إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الإنتخابات: الصومال
يمكنكم أيضا
 

نظرة عامة

أقر البرلمان الصومالي في 26 كانون الثاني/يناير2009 في جيبوتي زيادة عدد أعضائه إلى 550 لينضم إليه 275 عضوا جديدا من المعارضة حسب اتفاق جيبوتي الذي وقع بين الحكومة الانتقالية وتحالف تحرير جيبوتي. في العام 2003 عقدت سلسلة من المحادثات في نيروبي ـ كينيا بين زعماء الفصائل الرئيسية والمسؤولين الحكوميين انتهت إلى توقيع "الميثاق الاتحادي الانتقالي" في 15 أيلول/سبتمبر 2003. ونص الميثاق على تأسيس برلمان فدرالي انتقالي من 275 عضوا إختارهم زعماء العشائر من كافة أنحاء الصومال. انتخب البرلمان الصومالي المنعقد في نيروبي – كينيا في 10 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2004 عبد الله يوسف أحمد رئيسا للصومال. وتنافس في الجولة الأولى من الانتخابات الرئاسية الأخيرة 28 مرشحا، لكن 21 مرشحا منهم لم يحصلوا على أغلبية الثلثين، وانسحب الرئيس الصومالي عبد القاسم صلاد حسن من الجولة الثانية لحصوله على المركز الخامس في الدورة الأولى. وتنافس في الجولة الثانية ستة مرشحين وفاز بالمنصب عبد الله يوسف أحمد. ويذكر أنه لا توجد في الصومال حكومة مركزية فاعلة منذ سنة 1991.. وجاءت هذه الانتخابات في أعقاب عامين من المفاوضات المضنية. رفض رئيس جمهورية أرض الصومال (بونت لاند) باهر ريالي كاهين أي محاولة لبحث الوحدة مع الصومال ودعا إلى تبادل الاعتراف بين الصومال وأرض الصومال كدولتين مستقلتين.

كان شمال الصومال محمية بريطانية، بينما حكم الإيطاليون جنوب الصومال. وقد استقل الشمال والجنوب وتوحدا ضمن دولة واحدة في سنة 1960. وفي سنة 1969 اغتيل رئيس الجمهورية عبد الرشيد علي شرماك، واستولى العسكريون على السلطة في الصومال وأطلقوا عليها اسم "جمهورية الصومال الديمقراطية"، واصبح سياد برّي الرئيس الجديد للبلاد. وفي هذا الوقت، جرى حل الهيئة التشريعية الممثلة بالمجلس الوطني وتم حظر الأحزاب السياسية. وتصارعت طوال العقود اللاحقة على السلطة المركزية الجماعات السياسية المتنافسة التي تشكل العديد منها في إطار الانتماءات والعلاقات العشائرية. وكان بعض هذه الجماعات، مثل الحركة الوطنية الصومالية في الإقليم الشمالي يقوم على أساس مناطقي. ووعد الرئيس برّي في سنة 1989 تحت ضغط العنف المتصاعد في البلاد بإجراء انتخابات لاختيار هيئة تشريعية. وشهد عقد التسعينات قدرا اكبر من التنافس والعنف بين العشائر. وغادر الرئيس برّي البلاد في سنة 1991، فيما التقت ثلاث جماعات من المعارضة وشكلت ائتلافا برئاسة علي مهدي محمد. وانهار هذا الائتلاف في وقت لاحق من السنة نفسها.

تشير المصادر الصحفية والأكاديمية، مثل مجلة "ميدل إيست ريفيو"، إلى أن المعلومات والبيانات الخاصة بالصومال حاليا غير موثوقة بسبب الحرب الأهلية التي تعيشها البلاد.

أعلى الصفحة

قوانين الانتخابات، النظم والعمليات

نص دستور 1979 المعدل على إجراء انتخابات رئاسية وتشريعية. وأعطى الدستور حق الاقتراع لجميع المواطنين الذكور ممن تزيد أعمارهم على 18 سنة. وتم انتخاب رئيس الجمهورية بالاقتراع الشعبي لولاية مدتها سبع سنوات. وعند كتابة ذلك الدستور لم يكن في الصومال إلا حزب سياسي واحد مرخص قانونيا وهو "الحزب الاشتراكي الثوري الصومالي". ونص دستور 1979 أيضا على أن تناط السلطة التشريعية بمجلس الشعب المؤلف من 177 عضوا. وتم انتخاب 171 عضوا من أعضاء مجلس الشعب بالانتخاب الشعبي لولاية مدتها خمس سنوات، بينما قام رئيس الجمهورية بتعيين الأعضاء الستة المتبقين. ي 26 كانون الثاني/يناير2009 أقر البرلمان الصومالي في جيبوتي زيادة عدد أعضائه إلى 550 لينضم إليه 275 عضوا جديدا من المعارضة حسب اتفاق جيبوتي الذي وقع بين الحكومة الانتقالية وتحالف تحرير جيبوتي.

أعلى الصفحة

الإنتخابات الرئاسية

انتخب البرلمان الصومالي الانتقالي الذي اجتمع في جيبوتي في 31 كانون ثاني/يناير 2009 شيخ شريف شيخ احمد رئيسا للصومال. ترشح للانتخابات الرئاسية 14 مرشحاً كان أبرزهم شيخ شريف شيخ أحمد زعيم تحالف جيبوتي ومصلح محمد سياد بري نجل الرئيس الراحل محمد سياد بري ونور حسن حسين المعروف بـ (نور عدي). جرت الانتخابات على دورتين وحصل شيخ شريف زعيم التحالف من أجل تحرير الصومال في الدورة الأولى على 219 صوتاً من أصوات النواب الـ430 الذين شاركوا في الجلسة. في حين حصل في الدورة الثانية من الانتخاب على أكثرية الأصوات أمام منافسه مصلح محمد سياد بري.

وبشكل عام تركزت الملامح الرئيسية لبرامج المرشحين في دفع جهود المصالحة، وتحسين الخدمات الاجتماعية وإعادة اللاجئين والنازحين وإنعاش الاقتصاد وتوزيع الثروات بشكل عادل وتطبيق الفيدرالية والتحضير للانتخابات التعددية والنزيهة والشفافة، والتعاون مع دول المنطقة والمجتمع الدولي والالتزام بالمعاهدات الدولية.

يشار إلى أنه في أيار/مايو 1991 انشقت المناطق الشمالية عن الصومال معلنة لنفسها هوية سياسية مستقلة. وأطلق على هذا الكيان الجديد اسم "جمهورية ارض الصومال"، لكنه لم يلق أي اعتراف دولي به. وفي 31 أيار/مايو 2001 أقرّ استفتاء عام أول دستور مكتوب لأرض الصومال بنسبة 97 بالمئة من المقترعين. وينص الدستور على انتخاب رئيس الجمهورية ونائبه معا في انتخابات عامة على أساس القواعد الانتخابية لنظام اللائحة الحزبية. وانتخب محمد إبراهيم عقّال في سنة 1997 أول رئيس لجمهورية ارض الصومال لولاية مدتها خمس سنوات. وبعد وفاته أصبح ضاهر ريال كاهن رئيسا للجمهورية. وجاءت نتائج الانتخابات الرئاسية الحامية التي جرت في 15 نيسان/إبريل 2003 متساوية احصائيا بين كاهن ومنافسه مجاهد سليانون من حزب "كولمية" (التضامن). وأعلنت "اللجنة الوطنية للانتخابات" فوز كاهن بـ 80 صوتا، مع أن الأرقام التي نشرت أظهرت بوضوح وجود حسابات خاطئة بالنسبة للطرفين. وأصدرت المحكمة العليا لأرض الصومال لاحقا قرارها بفوز كاهن بحصوله على 217 صوتا.

وأعلنت منطقة أخرى في شمال شرق الصومال استقلالها الذاتي ضمن الصومال في سنة 1998، وأطلقت على نفسها اسم "بلاد البونت". وعيّن زعماء العشائر عبد الله يوسف أحمد رئيسا لجمهورية بلاد البونت لولاية مدتها ثلاث سنوات. ولبلاد البونت مجلس نواب مؤلف من 66 عضوا مدة ولايتهم ست سنوات. ودعا بعض النواب إلى إجراء انتخابات نيابية في 15 إبريل/نيسان 2004، بينما طالب نواب آخرون بتمديد ولاية المجلس الحالي سنتين. وحاول زعماء العشائر في تموز/يوليو 2001 إقصاء عبد الله يوسف عن رئاسة الجمهورية، وتمكنوا في وقت لاحق من السنة من تعيين جاما علي جاما كرئيس جديد للجمهورية. ولكن عبد الله يوسف تمكن قبل نهاية سنة 2001 من طرد جاما علي جاما إلى خارج العاصمة ثم من السلطة واستعاد رئاسة الجمهورية. ومع أن النزاع بين الاثنين ما يزال مستمرا، فقد أحكم عبد الله يوسف قبضته على بلاد البونت بشكل كامل، وهو الذي وقع الميثاق الاتحادي الانتقالي الصومالي نيابة عن بلاد البونت.

أعلى الصفحة

الإنتخابات التشريعية

تتألف السلطة التشريعية لأرض الصومال من مجلسين تشريعيين هما مجلس النواب ومجلس الشيوخ. وينص الدستور على انتخاب أعضاء مجلس النواب الـ 82 بانتخابات عامة حرة لولاية مدتها خمس سنوات. ولا يحدد الدستور الطريقة التي ينتخب بها أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ الـ 82. ومدة ولاية مجلس الشيوخ ست سنوات. ووفقا لدستور ارض الصومال لا يمكن وجود اكثر من ثلاثة أحزاب سياسية في آن واحد.

أعلى الصفحة

الإنتخابات المحلية

واكتسبت أكبر ثلاث أحزاب هذا الحق في الانتخابات البلدية سنة 2002. والأحزاب الثلاثة هي: الحزب الديمقراطي الشعبي المتحد الذي يتزعمه عقال، وحزب كولمية (التضامن)، وحزب العدالة والرفاه. وخاضت ثلاثة أحزاب أخرى الانتخابات البلدية التي عقدت في 22 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2002. وفاز الحزب الديمقراطي الشعبي المتحد بـ 41 بالمئة من الأصوات؛ بينما فاز حزب كولمية وحزب العدالة والرفاه بـ 19 بالمئة و 11 بالمئة من الأصوات على التوالي. ورفضت أرض الصومال المشاركة في مؤتمرات دولية حول الصومال، وعبّرت عن عزمها على تجاهل أي محاولات لتوحيدها مع الأقاليم الصومالية الأخرى.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Elections: Somalia
You may also
 

Overview

The Somali parliament had approved on 26 January 2009 in Djibouti to increase its members to 550 in order to allow the accession of 275 members from the opposition, according to the Djibouti Agreement singed between the transitional government and the Djibouti Liberation Alliance. A series of talks held in Nairobi, Kenya brought together the major faction leaders and government officials throughout 2003 and resulted in the signing of a transitional federal charter on September 15, 2003. The charter specified the creation of a transitional federal parliament, whose 275 members were to be chosen by clan leaders throughout Somalia. The Somali parliament met in Nairobi, Kenya on October 10, 2004 and elected Abdallah Youssef Ahmad as the new president of Somalia. The elections took place over two rounds. During the first round 28 candidates competed, however 21 candidates failed in obtaining the two thirds required majority. Only 6 candidates ran in the second round after the previous president withdrew from the elections. Somalia had no effective central government since 1991. The presidential elections came after two years of hard and exhausting negotiations. Moreover, the president of Punt Land republic rejected President Ahmad's call for unifying the two republics. He called on President Ahmad to exchange formal recognition between the two Somali republics.

Northern Somalia, a former British protectorate, and southern Somalia, governed by the Italians, gained independence and were united in one country in 1960. In 1969, President Abdirashid Ali Shermarke was assassinated and military leaders assumed control of the country, renamed the Somali Democratic Republic. Mohammed Siad Barre became the new president. At this time, the legislative body, the National Assembly, was dissolved and political parties were made illegal. For the next several decades, rival political groups, many formed around pre-existing clan identities and relationships, contested for power at the center. Some of these groups, like the Somali National Movement (SNM) in the northern region, were territorially based. In 1989, in a response to escalating violence, President Barre promised to hold elections for the legislative body. The 1990s saw an even further increase of inter-clan rivalry and violence. In 1991 President Barre left the country, and three opposition groups came together to forge a coalition headed by Ali Mahdi Mohammed. This coalition collapsed later in the same year.

News and academic sources, like the Middle East Review, note that current information and data concerning Somalia is unreliable given the state of civil war in the country.

Top of this page

Election Laws, Systems and Processes

The amended 1979 constitution of Somalia provided for elections to be held for the presidency and the legislature. Suffrage was granted to all male citizens of Somalia over the age of 18. The president was elected by popular vote for a seven-year term. At the time that the Constitution was written, there was one legal political party, the Somali Revolutionary Socialist Party (SRSP). The 1979 Constitution also stipulated that legislative power was to be held by the 177-member People’s Assembly. One hundred and seventy-one members of the unicameral legislature were to be elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms, while the president appointed the remaining six members.

Top of this page

Presidential Elections

The Somali Transitional parliament met in Djibouti on 31 January 2009 and elected Sheikh Sherif Sheikh Ahmad to the position of Somalia’s president. There were 14 presidential candidates, most prominent of whom were Musleh Mohamad Siyad Berri – son of late Somali President Mohammad Siyad Berri; and Nour Hassan Hussain, Known as Nour Oday. The elections were conducted in two rounds. In the first round Sheikh Sherif won 219 out of 430 votes. In the second round he won a majority of votes against his competitor Musleh Siyad Berri.

In general, the candidates programs focused on the following issues: supporting and advancing reconciliation efforts; improving social services; bringing back refugees and displaced persons; reviving the economy; fair distribution of national wealth; adopting a federal system; preparing for a pluralist, fair and transparent elections; cooperating with other countries in the region and the international community; and commitment to international treaties and conventions.

In May 1991, the northern regions broke away from Somalia to claim a separate political identity. The new entity, which was named the Somaliland Republic, has not been recognized internationally. On May 31, 2001, a referendum approved Somaliland’s first written constitution by 97 percent. The president and vice-president are jointly elected in general elections following the electoral rules of the party list system. In 1997, Mohammed Ibrahim Egal was elected as the Somaliland president for a five-year term. Following his death, Dahir Riyale Kahin became president. The results of hotly contested presidential elections on April 15, 2003 were a statistical tie between Kahin and his competitor from the Kulmiye (Solidarity) Party, Mujahid Silanyo. The National Election Committee declared Kahin the winner by 80 votes, though the figures released evidently contained significant miscalculations on both sides. The Supreme Court of Somaliland later ruled that Kahin won by 217 votes.

Another region in the northeast of Somalia declared itself an autonomous region within Somalia in 1998, naming itself Puntland. Abdullahi Yusuf Ahmed was appointed president by clan chiefs for a three year period. Puntland also has a 66-member House of Representatives that serves a six-year term; some of its members have called for elections in April 2004, while others have sought a two year extension on the term. In July 2001, the traditional elders tried to replace Yusuf, and Jama Ali Jama was appointed president late that year. In 2001, however, Abdullahi Yusuf drove Jama Ali Jama out of the capital and then the control, reclaiming his role as president. Though the dispute continues, Abdullahi Yusuf is in full control of Puntland. He has signed Somalia’s transitional federal charter.

Top of this page

Legislative Elections

The legislative branch of Somaliland is composed of two legislative chambers, the House of Representatives and the House of Elders. The Constitution stipulates that the 82 members of the House of Representatives are to be elected for five-year terms in a free general election. The manner of election for the 82 members of the House of Elders is not specified in the Constitution. The Elders hold six-year terms. According to the Somaliland Constitution, no more than three political parties can exist simultaneously.

Top of this page

Local Elections

The top three parties in the municipal elections of 2002 won this right; they were Egal’s United People’s Democratic Party (UDUB), Kulmiye (Solidarity) and the Justice and Welfare Party (UCID). Three other parties also contested the 2002 municipal elections, held on December 22, 2002. UDUB won 41 percent of the vote; Kulmiye and UCID won 19 and 11 percent respectively. Somaliland has declined to participate in international conferences about Somalia and has signified its intent to ignore any attempts at unification with other parts of Somalia.

Top of this page