إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: المجتمع المدني: سوريا
يمكنكم أيضا
 

قوانين تأسيس الجمعيات الأهلية

تمنح المادة 39 من الدستور السوري المواطنين الحق في الاجتماع والتظاهر السلمي وفقا لأحكام القانون. كما يحق "للقطاعات الشعبية" تأسيس "النقابات والمنظمات الاجتماعية والمهنية والتعاونيات الإنتاجية" بموجب المادة 48 من الدستور. وتقضي المادة 49 بأن على تلك المنظمات العمل على بناء المجتمع الاشتراكي العربي وحماية النظام القائم؛ وعليها المشاركة في تخطيط الاقتصاد الاشتراكي وفي توجيهه؛ وفرض الرقابة الشعبية على الأجهزة الحكومية.

تسمح سلسلة من قوانين الطوارئ التي صدرت سنة 1963 للحكومة بالتصرف على هواها في مجالات عديدة بذريعة الحفاظ على الأمن. ويضع الذين ينادون بالإصلاح إلغاء القانون العرفي في مقدمة أولوياتهم الإصلاحية. فمنذ صعود بشار الأسد إلى الحكم في تموز/يوليو 2000 عقدت مجموعات غير رسمية اجتماعات في البيوت لمناقشة أوضاع الاقتصاد وحقوق الإنسان والأوضاع السياسية ومواضيع أخرى. وأطلق رئيس الجمهورية سراح 600 سجين سياسي في 16 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2000، وسمح لعشرات المنفيين من جماعة الإخوان المسلمين المحظورة بالعودة إلى البلاد. لكن قوانين الطوارئ ما تزال سارية المفعول. ولاحظت اللجنة السورية لحقوق الإنسان في أول تقرير سنوي أصدرته بعد مرور سنة على تسلم الرئيس بشار الأسد الحكم أنه "على الرغم من وعود الانفتاح السياسي.... لم تشهد أوضاع حقوق الإنسان أي تحسن ....". وأكدت السنوات اللاحقة صحة هذا التحليل. عدّل مجلس الشعب السوري المادة 137 لحصر صلاحية صرف موظفي القطاع العام "من دون ذكر الأسباب" برئيس الجمهورية بدلا من رئيس الوزراء. وقرارات الصرف من الخدمة وفقا لأحكام هذه المادة غير قابلة لأي مراجعة أو طعن أمام أية جهة أو مرجع.

أعلى الصفحة

الأحزاب السياسية

ييجب انضمام جميع الأحزاب السياسية السورية الرسمية إلى "الجبهة الوطنية التقدمية" المؤلفة من تسعة أحزاب أكبرها حزب البعث العربي الاشتراكي الحاكم. وينص القانون على أن يرأس رئيس الجمهورية الجبهة الوطنية التقدمية وأن يكون في الوقت نفسه الأمين العام لحزب البعث. ويفترض في الأحزاب السياسية تأييد مبادئ الثورة التي تشمل الاشتراكية والقومية العربية. وعلى الرغم من الايحاءات التي صدرت عن بعض أجهزة الدولة سنة 2000 والتي تشير إلى احتمال ترخيص أحزاب المعارضة، تواصل السلطات السورية إنكار شرعية أحزاب المعارضة السياسية. وحظرت السلطات السورية في أوائل آب/أغسطس 2005 تأسيس "التجمع الديمقراطي الحر" لعدم حصوله على الترخيص اللازم كحزب سياسي، كما عمدت إلى إغلاق "منتدى الأتاسي" وهو المنتدى السياسي الوحيد في سوريا.

أعلى الصفحة

الجمعيات الأهلية والاتحادات

انتهت فجأة فترة التسامح القصيرة التي مارسها الرئيس بشار الأسد عندما اعتقلت السلطات بين آب/أغسطس وتشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2001 عشرة من قادة المعارضة، بينهم نائبان في مجلس الشعب. وتمت إدانة (رياض سيف) عضو البرلمان المتكلم بصراحة وجرأة لقيامه بعقد منتدى أسبوعي في منزله اجتذب ما يقرب من 400 شخص. وعلى الرغم من أن السلطات تغاضت عن اجتماع عقدته "لجنة الدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان في سوريا"، إلا أنها لم تمنح هذه المنظمة الرخصة، بل قامت بالانقضاض على جماعات المجتمع المدني العاملة في مجال المناداة والمناصرة وعلى منتديات النخب السياسية. ولكن "مشروع الثروة" (وهو برنامج يهدف إلى إقامة حوار بنـّاء حول مسألة حقوق الأقليات في العالم العربي) بدأ سنة 2004، من مقره في دمشق، "بحث هموم ومخاوف الأقليات الإثنية والدينية في العالم العربي" بمن فيهم أكراد سوريا. وناشد نحو 1100 شخصية سورية الرئيس بشار الأسد في 14 تموز/يوليو 2005 إطلاق معتقلي الرأي واغلاق ملف الاعتقال السياسي ورفع حال الطوارئ المعلنة منذ العام 1963. وفي السياق ذاته أرسلت وزارة الخارجية السورية في 15 تموز/يوليو "مذكرة دبلوماسية" إلى جميع البعثات الأجنبية والعربية تتضمن ضرورة ابلاغ الوزارة بأي تحرك أو اتصال يجريه أعضاء السفارة بمنظمات المجتمع المدني.

في ظل النظام النقابي السوري الجماعي يشكل "الاتحاد العام لنقابات العمال" المنظمة النقابية الأم.

أعلى الصفحة

الإعلام والأنظمة الحكومية

تكفل المادة 38 من الدستور للمواطنين الحق في التعبير وفي "المشاركة في الرقابة والنقد البناء بشكل يصون سلامة البنى المحلية والقومية ويقوّي النظام الاشتراكي". وفضلا عن ذلك فإن حرية الصحافة والطباعة والنشر مكفولة وفقا للقانون. وتصدر في سوريا ثلاث صحف يوميا باللغة العربية وصحيفة واحدة باللغة الإنجليزية، علاوة على عدد من المطبوعات الأسبوعية. وتم الترخيص أيضا لثلاثة صحف تصدرها أحزاب سياسية معترف بها رسميا، ومجلة "الدومري" الساخرة. لكن "الدومري" منعت من نشر بعض الانتقادات الموجهة للأداء الحكومي. رخص مجلس الوزراء لشركة "الكنار" بتأسيس إذاعة مسموعة تجارية خاصة باسم "المدينة أف.ام". ويأتي الترخيص وفقا لقانون المطبوعات الذي أصدره الرئيس بشار الأسد في أيلول/سبتمبر 2000 سمح بإصدار مطبوعات وتأسيس محطات إذاعية خاصة للأفراد بعدما كانت حكرا على الدولة لأربعة عقود. وأصدرت القيادة السورية في 29 أيار/مايو 2005 توجيهات إلى أجهزة الأمن بمنع توقيف أي شخص لأكثر من خمسة أيام على أن يحول بعدها على القضاء أو يطلق سراحه. واستثنيت من القرار الجرائم الواقعة على أمن الدولة والمتصلة بالإرهاب وجرائم السلاح وتهريب المخدرات. ويحد القرار الجديد من استخدام قانون الطوارئ المعمول به منذ العام 1963.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Civil Society: Syria
You may also
 

Laws of Associations

Article 39 of the Syrian Constitution grants citizens the right to meet and demonstrate peacefully, in accordance with the law. So also the “popular sectors” may establish “unionist, social, professional organizations, and production cooperatives,” by virtue of Article 48 of the constitution. Article 49 further rules that such organizations must work towards building a socialist Arab society and defending its system; planning and guiding a socialist economy; and popularly supervising the machinery of government.

A series of emergency laws, imposed in 1963, permit the government to act in many areas in the name of security. Abolishing martial law is a priority of reformers in Syria. For a brief period after the accession to power of Bashar al-Assad in July 2000, informal groups met in private homes to discuss the economy, human rights, politics, and other topics. The president released 600 political prisoners on 16 November 2000, and scores of exiled members of the outlawed Muslim Brotherhood were allowed to return home, but the Emergency Laws remained in effect. The Syrian Human Rights Committee, issuing its first Annual Report after the president’s first full year in office, notes, “Despite promises of political openness …human rights conditions did not witness any improvement…” Subsequent years have confirmed this analysis. The Syrian parliament amended article 137 of the civil service law in January 2005. The amendment restricts the power to expel public servants from office "without giving any reasons for that decision" to the President of the Republic rather than the council of ministers. Expulsion decisions cannot be contested or reviewed by any authority in Syria.

Top of this page

Political Parties

All official political parties in Syria must be members of the National Progressive Front, which currently consists of nine member parties, the largest of which is the ruling Arab socialist Ba'th (Rebirth) Party. By law, the president of the republic is also the head of the National Progressive Front and Secretary General of the Ba'th Party. Political parties are required to support the principles of the revolution, which include socialism and Arab nationalism. Despite suggestions by the state apparatus in 2000 that opposition parties might be permitted, Syrian authorities continue to deny legitimacy to opposition political parties. In early August 2005 the authorities prevented the formation of a “Liberal Democratic Rally” on the grounds that it did not have a license to be a political party, and they also shut down the “Al-Atassi Forum,” the only political forum in Syria.

Top of this page

Associations and Unions

Bashar al-Assad’s brief period of tolerance came to an abrupt end beginning in August 2001, when the authorities arrested ten opposition leaders, including two members of parliament, in August through November 2001. Riad Seif, a parliamentarian who had been granted some freedom to create a nascent opposition party, was indicted for holding a weekly forum in his home that gathered up to 400 people. Although the authorities overlooked a meeting convened by the Committee for Defense of Human Rights in Syria (CDF), it did not license the organization but instead cracked down on civil society advocacy groups and elite forums. In 2004, however, the Tharwa Project, based in Damasacus, began "addressing the concerns of the various ethnic and religious minorities inhabiting the Arab World," including those of Syrian Kurds. On July 14, 2005, 1100 Syrian public figures appealed to President Assad to release dissenters from prison, to close the file of political arrests and to lift the emergency situation declared in 1963. The Syrian ministry of foreign affairs sent a diplomatic circular on July 15, 2005 circumscribing foreign embassy contacts with Syrian NGOs.

Under Syria’s corporatist system the General Federation of Trade Unions is the principal umbrella organization for trade and professional syndicates.

Top of this page

Media and Government Regulations

Article 38 of the constitution guarantees citizens the right to open expression and to “participate in supervision and constructive criticism in a manner that safeguards the soundness of the domestic and nationalist structure and strengthens the socialist system.” Moreover, the state law guarantees freedom of press, printing, and publication, in according with law. There are three Arabic and one English-language daily newspapers published in Syria, in addition to weekly publications. Licenses were also granted to three newspapers owned by officially recognized political parties and to the privately owned El Domari satirical magazine, but some of the latter’s criticisms of government performance were censored. The Council of Ministers has licensed Al-Kanar company to establish a private commercial radio station in early 2005. The station is called "City FM". The license was granted according to the new publications law issued by President Bashhar Al-Asad in September 2004. The law permits the establishment of privately owned radio stations, which were a state monopoly over the past 4 decades. The Syrian leadership issued directives to security agencies on May 29, 2005 preventing the detention of any person more than 5 days provided they receive the approval of the public prosecutor's office. Then the detainee should be referred to justice or released. Excluded from this directive are crimes against state security, crimes related to terrorism, arms crimes and drug smuggling. This new decision restricts the use of the emergency law that has been in effect since 1963.

Top of this page