إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الإنتخابات: قطر
يمكنكم أيضا
 

نظرة عامة

يمسك الأمير بزمام السلطة التنفيذية في قطر. ومنصب الأمير وراثي. وأصبح الشيخ حمد بن خليفة آل ثاني أميرا سنة 1995 بعد أن أطاح والده. تم إقرار دستور دائم باستفتاء شعبي في 30 نيسان/إبريل 2003 بأغلبية 97% من الأصوات.ويدخل الدستور الجديد تغييرات واسعة على نظام الانتخابات بعد إصداره. ويتولى الأمير تعيين مجلس الشورى المؤلف من 45 عضوا لمدة أربع سنوات من أجل مساعدة الحكومة وإسداء النصح لها. ولا يمتلك المجلس أي سلطة تنفيذية. ويتم اختيار أعضاء المجلس من بين أصحاب الأراضي والمزارعين ورجال الأعمال. ولا توجد أحزاب سياسية في قطر.

أعلى الصفحة

قوانين الانتخابات، النظم والعمليات

مع بداية عهد الشيخ حمد آل ثاني كان هناك تفكير في إجراء انتخابات شعبية. وأشار الأمير بعد توليه الحكم إلى عزمه على إجراء إصلاحات سياسية عامة، فكانت الانتخابات الشعبية للمجلس البلدي في آذار/مارس 1999 أبرز مظاهرها. ويؤدي المجلس البلدي المؤلف من 29 عضوا، مثله مثل مجلس الشورى، دورا استشاريا فقط. والمشاركة في الانتخابات متاحة لجميع المواطنين القطريين، رجالا ونساء، الذين تجاوزوا 18 سنة من العمر. ويمكن أيضا للنساء ترشيح أنفسهن في الانتخابات، وهذه حقيقة استرعت انتباه المراقبين الدوليين المهتمين ودول الخليج الأخرى، وحفّزت على إجراء إصلاحات مماثلة في دول خليجية أخرى. وينص دستور 2003 على تنظيم العمليات الانتخابية وفقا للقانون. كما ينص على تأسيس مجلس استشاري من 45 عضوا يتمتع بصلاحيات تشريعية ويتم انتخاب ثلثي أعضائه عن طريق الاقتراع الشعبي. ويفترض أن تعقد انتخابات المجلس الاستشاري قبل نهاية سنة 2009.

صادق مجلس الشورى القطري بالإجماع في 19 أيار/مايو 2008 على مشروع قانون لنظام انتخاب أعضاء مجلس الشورى بعد موافقة مجلس الوزراء. وأعدت مشروع القانون الذي يتألف من 55 مادة "اللجنة العليا لشؤون التشريع" التي يرأسها رئيس مجلس الوزراء، وتم عرضه على مجلس الوزراء في حزيران/يونيو 2007. وهذا أول مشروع قانون يعد لانتخاب أعضاء مجلس الشورى في دولة قطر والمتوقع حصوله في سنة 2009 حيث سيتم انتخاب 30 عضوا بالاقتراع العام السري المباشر، فيما يعيّن أمير البلاد الـ 15 عضوا المتبقين.

ويتكون مشروع القانون من عدة أبواب هي: الناخبون، جداول الناخبين، إجراءات الناخبين، الطعن في صحة الانتخاب، جرائم الانتخاب، وأحكام عامة. بالنسبة للناخبين، حصر القانون حق الانتخاب بالمواطن القطري الأصلي. ونص على أنه لا يمكن تعديل هذا الشرط إلا بعد مرور 10 سنوات على تاريخ نفاذ الدستور، أي في حزيران/يونيو 2015. أما شروط الناخب الأخرى فتقضي بأن يكون المواطن القطري قد أتمّ 18 سنة من عمره. وحجب القانون حق الترشح عن رئيس وأعضاء لجنة الناخبين وعن الوزراء والقضاة والعاملين في القوات المسلحة والأمن الداخلي طوال مدة شغلهم مناصبهم أو وظائفهم. أما بالنسبة للطعن في صحة الانتخاب وإبطال العضوية فحدد القانون تقديم الطعن في الدائرة الانتخابية المعنية خلال 7 أيام من صدور نتيجة الانتخاب، على أن يقدم الطعن إلى دائرة الاستئناف ويكون حكم المحكمة نهائيا غير قابل للطعن. ومن الناحية التنظيمية، نص القانون على أن يكون لكل دائرة انتخابية لجنة تسمى "لجنة الانتخاب" تشكل بقرار من وزير الداخلية برئاسة أحد القضاة، ويفتح باب الترشيح قبل موعد الاقتراع بـ 60 يوما على الأقل.

أعلى الصفحة

السلطات الانتخابية

أشرفت "اللجنة التحضيرية للانتخابات البلدية" على الانتخابات البلدية لعام 1999. وعملت "المؤسسة الدولية لنظم الانتخابات" بالتعاون مع اللجنة التحضيرية على تثقيف الناخبات وتدريب النساء اللواتي قد يرشحن أنفسهن في الانتخابات. لكن مشاركة الناخبين لم ترقَ إلى مصاف التوقعات الأولية إذ لم يصوت إلا 000ر22 ناخب أو 55 بالمئة ممن يحق لهم التصويت. ونظّم المرشحون حملاتهم الانتخابية من على منابر مختلفة، بما فيها إجراء المناظرات التي كانت تبث من تلفزيون وإذاعة قطر. وكانت مدينة الدوحة مسرحا للعديد من الخطابات والمهرجانات الانتخابية.

أعلى الصفحة

الإنتخابات المحلية

جرت ثالث انتخابات للمجلس البلدي في قطر في 1 نيسان/إبريل 2007. وتمت دعوة 153ر28 ناخبا للمشاركة في انتخاب أعضاء المجلس البلدي الـ 29 من بين 116 مرشحا بينهم 3 سيدات. ومنحت وزارة الخدمة المدنية موظفي الوزارات والأجهزة الحكومية عطلة لتمكينهم من الإدلاء بأصواتهم. وبلغت نسبة المشاركة 1ر51%. وتمت الانتخابات تحت إشراف قضائي، فيما جندت اللجنة الوطنية للحقوق الإنسان 4 فرق لمراقبة صحة العملية الانتخابية تم توزيعها على الدوائر الـ 27. وفاز مرشحان بالتزكية لعدم وجود منافسين لهما في دائرتيهما. وفازت مرشحة واحدة هي شيخة الجفيري على منافسيها الاثنين بعد حصولها على 90% من مجموع الأصوات في دائرتها. وهذه هي المرة الثانية التي تصل فيها شيخة إلى عضوية المجلس البلدي بعد أن فازت بالتزكية عام 2003، وكانت أول قطرية تصل إلى هذا المنصب. ولا يتمتع المجلس البلدي بسلطات تنفيذية بل نقابية واستشارية فقط، ويتعاون مع وزارة البلدية في تطوير مستوى الخدمات التي تهم المواطنين مثل مشاريع البنية التحتية. وجرت انتخابات سابقة للمجلس البلدي عامي 1999 و 2003. وتنافس 78 مرشحا في انتخابات 7 نيسان/إبريل 2003 لشغل 29 مقعدا بلديا. وعموما، كانت الحماسة الشعبية لهذه الانتخابات أضعف منها في سنة 1999. وانخفضت نسبة مشاركة المواطنين الذين يحق لهم التصويت من 55% عام 1999 إلى 30% عام 2003.

أعلى الصفحة

الإستفتاءات الوطنية

أجري استفتاء وطني في قطر في 29 نيسان/إبريل 2003، وذلك لإقرار أول دستور قطري مكتوب يحل محل "النظام السياسي المؤقت" لعام 1972. بلغت نسبة المشاركة 84% وصوّت أكثر من 98% لصالح الدستور المقترح. ينص الدستور الجديد على برلمان مؤلف من 45 عضوا ينتخب الشعب 30 منهم، فيما يعين أمير البلاد 15 عضوا. ويتولى الأمير تعيين رئيس الوزراء وأعضاء الحكومة. ويحق للنساء الترشح لعضوية البرلمان والتصويت في الانتخابات النيابية. ولمجلس النواب صلاحية استجواب الوزراء وطرح الثقة فيهم، لكن الأمير يحتفظ بسلطة حل البرلمان. وسيكون للبرلمان سلطة التشريع والتصويت على الميزانية العامة. أما مدة ولاية البرلمان فهي 4 سنوات. وينص الدستور المكون من 150 مادة على تأسيس نظام قضائي منفصل.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Elections: Qatar
You may also
 

Overview

The executive power in the State of Qatar is held by the Emir, a hereditary position. Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa al-Thani, came to the position in 1995, after deposing his father. A permanent constitution was approved by referendum on April 30, 2003 with 97% of the vote. The new constitution will bring vast changes to the electoral system. The Emir appoints the Advisory Council, a 45-member body that serves for four-year terms, to assist and advise the government. The Council has no official legislative powers. Members of the Advisory Council are selected from among landowners, farmers, and businessmen. There are no political parties in Qatar.

Top of this page

Election Laws, Systems and Processes

Since the beginning of Sheikh al-Thani’s reign, a series of reforms has drastically increased popular participation in the political process. Soon after taking office, the Emir signaled his intention to move Qatar in a democratic direction. The establishment of a popularly elected Municipal Council followed in March 1999. The 29-member Municipal Council, like the Advisory Council, serves only in an advisory capacity. Elections are open to all citizens of Qatar, both men and women, over the age of 18. Women can also participate as candidates in the elections, a fact which caught the attention of international observers and other states in the Gulf, and spurred similar reforms in other Gulf countries. The 2003 Constitution stipulates that electoral processes are to be established by law. It also establishes a 45-member Advisory Council with legislative powers, two thirds of which is to be popularly elected. Elections for the Advisory Council will presumably be held during 2009.

The Qatari consultative (Shoura) council has unanimously approved on May 19, 2008 a draft law for electing members of the Shoura council. The approval followed the cabinet's approval of the draft law that was written by the Higher Committee for Legislation Affairs headed by the prime minister. The 55 article draft law was submitted to the Council of Ministers in June 2007. This is the first Qatari draft law for electing members of the Shoura council. The elections are expected to take place in 2009 whereby 30 members will be elected by direct secret ballot, while the Emir will appoint the remaining 15 members.

The draft law is composed of several chapters: voters, voters’ registration lists, voting procedures, contesting election results, election crimes and general provisions. The law restricted the right of voting to genuine Qatari citizens, i.e. unnaturalized citizens. This condition cannot be amended before the passage of 10 years since the date the constitution went into effect that is in June 2015. Other conditions pertaining to voters state that the voter should be at least 18 years old. Moreover, the law forbids the head and members of the election committee, government ministers, judges, armed and security forces personnel to run in Shoura council elections as long as they are in office or holding their jobs. To contest the validity of election or revoke the membership of an elected Shoura member, the law stipulates that the complaint should be filed at the electoral district in question within 7 days of declaration of election results. The complaint will then be examined by the appeals court whose decision is final and cannot be contested. Organizationally, the law provides that every electoral district will have an "election Committee" established by the Minister of Interior and headed by a judge. Registration for running in elections is opened at least 60 days prior to voting date.

Top of this page

Election Authorities

The Preparatory Committee for the Municipal Elections (PCME) oversaw the 1999 municipal elections. The International Foundation for Election Systems (IFES) worked in conjunction with the Preparatory Committee to educate women voters and train potential female candidates. The IFES estimates that 70% of all voters who participated were women. Overall voter turnout, however, was not as high as initially expected, with about 22,000 votes cast, of 55% of eligible voters. The candidates campaigned in a variety of forums, including debates that were broadcast on Qatari television and radio. The city of Doha was host to numerous candidate speeches and rallies.

Top of this page

Local Elections

The third elections to the Municipal Council in Qatar took place on April 1, 2007. 28,153 citizens voted for 116 candidates, including 3 women, contesting 29 seats. The participation rate was 51.1%. The Ministry of Civil Service gave government employees a day-off to enable them to vote. Elections were conducted under judicial supervision. The National Human Rights Committee mobilized 4 teams to monitor the integrity of elections in 27 electoral districts. Two candidates were uncontested in their districts. One female candidate, Shaikha Al Jufairi, defeated her two male opponents by winning 90% of votes in her district. That was the second time that she won a municipal seat, although she was uncontested in the 2003 elections, when she became the first Qatari female to occupy such a position. The Municipal Council has no executive powers. Its powers are supervisory and advisory. The Council cooperates with the Ministry of Municipality in improving the standard of services of importance to citizens such infrastructure projects. Earlier elections to the Municipal Council took place in 1999 and in 2003. On April 7, 2003, 78 candidates contested 29 seats. In general, public enthusiasm for the elections was lower than in 1999. Voter turnout plummeted to around 30% of eligible voters, down from 55% in the previous elections.

Top of this page

National Referenda

A national referendum was held in Qatar on 29 April 2003 to approve Qatar's first written constitution that replaces the 1972 "Provisional Political Order". Voter turnout was around 84% and the constitution was approved with over 98% votes in favor. The new constitution provides for a Parliament composed of 45 members, 30 of whom will be elected in polls where women may stand and vote. The remaining 15 will be appointed by the Emir who also appoints the Prime Minister and the Cabinet ministers. The proposed legislature will be able to question ministers and subject them to votes of no-confidence, but the Emir retains the power to dismiss Parliament. The latter will have a four-year term and the power to legislate and vote on the budget. The 150-article Constitution also envisages the establishment of a separate judiciary.

Top of this page