إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: مكافحة الفساد: الكويت
يمكنكم أيضا
 

اتفاقيات الأمم المتحدة والاتفاقيات الأخرى

اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الفساد: وقعت في 9 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2003 لكن لم تصدق.

اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الجريمة المنظمة عبر الوطنية: وقعت في 12 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2000 وصدقت مع بعض التحفظات في 12 أيار/مايو 2006.

الكويت عضو مؤسس لفرقة العمل المعنية بالإجراءات المالية للشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا التي أنشئت في 30 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2004 كرابطة إقليمية طوعية لمكافحة غسل الأموال وتمويل الإرهاب.

لا يوجد في الكويت فرع وطني لمنظمة الشفافية العالمية.

أعلى الصفحة

المؤسسات والمبادرات الحكومية

لا يوجد في الكويت لجان خاصة أو مؤسسات مسؤولة عن القضاء على الفساد، لكن اللجان الفرعية الاقتصادية والقانونية الدائمة التابعة لمجلس الوزراء اندمجت في تشريــــــــن الأول/أكتوبر 2004 كي تتولى معالجة مسألة الفساد في القطاع العام. وتم تشكيل أربع لجان عمل لتقديم المشورة إلى مجلس الوزراء بشأن الإجراءات الجديدة. كما شكل مجلس الوزراء لجنة في وزارة المالية مهمتها استنباط قواعد مسلكية للتعامل مع "العروض غير القانونية" التي يقدمها رجال الأعمال من القطاع الخاص لقاء حصولهم على الأراضي العامة القليلة. وأصدر مجلس الوزراء في شباط/فبراير 2005 قرارا بشأن تعارض المصالح أدى إلى إقصاء قضاة يحتلون مناصب حكومية اسستشارية.

لدى مجلس الأمة (البرلمان) الكويتي لجنة دائمة مسؤولة عن حماية الأموال العامة. ويحق لأعضاء المجلس استجواب الوزراء وفي مقدورهم التصويت على إقالتهم من مناصبهم بناء على تصرفات غير لائقة.

أصدرت محكمة الجنايات الكويتية في 26 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2004 حكما غيابيا على مواطنين كويتيين لاختلاسهما 200 مليون دولار من أموال "الهيئة العامة للاستثمار". وقضى حكم المحكمة بسجن فهد الصباح، أحد أفراد العائلة الحاكمة.، مدة 15 سنة، وسجن فؤاد جعفر، نائب رئيس "هيئة الاستثمارات" مدة 30 سنة.

أعلى الصفحة

مبادرات المجتمع المدني

"جهاز تقويم خدمات المواطنين والهيئات الحكومية" هو جهاز خاص للرقابة مفوض أصلا من قبل مجلس الوزراء، بالتشاور مع البنك الدولي، لتقصي وضع الفساد في القطاع العام وصياغة إستراتيجية لمكافحته. وتم تسريب التقرير "السري" لهذا الجهاز إلى الصحافة في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2004. ونشرت الصحف المحلية ادعاءات بحصول اختلاسات في وزارة الأشغال العامة أثبتت التحقيقات التي أجرتها النيابة العامة لاحقا تورط 35 موظفا في هذه الاختلاسات بينهم موظفون كبار. وأدت عدة تحقيقات واستقصاءات برلمانية، خصوصا بشأن مشتريات الأسلحة والعقود العسكرية، إلى حل مجلس الأمة عام 2006 لمنع المزيد من الخوض العلني في هذه القضية. وبما أن 94% من قوة العمل الكويتية تعمل في القطاع العام، رأى بعض النقاد الاقتصاديين الكويتيين أن أي تنظيم للحكومة من أجل مكافحة الفساد لا بدّ وأن يظل محدودا.

أعلى الصفحة

المشتريات العامة

تدير "لجنة المناقصات المركزية" الملحقة بمجلس الوزراء جميع المناقصات العامة. ويشترط القانون التجاري رقم 36 لعام 1964 المعدل بالقانون رقم 68 لعام 1980 على الشركات الأجنبية أن تقوم ببيع منتجاتها إلى الوزارات الحكومية من خلال شركة كويتية أو من خلال وكيل كويتي الجنسية.

أعلى الصفحة

مكافحة غسل الأموال

عزز القانون رقم 35 لعام 2002 نظام مكافحة غسل الأموال في الكويت. واتخذت الحكومة الكويتية إجراءات ضد أي إساءة استغلال للجمعيات الخيرية. وأعيد تشكيل "اللجنة الوطنية" لمكافحة غسل الأموال في نيسان/إبريل 2004.

أعلى الصفحة

مؤشر مدركات الفساد

سجلت الكويت 4.1 نقاط في عام 2009 على مؤشر مدركات الفساد الخاص بمنظمة الشفافية العالمية. وتتدرج درجات المقياس من صفر (فساد مرتفع/مستشري) إلى 10 (غياب الفساد). بينما سجلت 4.3 في العام 2008. وحلت في المرتبة 66 من بين 180 دولة في العالم متخلفة عن تونس ولكن متقدمة عن المغرب. بينما حلت في المرتبة 65 من بين 180 دولة في العالم متخلفة عن تونس والأردن ولكن متقدمة عن المغرب والسعودية في العام 2008. فيما سجلت الكويت 4.3 نقاط في عام 2007 وحلت الكويت خلف الأردن لكنها تقدمت على تونس بحلولها في المرتبة 60 من بين 180 دولة. وسجلت الكويت 4.8 نقاط في عام 2006 وحلت بين الأردن وتونس في المرتبة 56 من بين 163 دولة.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Anti-Corruption: Kuwait
You may also
 

UN Conventions and Other Agreements

United Nations Convention against Corruption: signed 9 December 2003, not yet ratified.

United Nations Convention against Transnational Organized Crime: signed 12 December 2000, ratified with reservations on 12 May 2006.

Kuwait is a founding member of the Middle East and North Africa Financial Action Task Force, established on 30 November 2004 as a voluntary regional association to combat money laundering and terrorist financing.

Kuwait does not have a national chapter of Transparency International.

Top of this page

Government Institutions and Initiatives

Kuwait has no special commissions or institutions charged with eliminating corruption but in October 2004 merged economic and legal standing sub-committees of the Council of Ministers to address the issue of corruption in the public sector. Four working groups were set up to advise the Council on new procedures. The Council also established committee within the Finance Ministry to devise a code of conduct for dealing with “unsolicited offers” that private businesspeople propose in return for access to scarce public land. In February 2005 the Council adopted a resolution against conflicts of interests, resulting in the removal serving judges of advisory positions in government.

The Kuwaiti parliament has a permanent committee charged with the protection of public funds, and members of parliament also question ministers and can vote to remove them for improprieties.

Kuwait's criminal court sentenced two Kuwaiti citizens in absentia, on December 26, 2004, for embezzling $200 million from the funds of the public investments authority. Fahd Al-Sabah, a member of the ruling family, was sentenced to 15 years in prison, and the vice chairman of the investments authority, Fuad Jafar, was given a thirty year sentence.

Top of this page

Civil Society Initiatives

The Citizens Services and Government Bodies Assessment Agency (C2G) is an ad hoc monitoring agency originally mandated by the Council of Ministers, in consultation with the World Bank, to investigate corruption in the public sector and formulate a strategy to combat it. Its “secret” report was leaked to the press in December 2004. The press also published allegations of embezzlement in the Ministry of Public Works that subsequent investigation by the Public Prosecutor discovered to involve 35 employees, including senior staff. Several parliamentary investigations, especially concerning arms procurement and military contracts, led to dissolution of the legislature in 2006 to prevent further public discussion. Since 94 per cent of the Kuwaiti work force is employed by the government and public sector, critical Kuwaiti economists suggest that any streamlining of government for the sake of combating corruption is bound to be limited.

Top of this page

Public Procurement

The Central Tenders Committee, which is attached to the Council of Ministers, administers all public tenders. The Commercial Law 36/1964, amended by Law 68/1980, requires that foreign companies may only sell to ministries through a Kuwaiti company or an agent who is a Kuwait citizen.

Top of this page

Anti Money Laundering

Law 35 of 2002 strengthened Kuwait’s Anti-Money Laundering system, and measures have been taken against the abuse of charitable organizations. The National Committee on AML was reorganized in April 2004.

Top of this page

Corruption Perception Index

Kuwait scored 4.1 on Transparency International's Corruption Perception Index 2009. The scale runs from 0 (high corruption) to 10 (no corruption). It in the 66th rank among 180 countries, placing it ahead of Morocco, however behind Tunisia. Kuwait had scored 4.3 in 2008 and ranked 65th among the 180 countries in the world behind Jordan and Tunisia but ahead of Morocco and Saudi Arabia. In 2007, Kuwait scored 4.3 it came just behind Jordan but ahead of Tunisia, in 60th place among 180 countries. In 2006 Kuwait scored 4.8 and was also ranked between Jordan and Tunisia, in 46th place among 163 countries.

Top of this page