إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: المجتمع المدني: الكويت
يمكنكم أيضا
 

قوانين تأسيس الجمعيات الأهلية

ينظم القانون رقم 24 لسنة 1962 الإطار السياسي والقانوني الذي تعمل في إطاره المنظمات المدنية في الكويت. وفقا لهذا القانون تراقب وزارة الشؤون الاجتماعية عمل الجمعيات الأهلية التي تتلقى مساعدات حكومية. ومنعت التعديلات التي أدخلت سنة 1965 على هذا القانون الجمعيات الأهلية من ممارسة النشاط السياسي. ولا تخضع غرفة التجارة والصناعة الكويتية لأحكام القانون رقم 24.

أعلى الصفحة

الأحزاب السياسية

يسمح الدستور الكويتي بحرية الاجتماع، ولكن هذا الحق مقيد تقييدا شديدا على أرض الواقع، خصوصا بعد صدور قانون التجمعات العامة لعام 1979 بمرسوم أميري خلال فترة تعليق مجلس الأمة الذي صادق على القانون بعد انتهاء فترة تعليق عمله في العام 1981. وألغت المحكمة الدستورية الكويتية في 1 أيار/مايو 2006 هذا القانون الذي كان ينص على وجوب حصول المواطنين على ترخيص مسبق من السلطات قبل تنظيم أي تجمع أو اجتماع عام. وبهذا لم يعد على المواطنين الراغبين في تنظيم تجمعات أو مسيرات عامة سوى إخطار السلطات بما ينوون القيام به من دون حاجتهم إلى موافقتها المسبقة.ومن ناحية أخرى لا توجد أحزاب سياسية رسمية في الكويت، ولكن توجد جماعات شبه سياسية من العشائر والتجار والناشطين المعتدلين من السنّة والشيعة ومن الليبراليين العلمانيين والقوميين تتخذ لنفسها شكلا منظما. الأحزاب السياسية محظورة في الكويت مع أن أعضاء مجلس الأمة يتجمعون لتشكيل تكتلات سياسية غير رسمية. ويتألف المجتمع المدني الكويتي من جمعيات النفع العام والنقابات العمالية والعديد من الجماعات غير الرسمية .أعلن ناشطون في التيار السلفي الكويتي في 29 كانون الثاني/يناير 2005 تأسيس أول حزب سياسي في الكويت ودول الخليج العربي بالرغم من عدم اعتراف السلطات الكويتية بالأحزاب السياسية وعدم وجود قانون للأحزاب السياسية في الكويت. وقال أمين عام الحزب الجديد "حزب الأمة" الدكتور حاكم المطيري أن الهدف من وراء تأسيس الحزب تأكيد حق الشعوب في المشاركة باختيار حكوماتها وفقا لمبدأ التعددية وتداول السلطة بالطرق السلمية، واستكمال تطبيق أحكام الشريعة الإسلامية في كل مجالات الحياة. ويقبل الحزب النساء في عضويته، لكن ضمن فرع خاص بهن. ورفضت الحكومة الكويتية ترخيص هذا الحزب واستدعت مؤسسيه للتحقيق ثم أطلقت سراحهم. ولم يكتسب الحزب الشرعية أو الحق في ممارسة النشاط السياسي.

أعلى الصفحة

الأنظمة الحكومية

تقدم الحكومة دعما ماليا جزئيا لبعض منظمات المجتمع المدني ذات التوجه السياسي وتحتفظ بحق حل هذه المنظمات في أي وقت تشاء. ولكن لا يمكن حل النقابات العمالية من غير حكم من المحكمة. الاتحاد العام لعمال الكويت، واتحاد عمال شركة النفط الكويتية، واتحاد عمال البترول والبتروكيماويات هي أهم الاتحادات العمالية في البلاد.

تتلقى جميع الجمعيات الأهلية تقريبا المسجلة كجمعيات نفع عام دعما ماليا من الحكومة الكويتية. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تتلقى هذه الجمعيات منافع أخرى من الحكومة مثل تكاليف السفر لحضور بعض المؤتمرات أو لأداء مهمات أخرى، وإعطاء عدد محدود من الموظفين الحكوميين إجازة بمرتب للعمل في بعض الجمعيات الأهلية، وتقديم المنح لمشروعات محددة تضطلع بها هذه الجمعيات. لكن هذه الأموال الحكومية لا تكفي بالضرورة لتسيير عمل جمعية أهلية، فهذا يعتمد على نوع وحجم نشاط الجمعية المعنية. ولهذا السبب تعمد العديد من المنظمات النشطة إلى جمع التبرعات بنفسها، وعادة ما تستطيع تحصيل دخل يفوق بكثير الأموال التي تتلقاها من الحكومة.

أعلى الصفحة

الجمعيات الأهلية والاتحادات

تجدر الإشارة على وجه الخصوص إلى الجمعيات التعاونية التي تؤدي مهمات مدنية واقتصادية بشكل غير رسمي. والوظيفة الرئيسية لهذه الجمعيات شراء المواد الغذائية والأواني المنزلية وتوزيعها من خلال مراكز بيع بالتجزئة. وتسيطر التعاونيات على أكثر من 80 بالمئة من سوق التجزئة في مجال الأغذية. ويحق لكل كويتي مقيم في البلاد ويتجاوز 18 سنة الاكتتاب في الجمعية التعاونية الموجودة في منطقته السكنية. وللمكتتبين الحق في حصة من أرباح الجمعيات التعاونية السنوية، كما أن لجميع المكتتبين بمن فيهم النساء الحق في التصويت في انتخابات مجلس إدارة التعاونيات. وتمثل الخدمة في مجلس إدارة تعاونية ما إحدى طرق بناء العضو المعني لقاعدة من المؤيدين والأنصار في منطقة سكنية ما وهي خطوة عامة نحو تنظيم حملة انتخابية للوصول إلـى مجلس الأمة. ولوزارة الشؤون الاجتماعية سلطات رقابية كبيرة على نشاط هذه الجمعيات. ويمكن لوزير الشؤون الاجتماعية مثلا أن يحل مجلس إدارة الجمعية المنتخب إذا رأى أنه يقوم بنشاط غير ملائم، أو إذا أسيء استعمال أموال الجمعية.

للعمال حق الانضمام إلى الاتحادات، ولكن الحكومة قيدت هذا الحق عبر سماحها بتأسيس اتحاد واحد لكل مهنة. ويوجد في الكويت اتحاد فدرالي واحد للنقابات. ولم يكن منضما إلى اتحاد أو نقابة عمالية في سنة 2002 إلا 5.6 بالمئة من قوة العمل. ووفقا لقوانين العمل، يحق للعمال تنظيم أنفسهم والدخول في تفاوض جماعي، ولكن في واقع الأمر فإن هذا الأمر نادرا ما يحصل، كما إن الإضرابات العمالية أمر غير معروف تقريبا في الكويت. ومن ناحية ثانية، رفضت الحكومة الكويتية في آذار/مارس 2005 إلزام كل مقيم يريد مغادرة البلاد بالحصول على موافقة خطية من كفيله لأن الطلب مخالف لنص المادة 31 من الدستور الكويتي التي تنص على عدم جواز تقييد حرية الانسان في الإقامة والتنقل إلا وفق أحكام القانون.

يوجد في الكويت 55 جمعية يبلغ عدد أعضائها 000ر40 عضو انتظموا في جمعيات لتحقيق أهداف مختلفة مثل إصلاح وضع المرأة في المجتمع، والعمل من أجل الليبرالية السياسية والاقتصادية وترويج القيم الإسلامية. وبالإضافة إلى هذه الجمعيات الرسمية، تعقد العديد من الاجتماعات العامة في الديوانيات. والديوانية مصطلح جماعي يشير إلى الاجتماعات العامة في البيوت. وقد ازداد عدد الديوانيات في السنوات الأخيرة، وهي تلعب دورا مهما في العملية السياسية. ومع أن معظم دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي تمتلك ديوانيات، فإن ديوانياتهم في العادة لا تمارس الدور نفسه الذي تمارسه الديوانيات في الكويت.

أعلى الصفحة

الإعلام والأنظمة الحكومية

ينظم قانون الصحافة والنشر لعام 1961 عمل الإعلام الكويتي. ووفقا لدستور الكويت، فإن حرية الرأي والإعلام مضمونة في حدود القانون. بعد الغزو العراقي استولت القوات العراقية على جميع وسائل الإعلام الكويتية، ولكن بعض الصحف الكويتية وإذاعة الكويت استطاعت العمل من خارج البلاد. ورفعت الحكومة الرقابة الإعلامية سنة 1992 في أعقاب استعادة الكويت سيادتها وأزالت القيود الأخرى عن الصحافة. ولكن مجلس الوزراء يحتفظ بسلطة تعليق صدور الصحف. وتتولى وزارة الإعلام إدارة الصحافة الحكومية ومحطات الإذاعة والتلفزيون. ويجب تقديم نسخ عن جميع المطبوعات إلى وزارة الإعلام مسبقا للحصول على تصريح بطباعتها. ولا تمنح الوزارة ترخيصا لمجلات سياسية. وتسيطر المؤسسة العامة للمطبوعات والنشر على طباعة ونشر وتوزيع المواد الإعلامية.

وتتولى وزارة الإعلام إدارة وكالة الأنباء الكويتية (كونا) ومحطات إذاعة الكويت الثلاث ومحطة تلفزيون الكويت. وعلى الرغم من عدم وجود محطات تلفزيونية كويتية خاصة، يتلقى السكان البث الفضائي التلفزيوني من غير أي تدخل حكومي. وتوجد أيضا محطة فضائية كويتية موجهة إلى المشاهدين في الخارج. وقد عززت المحكمة الدستورية الكويتية مبدأ حرية التعبير في المجتمع الكويتي. فمناقشة الآراء المتعارضة أو المتباينة واحترامها من أبرز مظاهر الخطاب المجتمعي في الكويت. وقد أكدت الحكومة على حق المواطنين في المشاركة السياسية، ولكن هذا الحق يقتصر على المواطنين الذكور فقط.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Civil Society: Kuwait
You may also
 

Laws of Associations

Law 24, issued in 1962, controls the political and legal framework within which civic organizations in Kuwait operate. According to Law 24 the Ministry of Social Affairs monitors associations that receive state subsidies. Amendments to Law 24 in 1965 prohibited associations from engaging in political activities. Law 24 does not govern the Kuwait Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

Top of this page

Political Parties

The Kuwaiti constitution allows for freedom of assembly, but this is seriously restricted in practice, especially by the law of public assembly issued on 1979 by Emiri decree while the parliament was suspended. The law was approved by parliament on 1981 when its suspension was lifted. The 1979 law stipulated that Kuwaiti citizens must obtain a permit from the authorities before they hold any public meeting or organize any public rally. As of today, Kuwaitis who want to hold or organize public meetings or rallies need only to inform the authorities of their intention rather than wait for its approval or a prior permit. On the other hand, there are no formal political parties in Kuwait, but quasi-political groups of Bedouins, merchants, moderate Sunni and Shi’a activists, secular liberals, and nationalists are organized. Political parties are illegal in Kuwait, though members of parliament conform to unofficial national blocs. Kuwaiti civil society is made up of public interest associations, trade unions, and many informal groups. Activists who belong to the Kuwaiti fundamentalist faction declared on January 29, 2005 the establishment of the first political party in Kuwait and the Gulf countries, despite the fact that there is no political parties law in Kuwait. The Secretary General of the new party "The Nation's Party," Dr. Hakem Al-Matairi, said that the party was established to confirm the people's right to participate in choosing their governments according to pluralistic principles, to transfer power through peaceful means, and to accomplish the task of applying the provisions of Islamic Law (Shari'a) in all walks of life. The new party recruits women in its ranks in a special branch of the party. The Kuwaiti government refused to license the new party, called its founders for interrogation and later released them. The Nation's Party did not gain legitimacy or the right to political activism.

Top of this page

Government Regulations

The government gives partial financial support to some politically oriented civil society organizations and has the right to dissolve them at any time. Trade unions, however, cannot be dissolved without a court ruling. The General Confederation of Kuwaiti Workers, the Kuwait Oil Company Workers Union, and the Federation of Petroleum and Petrochemical Workers are the important trade union federations in the country.

Almost all associations registered as public benefit societies receive funds from Kuwait's government. In addition, they receive other benefits from the government, such as reimbursements for traveling expenses to certain conferences or missions, allowance of a limited number of government employees to work for some organizations on a leave basis, and the arrangement of grants for specific projects. These state funds are not necessarily sufficient for operating a civil society organization, depending on the type and scope of the society's activities. Many active organizations, therefore, do their own fund raising, which usually generates income far exceeding the government funds they receive.

Top of this page

Associations and Unions

Particularly noteworthy are the cooperative societies, which informally perform civic as well as economic tasks. Their primary function is to purchase foodstuffs and household goods and distribute them through retail outlets. The cooperatives control more than 80 percent of the retail food market. Each Kuwaiti resident over 18 years of age is eligible to subscribe to the neighborhood’s cooperative societies. Subscribers are entitled to a share of the cooperative society’s annual profit, and all subscribers, including women, have the right to vote. To serve on the board of a cooperative is one way of developing a base of support in a particular neighborhood and is a common step toward launching a campaign for election to the National Assembly. The Ministry of Social Affairs has considerable supervisory powers over these societies’ activities. The minister may, for example, dissolve the elected board of a society if he deems it to be involved in inappropriate activities, or if funds have been mismanaged.

Workers have the right to join unions, but the government has restricted this right by only allowing one union per occupational trade. Also, there is only one trade federation of unions in Kuwait. Only 5.6% of the workforce was part of a union or labor group in 2002. According to labor laws, workers have the right to organize and bargain collectively, but in reality, this is rare and strikes are almost unheard of. On the other hand, the Kuwaiti government rejected efforts in March 2005 to oblige every expatriate who wants to leave the country, even on vacation, to obtain a written approval from his sponsor. The government said this would violate article 31 of Kuwait's constitution, which stipulates that an individual's freedom of residence and movement should not be restrained, except in accordance to stipulations of the law.

In Kuwait, there are 55 societies with 40,000 members organized with diverse goals, such as gender reform, political and economic liberalization and the promotion of Islamic values. In addition to these official societies, there are numerous public meetings in homes, collectively called Diwaniyas. Their number has increased in recent years, and they play an important role in the political process. Though most GCC countries have Diwaniyas, they typically do not exercise the same role elsewhere as they do in Kuwait.  

Top of this page

Media and Government Regulations

The 1961 Press and Publishing Law governs the media in Kuwait. According to Kuwait's constitution, freedom of opinion and press is guaranteed within the limits of the law. After the Iraqi invasion, Iraqi forces had taken over all media, but a few Kuwaiti newspapers and Radio Kuwait managed to operate outside the country. In 1992, the government lifted censorship following Kuwait's return to sovereignty and removed other press restrictions. The Council of Ministers, however, retains the authority to suspend newspapers. The Ministry of Information runs the government press and the radio and television broadcasting stations. Copies of all publications need to be submitted to the ministry in advance for approval. The ministry does not grant license to magazines with a political focus. The General Organization of Printing and Publishing controls the printing, publishing, and distribution of informational materials.

The Ministry of Information operates the Kuwait News Agency (KUNA) and the three stations of Radio Kuwait and the Kuwait Television station. Although no Kuwaiti television stations are privately owned, residents have access to satellite broadcasting without government interference. There is also a Kuwait Satellite Channel for viewers abroad. The constitutional court in Kuwait has strengthened the principle of free expression in the Kuwaiti society. Discussing and respecting divergent opinions is one of the most prominent features of societal discourse in Kuwait. The government emphasized the citizen’s right to political participation, although this right is restricted to male members only.

Top of this page