة كهرباء لبنان التي توزع إعانات مالية خفية تستنزف الموارد العامة. كما تفلت أموال الضمان الاجتماعي والتقاعد من الإشراف العام.

أعلى الصفحة

مراجعة الحسابات العامة

يشرف ديوان المحاسبة الذي تأسس بقانون بمرسوم في 16 أيلول/سبتمبر 1983 على أموال الحكومة المركزية، والسلطات المحلية الرئيسية، والمؤسسات العامة. يعين مجلس الوزراء رئيس ديوان المحاسبة. ويعاون رئيس الديوان 6 قضاة دائمين و 36 قاضيا آخر لا يمكن عزلهم من مناصبهم. وبعكس معظم الممارسات الدولية، يعتمد ديوان المحاسبة على الضوابط المسبقة، ويكرر ما تقوم به وكالات حكومية أخرى، أكثر من اعتماده على التدقيق الخارجي عند قيامه بالإشراف القضائي على إدارة الأموال العامة. ويقدم الديوان تقريرا سنويا إلى رئيس الجمهورية مع نسخة إلى رئيس مجلس النواب، ويتم نشر التقرير في الجريدة الرسمية. لكن الحسابات المالية والتقارير الختامية لتنفيذ الموازنة لا تخضع للتدقيق الخارجي، وبالتالي فإن تأشيرة ديوان المحاسبة على "القانون التنظيمي" السنوي هي بالضرورة تأشيرة مؤقتة لأن الكشوفات الكاملة للسنوات المالية السابقة لم تنجز. وهذا الديوان مسؤول أيضا عن مقاضاة الموظفين الحكوميين المتهمين بانتهاك القوانين المتعلقة بالأموال العامة. وتجري حاليا إصلاحات في هذا الجهاز هدفها تنظيم وتحديث الإجراءات الإدارية.

تتولى "هيئة التفتيش المركزي"، التي تأسست كذراع إداري لمجلس الوزراء بموجب القانون رقم 2460 الصادر في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 1959، عمليات التدقيق الداخلي لبعض أجهزة الحكومة المركزية. وبدأت هذه الهيئة بتطبيق إجراءات تدقيق الأداء في الوزارات، لكن مجال وتكرار تدقيقاتها محدودان. وتضم هذه الهيئة أقساما للتفتيش في المجالات الإدارية والهندسية والصحية والاجتماعية والزراعية. وأنشأت وزارة المالية وحدة ضمن مديرية الحسابات العامة لتدقيق حسابات المؤسسات الحكومية التجارية وغير التجارية.

أعلى الصفحة

المشتريات العامة

تشرف "مديرية المشتريات العامة"، التي تأسست عام 1959 كذراع لمجلس الوزراء، على المشتريات العامة وتصدق كل العقود التي تزيد قيمتها عن 000ر75 مليون ليرة لبنانية (000ر50 دولار). ويشترط "قانون المحاسبة العامة" إجراء مناقصة عامة لشراء جميع السلع والخدمات التي تزيد قيمتها عن 000ر800 ليرة لبنانية (533 دولار)، باستثناء مشتريات الجيش اللبناني وقوى الأمن الداخلي. وعادة ما تعطي المناقصات الممولة محليا الأفضلية للعروض اللبنانية إذا كانت لا تزيد عن العروض اللبنانية بأكثر من 10%. وتنشر المناقصات بوجه عام في الصحف اللبنانية وفي الجريدة الرسمية. وتعمل السلطات اللبنانية حاليا على صياغة قانون جديد للمشتريات يضمن قدرا أكبر من النزاهة والشفافية.

أعلى الصفحة

النظام المصرفي

النظام المصرفي التجاري مملوك للقطاع الخاص، وهو نظام تنافسي إلى حد كبير تألف عام 2005 من 63 مصرفا مسجلا رسميا. واستقرت المصارف على هذا العدد بعد اندماج بعضها وإفلاس البعض الآخر. أما مصرف لبنان (البنك المركزي) فقد تأسس سنة 1964 بموجب "قانون النقد والتسليف". وتأسست هيئة الرقابة المصرفية عام 1967 بموجب القانون رقم 28/67 كهيئة مستقلة بديلة عن دائرة الرقابة المصرفية التابعة لمصرف لبنان. وتتألف الهيئة من خمسة أعضاء يعينهم مجلس الوزراء لفترة خمس سنوات بناء على اقتراح وزير المالية.

تنفذ "لجنة التحقيق الخاصة" التابعة لمصرف لبنان القانون رقم 318 الصادر في نيسان/إبريل 2001 المعني بمكافحة غسل الأموال. ويعفى المدققون التابعون للجنة التحقيق من شروط "قانون السرية المصرفية" الصادر في 3 أيلول/سبتمبر 1956. وكنتيجة للتشريعات الصارمة ولتنفيذ قانون مكافحة غسل الأموال، أنهت "فرقة العمل المالي" التابعة لمنظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية رسميا مراقبتها للنظام المصرفي اللبناني في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2003.

خفّض الإشراف الفعال لهيئة الرقابة المصرفية محافظ القروض المتعثرة إلى 12% من القروض المستحقة، وهو حجم يمكن تحمله نسبيا. وتم إغلاق 15 فرعا من فروع بنك المدينة المتعثر في سنة 2004 مع أن البنك ظل مسجلا لدى مصرف لبنان.

أعلى الصفحة

الخصخصة

أرسى قانون الخصخصة الرقم 393 لعام 2000 الأساس القانوني لبيع أصول المشروعات المملوكة للدولة على أساس المبادئ الموافق عليها دوليا. ومنح "المجلس الأعلى للخصخصة" استقلالا إداريا وماليا، لكن الخلافات السياسية الداخلية أعاقت عملية الخصخصة، خصوصا بالنسبة لرخصتي شركتي الهاتف الخلوي.

أعلى الصفحة

سوق الأوراق المالية (البورصة(

كان عدد الشركات المدرجة في بورصة بيروت 13 شركة فقط عام 2004، مع العلم بأن هذه البورصة تأسست عام 1920. وشكلت 5 شركات منها فقط معظم رسملة السوق وهي: سوليدير وبنك بيروت وبنك بيبلوس وبنك لبنان والمهجر وشركة هولسيم. وتدير البورصة لجنة مؤلفة من رئيس ونائب رئيس وثمانية أعضاء يتم تعيينهم بقرار من مجلس الوزراء بناء على اقتراح وزير المالية. كما يتم تعيين مفوض حكومي لمراقبة البورصة وضمان التزامها القوانين واللوائح التنظيمية. وأصيبت البورصة بالركود بسبب أسواق الأسهم الحكومية المربحة من ناحية، وبسبب "غياب الشفافية في التنظيم وفي المعلومات المالية المؤسسية" من ناحية ثانية، وفقا لتقرير حديث أصدره البنك الدولي. وبورصة بيروت عضو في الاتحاد العربي لأسواق الأوراق المالية والسندات العامة. كما أن بورصة بيروت المفتوحة أمام رأس المال الأجنبي تتبادل التسجيل مع البورصتين الكويتية والمصرية.

بلغت رسملة السوق في بورصة بيروت 3ر2 مليار دولار بنهاية كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2004، وبلغ معدل الدوران نحو 3ر10%. وتنقسم بورصة بيروت إلى ثلاث أسواق هي: سوق رسمية للشركات التي يساوي حجم رأسمالها 3 ملايين دولار، وسوق صغيرة للشركات التي يساوي حجم رأسمالها مليون دولار، وسوق تعامل مباشر لرأس المال الذي لا يقل عن 000ر100 دولار.

أصدر اتحاد البورصات العربية، وهو منظمة تربط ما بين أسواق الأسهم في العالم العربي، قرارا في أيلول/سبتمبر 2000 نقل بموجبه مقره الرئيسي من القاهرة إلى بيروت. وكان يتوقع لهذا القرار أن يعطي دفعة لنشاط بورصة بيروت. لكن هذا الأمر لم يحصل حتى الآن، ولم تشهد بورصة بيروت أي زيادة في عدد الشركات المتعاملة معها.

أعلى الصفحة

المعاهد المالية

المركز اللبناني للدراسات هو مركز الأبحاث الرئيسي في لبنان. يهتم المركز بالقضايا السياسية والاجتماعية وبالتنمية الاقتصادية في لبنان والمنطقة العربية والعالم. يجري المركز البحوث وينظّم ورشات العمل والندوات، كما يموّل برامج تتعلق بالتنمية الاقتصادية في لبنان. وتشكلت حديثا مؤسسة أخرى تحت اسم "المجموعة اللبنانية لخصخصة وتنظيم البنية التحتية". وهدف هذه المجموعة تعريف الجمهور اللبناني بفوائد تحرير الاقتصاد، علاوة على تقويم الشركات الحكومية والتشجيع على خصخصتها. ويحوي موقعها على شبكة الإنترنت قواعد بيانات وأرقاما قياسية خاصة بموارد لبنان، وتقارير عن الاقتصاد اللبناني وعن وضع برامج الخصخصة اللبنانية.

أعلى الصفحة

معايير الشفافية الدولية

شارك لبنان في النظام العام لنشر البيانات التابع لـصندوق النقد الدولي منذ العام 2003، كما اشترك مع صندوق النقد الدولي والبنك الدولي في نشر "تقارير التقيد بالمعايير والقواعد" المتعلق بالشفافية المالية.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Financial Transparency: Lebanon
You may also
 

Fiscal

According to Articles 82 and 83 of the national constitution, the Chamber of Deputies approves the national budget and is empowered to issue new taxes. Since 2000 Lebanon’s tax revenues, running over 16% of GDP, are the highest in the Near East, but servicing the government’s huge debt (estimated by the IMF at 167% of GDP in October, 2005, and rising) takes up over half the budget, limiting the parliament’s ability to reallocate expenditures. Parliament is not permitted to increase the total of expenditures proposed in the budget. Lebanon’s public finances, however, would be more transparent if the budget included major expenditures of the Council for Development and Reconstruction, which works with foreign donors in the following areas: preparing a general plan for development and finance with the country; implementing projects from the Council of Ministers; and rehabilitating public administration. Also omitted from the budget are parastatals, such as the Electricité du Liban, which distributes hidden subsidies that drain public resources. Social security and pension funds also escape public oversight.

Top of this page

Public Audit

The Audit Court (Cour des Comptes), established by the decree-law of September 16, 1983, oversees the finances of the central government, main local governments, and public entities. The Council of Ministers appoints the president, who together with six presiding judges and 36 other judges cannot be removed from office. Contrary to most international practice, the Audit Court relies more on ex-ante controls, duplicating the work of other government agencies, than on external audits to exercise its judicial supervision over the management of public funds. It reports annually to the President of the Republic, with a copy to the President of the Chamber of Deputies, published in the Official Gazette. But neither financial accounts nor final budget execution reports receive external audits, and the Audit Court’s visa on the annual “Loi des Règlements” is necessarily provisional because full accounts for past financial years are in arrears. The Audit Court is also charged with prosecuting public employees below ministerial rank accused of violating laws pertaining to public funds. Currently, reforms are underway in the agency to streamline and modernize administrative procedures.

The Central Inspection Board, established as an administrative arm of the Council of Ministers by Law 2460 of November 1959, conducts internal audits of some central government agencies. It is beginning to use performance audit procedures on ministries, but the scope and frequency of its audits are limited. It contains divisions for investigation of administrative, engineering, health, social, and agricultural areas. The Ministry of Finance has also created a unit within its Public Accounting Directorate to audit commercial and non-commercial public organizations.

Top of this page

Public Procurement

The Public Procurement Directorate, established in 1959 as an administrative arm of the Council of Ministers, supervises the procurement process and approves all contracts exceeding LL 75 million ($50,000). The Public Accounting Law requires a public tender for the procurement of all other goods and services exceeding LL 0.8 million, except for the army and public security services. Domestically financed tenders usually favor Lebanese over foreign bids if they are no more than 10 per cent higher, and the tenders are generally published in the press and the Official Gazette. The authorities are preparing a new procurement code to enforce greater fairness and transparency.

Top of this page

Banking

The commercial banking system is privately owned, and highly competitive, consisting in 2005 of 63 officially registered banks, after others had been merged or went out of business, and the Banque du Liban (BDL), established by the Law of Money and Credit of 1964. The Banking Control Commission (BCC) was established in 1967 by Law No. 28/67, as an administratively independent body to replace the banking control department of the BDL. The Commission is composed of five members who, upon proposal by the Minister of Finance, are appointed by the Council of Ministers for five-year terms.

The Special Investigation Commission of the BDL implements Law No. 318 of April 20, 2001, Lebanon’s law against money laundering. The Commission’s auditors are exempted from the provisions of the Banking Secrecy Law of September 3, 1956. As a result of the stiff new legislation and implementation of the law against money laundering, the Financial Action Task Force of the Organization of Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) formally ended monitoring Lebanon’s banking system in October 2003.

Effective supervision by the Banking Control Commission has reduced their troubled loan portfolios to a relatively manageable 12 per cent of their outstanding loans. Fifteen branches of the troubled Banque al-Madina were shut down in 2004 although the bank remained listed on the register of the BDL.

Top of this page

Privatization

The Privatization Law No. 393 of 2000 established the legal basis for selling off state assets, based on internationally approved principles. A high council for privatization was given administrative and financial independence, but internal political differences have delayed any privatization, notably of two cellular network licenses.

Top of this page

Stock Exchange

The Beirut Stock Exchange (BSE), founded in 1920, listed only 13 companies in 2004, and just five of them, Solidere, Bank of Beirut, Byblos Bank, Blom Bank, and Holcim, accounted for most of the market capitalization. The stock exchange is regulated and run by a Chairman, a Vice-Chairman and eight members proposed by the Minister of Finance and appointed by the Council of Ministers. A Government Commissioner is appointed to supervise the Stock Exchange and to insure its compliance with laws and regulations. The BSE has stagnated in part because of lucrative government bond markets but also in part, according to a recent World Bank report, for “lack of transparency in regulation and corporate financial information.” The BSE is a member of the Union of Arab Stock Exchanges and Securities Commission. Open to foreign capital, the BSE is also cross-listed with the Kuwaiti and Egyptian Stock exchanges.

The market capitalization for the Beirut Stock Exchange by the end of December 2004 was $2.3 billion and the turnover rate was approximately 10.3%. The Beirut Stock Exchange is divided into 3 markets; an official market for companies with a capital equivalent to $3 million, a junior market for companies with a capital equivalent of $1 million, and an over the counter market with a minimum capital of $100, 000.

A decision in September 2000 by the Union of Arab Bourses—an organization bringing together stock markets across the Arab world—to move its headquarters from Cairo to Beirut was also expected to provide a boost to activity on the Beirut exchange. Thus far this has not materialized, and no increase in trading companies has been witnessed.

Top of this page

Financial Institutes

Lebanon’s major think tank is the Lebanese Center for Policy Studies. It is concerned with issues of political, social, and economic development in Lebanon, the Arab region and the world. The institute conducts research and organizes workshops and seminars as well as funds programs that concern the economic development of Lebanon. Another group recently launched is the Lebanese Privatization and Regulation of Infrastructure group. Its aim is to inform the Lebanese public about the benefits of liberalization of the economy, and it also assesses and encourages privatization of state companies. Its website has databases and indexes to resources as well as reports on the Lebanese economy and the status of privatization programs.

Top of this page

International Transparency Standards

Lebanon has participated in the IMF’s General Data Dissemination System since 2003 and has engaged with the IMF and World Bank in publishing a Report on the Observance of Standards and Codes (ROSC) for fiscal transparency.

Top of this page