إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الإنتخابات: الأردن
يمكنكم أيضا
 

نظرة عامة

يرأس السلطة التنفيذية في المملكة الأردنية الهاشمية ملك بالوراثة. وقد تولى هذا المنصب الملك عبد الله الثاني منذ سنة 1999. وتتألف السلطة التشريعية الممثلة بمجلس الأمة من مجلسي الأعيان والنواب. يعيّن الملك أعضاء مجلس الأعيان الـ 55 لمدة أربع سنوات. وكان مجلس النواب حتى حزيران/يونيو 2001 يضم 80 عضوا ينتخبون لولاية مدتها أربع سنوات على أساس نظام تعددي من 21 دائرة انتخابية متعددة الأعضاء. وتنتخب كل دائرة ما بين اثنين وتسعة نواب. ويجب أن يكون المرشحون في الثلاثين من عمرهم على الأقل. التصويت ليس إلزاميا وهو حق يشمل جميع المواطنين الأردنيين الذين تزيد أعمارهم على 19 سنة. ورفع قانون الانتخابات الجديد الذي صدر بمرسوم ملكي في 22 تموز/يوليو 2001 عدد مقاعد مجلس النواب من 80 إلى 104، كما زاد عدد الدوائر الانتخابية من 21 إلى 44 ، وأعاد توزيع المقاعد النيابية وخفض سن الاقتراع من 19 إلى 18 سنة. وصدر سنة 2003 مرسوم ملكي آخر خصص 6 مقاعد إضافية للنساء مما رفع عدد مقاعد مجلس النواب إلى 110 مقعدا. وتحجز 9 مقاعد نيابية للمسيحيين و 3 مقاعد للشركس و 9 مقاعد للبدو.

أعلى الصفحة

قوانين الانتخابات، النظم والعمليات

تخضع الانتخابات النيابية لقانون انتخاب أعضاء مجلس النواب رقم 22 لعام 1986. وتشرف وزارة الداخلية على هذه الانتخابات من خلال تعيين مندوبين يتولون تنظيم سير الانتخابات ومراقبتها على المستوى المحلي. وغيّر قانون تشريعي صدر عام 1993 النظام الانتخابي من نظام مفتوح إلى نظام التصويت المحدود. وفي ظل النظام الجديد يستطيع الناخب التصويت لمرشح واحد فقط في دائرته بدلا من حقه في التصويت لمرشحين بعدد المقاعد النيابية المخصصة لدائرته حسب النظام القديم. واحتفظ قانون 2001 بمعادلة صوت واحد لكل ناخب المثيرة للجدل، ولكنه نص على تشكيل لجان خاصة للإشراف على العملية الانتخابية في كل منطقة تضم عددا من رجال القضاء.

تخضع الأحزاب السياسية لقانون الأحزاب السياسية رقم 32 لعام 1992. ويختص القانون بالطريقة التي تدير بها الأحزاب شؤونها، كما يتضمن شروطا خاصة بتأسيس الأحزاب وبالنشاط الحزبي. وعلى الأحزاب الامتثال لقواعد معينة من اجل الحصول على ترخيص من وزارة الداخلية. ومن هذه القواعد أن يكون لديها 50 عضوا كحد أدنى وان تحترم الدستور ومثل التعددية السياسية. ومنذ صدور قانون 1992 ظهر اندفاع قوي لتأسيس الأحزاب. وفي بعض الحالات، قامت الأحزاب الصغيرة بالتجمع في إطار ائتلافات عاملة لخوض الانتخابات.

قانون الانتخاب رقم34 لسنة 2001 تضمن خفض سن الاقتراع من 19 إلى 18 سنة، وإنشاء نظام انتخابي يعتمد نظام الصوت الواحد للناخب الواحد في الدائرة الواحدة، وزيادة عدد مقاعد مجلس النواب من 80 إلى 110 مقعدا، وتخصيص "كوتا" أو حصة من المقاعد النيابية للنساء عددها 6 مقاعد. ويمنع القانون أفراد القوات المسلحة والأجهزة الأمنية من الاقتراع.

أعلى الصفحة

الإنتخابات التشريعية

جرت أحدث انتخابات تشريعية أردنية في 22 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2007 وفقا لقانون الانتخاب رقم34 لسنة 2001. بلغ عدد المواطنين الذين يحق لهم الاقتراع 4ر2 مليون ناخب شكلت النساء 52% منهم. وبلغ عدد المرشحين 885 مرشحا منهم 199 امرأة. وحددت اللجنة العليا للانتخابات 1434 مركز اقتراع تضم 3995 صندوقا موزعة على 45 دائرة انتخابية. وامتنعت أحزال المعارضة عن المشاركة في الانتخابات، باستثناء حزب "جبهة العمل الإسلامي" الذراع السياسية لجماعة الإخوان المسلمين والتيار الديمقراطي الذي يضم 4 أحزاب يسارية. وقدم حزب جبهة العمل الإسلامي 22 مرشحا بينهم امرأة واحدة ترشحوا في 18 دائرة انتخابية، بينما قدم التيار الديمقراطي 9 مرشحين. وشاركت التكتلات العشائرية بقوة في الانتخابات، إضافة إلى عدد كبير من التجار ورجال الأعمال. وقام "المركز الوطني لحقوق الإنسان" وهو مؤسسة رسمية مستقلة عن الحكومة بمراقبة عملية الاقتراع إلى جانب عدد من منظمات المجتمع المدني. ونشرت الحكومة 40 ألف رجل أمن في جميع المحافظات لحماية الانتخابات. وبلغت نسبة المشاركة 58%.

أظهرت النتائج النهائية تعرض حركة الإخوان المسلمين ممثلة بحزب جبهة العمل الإسلامي إلى خسارة فادحة بعد فشل 16 من مرشحيها ونجاح 6 مرشحين فقط مقابل 17 مقعدا نيابيا كانت تشغلها في المجلس السابق. ولم ينجح أي من مرشحي التيار اليساري. وتلقى الإسلاميون أكبر هزيمة في مدينة الزرقاء وهي أهم معاقلهم التقليدية، إضافة إلى خسارتهم القاسية في البلقاء والدائرة الثانية في عمان ومدينة إربد. كما تلقوا خسارة شديدة في أوساط المخيمات الفلسطينية التي تعتبر مصدرا كبيرا لقوتهم السياسية. أما بالنسبة للتمثيل النسائي فقد فازت امرأة لأول مرة بالانتخاب الحر من خارج "الكوتا" النسائية هي طبيبة الأسنان فلك الجمعاني بحصولها على 3301 صوت. ودخل المجلس 72 نائبا جديدا فيما عاد إليه 38 نائبا سابقا. وزاد تمثيل العشائر ورجال الأعمال والتجار في تشكيلة المجلس الجديد.

اتهمت جماعة الإخوان المسلمين الحكومة بتزوير الانتخابات وتعمد إسقاط مرشحيها، وطالب الناطق الإعلامي باسم الجماعة جميل أبو بكر بإلغاء نتائج الانتخابات في 10 دوائر حصل فيها تزوير وتلاعب بالأصوات، كما طالب بإعادة الانتخاب في تلك الدوائر. ولوحت الحركة الإسلامية باستقالة مرشحيها الفائزين الـ 6 من المجلس النيابي لكن وزير الداخلية عيد الفايز صرح بأن العملية الانتخابية سارت بطريقة حرة ونزيهة وشفافة، وأعرب عن سروره بنسبة المشاركة المرتفعة.

وجرت الانتخابات التشريعية السابقة في 17 حزيران/يونيو 2003 وفقا لنفس القانون. بلغ عدد المواطنين الذين يحق لهم الاقتراع 2.3 مليون مواطن. وبلغت نسبة المشاركة في الانتخابات 58.8 بالمئة. أما الأحزاب السياسية التي شاركت في الانتخابات فتمثلت في جبهة العمل الإسلامي (الجناح السياسي للإخوان المسلمين) وعدد من أحزاب المعارضة اليسارية والقومية التي تكتلت في "التيار الوطني الديمقراطي". وبلغ عدد مرشحي جبهة العمل الإسلامي 30 مرشحا وعدد مرشحي التيار الوطني الديمقراطي 13 مرشحا في قائمة موحدة. وخاض الانتخابات عشرات المرشحين المستقلين الذين يمثلون القبائل والعشائر، بالإضافة إلى عدد من المسؤولين الحكوميين السابقين والعسكريين المتقاعدين ورجال الأعمال. كما ترشحت للانتخابات 54 امرأة بعضهن يمثلن أحزابا سياسية وبعضهن الآخر من المستقلات.

جاءت نتائج الانتخابات على النحو التالي: حقق مرشحو القبائل والقوى الاجتماعية المحافظة فوزا ساحقا إذ حصلوا على 84 مقعدا نيابيا فيما أخفقت الأحزاب اليسارية والقومية في الحصول على أي مقعد نيابي. وفازت جبهة العمل الإسلامي بـ 20 مقعدا نيابيا فقط. ولم تفز أي من المرشحات بمقعد نيابي وكان عليهن التنافس فيما بينهن على مقاعد الكوتا الستة حيث فازت مرشحة واحدة عن جبهة العمل الإسلامي وخمس مرشحات مستقلات ناشطات في ميدان العمل الاجتماعي. أما بالنسبة للطعون التي قدمت في انتخابات سنة 2003 فكانت من قبل جماعة "الإخوان المسلمين" حيث ادعى "حزب جبهة العمل الإسلامي" حصول عمليات تزوير واسعة في الانتخابات لكن الحكومة نفت هذا الاتهام.

أعلى الصفحة

الإنتخابات المحلية

بجرت أحدث انتخابات بلدية في الأردن في 31 تموز/يوليو 2007 وفقا لقانون انتخابي جديد يعطي للناخب حق انتخاب رئيس المجلس البلدي وعضو واحد من أعضائه. وخصص القانون الانتخابي الجديد نسبة 20% من مقاعد المجالس البلدية للنساء، وخفض سن الناخب من 19 إلى 18 سنة. وبعكس القانون البلدي لعام 2003، سمح القانون الجديد للناخبين بانتخاب جميع رؤساء وأعضاء المجالس البلدية، باستثناء أمانة عمّان الكبرى حيث ينتخب المواطنون نصف أعضاء مجلسها وتعين وزارة الشؤون البلدية النصف الآخر، إضافة إلى تعيينها رئيس مجلس أمانة العاصمة.

بلغ عدد المواطنين الذين يحق لهم الانتخاب 9ر1 مليونا، 48% منهم من الإناث. وبلغ عدد المرشحين 2325 مرشحا ومرشحة تنافسوا على شغل 1022 مقعدا بلديا. وكان بين المرشحين 361 امرأة تنافسن على مقاعد الكوتا المخصصة للنساء (20%) والتي تساوي 211 مقعدا بلديا. وحققت النساء فوزا ملحوظا حيث فازت مهندسة مرشحة برئاسة بلدية (حسّا) في جنوب الأردن، وهي منطقة بدوية خالصة. وفازت 4 نساء مرشحات أخريات بمقاعد بلدية خارج الكوتا النسائية. وأظهرت النتائج النهائية تحقيق أحزاب المعارضة نجاحا نسبيا حيث فاز عدد من مرشحي "التيار الديمقراطي" الـ 39 والذي يضم 4 أحزاب قومية ويسارية بمقاعد بلدية. وتمكن "حزب الوسط الإسلامي" المختلف عن "الإخوان المسلمين" من الفوز برئاسة 4 بلديات، بينما فاز 5 مرشحون آخرون من مرشحيه بعضوية مجالس بلدية خارج العاصمة، لكن 4 مرشحين من المعارضة الإسلامية فازوا أيضا بمقاعد بلدية.

تم في سنة 2003 تعديل قانون البلديات لتمكين الحكومة من تعيين نصف عدد أعضاء أي مجلس بلدي في مدينة أو قرية، مع انتخاب النصف الآخر. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تتولى الحكومة تعيين رئيس لكل مجلس. وشارك في تموز/يوليو 2003 نحو 58 بالمئة من الـ 803 آلاف ناخب الذين يحق لهم التصويت في انتخاب نصف عدد شاغلي المقاعد البلدية في البلاد. وقد نجح مرشحو 17 بلدية بالتزكية. ولم تفز من الـ 46 امرأة اللواتي ترشحن إلا 5 نساء. لكن الحكومة تعهدت بتعيين امرأة في كل بلدية لم تتمكن النساء من الفوز بمقعد من مقاعدها.

بلغ إقبال الناخبين على التصويت 65% خارج العاصمة عام 2007، لكن ضعف الإقبال في العاصمة عمّان فرض تمديد الاقتراع يوما آخرا من أجل تحقيق نسبة الـ 50% من الناخبين المسجلين في 5 مناطق في عمان. غير أن "حزب جبهة العمل الإسلامي"، الذراع السياسية لحركة الإخوان المسلمين، أعلن سحب مرشحيه الـ 33 من الانتخابات بعد 6 ساعات على بدئها. واتهم الحكومة والأجهزة الرسمية بتزوير الانتخابات وإصدار أوامرها إلى العسكريين للتصويت علنا ضد مرشحيه، والسماح للعسكريين بالتصويت مرات عدة. ورصدت الأجهزة الأمنية وقوع 45 حادث عنف جماعي وفردي شملت صدامات بين أنصار المرشحين استعمل فيها السلاح، وجرى تكسير بعض الممتلكات العامة والخاصة.

كان إقبال الناخبين على التصويت في المناطق الريفية أعلى بكثير من مثيله في المدن الكبرى في 2003. وقد فسّر المحللون انخفاض التصويت والمشاركة في بعض المناطق بعدة أسباب من بينها لامبالاة الجمهور، والاعتراض على تعديل قانون البلديات سنة 2003، ومقاطعة "جبهة العمل الإسلامي" للانتخابات البلدية إحتجاجا على تعديل القانون المذكور. واتهم الأمين العام لجبهة العمل الإسلامي حمزة منصور الحكومة بأنها لا تثق بجمهور الناخبين.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Elections: Jordan
You may also
 

Overview

A hereditary monarch constitutes the executive branch of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan. Since 1999, King Abdullah II has filled this position. The bicameral legislature, the National Assembly (Majlis al-Umma), is composed of the House of Notables or Senate (Majlis al-Ayan), and the House of Representatives (Majlis al-Nuwaab). The King appoints the 55 members of the House of Notables for four-year terms. The House of Representatives until 2001 had 80 members elected for four-year terms under a plurality system from 21 multi-member constituencies. Each constituency elected between two and nine seats. Candidates must be at least 30 years of age. Voting is not mandatory, and the right was extended to all Jordanian citizens over the age of 19. The new Elections Law, issued by Royal Decree on July 22, 2001, raises the number of Lower House seats from 80 to 104, increases the number of constituencies from 21 to 44, redistributes parliamentary seats, and lowers the voting age from 19 to 18. In 2003 another royal decree allocated an additional six seats to women making the number of seats 110. Nine of the seats are reserved for Christians, three for Circassions and nine for Bedouins.

Top of this page

Election Laws, Systems and Processes

Elections to the House of Representatives are governed by the Law of Election to the House of Deputies, No. 22 of 1986. Elections are overseen by the Ministry of Interior, which appoints representatives to organize and monitor election proceedings at the local level. A 1993 act of legislature altered the electoral system from an at-large to a limited vote arrangement. Under this system, voters cast only one ballot, rather than being allowed to cast as many ballots as there are seats in the constituency, as in the old system. The 2001 Law keeps the controversial one-person, one-vote formula but provides for special committees, which include members of the judiciary, to supervise the electoral process in each district.

The Political Parties Law, No. 32 of 1992, governs political parties. The law pertains to the manner in which political parties are to conduct themselves and includes stipulations for party formation and party activities. In order to receive a license from the Ministry of Interior, parties must comply with certain regulations, such as having a minimum of 50 members, respect for the Constitution and the ideals of political pluralism. Since the promulgation of the 1992 law, there has been an explosion of party formation. In some cases, smaller parties have since banded together in working coalitions to contest elections.

Election law No. 34 of the year 2001 entailed reducing voting age from 19 to 18 years old; adopting an election system whereby a voter is allowed to vote for one candidate only in his/her district; increasing the number of parliament seats from 80 to 110; and allocating a quota of 6 parliamentary seats to women. The law forbids members of the armed forces and security agencies from voting in parliamentary elections.

Top of this page

Legislative Elections

The most recent legislative elections in Jordan took place on November 22, 2007 according to election law No. 34 of the year 2001. The number of citizens who were eligible to vote was 2.4 million, 52% of whom were women. The number of candidates was 885 of whom 199 were women. The supreme elections committee allocated 1434 voting centers that hosted 3995 ballot boxes distributed over 45 electoral districts. Most opposition parties refrained from participating in elections. The only opposition parties that ran in elections were the Islamic Action Front Party [IAFP], which is the political arm of the Muslim Brothers Group, and the National Democratic Bloc, which includes 4 leftist parties. The IAFP fielded 22 candidates including one woman in 18 electoral districts. The Democratic Bloc fielded 9 candidates. Tribal blocs and businessmen exhibited strong and broadly based participation. The National Center for Human Rights, which is an official institution independent of the government, observed the election process alongside some civil society organizations. The authorities deployed 40,000 policemen in all provinces to guarantee the safety of the lections. Participation rate was 58%.

Final results revealed a heavy loss for the IAFP as 16 of its candidates were defeated. The party won only 6 seats compared to 17 seats in the previous parliament. All 9 leftist candidates were defeated. The Islamists’ heaviest losses occurred in their strongholds: Al-Zarqa city, Al-Balqa, the third electoral district in Amman, Irbid city and the Palestinian camps. 7 women joined the new parliament. For the first time in Jordan’s history, a woman [dentist Falak Al-Jamani} was elected in an open contest outside the women’s quota. She received 3301 votes. 72 new members joined the parliament while 38 were reelected. Tribal and businessmen representation significantly increased.

The Muslim Brothers Movement accused the government of election fraud that resulted in the defeat of its candidates. Its spokesman, Jamil AbuBakr, demanded cancellation of election results in 10 districts and conducting new elections there. He hinted that their 6 elected candidates might resign. However, the Minister of Interior, Eid Al-Fayez, announced that the elections ran smoothly, were free, fair and transparent. He expressed his delight with the high participation rate.

The previous parliamentary elections took place on June 17, 2003 according to the same law. The number of eligible voters was 2.3 million. The rate of participation in the elections was 58.8 percent. The political parties that ran in the elections were: the Islamic Action Front (the political branch of the Muslim Brothers Movement) and a number of leftist and nationalist parties of the opposition. The latter ran together under the "National Democratic Block". The Islamic Action Front had 30 candidates and the National Democratic Block had 13 candidates. Moreover, dozens of independent candidates who represent tribes and clans ran in the elections, in addition to a number of ex-government officials, retired military officers and businessmen. Also, 54 women ran in the elections, some of whom represented political parties, while others were independent candidates.

Election results of 2003 elections were as follows: tribal candidates and candidates of conservative social forces achieved a decisive victory by capturing 84 parliamentary seats, while leftist and nationalist political parties failed to win any seat in parliament. The Islamic Action Front won only 20 seats, the lowest achievement in its political history. None of the female candidates were able to win any seat in parliament beyond their allotted quota. The 54 women candidates had to compete among themselves for the 6-seat female quota. Out of the 6 seats, one woman representing the Islamic Action Front was elected, while the other 5 women were independents active in public life. The leader of the Islamic Action Front claimed that there was widespread fraud in the elections. The government, however, denied that accusation.

Top of this page

Local Elections

The most recent municipal elections in Jordan took place on July 31, 2007 in accordance with a new municipal election law that gives voters the right to elect the head of municipal council and one council member only. The new law allocated 20% of all municipal seats to women and lowered voters’ age from 19 to 18 years old. In contrast to the 2003 municipal law, the 2007 law allowed voters to elect all municipal councils, except in the case of Greater Amman Council whereby voters elected half the council members, while the Ministry of Municipal Affairs appointed the other half and the council’s president.

Of the 1.9 million eligible voters, 48% were women. There were 2325 candidates contesting 1022 municipal seats. They included 361 women who competed for the 211 municipal seats (20% of the total) reserved for women. Women achieved remarkable success: one of them, an engineer, was elected mayor of the southern town of Hassa. Four others won seats not reserved for women. Final results showed that opposition parties achieved some success, with some of the 39 candidates of the “Democratic Movement,” which includes 4 nationalist and leftist parties, winning municipal seats. The “Islamic Center Party,” which is in disagreement with the “Muslim Brothers” and close to the government, won the presidency of 4 municipal councils and membership of 5 other councils outside the capital, but four Islamist opposition candidates also won.

In 2003 the Municipal Law had been amended to allow the government to appoint half of the members in any city or village council while the other half was elected. In addition, the government appointed the head of every council. On July 2003, around 58 per cent of the 803,000 eligible voters cast their ballots to elect council members to half the seats in the country’s municipalities. Candidates in 17 municipalities ran unopposed. Among the 46 women contenders, only five won seats. But the government pledged to appoint a woman in each municipality where women candidates failed to win a seat.

Voter turn out was around 65% outside the capital in 2007, but the polls had to stay open an extra day in five districts of Amman to reach the required 50% in the city. The “Islamist Action Front Party”, the political arm of the “Muslim Brothers” movement, withdrew their 33 candidates 6 hours after the voting started and accused the government and security agencies of election fraud, of ordering military personnel to vote against their candidates and allowing them to vote several times each. Security agencies registered the occurrence of 45 violent collective and individual incidents among candidates’ supporters that involved using weapons, and destruction of public and private property.

Voter turnout in rural areas had been much higher that in the major cities in 2003. Where voter turnout was low, analysts pointed to a combination of public apathy and objection to the 2003 amendment to the Municipal Law, marked by a boycott on the part of the Islamic Action Front (IAF) in protest against the amended law. IAF Secretary General Hamzeh Mansour charged that the government had no faith in the electorate.

Top of this page