إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الإنتخابات: عُمان
يمكنكم أيضا
 

نظرة عامة

يرأس سلطنة عُمان السلطان قابوس الذي شغل هذا المنصب منذ عام 1970. ومنذ توليه الحكم، حصل عدد من الإصلاحات السياسية التي زادت تدريجيا عدد الممثلين المنتخبين في الحكومة ووسعت دورهم. وعلى الرغم من زيادة حضور هؤلاء المسؤولين، فإن العملية التشريعية ما تزال تعتبر مجالا خاضعا لإرادة السلطان. ويؤدي البرلمان الحالي دورا استشاريا.

تم تشكيل أول مجلس استشاري عُماني سنة 1981 بناء على مرسوم سلطاني. وكان عدد أعضاء هذه الهيئة، المسماة "المجلس الاستشاري للدولة" في الأصل 43 عضوا. وتمت زيادة العدد إلى 55 عضوا سنة 1983. وقد عيّن السلطان أعضاء المجلس بناء على تمثيلهم لمصالح مناطقية وحكومية. وحلّ سنة 1991 مجلس الشورى المؤلف من 60 عضوا محل المجلس الاستشاري للدولة. وطوّر القانون الأساسي الذي أصدره السلطان قابوس سنة 1996 هذه الهيئة، إذ نصّ على تأسيس برلمان من مجلسين هما "مجلس الدولة" و "مجلس الشورى" ويعيّن السلطان أعضاء مجلس الدولة، بينما ينتخب أعضاء مجلس الشورى الـ 82 عن طريق الاقتراع المحدود لولاية مدتها ثلاث سنوات. وينتخب المرشحون بأغلبية الأصوات من 59 منطقة انتخابية لبعضها ممثل واحد ولبعضها الآخر عدة ممثلين. وللمناطق التي يزيد عدد سكانها على 000ر30 نسمة عدد من الممثلين. ويحتفظ السلطان بالسلطة النهائية على العملية الانتخابية. وبالإضافة إلى قيامه بالاختيار النهائي لجميع الممثلين، يمكن للسلطان أيضا إلغاء نتائج الانتخابات.

أعلى الصفحة

قوانين الانتخابات، النظم والعمليات

لا يحدد القانون الأساسي لعام 1996 الذي يعتبر مساويا للدستور، مدة ولاية المجلس ولا طريقة الانتخاب ولا القواعد الإجرائية، ولا الوظائف المحددة لمجلسي التشريع العماني. وينص القانون الأساسي على أن جميع هذه الأمور يقررها القانون. ويجب تقديم الشكاوى المتعلقة بالانتخابات إلى اللجنة الانتخابية الرئيسية خلال خمسة أيام من موعد الانتخابات، ومن غير المسموح تأسيس أحزاب سياسية. وكانت السن المطلوبة للناخبين 30 سنة في انتخابات 1997، وتم تخفيضها إلى 21 سنة في انتخابات عام 2000. وقبل سنة 2003 كان لا بدّ من موافقة الحكومة على جميع الناخبين والمرشحين كي يحق لهم تسجيل أنفسهم. ولم يكن للعمانيين المقيمين في الخارج الحق في التصويت. وأصدر السلطان مرسوما أزال فيه هذه القيود عن انتخابات 2003 ما أعطى جميع المواطنين العمانيين ممن بلغوا 21 سنة الحق في التصويت في الانتخابات العامة.

أعلى الصفحة

السلطات الانتخابية

تتولى لجنة الانتخابات الرئيسية تنظيم الانتخابات. وهذه اللجنة المؤلفة من 12 عضوا هي إحدى لجان مجلس الشورى. ويكفل القضاء نزاهة الانتخابات. ويحتفظ "قسم شؤون الجنسية والانتخابات" التابع لوزارة الداخلية بالسلطة على الانتخابات وعلى العمليات الانتخابية، بينما يتمتع السلطان بسلطة إلغاء نتائج الانتخابات.

أعلى الصفحة

الإنتخابات التشريعية

جرت آخر انتخابات تشريعية في 27 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2007، وبلغ عدد المقترعين 388,683 ألفا من إجمالي العمانيين البالغ عددهم 1.7 مليون نسمة. وترشح للانتخابات 631 شخصا من بينهم 21 امرأة. ولم تتم دعوة مراقبين دوليين لمراقبة العملية الانتخابية لعدم وجود داع لذلك، حسب تصريح وزير الداخلية سعود بن إبراهيم البوسعيدي. لكن 92 صحافيا من 30 دولة عربية وأجنبية قاموا بتغطية الانتخابات التي بلغت نسبة المشاركة فيها 62.7%. وخاض المرشحون الانتخابات بصفتهم الشخصية وليس على أساس برامج سياسية أو اقتصادية أو اجتماعية.

وقي الانتخابات التشريعية السابقة التي جرت في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2003 بلغ عدد المرشحين 509 مرشحين بينهم 15 امرأة تنافسوا على شغل مقاعد مجلس الشورى العماني وعددها 83 مقعدا موزعة على 59 ولاية. ومن بين 800 ألف مواطن عُماني يحق لهم التصويت، سجل 262 ألفا أنفسهم ولكن لم يصوّت منهم إلا 194 ألفا، أي 74 بالمئة. وبلغ عدد النساء اللواتي سجلن أنفسهن بغرض التصويت 95 ألف امرأة. وقد أوكلت إلى القضاء مهمة الإشراف على عمليتي الفرز وإعلان النتائج. وشارك في الانتخابات المواطنون العمانيون المقيمون في مصر والبحرين والأردن وقطر والإمارات العربية المتحدة. وجاءت النتائج على النحو التالي: أعيد انتخاب ربع أعضاء المجلس السابق ومن بينهم المرأتان الوحيدتان اللتان فازتا للمرة الثانية في الانتخابات التشريعية.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Elections: Oman
You may also
 

Overview

The head of the Sultanate of Oman is Sultan Qaboos, who has held the position since 1970. Since his accession, a number of political reforms have taken place, gradually increasing and expanding the role of elected representatives in the government. Despite the growing presence of such officials, the legislative process is still considered to be the domain of the Sultan. The current parliamentary body serves in an advisory capacity.

The first incarnation of the Omani advisory council was formed in 1981 by royal decree. This body, the State Consultative Council (Majlis al Istishari lil Dawlah) originally had 43 members, but this number was enlarged to 55 in 1983. The members were appointed by the sultan and represented regional and governmental interests. In 1991 a sixty-member Consultative Council (Majlis ash-Shoura) replaced the State Consultative Council. The Basic Law, issued in November 1996 by Sultan Qaboos, further elaborated this body. The Basic Law instituted a bicameral parliament, consisting of an upper chamber, the Council of State (Majlis Ad-Dawla), and a transformed lower chamber, the Consultative Council (Majlis ash-Shoura). The Sultan appoints the former body, while the 82 members of the latter chamber are elected by limited suffrage for three-year terms. Candidates are elected from 59 multi- and single-member electoral districts by majority vote. Districts with population exceeding 30,000 have multiple representatives. The Sultan retains final authority over the election process. In addition to making all final selections of representatives, the Sultan can also invalidate election results.

Top of this page

Election Laws, Systems and Processes

The 1996 Basic Law, considered to be the equivalent of a constitution, does not specify the lengths of tenure, manner of election, procedural rules, or specific functions of the two chambers of the Omani legislature. The Basic Law states that all of these are to be decided by law. Complaints about the elections are to be presented to the Main Election Committee within five days of election time. Political parties are not permitted. The age requirement for voters during the 1997 elections was 30, but was lowered to 21 during the 2000 elections. Prior to 2003, all voters and candidates had to be approved by the government in order to register, and Omanis living abroad could not vote. The Sultan issued a decree removing these restrictions for the 2003 elections, extending suffrage to all Omani nationals over 21 years of age.

Top of this page

Election Authorities

Elections are organized by the Main Election Committee, one of the committees of the Consultative Council, consisting of 12 members. The judiciary guarantees the fairness of elections. The Nationality and Elections Affairs Section of the Ministry of the Interior holds authority over elections and electoral processes, and the Sultan has the authority to annul election results.

Top of this page

Legislative Elections

The latest legislative elections in Oman took place on October 27, 2007. The number of registered voters was 388,683 out of a population of 1.7 million. The number of candidates was 631, including 21 women. International observers were not invited because there was “no reason to invite them” according to the minister of interior Saud Bin Ibrahim Al-Bousa’idi. However, 92 journalists from Arab and foreign countries covered the election process. Participation rate was 62.7%. Candidates ran in elections in their own personal capacity, rather than on the grounds of political, economic or social electoral programs.

In the previous elections of October 4, 2003, 509 candidates, 15 of whom were women, had competed for the 83 seats of Oman's Consultative Council, which were then distributed over 59 provinces. Out of 800,000 Omanis eligible to vote, 262,000 registered to vote, and 74% of those, or 194,000, actually voted. 95,000 women registered to vote in the elections. Vote counting and announcement of election results was entrusted to the judiciary. Omani citizens living in Egypt, Bahrain, Jordan, Qatar and United Arab Emirates participated in the elections in absentia. Incumbents won one-quarter of the seats in the council. The two female members of the council were among those re-elected.

Top of this page