إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الإنتخابات: البحرين
يمكنكم أيضا
 

نظرة عامة

البحرين دولة ملكية دستورية. وقد أصبح الشيخ حمد بن عيسى آل خليفة ملكا على البحرين منذ سنة 1999. وقبل ذلك التاريخ كانت البحرين إمارة ولها مجلس نيابي، مع أن هذا المجلس قد علّقت أعماله منذ سنة 1975. وفي سنة1992 أنشأ الأمير مجلس الشورى كهيئة إستشارية له. وعلى الرغم من أن أعضاء مجلس الشورى يعينون تعيينا، وكان يتم اختيارهم من أوساط رجال الأعمال ومن الشخصيات القيادية المدنية والسياسية، بمن فيهم بعض أعضاء المجلس الوطني المنحل. وألغى الشيخ حمد بن عيسى بعد توليه السلطة قانون الطوارئ لعام 1975 ونظّم استفتاء عاما حول الميثاق الوطني الجديد. وكان للمواطنين البحرينيين، رجالا ونساء ممن تعدوا الواحدة والعشرين من أعمارهم، حق المشاركة في الاستفتاء. وبلغت نسبة من شاركوا في الاستفتاء 90 بالمئة من هؤلاء المواطنين، وقد صوت 98.4 بالمئة منهم بالموافقة على مشروع الميثاق الوطني. وتم ترسيخ التغييرات التي أحدثها الميثاق الوطني من خلال ادماجها في الدستور المعدل لعام 2002 الذي نص على قيام مجالس بلدية منتخبة وهيئة تشريعية من مجلسين هما مجلس النواب ومجلس الشورى. ويضم كل مجلس أربعين عضوا مدة ولايتهم أربع سنوات. وفيما ينتخب أعضاء مجلس النواب بالاقتراع الشعبي، احتفظ الملك بسلطة تعيين أعضاء مجلس الشورى وتسريحهم، وبسلطة حل مجلس النواب وتعديل الدستور.

أعلى الصفحة

قوانين الانتخابات، النظم والعمليات

ينظم المرسوم رقم 14 لعام 2002 العملية الانتخابية. ويحق لجميع البحرينيين رجالا ونساء ممن تجاوزوا الواحد والعشرين سنة من أعمارهم التصويت في الانتخابات العامة. ويحظى بالحق نفسه مواطنو دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي المقيمون في البحرين وغير المقيمين منهم اذا كانوا يمتلكون عقارات في البحرين. وتنقسم البحرين إداريا إلى خمس محافظات لكل منها مجلس بلدي من عشرة أعضاء ينتخبون بالاقتراع الشعبي. أما أعضاء مجلس النواب فينتخبون من 40 منطقة انتخابية. وأدى تقسيم هذه المناطق إلى اتهامات للدولة بتقسيم المناطق بشكل غير منصف وغير متوازن. فمثلا، إن أكبر المناطق الانتخابية ـ وهي منطقة شيعية ـ تضم أكثر من 12000 نسمة بينما لا يزيد عدد الناخبين في أصغر المناطق على 500 ناخب. ويجب تحديد مواعيد الانتخابات قبل 40 يوما من اجرائها، والإعلان عن الجولة الثانية قبل 30 يوما من اجرائها. ويتم قبل الانتخابات طباعة جدول بأسماء من يحق لهم الانتخاب في كل منطقة.

أعلى الصفحة

السلطات الانتخابية

تشرف على الانتخابات اللجنة الانتخابية التي يرأسها وزير العدل والشؤون الإسلامية. ويعيّن الوزير لجنة فرعية من ثلاثة أعضاء في كل منطقة للإشراف على الانتخابات. ويجب أن يكون رؤساء اللجان الفرعية من رجال القضاء. وبالاضافة إلى الأعضاء الثلاثة المعينين يحق لكل مرشح تعيين عضو يمثله في اللجنة الانتخابية في منطقته.

أعلى الصفحة

الإنتخابات التشريعية

جرت آخر انتخابات تشريعية وبلدية في البحرين في 25 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2006، بينما جرت جولة الإعادة في 2 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2006. وهذه ثالث انتخابات في تاريخ البحرين بعد انتخابات عامي 1973 و 2002 التي قاطعتها قوى المعارضة السياسية، خصوصا جمعية الوفاق الوطني (الإسلامية) ذات الثقل الكبير في أوساط الطائفة الشيعية. وشاركت في الانتخابات الأخيرة جميع القوى السياسية وهي: جمعية الوفاق الوطني، وجمعية المنبر الإسلامي (إخوان مسلمين)، وجمعية الأصالة الإسلامية (سلفيون)، وجمعية العمل الوطني الديمقراطي ـ وعد (يساريون وقوميون عرب). وبلغ عدد المواطنين المسجلين في جداول الاقتراع 686ر295 مواطنا، بينما بلغ عدد المرشحين لعضوية مجلس النواب 206 مرشحين من بينهم 19 امرأة تنافسوا جميعا على شغل 40 مقعدا. وتم إنشاء 40 مركزا انتخابيا في المحافظات و10 مراكز انتخابية عامة يمكن للناخبين المسجلين أن يقترعوا فيها لكن أصواتهم تحسب ضمن دوائرهم الانتخابية المرتبطة بأماكن سكنهم.

أما أبرز مظاهر إدارة الانتخابات فكانت: نزول الحكومة عند رغبة الجمعيات السياسية في عدم تطبيق نظام التصويت الإلكتروني؛ والسماح للعسكريين بالتصويت؛ رفض الحكومة وجود مراقبين دوليين والاكتفاء برقابة منظمات المجتمع المدني البحريني، خصوصا جمعية الشفافية البحرينية وجمعية حقوق الإنسان البحرينية. وقد أشرفت على الانتخابات لجنة عليا برئاسة وزير العدل. وكان هناك إقبال كبير على التصويت، خصوصا من جانب النساء. وبلغت نسبة المشاركة في الانتخابات النيابية 69%. وأعلن قبل بدء عملية الاقتراع فوز المرشحة لطيفة القعود بالتزكية فأصبحت أول نائبة بحرينية وخليجية منتخبة. كما اقترع البحرينيون المقيمون في الخارج.

فاز في الجولة الأولى 29 مرشحا فيما تم انتخاب الأعضاء الـ 11 المتبقين في الجولة الثانية. فازت جمعية الوفاق الوطني (شيعية معارضة) بأكبر عدد من مقاعد مجلس النواب إذ حصلت على 17 مقعدا. وحصلت جمعية المنبر الإسلامي على 8 مقاعد، وجمعية الأصالة على 5 مقاعد، وفاز مرشحون مستقلون بالمقاعد الـ 10 المتبقية. ولم تفز جمعية العمل الوطني الديمقراطي بأي مقعد. وبهذه النتيجة تكون الجمعيات الإسلامية الشيعية والسنية قد سيطرت على مجلس النواب بعد فوزها بـ 30 من أصل 40 مقعدا. لكن تجدر الإشارة إلى أن الجمعيتين السنيتين مواليتين للحكومة. وبهذا يكون توازن القوى داخل مجلس النواب على النحو التالي: 18 نائبا للمعارضة و 22 نائبا للحكومة. واشتكى مرشحو جمعية العمل الوطني من مراكز الاقتراع العامة التي تسببت في خسارتهم، وطعنوا بالنتائج أمام القضاء الذي ردّ طعونهم. وأكدت الجمعيات الأهلية التي راقبت العملية الانتخابية على نزاهة الانتخابات النيابية التي جرت في جو هادئ.

صدر أمر ملكي بتجديد عضوية 25 من أعضاء مجلس الشورى وتعيين 15 عضوا جديدا. ومن أبرز سمات مجلس الشورى الجديد هيمنة التجار والتكنوقراط على عضويته بالإضافة إلى التمثيل الواسع للمرأة حيث عينت 10 نساء أعضاء فيه. وتم تمثيل الأقليات فعينت كل من هدى نونو (يهودية) وأليس سمعان (مسيحية) أعضاء في المجلس. وتم تعيين السيد علي الصالح رئيسا لمجلس الشورى.

أعلى الصفحة

الإنتخابات المحلية

جرت آخر انتخابات بلدية في البحرين في 25 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2006 وتبعتها جولة ثانية في 2 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2006. وفاز مرشحو جمعية الوفاق الوطني بـ 20 من أصل 50 مقعدا بلديا. وكان العدد الإجمالي للمرشحين 165 مرشحا بينهم 5 نساء لم تفز أي منهن. وبلغت نسبة المشاركة 61%، وهي نسبة أقل بقليل من نسبة المشاركة في الانتخابات النيابية التي جرت في نفس اليوم. ويمنح "قانون الانتخابات البلدية" الذي أقرّ في 13 شباط/فبراير 2002 كل بحريني، رجل أو امرأة، بلغ 21 سنة من العمر الحق في التصويت. كما منح القانون الحق نفسه لمواطني دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي الأخرى الذين يمتلكون عقارات في البحرين. وتمّ إجراء انتخابات لاختيار الأعضاء الخمسين في 9 أيار/مايو 2002. وشاركت خمس جمعيات سياسية بحرينية في الانتخابات لكنها عبّرت عن "قلقها الشديد" ازاء توزيع الدوائر الانتخابية. وتنافس 306 مرشحين من بينهم 31 امرأة على شغل المقاعد الـ 50.

أعلى الصفحة

الإستفتاءات الوطنية

أجري استفتاء وطني في البحرين يومي 14 و 15 شباط/فبراير 2001، وذلك لإقرار "ميثاق العمل الوطني" المقدم من جانب ملك البحرين الشيخ حمد بن عيسى آل خليفة. صوّت 4ر98% ممن شاركوا في الاستفتاء لصالح الميثاق الذي ينص على نظام ملكي دستوري، وقضاء مستقل، وهيئة تشريعية ثنائية مؤلفة من مجلس نواب منتخب ومجلس شورى معيّن. يمنح الميثاق الرجال والنساء حقوقا متساوية، ويضمن المساواة في الحقوق السياسية لجميع المواطنين بما في ذلك حقهم في الانتخاب والترشح وفقا للقانون.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Elections: Bahrain
You may also
 

Overview

Bahrain is a constitutional monarchy, with Sheikh Hamad bin ‘Isa Al Khalifa as king since 1999. Prior to that time, Bahrain had been an emirate with a parliament, though the parliament had been suspended since 1975. In 1992, the Emir established the Consultative Council as an advisory body to the Emir. The members of the Council, although appointed by the Emir, were chosen from among business, civic, and political leaders, including some members of the dissolved National Assembly. Upon his succession, Sheikh Hamad bin’Isa rescinded the emergency measures of 1975 and held a referendum on a new National Charter. Bahraini nationals, both men and women over the age of 21, were eligible to participate in the referendum. The voter turnout for the referendum was 90 percent, of which 98.4 percent voted to approve. The changes initiated by the National Charter were solidified in an amended constitution in 2002, which provided for elected municipal councils and a bicameral legislature, consisting of the Chamber of Deputies and the Consultative Council. Each chamber of the legislature has 40 members that serve four-year terms. While members of Council of Deputies are elected by popular vote, the King retains the power to appoint and dismiss members of the Consultative Council, dissolve the Council of Deputies and amend the Constitution.

Top of this page

Election Laws, Systems and Processes

Decree No. 14 of 2002 governs the electoral process. All Bahraini men and women over the age of 21 are allowed to vote, as are citizens of GCC countries resident in Bahrain and non-residents who own property in Bahrain. Bahrain is divided into five governorates, each of which has a ten-member municipal council popularly elected. Members of the Chamber of Deputies are elected in 40 separate electoral districts. The composition of these districts has resulted in charges of gerrymandering; the largest districts, mainly Shiite, contain over 12,000 people, while the smallest have only 500 voters. Election dates must be set 45 days in advance, while election reruns must be announced 30 days in advance. Before elections, a schedule of eligible voters is published for each district.

Top of this page

Election Authorities

Elections are overseen by the Elections Committee, whose head is the Minister of Justice and Islamic Affairs. The Minister of Justice and Islamic Affairs appoints a subcommittee of three members to oversee elections in each district. The chairmen of the subcommittees must be members of the judiciary. In addition to the three appointed members, each candidate running for office appoints a member to serve on the elections committee.

Top of this page

Legislative Elections

The last legislative and municipal elections in Bahrain took place on November 25, 2006, followed by a second round on December 2, 2006. These were the third public elections in Bahrain’s history, following those of 1973 and 2002. The 2002 elections were boycotted by political opposition groups, especially the powerful National Harmony Society (Shiite). The current elections witnessed the participation of all organized political groups, namely: The National Harmony Society, the Islamic Forum (Muslim brothers), the Islamic Authenticity Society (Fundamentalists), and the National Democratic Action Society (leftists and Arab nationalists). The total number of registered voters was 295,686, while the number of parliamentary candidates was 206 including 19 women, competing for 40 seats. . Forty election centers were established in the five governorates, in addition to 10 general election centers where registered voters may cast their votes that are later sorted and counted in their electoral districts.

In conducting the elections the government gave in to the demand of political societies that electronic voting not be used. Military and security personnel were allowed to vote. The government rejected the presence of international observers, but civil society associations, especially the Bahrain Transparency Society and the Human Rights Society, were allowed to monitor elections. A supreme election committee chaired by the minister of justice oversaw the electoral process. Intensive voting was noticed, especially by women. The participation rate in the parliamentary election was 69%, but before actual voting commenced, Mrs. Latifa Al-Qu'ud was declared uncontested winner, thereby becoming the first elected female parliament member in Bahrain and in the Gulf countries. Bahrainis living abroad cast their votes.

The first round witnessed the election of 29 deputies, while the remaining 11 deputies were elected in the second round. The National Harmony Society (Shiite opposition) won the largest block in the new parliament (17 seats). The Islamic Forum won 8 seats, the Authenticity Society won 5 seats, and independent candidates won 10 seats. The National Democratic Action Society did not win any seats. Islamists, both Shiite and Sunni, control an overwhelming majority in the new parliament (30 seats). However, the two Sunni societies are loyal to the government, rendering a balance of power in parliament of 22 against 18 in favor of the government.

King Hamad Ben Issa Al-Khalifa issued a royal decree renewing the membership of 25 council members and appointing 15 new members. The new consultative council is dominated by businessmen and technocrats. Women are heavily represented as ten of them were appointed to the council. Minorities were also represented: Mrs. Huda Nunu (a Jew) and Alice Sim'an (Christian). Mr. Ali Al-Saleh was appointed president of the consultative council.

Top of this page

Local Elections

The last municipal elections in Bahrain took place on November 25, 2006 followed by a second round on December 2, 2006. Out of a field of 165 candidates the National Harmony Society won 20 out of the 50 municipal seats. None of the five women municipal candidates was elected out of the field of 165 candidates. Participation was 61%, slightly less than for the concurrent legislative elections. The Municipal Elections Law, approved on February 13, 2002, gives the vote to every Bahraini man and women 21 years or older and also to citizens of other states of the Gulf Cooperation Council who own property in Bahrain. The first municipal elections under the 2002 constitution were conducted on May 9, 2002. Five political societies in Bahrain participated in the elections, but expressed 'great concern' over the distribution of the electoral departments. 306 candidates, including 31 women, competed for the 50 seats.

Top of this page

National Referenda

A two-day national referendum was held in Bahrain on 14 and 15 February 2001 to approve the National Action Charter put by the King of Bahrain Hamad ibn Isa Al Khalifah. 98.4% of voters voted in favor of the charter; which called for a constitutional monarchy, an independent judiciary and a bicameral legislature made-up of a lower house of elected representatives and an upper house of appointed legislators. The charter also gave equal rights to men and women, with all citizens having equal political rights and being entitled to elections and candidacy according to the law.

Top of this page