إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الإنتخابات: تونس
يمكنكم أيضا
 

نظرة عامة

رئيس الجمهورية المنتخب هو رأس السلطة التنفيذية في الجمهورية التونسية. بالإضافة إلى رئيس الجمهورية، تتشكل السلطة التنفيذية من رئيس الوزراء ومجلس الوزراء المعينين من قبل رئيس الجمهورية. ولجميع التونسيين الذين أتموا 20 سنة من العمر الحق في التصويت. ينتخب رئيس الجمهورية بالاقتراع الشعبي المباشر. ونص تعديل دستوري أقرّ في تموز/يوليو 1988 على أن الحد الأقصى لتولي رئيس الجمهورية الحكم هو ثلاث ولايات مدة كل ولاية منها خمس سنوات. ويجب ألا يقل سن المرشح لرئاسة الجمهورية عن 40 سنة وألا يزيد على 70 سنة عند تقديم أسمائهم للنظر في ترشيحهم. وألغى تعديل دستوري في أيار/مايو 2002 تحديد عدد ولايات رئيس الجمهورية، كما رفع سن الترشح لرئاسة الجمهورية إلى 75 سنة. ويجب أن يحصل جميع المرشحين لرئاسة الجمهورية على تأييد ما لا يقل عن 30 نائبا أو من أعضاء المجالس البلدية، وان يتقدموا بترشيحهم إلى لجنة مؤلفة من رئيس الجمهورية ورئيس مجلس النواب ورئيس المجلس الدستوري والرئيس الأول لمحكمة التمييز والرئيس الأول للمحكمة الإدارية. وتتولى هذه اللجنة تقويم مشروعية المرشحين وتعلن النتائج النهائية للانتخابات الرئاسية. واشترط تعديل دستوري أدخل على دستور 1991 في حزيران/يونيو 1999 أن تكون الانتخابات الرئاسية تنافسية.

أعلى الصفحة

قوانين الانتخابات، النظم والعمليات

أدخلت تعديلات على المجلة الانتخابية من خلال التعديل الاستثنائي على الدستور في تموز/يوليو 2008، وصوت البرلمان التونسي على تلك التعديلات في 13 نيسان/أبريل 2009. نصت التعديلات على خفض سن الانتخاب من 20 إلى 18 سنة مما سمح لحوالي 500 ألف شاب من ممارسة حقهم الانتخابي لأول مرة. كما منع التعديل استعمال القنوات الحرة والأجنبية حرصاً على المساواة بين جميع المرشحين ومنع تدخل الأطراف الخارجية في الشأن التونسي الداخلي. كما نص التعديل على البت في الطعون المتعلقة بالإنتخابات في أجل 15 يوماً عوضاً عن 5 أيام كما كان سابقاً ويمكن لرئيس المجلس أن يمدد المدة إلى ثلاثة أسابيع عوضاً عن 15 يوماً، حتى يأخذ المجلس المهلة الكافية ليقوم بعمله. كذلك نص التعديل على خفض سن الترشح لمجلس النواب إلى 23 سنة، وتمكين المولود لأم تونسية من الترشح لعضوية مجلس النواب أو مجلس المستشارين وفتح مجال المشاركة في الإنتخابات الرئاسية والإستفتاء أمام الجالية التونسية بالخارج. وتم إقرار إحداث مرصد وطني للإنتخابات وإمكانية استقبال شخصيات سياسية وملاحظين دوليين لحضور العملية الانتخابية ومتابعة أطوارها. ونص التعديل على إقرار ضبط العدد الاجمالي للمقاعد بمجلس النواب بحساب مقعد لكل 48,700 شخص ويتم إسناد مقعد إضافي إذا أفضت العملية إلى بقية تفوق نصف هذه القاعدة السكانية (أي أكثر من 24,350). وهذا التعديل جعل عدد أعضاء مجلس النواب بزيادة 25 عضواً، ليصبح 214. وبخصوص التعديلات المتعلقة بالانتخابات البلدية فان تنقيح 13 نيسان/أبريل 2009 سمح برفع عدد المقاعد البلدية من 268 مقعداً حالياً إلى حوالي ألف مقعد.

وفق المجلة الانتخابية فإن مدة ولاية أعضاء مجلس النواب خمس سنوات والنظام الانتخابي التونسي مزيج من نظام الأكثرية ونظام التمثيل النسبي. وكان المجلس النيابي الذي انتخب سنة 1994 أول مجلس يقوم على التعددية السياسية في تاريخ تونس الحديث. وكان الغرض من وراء التعديلات التي أدخلت سنة 1993 على قانون الانتخابات الذي صدر في نيسان/إبريل 1969، وهو القانون الذي يحكم الأصول الإجرائية للانتخابات التشريعية، ضمان حصول أحزاب المعارضة على مقاعد في مجلس النواب. ومن الأسباب الكامنة وراء هذا التعديل عدم حصول أحزاب المعارضة على أي مقعد نيابي في انتخابات 1989.

تألف مجلس النواب سنة 1994 من 163 عضوا تم انتخاب 144 منهم في 25 دائرة انتخابية متعددة المقاعد في ظل قواعد نظام التصويت للوائح حزبية. وانتخب بقية الأعضاء الـ 19 في دائرة واحدة على مستوى الوطن من اجل تحقيق التمثيل النسبي بين الأحزاب. وتم إجراء تعديلات جوهرية مجددا على قانون الانتخابات في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 1998. وجاءت هذه التعديلات قبل إجراء آخر انتخابات نيابية في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 1999. فقد تمت زيادة عدد النواب إلى 182 نائبا ينتخبون جميعا في دوائر انتخابية ذات مقعد نيابي واحد. يخضع حق تأسيس المنظمات السياسية لقانون الأحزاب السياسية الصادر في أيار/مايو1988. ولا يسمح للأحزاب السياسية بأن تتبنى مبادئ أو تمارس أنشطة على أساس الديانة أو اللغة أو العرق أو النوع الاجتماعي (الجندر). وتبنى مجلس النواب في كانون الثاني/يناير 2001 مشروع قانون بزيادة الدعم المالي الذي تقدمه الدولة للأحزاب السياسية بنسبة 50 بالمئة. ويحق لجميع الأحزاب التي لها عضو واحد على الأقل في المجلس النيابي الاستفادة من هذا الدعم المالي.

أنشأت التعديلات الدستورية التي أقرّت سنة 2002 غرفة عليا في الهيئة التشريعية التونسية هي "مجلس المستشارين". وسيتم انتخاب أعضاء مجلس المستشارين في حزيران/يونيو 2005. ولم يقرّ عدد أعضاء مجلس المستشارين، ولكن الدستور يحدده بثلثي عدد أعضاء مجلس النواب. وسوف يتألف المجلس الجديد من ثلاث مجموعات تشكل كل مجموعة منها ثلث أعضائه. تضم المجموعة الأولى ممثلا واحدا أو ممثلين عن كل محافظة تبعا لعدد سكان المحافظة. وينتخب هؤلاء الممثلين بواسطة هيئة انتخابية من أعضاء المجالس البلدية في كل محافظة. وتنتخب الاتحادات المهنية ونقابات المهن الحرة المجموعة الثانية على المستوى الوطني. ويعيّن رئيس الجمهورية أعضاء المجموعة الثالثة من بين الشخصيات المعروفة. وتستمر ولاية أعضاء مجلس المستشارين ست سنوات على أن يتم التجديد لنصفهم كل ثلاث سنوات. شروط التأهل لعضوية مجلس المستشارين هي شروط التأهل لعضوية مجلس النواب نفسها.

أعلى الصفحة

السلطات الانتخابية

تشرف وزارة الداخلية على الانتخابات في تونس.

أعلى الصفحة

الإنتخابات الرئاسية

جرت آخر انتخابات رئاسية وتشريعية في تونس في25 تشرين أول/أكتوبر 2009. وفاز الرئيس زين العابدين بن علي بولاية خامسة مدتها خمس سنوات بعد حصوله على 89.62% من أصوات الناخبين الذين بلغ عددهم نحو 4.737.367 ناخب وناخبة. ونافس بن علي ثلاثة مرشحين من المعارضة الأول هو محمد بوشيحة، الامين العام لحزب الوحدة الشعبية حيث حصل على 236,955 صوتاً أي بنسبة 5.01%، والثاني أحمد الاينوبلي، الأمين العام للاتحاد الديمقراطي الوحدوي وحصل على 179,726 صوتاً أي بنسبة 3.80%. أما الثالث فكان أحمد ابراهيم الأمين الأول لحركة التجديد وحصل على 74,257 صوتاً أي بنسبة 1.57%. وبلغت نسبة المشاركة في الانتخابات الرئاسية والتشريعية 2009 89.40% ممن يحق لهم الاقتراع.

جرت انتخابات رئاسية وتشريعية في تونس في 24 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2004. وفاز الرئيس زين العابدين بن علي بولاية رابعة مدتها خمس سنوات بعد حصوله على 94.48 بالمئة من أصوات الناخبين الذين بلغ عددهم نحو 4.6 مليون ناخبا. ونافس بن علي ثلاثة مرشحين من المعارضة ترشح أحدهم عن "حزب الوحدة الشعبية" (3.78 بالمئة من الأصوات)، والآخر عن "الحزب الاجتماعي الليبرالي" (0.79 بالمئة من الأصوات)، والثالث عن "حزب التجديد" (0.95 بالمئة من الأصوات). وبلغت نسبة المشاركة في الانتخابات الرئاسية والتشريعية 74.13 بالمئة ممن يحق لهم الاقتراع.

أعلى الصفحة

الإنتخابات التشريعية

وفقاً لآخر التعديلات على المجلة الانتخابية، تحفظ 25% من مقاعد مجلس النواب لأعضاء المعارضة السياسية. وفي الانتخابات التشريعية 2009 فاز الحزب الحاكم "حزب التجمع الدستوري الديمقراطي" بـ 161 مقعداً من مقاعد مجلس النواب وعددها 214 مقعداً. وتقاسمت أحزاب المعارضة بقية المقاعد الـ53. حيث حصلت "حركة الديمقراطيين الاشتراكيين" على 16 مقعداً. في حين حصل "حزب الوحدة الشعبية" على 12 مقعداً. أما "الحزب الإجتماعي التحرري" فحصل على 8 مقاعد. وحصل "حزب الخضر" التقدم على 6 مقاعد. وتمكن "حزب الإتحاد الديمقراطي الوحدوي" من نيل 9 مقاعد. وجاءت "حركة التجديد" في نهاية القائمة بحصولها على مقعدان. ولم يحصل "التكتل الديمقراطي من أجل العمل والحريات" و"الحزب التقدمي الديمقراطي" على أي مقعد إذ حصلا على التوالي على 0.12? و0.03? من الأصوات. وقد حصلت القائمات المستقلة على 0.5? لم تمكن أي واحدة منها من الحصول على مقعد.

قبل التعديل الأخير على المجلة الانتخابية كانت تحفظ 20% من مقاعد مجلس النواب لأعضاء أحزاب المعارضة السياسية. وفي انتخابات العام 2004 فاز الحزب الحاكم "حزب التجمع الدستوري الديمقراطي" بـ 152 مقعدا من مقاعد مجلس النواب وعددها 189. وتقاسمت أحزاب المعارضة بقية المقاعد النيابية، [بينما ظل "الحزب الديمقراطي التقدمي" خارج المجلس لانسحابه من الانتخابات قبل نهاية الحملة الانتخابية]. فحصلت "حركة الاشتراكيين الديمقراطيين" على 14 مقعدا، وحزب الوحدة الشعبية على 11 مقعدا، والاتحاد الديمقراطي الوحدوي على 7 مقاعد، والحزب الاجتماعي الليبرالي على مقعدين، وحركة التجديد على مقعدين. وشككت المعارضة بنزاهة الانتخابات فيما تقدم المرشح عن حركة التجديد بطعن رسمي إلى المجلس الدستوري. لكن المراقبين الدوليين ورئيس مهمة المراقبين التابعة للجامعة العربية ذكروا أن الانتخابات العامة لم تشهد تجاوزات خطيرة وأنها جرت في أجواء هادئة وشفافة.. أما أحزاب المعارضة فهي: حركة الاشتراكيين الديمقراطيين (وهي حزب ديمقراطي - اجتماعي)؛ والاتحاد الوحدوي الديمقراطي (وهو حزب قومي عربي)؛ وحزب الوحدة الشعبية (وهو حزب اشتراكي)؛ والحركة الشيوعية للتجديد، والحزب الاجتماعي الليبرالي. أما الحزب الرئيسي من خارج المجلس النيابي فهو حزب النهضة.

أعلى الصفحة

الإنتخابات المحلية

جرت آخر انتخابات بلدية في 9 أيار/مايو 2010. تنافس في هذه الانتخابات أكثر من 10,500 مرشح للفوز بـ4478 مقعداً. بلغت نسبة المشاركة في هذه الانتخابات 83,47%. وحصل التجمع الدستوري الديمقراطي على 75% من المقاعد وتم توزيع الـ25% من المقاعد المتبقية على بقية القائمات المتنافسة فحصلت حركة الديمقراطيين الاشتراكيين على 154 مقعداً وحصل حزب الوحدة الشعبية على 119 مقعداً والاتحاد الديمقراطي الوحدوي حصل على 66 مقعداً وحصل الحزب الاجتماعي التحرري على 35 مقعداً وحزب الخضر للتقدم حصل على 29 مقعداً، أما القائمات المستقلة فحصلت على 15 مقعداً. وبذلك يكون عدد المستشارين البلديين التابعين لأحزاب المعارضة والقائمات المستقلة 418 مستشاراً مع الإشارة إلى أنه تم تسجيل ارتفاع في عدد المستشارين البلديين المنتمين لأحزاب المعارضة والقائمات المستقلة بـ150 مستشاراً قياساً بما أفرزته الانتخابات البلدية عام 2005.

جرت الانتخابات البلدية السابقة في 8 أيار/مايو 2005. وأدلى 2,8 مليون ناخب بأصواتهم في 264 دائرة انتخابية لاختيار 4366 عضوا في المجالس البلدية لولاية مدتها خمس سنوات. وحصل الحزب الحاكم على 9ر93 بالمئة من مجموع الأصوات بينما فاز مرشحوه بـ 4098 مقعدا بلديا. أما أحزاب المعارضة الأربعة التي شاركت في الانتخابات فحصلت على 6 بالمئة من مجموع الأصوات وفاز مرشحوها بـ 268 مقعداً بلدياً. ففازت حركة الاشتراكيين الديمقراطيين بـ 107 مقاعد، وحزب الوحدة الشعبية بـ 88 مقعداً، والاتحاد الوحدوي الديمقراطي بـ 51 مقعدا، والحزب الاجتماعي الليبرالي بـ 16 مقعدا. وفاز مرشحو اللائحة المستقلة التي يدعمها "الخضر" بـ 6 مقاعد. ولم يسمح لثلاثة أحزاب معارضة مرخصة بالمشاركة في الانتخابات البلدية لأن مرشحيهم لم يلبوا شروط القانون الانتخابي، بحسب تصريح وزير الداخلية.

أعلى الصفحة

الإستفتاءات الوطنية

أجري استفتاء وطني في تونس في 26 أيار/مايو 2002، وذلك للموافقة على تعديلات دستورية. شاركت 4 أحزاب معارضة (الاتحاد الوحدوي الديمقراطي، وحزب الوحدة الشعبية، وحركة الديمقراطيين الاجتماعيين، والحزب الليبرالي الاجتماعي) بالإضافة إلى حزب التجمع الدستوري الديمقراطي (الحاكم) في الاستفتاء، وأيدت جميعها الإصلاح الدستوري. بلغ معدل المشاركة 96% ممن يحق لهم التصويت، وأعطى 52ر99% من المشاركين موافقتهم على التعديلات الدستورية. ونص الدستور الجديد على إنشاء غرفة برلمانية ثانية هي "غرفة المستشارين"، وسمح لرئيس الجمهورية بالترشح لأكثر من ولايتين.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Elections: Tunisia
You may also
 

Overview

The president is the elected official who serves as the head of the executive branch of the Republic of Tunisia. In addition to the president, the executive branch is composed of a prime minister and a Council of Ministers, all of whom are appointed by the president. Voting rights are extended to all Tunisian nationals of at least 20 years of age. The president is elected by popular vote. The constitution as amended in 1988 stated that candidates for the presidency must be at least 40 years of age and could not exceed 70 years of age at the time that they submit their names for candidacy. A subsequent constitutional amendment in May 2002 abolished the term limit and extended the eligibility of candidates to 75 years of age. All those seeking candidacy must be supported by at least 30 parliamentarians or members of municipal councils, and they must present their nominations to a committee composed of the president and four other members: President of the National Parliament, the President of Constitutional Council, the First President of the Court of Cessation, and the First President of the Administrative Tribunal. This committee evaluates the legitimacy of the candidates and proclaims the final results of the election. A June 1999 amendment to the Tunisian Constitution of 1991 provides for competitive presidential elections.

Top of this page

Election Laws, Systems and Processes

Amendments were introduced to the electoral code through the extraordinary amendment of the Constitution in July 2008. The Tunisian Parliament voted on and approved these amendments on 13 April 2009. The amendments resulted in a number of stipulations including the following: reducing the voting age from 20 to 18 years old, which allowed around 500,000 youth to practice their voting rights for the first time. Prohibiting the use of private and foreign media to ensure equality among all candidates and prevent the intervention of foreign parties in Tunisian internal affairs. Settling appeals pertaining to the elections within 15 days instead of 5 days which the previous law allowed for; it is also possible for the president of parliament to extend the time for settling appeals from 15 days to three weeks in order to give the parliament sufficient time for carrying out its duties. The amendments also stipulated reducing the age of candidacy to parliament to 23 years old persons and enabled any person born to a Tunisian mother to run for elections in both the Chamber of Deputies and the Chamber of Councilors. They also open the space for and entitle Tunisian communities in the Diaspora to participate in presidential elections and referendum. The amendments lead to approving the establishment of a National Observatory for Elections and the possibility for political figures and international observers to be present at and monitor the electoral process. The stipulations also include the regulation of the optimal number of seats in parliament based on a ratio of one seat for every 48,700 citizens; an additional parliamentary seat is ascribed if the remaining population exceeds half the approved ratio (more than 24,350 citizens). This latter amendment increased the number of parliament members by 25 members. Thus, the Tunisian Parliament is now constituted of 214 members. As for the amendments relating to municipal elections, the revision of 13 April 2009 has allowed for an increase in the number of municipal seats, from the current 268 seats, to around one thousand seats.

According to the electoral code, the term of parliament members is five years, whereas the Tunisian electoral system is a combination of a majority electoral system and a proportional representation system. The legislature elected in 1994 was the first pluralist body in modern Tunisian history. Amendments made in 1993 to the Electoral Code of April 1969, which governs the procedures for legislative elections, sought to ensure that opposition parties would secure places in the legislature. The 1989 elections, in which not a single opposition party won seats in the legislature, in part spurred the changes.

In 1994 the legislature was composed of 163 members, of which 144 were elected from 25 multi-seat constituencies under the rules of the party-list vote system. The remaining 19 were elected from a national constituency to achieve proportional representation among the parties. Based on amendments introduced in November 1998, the Electoral Code was again altered in significant ways prior to the most recent legislative elections held in October 1999. The number of legislators was expanded to 182, all of whom are now elected from single-seat constituencies. The rights to political association are governed by the Political Parties Law of May 1988. Political parties are not permitted to base their principles or activities on issues of religion, language, race or gender. In January 2001 the legislature adopted a bill increasing the amount of state financial support to political parties by 50 percent. All parties with at least one elected member in the Chamber of Deputies are eligible for the increase in funds.

Constitutional amendments in 2002 established an upper house within the Tunisia legislature. The Chamber of Councilors (Majlis al-Mustasharin) is to be elected for the first time in June 2005. The size of the upper house has not yet been determined, but the constitution limits the number of members to two-thirds that of the number of members of the Chamber of Deputies. The new house will be composed of three groups, each making up one-third of its members. The first group will include one or two representatives for each governorate, dependent on population. These will be elected indirectly by an electoral college composed of electors from each of the municipal councils in the governorates. The second group will be elected by trade unions and professional associations on a national level. The third group will be appointed by the president from among nationally known personalities. Each representative will serve a six year term, with half of the house being renewed every three years. Eligibility to the Chamber of Councilors is the same as for the Chamber of Deputies.

Top of this page

Election Authorities

The Ministry of the Interior oversees elections in Tunisia.

Top of this page

Presidential Elections

The latest presidential and legislative elections in Tunisia were held on 25 October 2009. President Zein El-Abdeen Ben Ali won a fifth five-year term after receiving 89.62% of the electoral vote which amounted to around 4,737,367 votes. Three candidates from the opposition competed with Ben Ali for presidency including Mohamed Bouchiha, the Secretary General of the Popular Unity Party, who received 236,955 votes (5.01%) of the vote; Ahmed El-Inoubli, Secretary General of the Unionist Democratic Union, who received 179,726 votes (3.80%) of the vote; and finally, Ahmed Ibrahim the First Secretary of the Renewal Movement who received 74,257 votes (1.57%) of the vote. The participation rate in the 2009 presidential and parliamentary elections was 89.40% of eligible voters.

Presidential and legislative elections in Tunisia took place on October 24, 2004. President Zain Al-Abdeen Ben Ali was re-elected to serve a fourth term of 5 years after receiving 94.48% of the 4.6 million voters. Three candidates ran against Ben Ali. The first candidate ran for the "popular unity party" (3.78 of votes); the second ran for the "social liberal party (0.79 of votes); and the third ran for the "Renewal party" (0.95 of votes). The voters’ turnout ratio in the presidential and legislative elections was 74.13% of eligible voters.

Top of this page

Legislative Elections

According to the latest amendments to the electoral code, 25% of parliamentary seats are reserved for members of the political opposition parties. In the 2009 legislative elections, the ruling “Constitutional Democratic Rally” won 161 seats out of the 214 seats comprising the Tunisian Parliament, whereas the opposition parties shared the remaining 53 seats. In the lead came the “Movement of Social Democrats” which won 16 seats, followed by the “Popular Unity Party” with 12 seats. The “Social Liberal Party” won 8 seats, the “Green Party” won 6 seats and the “Unionist Democratic Union” was able to secure 9 seats. The “Renewal Movement” came at the bottom of the list with 2 seats. On the other hand, the “Democratic Bloc for Labor and Liberties” and the “Progressive Democratic Party” did not win any seats in parliament as they only obtained 0.12% and 0.03% of the vote, respectively. Similarly, the Independent lists, which obtained 0.5% of the vote, did not secure any seat in parliament.

Prior to the latest amendment of the electoral code 20% of seats in parliament were reserved for members of the political opposition parties. In 2004 legislative elections the ruling party "The Democratic Constitutional Rally" won 152 seats out of the parliament's 189 seats. The Democratic Socialist Movement won 14 seats, the Popular Unity party won 11 seats and the Democratic Unionist Party won 7 seats. The social Liberal party and the Renewal Movement won 2 seats each. The Democratic Progressive Party did not participate in the elections. The leader of the Democratic Movement presented a formal complaint to the constitution council contesting the elections results. However, international and Arab observers said that no serious violations were observed and that the elections proceeded in a quiet and transparent manner. The opposition parties are the social-democratic Movement of Socialist Democrats, the Arab-Nationalist Unionist Democratic Union, the Socialist Party of People’s Unity, the Communist Movement for Renewal, and the Liberal Social-Liberal Party. The chief extra-parliamentary party is the Annahdha Party.

Top of this page

Local Elections

The last municipal elections took place on May 9, 2010. More than 10,500 candidates competed in these elections for 4478 seats and the rate of participation reached 83.47%. The ruling Democratic Constitutional Grouping Party won 75% of the seats while the remaining 25% of the seats were distributed to the remaining competing lists. The Movement of the Socialist Democrats won 154 seats, the Popular Unity Party won 119 seats, and the Unionist Democratic Party won 66 seats, and the Liberation Social Party won 35 seats, and the Greens Party won 29 seats. Meanwhile, the independent lists won 15 seats. Thus the number of winners from the opposition parties of municipal members and independent lists reached 418. It should be noted that the number of winners of the opposition parties and independent lists rose by 150 seats compared to the 2005 elections.

Previous municipal elections took place on May 8, 2005. 2.8 million citizens voted in 264 electoral districts to choose 4366 municipal members for a 5-year term. The ruling party received 93.9% of total votes and its candidates captured 4098 municipal seats. Four opposition political parties received only 6% of total votes and captured 268 municipal seats. The Movement of Socialist Democrats won 107 seats; the Popular Unity Party won 88 seats; the Unionist Democratic Union won 51 seats; and the Social-Liberal Party won 16 seats. The independent list supported by the "Greens" won 6 seats. Three licensed opposition parties were not allowed to participate in the elections because their candidates did not meet the conditions of the elections law, according to the minister of interior.

Top of this page

National Referenda

A national referendum was held in Tunisia on 26 May 2002 to approve a set of constitutional amendments altering 38 of the 78 articles of the constitution. Voter turnout was around 96%, and votes in favor of the amendments represented 99.52 % of the total number of votes cast. The new constitution abolished the term limits on the presidency and extended the age of eligibility from 70 to 75. It also established an upper house for parliament, the Chamber of Councilors, making the formerly unicameral legislature into a bicameral one. The reform also broadened civil liberties, among other things enshrining tolerance and human rights in the constitution, requiring judicial approval for all ‘preventative’ detentions and providing a guarantee of humane treatment for prisoners. On another note, the article that formerly obligated all citizens to participate in national defense was expanded to require all citizens to defend Tunisia’s independence, national sovereignty and integrity. Activists fear that the new wording could potentially be used against Tunisians who criticize the regime and its policies in domestic or foreign publications.

Top of this page