إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الإنتخابات: الكويت
يمكنكم أيضا
 

نظرة عامة

تتألف السلطة التنفيذية الكويتية من أمير بالوراثة ووزراء يرشحهم رئيس الوزراء ويوافق عليهم الأمير. ويعين الأمير رئيس الوزراء. وتتمثل السلطة التشريعية في مجلس الأمة، ويضم المجلس حاليا 65 عضوا، 50 منهم منتخبين لفترة أربع سنوات والبقية أصبحوا أعضاء بحكم منصبهم كوزراء.

انتخب أول مجلس أمة كويتي سنة 1963، وتلته انتخابات نيابية في السنوات 1967 و 1971 و 1975 و 1981 و 1985. وتم حل مجلس الأمة حتى الآن 4 مرات كان أولها سنة 1976 بشكل غير دستوري عطل بموجبه الدستور حتى سنة 1981. وحل المجلس حلا غير دستوري في العام 1986. وأعيد العمل بالدستور بعد تحرير الكويت من الاحتلال العراقي وأجريت الانتخابات البرلمانية في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 1992. وحل المجلس للمرة الثالثة على أسس دستورية سنة 1996 وأجريت انتخابات برلمانية بعد ذلك بشهرين. أما الحل الرابع للمجلس فقد تم بشكل دستوري في 21 أيار/مايو 2006 وصحبته دعوة إلى انتخاب مجلس نيابي جديد في 29 حزيران/يونيو 2006.

أصدر أمير الكويت الشيخ صباح الأحمد الصباح في 19 آذار/مارس 2008 مرسوما بحل مجلس الأمة (البرلمان). وجاء قرار حل البرلمان بعد استقالة جميع وزراء الحكومة في 17 آذار/مارس 2008 بسبب تصرفات غير مسؤولة من بعض النواب بحقهم وبسبب تعسف النواب في استخدام الصلاحيات البرلمانية. وتركت استقالة الوزراء الأمير أمام خيارين بموجب الدستور الكويتي: إما أن يدعو لتشكيل حكومة جديدة أو أن يحل مجلس الأمة ويدعو لانتخابات خلال شهرين. وأعلن وزير الدولة لشؤون مجلس الوزراء فيصل الحجي أن مرسوما سيصدر في 26 آذار/مارس 2008 بدعوة الناخبين إلى اختيار مجلس أمة جديد في 17 أيار/مايو 2008. وللانتخابات القادمة أهميتها لأنها ستتم على أساس نظام الدوائر الانتخابية الخمس الذي أقر عام 2006، وحل محل التقسيم القديم المؤلف من 25 دائرة انتخابية.

الكتل النيابية الرئيسية هي: الحركة الدستورية الإسلامية؛ الحركة السلفية؛ الحركة الوطنية الديمقراطية؛ المنتدى الكويتي الديمقراطي؛ والتحالف الشيعي الوطني الإسلامي.

التصويت ليس إجباريا. ويشمل حق التصويت جميع الكويتيين الذين تزيد أعمارهم على 21 سنة والذين مضى على تجنسهم 30 سنة على الأقل، فضلا عن جميع الكويتيين الذين عاشوا في الكويت منذ سنة 1920 ولذريتهم الحق في التصويت. ولا يحق لأفراد الشرطة والقوات المسلحة التصويت. وفي سنة 2003 قدّر عدد المواطنين الكويتيين بـ 000ر885 تتمتع 15 بالمئة منهم بحق التصويت.

أقرّ مجلس الأمة الكويتي تعديل "قانون المجلس البلدي" في 16 أيار/مايو 2005 منحت بموجبه المرأة الكويتية حقوقها السياسية الكاملة بما فيها حق الانتخاب والترشيح في الانتخابات البلدية. وصوّت 35 نائبا في صالح التعديل المقترح بينما عارضه 23 نائبا وامتنع نائب واحد عن التصويت. وكانت لجنة برئاسة نائب رئيس مجلس الوزراء تقدمت في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2003 بمرسوم لمنح النساء حق التصويت لكن مجلس الأمة لم يصادق عليه. وسبق لمجلس الأمة أن ناقش مرسوما مماثلا في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 1999 سقط عند التصويت بفارق صوتين فقط. وضمن التعديل القانوني الأخير مشاركة المرأة في الانتخابات البلدية سنة 2009. لكن خلو منصب رئيس المجلس البلدي بعد تعيينه وزيرا في الحكومة الكويتية الجديدة التي شكلت في منتصف كانون الثاني/يناير 2006 أتاح المجال للمرأة لترشيح نفسها للانتخابات الجزئية لشغل هذا المقعد، فأعلنت جنان بوشهري في 13 شباط/فبراير 2006 عن ترشحها لشغل المقعد الخالي. وبموجب القانون الكويتي يتوجب تنظيم انتخابات جزئية لملء المقعد الشاغر في غضون 60 يوما من خلوه. وجرت هذه الانتخابات التكميلية في 4 نيسان/إبريل 2006 وخاضتها السيدة بوشهري ضد السيد يوسف صويلح مرشح قبيلة العوازم. وأظهرت النتائج التي أعلنت ليل يوم 5 نيسان/إبريل 2006 فوز السيد صويلح بالمقعد البلدي الشاغر بعد حصوله على 5436 صوتا منها 3032 صوتا من أصوات الرجال و 2404 صوتا لنساء. وفي المقابل حصلت بوشهري على 1807 أصوات منها 857 صوتا من النساء و 950 صوتا من الرجال. وكانت امرأة أخرى ترشحت لكن لم تحصل إلا على 79 صوتا (41 صوتا نسائيا و 38 صوتا رجاليا). وكانت نسبة مشاركة النساء ضعيفة إذ بلغت 28.7% من مجموع النساء اللاتي يحق لهن التصويت. ورغم خسارة السيدة بوشهري اعتبر المراهنون النتيجة التي حققتها جيدة قياسا بحجم التكتل القبلي في الدائرة الانتخابية الخامسة التي جرت فيها الانتخابات.

أعلى الصفحة

قوانين الانتخابات، النظم والعمليات

توجد 25 دائرة انتخابية تنتخب كل منها عضوين للهيئة التشريعية. ويحتل المقعدين في كل دائرة العضوان اللذان يحصلان على أعلى الأصوات ، وعلى الرغم من أنهما قد لا يحصلان على أكثرية الأصوات في دائرتهما. ويجب أن يكون المرشحون ذكورا وإناثا قد بلغوا الثلاثين على الأقل وان يكونوا من مواطني الكويت. ويتم ملء المقاعد التي تخلو بين فترتين انتخابيتين عن طريق الانتخابات الفرعية. أما الأحزاب السياسية فهي ممنوعة رسميا مع أن الحكومة تتسامح مع وجودها غير الرسمي. ويتقدم المرشحون رسميا للانتخابات كمستقلين. وتنشط الجماعات السياسية الفضفاضة أو شبه الحزبية، كالعشائر والتجار واليساريين والقوميين والناشطين السنـّة والشيعة، كبديل من الأحزاب السياسية. ومع أن الأمير يحتفظ بالكلمة الأخيرة حول معظم السياسات الحكومية، يلعب مجلس الأمة دورا مهما في عملية اتخاذ القرار. فمجلس الأمة يتمتع بسلطة المبادرة إلى وضع تشريعات جديدة، ومساءلة الحكومة، وطرح الثقة بأي وزير من الوزراء. فمثلا، أصدر الأمير في أيار/مايو 1999 عدة مراسيم مهمة تتعلق بحق النساء في الاقتراع، والتحرر الاقتصادي، والجنسية. ورفض مجلس الأمة جميع هذه المراسيم من حيث المبدأ، غير أنه أعاد تقديم معظمها على شكل تشريعات نيابية.

يؤدي النظام الانتخابي الكويتي إلى تشكل كتل نيابية. فبعد انتخابات 2003 ظهرت تكتلات تضم حركات سياسية مختلفة في محاولة لإصلاح النظام الانتخابي. كما أن أحد الأهداف الرئيسية للحكومة يتمثل في إجراء إصلاح في النظام الانتخابي القائم بخفض عدد الدوائر الانتخابية من 25 إلى 5. لكن الحكومة قررت في 17 أيار/مايو 2006 خفض عدد الدوائر الانتخابية إلى 10 فقط وعرضت التعديل المقترح على مجلس الأمة. أصرّ النواب المعارضون وعددهم 29 نائبا على خفض عدد الدوائر إلى 5 فحصل نقاش وجدل شديدين أديا إلى انسحاب النواب المعارضين من الجلسة فقررت الحكومة إحالة مشروعها بشأن الدوائر الانتخابية إلى المحكمة الدستورية. وفي سابقة في تاريخ الكويت منذ الاستقلال، قدم ثلاثة نواب طلبا لاستجواب رئيس الوزراء في جلسة للمجلس تعقد في 29 أيار/مايو 2006. وكان هذا الوضع بمثابة عدم إمكان تعامل المجلس مع الحكومة ما يضع الأمير دستوريا أمام 3 خيارات: حل مجلس الأمة وإجراء انتخابات جديدة أو تجميد المجلس أو حل الحكومة. وأصدر الأمير الشيخ صباح الأحمد الصباح مساء 21 أيار/مايو 2006 مرسوما بحل مجلس الأمة رقمه 146/2006 ومرسوما آخرا رقمه 147/2006 دعا فيه الناخبين إلى انتخاب أعضاء مجلس الأمة في 29 حزيران/يونيو 2006. وتنص المادة 102 من الدستور الكويتي على أنه "في حال رأى مجلس الأمة بالغالبية البسيطة عدم إمكان التعاون مع رئيس مجلس الوزراء يرفع الأمر إلى الأمير، وله في هذه الحالة أن يعفي رئيس مجلس الوزراء ويعين وزارة جديدة أو أن يحل مجلس الأمة". وأعطى هذا التطور للمرأة الكويتية فرصة مبكرة سنة كاملة للمشاركة في الانتخابات النيابية ترشيحا وتصويتا.

أعلى الصفحة

السلطات الانتخابية

تعتبر ادارة شؤون الانتخابات ادارة من الادارات الخمسة للإدارة العامة للشئون القانونية في وزارة الداخلية الكويتية. وهي معنية بتنفيـذ القوانيـن لاسيما القانـون في شأن انتخابات أعضاء مجلس الأمة، ومرسوم العقوبات الانضباطية واللوائح والقرارات والأوامر المتعلقة به. كما وتتولى تنفيذ كافة الإجراءات اللازمة لعمليـة الانتخابات العامة والتكميلية فضلاً عن تنفيـذ جميع الإجراءات اللازمة لعملية المراجعة السنوية في الجداول الانتخابية بالتنسيق مع الجهات المعنية وما يستتبع ذلك من إعداد الدراسات والإحصاءات والبيانات المتخصصة بهذا المجال.

أعلى الصفحة

الإنتخابات التشريعية

جرت آخر انتخابات تشريعية في الكويت في 16 أيار/مايو 2009، وهي انتخابات مبكرة للمجلس الثالث عشر جاءت اثر حل الأمير لمجلس الأمة الكويتي في آذار/مارس 2009 في أعقاب الخلافات الحادة بين أعضاء المجلس والوزراء. جرت هذه الانتخابات وفق قانون الانتخابات رقم 42 الصادر عام 2006 والذي اعتمد نظام الدوائر الانتخابية الكبيرة وعددها 5 دوائر بدلاً من 25 دائرة انتخابية بحيث يتم انتخاب عشرة نواب عن كل دائرة ولكل ناخب حق اختيار أربعة مرشحين. خاض الانتخابات 210 مرشح بينهم 16 مرشحة للتنافس على 50 مقعداً وبلغ العدد الإجمالي للناخبين 384.790، 46% منهم رجال في حين بلغ عدد الاناث209,111 أي 54%، علماً أن أفراد الجيش الكويتي لا يتمتعون بحق الانتخاب.

كشفت النتائج التفصيلية للانتخابات، والتي حملت الكثير من المتغيرات، التالي: فوز التيار السلفي الإسلامي بمقعدين متراجعاً بذلك عن أربعة مقاعد كان يحتفظ بها في دورة 2008 بينما حصدت الحركة الإسلامية الدستورية، والتي تعتبر الذراع السياسي لحركة الإخوان المسلمين، مقعداً واحداً مقارنة بثلاثة مقاعد كانت لها في دورة 2008. وبلغ إجمالي المقاعد التي فاز بها الإسلاميون 11 مقعداً وذلك في تراجع كبير عما حققوه في دورة 2008 حيث كانوا يحتفظون بـ21 مقعداً. فيما حصلت الأقلية الشيعية على 9 مقاعد مقارنة بـ5 مقاعد في دورة 2008. وحصد مرشحو القبائل نحو 25 مقعداً وحصلت القائمة الشعبية على 3 مقاعد. تمكنت المرأة عبر انتخابات مجلس الأمة 2009 من الفوز وبأربع مقاعد حيث حصلت في الدائرة الأولى الوزيرة السابقة الدكتورة معصومة المبارك على المركز الأول بـ14,247 صوتاً فيما حصلت الدكتورة سلوى الجسار في الدائرة الثانية على 4776 صوتاً. وفي الدائرة الثالثة حصلت الدكتورة اسيل العوضي على المركز الثاني بـ11,860 صوتاً فيما حصلت الدكتورة رولا دشتي على المركز السادس بـ7666 صوتاً.

جرت الانتخابات التشريعية السابقة في الكويت في 17 أيار/مايو 2008، وبلغ عدد الناخبين المسجلين 361 ألفا شكلت النساء 55% منهم. وللمرة الأولى توجه الناخبون لانتخاب أعضاء مجلس الأمة ألـ 50 وفق نظام الدوائر الانتخابية الكبيرة وعددها 5 دوائر، وذلك بدلا من 25 دائرة انتخابية سابقا. وبلغت حصة كل دائرة انتخابية 10 نواب، ويحق للناخب انتخاب 4 مرشحين بدلا من مرشحين سابقا. وبلغ عدد المرشحين 275 مرشحا بينهم 27 امرأة. وشملت أبرز القضايا التي أثارها عدد من المرشحين المطالبة بتحسين التعليم والخدمات الصحية ومكافحة غلاء المعيشة واقتسام خيرات النفط. وبلغت نسبة المشاركة في الانتخابات 69% من إجمالي الناخبين المسجلين، وهي نسبة تقل عن نسب المشاركة المعتادة في الانتخابات النيابية الكويتية.

وتنافست في الانتخابات قوى سياسية إسلامية وقبلية وليبرالية، إضافة إلى المرشحين المستقلين. وأسفرت النتائج عن فوز مهم للتيار المحافظ بشقيه الإسلامي والقبلي فيما تراجع تمثيل القوى الليبرالية. ونال الإسلاميون 21 مقعدا فيما احتفظت القبائل بـ 24 معقدا، خصوصا وان الدائرتين الرابعة والخامسة مغلقتان بالكامل على القبائل. وفشلت المرشحات الـ 27 بالفوز بأي مقعد نيابي، لكن مرشحة "التحالف الوطني الديمقراطي" أسيل العوضي حققت أفضل النتائج إذ حلت في المرتبة 12 في الدائرة الانتخابية الثالثة. كما حققت المرشحتان رولا دشتي وسلوى الجسار نتائج جيدة.

أما النتائج التفصيلية فجاءت على النحو التالي: زادت "جمعية إحياء التراث" التي تمثل التيار السلفي التقليدي عدد مقاعدها من 3 إلى 4 مقاعد. أما "الحركة الدستورية الإسلامية" (إخوان مسلمين) فكانت الخاسر الأكبر إذ تراجع عدد نوابها من 6 إلى 3 نواب. وفاز الليبراليون الذين يضمهم "التحالف الوطني الديمقراطي" بـ 4 مقاعد فقط. وفاز "حزب الله الكويتي" (تيار شيعي أصولي) بـ 3 مقاعد. وفاز 8 نواب مقربون من الحكومة. أما من حيث التوازن الطائفي، فقد فاز النواب السنة بـ 21 مقعدا بينما ارتفع عدد النواب الشيعة من 4 إلى 5 نواب. ومن بين 45 نائبا سابقا خاضوا الانتخابات احتفظ 28 منهم بمقاعدهم النيابية. وهكذا استمرت المعارضة في شغل غالبية المقاعد المنتخبة في مجلس الأمة. ولم تتخلل عملية الاقتراع أي مشاكل أو تجاوزات. لكن الحملات الانتخابية التي سبقت الاقتراع ودامت شهرين شهدت مشاجرات وأعمال عنف بين القبائل وقوى الأمن عندما حاولت السلطات منع القبائل من إجراء انتخابات تمهيدية داخلية مخالفة للقانون.

كما جرت انتخابات تشريعية في 29 حزيران/يونيو 2006 وشاركت فيها المرأة الكويتية لأول مرة منذ حصولها على حقوقها السياسية الكاملة سنة 2005. وبلغ مجموع الناخبين المسجلين 340 ألفا تبلغ نسبة النساء 57% منهم. ويبلغ عدد أعضاء مجلس الأمة 65 عضوا ينتخب 50 منهم بالاقتراع السري المباشر في 25 دائرة انتخابية ويضاف إليهم 15 وزيرا بحكم منصبهم. وتنافس على شغل الـ 50 مقعدا 249 مرشحا بينهم 27 امرأة. وتنافس في الانتخابات تكتلان عريضان أولهما تكتل سياسي معارض فضفاض أطلق عليه اسم "تجمع الكويت" ضم القوى السياسية المعارضة التالية: المنبر الديمقراطي والليبراليين المستقلين والإخوان المسلمين والسلفيين. وكان الشعار الانتخابي لهذا التجمع "رجال المرحلة المقبلة" ، كما حملت المعركة الانتخابية شعار "مكافحة الفساد". والتكتل الثاني مؤلف من مرشحين موالين للحكومة وأعضاء في الأسرة الحاكمة. ترشح للمرة الثانية 45 نائبا من مجموع نواب المجلس المنحل، من ضمنهم 28 من أصل الـ 29 نائبا معارضا. وسبقت الانتخابات حملات انتخابية هي الأكثر حدة في تاريخ الكويت. وكانت هناك مشاركة كثيفة لفئتي النساء والشباب. ويلغ معدل المشاركة العامة 66%، بينما بلغت مشاركة النساء 35% من مجموع النساء اللاتي يحق لهن التصويت. وتولت تنظيم العملية الانتخابية 341 لجنة تحت إشراف أكثر من 700 مستشار وقاض ووكيل نيابة، بالإضافة إلى "لجنة شفافية الانتخابات" الكويتية المستقلة. وجاءت نتائج الانتخابات على النحو التالي: فاز تكتل المعارضة بغالبية المقاعد المنتخبة بعد حصول مرشحيه على 35 مقعدا نيابيا، بدلا من الـ 29 مقعدا في المجلس المنحل. وضمن المعارضة، حصل الإسلاميون على 21 مقعدا، وكانت "الحركة الدستورية الإسلامية" المعبرة عن تيار "الإخوان المسلمين" أكبر الرابحين من القوى الإسلامية إذ زادت عدد مقاعدها من 2 إلى 6 مقاعد. وترجع هذه القفزة إلى استفادة الإخوان المسلمين من فاعلية تنظيمهم النسائي. وحل مرشحو تكتل المعارضة في المرتبة الأولى في 21 دائرة انتخابية وحصدوا كل المقاعد في 10 دوائر. وخسر 19 نائبا سابقا مقاعدهم. وبلغ عدد المرشحين الشيعة 6 مرشحين لم ينجح منهم سوى 4، حيث انخفض عددهم واحداً عنه في المجلس المنحل. ولم تفز أي من المرشحات الـ 27 بعضوية المجلس.

أعلى الصفحة

الإنتخابات المحلية

جرت آخر انتخابات بلدية في الكويت حزيران /يونيو 2009 وتنافس فيها 71 مرشح في 10 دوائر انتخابية لاختيار 10 أعضاء في المجلس، مع العلم بأن أمير الكويت يعين الأعضاء الـ 6 الباقين. حسب إحصائيات لجنة الانتخابات فإن 71,402 ناخب وناخبة أدلوا بأصواتهم من أصل أكثر من 374,000 ناخب وناخبة. وبلغت نسبة المشاركة في التصويت 20%. وقد جاء عزوف الناخبين عن المشاركة إلى أسباب عدة من بينها إجراء الانتخابات في يوم عمل رسمي وبدء موسم السفر وحرارة الجو، إضافة إلى غياب الحماسة بعد أن استنفدت انتخابات مجلس الأمة كل الاهتمام والحرص. هذا وقد بلغت نسبة الإقبال في الدائرة الأولى 25%، فيما كانت نسبته في الثانية 23%، وفي الثالثة 21%، وجاءت النسبة الأقل في الدائرة الرابعة وبلغت 14%، وفي الخامسة 22% وفي السادسة 23%، وتساوت السابعة مع الرابعة بنسبة 14%، فيما كانت النسبة الأعلى في الدائرة الثامنة حيث بلغت 28%، أما في الدائرة التاسعة فكانت النسبة 20%، وفي العاشرة كانت النسبة 16%.

جرت الانتخابات البلدية السابقة في 2 حزيران/يونيو 2005 وتنافس فيها 54 مرشحا في 10 دوائر انتخابية لاختيار 10 أعضاء في المجلس، مع العلم بأن أمير الكويت يعين الأعضاء الـ 6 الباقين. ويحق لنحو 140 ألف مواطن من الذكور المشاركة في انتخاب أعضاء المجلس البلدي لولاية مدتها 4 سنوات. لكن نسبة المشاركة في هذه الانتخابات لم تتجاوز 50 بالمئة. وتنص شروط الترشيح لعضوية المجلس على ألاّ يقل عمر المرشح عن 30 سنة وأن يعرف القراءة والكتابة باللغة العربية وألاّ يكون له سجل جنائي. وأظهرت نتيجة الانتخابات سيطرة مرشحو القبائل الذين فازو بـ 6 مقاعد في 6 دوائر، بينما فاز الإسلاميون بمقعدين ومرشحو "الحضر" بمقعدين. وعينت الحكومة الكويتية في حزيران/يونيو 2005 للمرة الأولى في تاريخ الكويت عضوتين في المجلس البلدي من أصل الأعضاء الستة التي يمنحها القانون الحق في تعيينهم.

وقدرت الحكومة معدل المشاركة في الانتخابات البلدية السابقة التي جرت في حزيران/يونيو 1999 بـ 62% وهي أعلى من معدلات المشاركة التي سجلت في انتخابات بلدية سابقة.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Elections: Kuwait
You may also
 

Overview

The Kuwaiti executive branch is composed of a hereditary Emir and the Council of Ministers, whose members are recommended by the prime minister and approved by the Emir. The Emir also appoints the prime minister. The unicameral legislative branch is the National Assembly (Majles Al-Ummah). It currently has 65 members, fifty of whom are elected for four-year terms of office whereas the rest are ministers who sit as ex officio members.

Kuwait’s first National Assembly was elected in 1963, with follow on elections in 1967, 1971, 1975, 1981 and 1985. The National Assembly was dissolved 4 times. The first dissolution took place in 1976 and was unconstitutional. The constitution was suspended until 1981 .The National Assembly was unconstitutionally dissolved a second time in 1986. The constitution was restituted after Kuwait’s liberation from Iraqi occupation in 1991 and parliamentary elections were held in October 1992. Then, in October 1996 the National Assembly was dissolved for the third time, although on constitutional grounds. Parliamentary elections were held two months later. The fourth dissolution of the National Assembly was constitutional and took place on May 21, 2006 and new elections were held on June 29, 2006.

The Emir of Kuwait, sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Sabah issued on March 19, 2008 a decree dissolving the National Assembly (Parliament). The Emir’s decision followed the resignation of all cabinet ministers on March 17, 2008. The ministers announced that they were unable to cooperate with the parliament. They complained of irresponsible behavior and unfair usage of parliamentary authority by some parliament members. Cabinet resignation left the Emir with two alternatives according to the Kuwaiti constitution: to call for a new government or to dissolve the parliament and call for new elections within 60 days. The minister of cabinet affairs Faisal Al-Hajji said that a decree will be issued on March 26 inviting the electorate to elect a new parliament on May 17, 2008. The upcoming parliamentary elections are of special importance because it will be conducted according to the 5 electoral districts that were approved in 2006 instead of the old system of 25 electoral districts.

The main parliamentary blocs include: The Islamic Constitutional Movement (ICM); the Salafi Movement; the National Democratic Movement (NDM); the Kuwait Democratic Forum (KDF); and the Shiite National Islamic Alliance (NIA).

Voting is not compulsory. The right to vote is extended to all Kuwaitis over the age of 21 and to all those who have held Kuwaiti citizenship for at least thirty years. In addition, all who have lived in Kuwait since 1920, and their descendents, are also granted suffrage. Members of the police and armed forces are ineligible to vote. In 2003, about 15 per cent out of an estimated population of 885,000 Kuwaitis were eligible to vote.

The Kuwaiti parliament approved an amendment to the Municipal Council Law on May 16, 2005, that gives Kuwaiti women full political rights including electoral rights for municipal elections. 35 deputies voted in favor of the proposed amendment, 23 opposed and one deputy abstained. In October 2003, a committee headed by the Deputy Prime Minister had authored a decree calling for female suffrage, but the National Assembly did not then approve it. The parliament had reviewed a similar decree in November 1999 and overturned it by a two-vote margin. The latest amendment of the municipal council law guaranteed women's participation in the 2009 municipal elections. However, the vacancy of a municipal seat caused by the appointment of the head of the municipal council as a minister in the new government formed in mid January 2006 opened the way for Kuwaiti woman to run for this seat. Jinan Boushahry announced on February 13, 2006 that she was a candidate in the partial municipal elections to occupy the vacant seat. Kuwaiti law stipulate that partial elections be held within 60 days of the vacancy of any municipal or parliamentary seat. Subsidiary municipal elections took place on April 4, 2006. Boushahry faced a male candidate Mr. Youssef Souwaileh who had the support of Al-Awazem tribe residing in the contested electoral district. The results were announced late on April 5, 2006. Mr. Souwaileh won the vacant municipal seat by receiving 5436 votes (3032 male votes and 2404 female votes). Mrs. Boushahri received 1807 votes (950 male votes and 857 female votes). A second female candidate received 79 votes only. Women's participation rate was low. Only 28.7% of eligible females cast their votes. Despite Mrs. Boushahri's loss, local observers believe that her performance was good in light of the strong tribal support rendered to her male opponent.

Top of this page

Election Laws, Systems and Processes

Twenty-five electoral constituencies each elect two members to the legislature. In each district, the two candidates with the highest percentages of the vote receive the seats, even though they may receive less than a majority of the votes. Candidates must be citizens of Kuwait at least 30 years of age. Seats vacated in between election periods are filled through by-elections. Political parties, though formally banned, are tolerated, and candidates officially run as independents. In place of political parties, there are several major political groupings that function like parties, composed of groups such as Bedouins, merchants, leftists, nationalists, Sunni and Shi’a activists. Although the Emir maintains the final word on most government policies, the National Assembly plays a substantive role in decision-making, with powers to initiate legislation, question government ministers, and express lack of confidence in individual ministers. For example, in May 1999, the Amir issued several landmark decrees dealing with women's suffrage, economic liberalization, and nationality. The National Assembly later rejected all of these decrees as a matter of principle and then reintroduced most of them as parliamentary legislation.

The electoral system in the country leads to the formation of parliamentary blocs. After the 2003 elections, blocs came to be inclusive of different political movements in an attempt to reform the electoral system. One important goal of the government is an overhaul of the electoral system that would reduce the electoral constituencies from 25 to five. However, the government decided on May 17, 2006 to reduce the electoral districts to 10 and presented a draft law to the parliament for approval. Twenty nine deputies who belong to the opposition rejected the proposed amendment, insisted on the previously agreed-upon 5 districts law, and walked out of the session. The government decided to refer its draft law to the constitutional court. In an unprecedented act in Kuwait’s history since independence, 3 deputies filed a request for questioning the prime minister, Shaikh Nasser Mohammad al-Sabah. The questioning was set for May 29, 2006. The questioning request meant that the parliament was unable to cooperate with the prime minister. According to article 102 of Kuwait’s constitution in such a situation the prime minister notifies the Emir who has the power to dissolve the parliament, dismiss the prime minister and appoint a new cabinet. On the evening of May 21, 2006 the Emir decided to dissolve the parliament and issued decree no. 146/2006 to that effect. He also issued decree no. 147/2006 calling on the electoral constituency to elect a new parliament on June 29, 2006. The above development gave Kuwaiti women a one year earlier opportunity to participate in legislative elections through running and voting.

Top of this page

Election Authorities

The Department of Electoral Affairs is one of the five departments of the General Department for Legal Affairs at the Ministry of Interior. The Department is responsible for the implementation of laws, especially those pertaining to the election of parliament members. The Department is also concerned with implementing the Decree of disciplinary penalties and the regulations, decisions and orders attached to this Decree. The Department also assumes all measures pertaining to conducting public and supplementary elections, as well as implements all necessary measures for the annual revision of voters’ registration lists in coordination with relevant agencies. The last task includes conducting studies and gathering statistics and information related to elections.

Top of this page

Legislative Elections

The latest legislative elections in Kuwait were held on 16 May 2009. These were early elections of the13th Kuwaiti parliament brought about by the dissolution of the parliament by the Emir in March 2009 following bitter disputes between parliament members and government ministers. The elections were conducted according to electoral law No. 42 of 2006 which adopted a system of large electoral districts instead of the previous 25 districts. Each of the five districts elects 10 candidates to parliament, and each voter is entitled to vote for 4 candidates. The elections were contested by 210 candidates, including 16 women. The total number of voters was 384,790 of whom 46% were men and 54% were women (175,679 men and 209,111 women). Members of the Kuwaiti army are not entitled to vote.

Detailed election results carried many changes in the Kuwaiti political landscape: the Fundamentalist Islamic bloc won 2 seats instead of the 4 seats it held in the 2008 elections. The Constitutional Islamic Movement, which is the political arm of the Muslim Brothers Group, won one seat compared to 3 seats in the 2008 elections. In total, Islamists won 11 parliamentary seats compared to the 21 seats they occupied in 2008 elections. The Shiite minority increased its share from 5 to 9 seats. Tribal candidates won 25 seats and the Popular list won 3 seats. Women succeeded in holfing 4 parliamentary seats. In the first district, ex-Minister Dr. Ma’souma Al-Mubarak came first with 14,247 votes. Dr. Salwa Al-Jassr received 4776 votes in the second district. Dr. Aseel Al-Awadhi held second place in the third electoral district, with 11,860 votes. Finally, Dr. Rola Deshti held 6th place in her district and received 7666 votes.

Previous legislative elections took place in Kuwait on May 17, 2008. The number of eligible voters was 361,000, of whom 55% were women. For the first time Kuwaiti voters went to the polls to elect the 50 members of parliament according to the system of large electoral districts which include 5 districts instead the previous 25 electoral districts. The share of every district is 10 deputies and a voter has the right to elect 4 candidates in his/her district instead of the previous rule that allowed the election of 2 candidates. The number of candidates was 275, of whom 27 were women. Major electoral issues raised by a number of candidates included: improving education and health services, combating the rising cost of living and better distribution of oil revenues among Kuwaiti citizens. Participation rate was 69% of eligible voters, a rate lower than customary participation rates in previous legislative elections.

The elections were contested by Islamic, tribal and liberal political groups, in addition to independents. Final results gave the conservative forces, both Islamic and tribal, a very decisive victory, while liberal forces were weakened. Islamists won 21 seats and the tribal forces occupied 24 seats. The tribal strength is explained by the fact that two of the five electoral districts (the fourth and the fifth) are exclusively tribal districts. None of the 27 women candidates was able to win a parliamentary seat. However, the candidate of the National Democratic Alliance, Aseel Al-Awadi, did well by occupying the 12th rank in her district. Two other women candidates, Rola Dashti and Salwa Al-Najjar, achieved good results.

Detailed election results were as follows: the share of the Society for Heritage Revival (Sunni fundamentalist trend) increased its seats from 3 to 4. The constitutional Islamic Movement (Muslim Brothers Group) was the major loser as its representatives in parliament were reduced from 6 to 3. Liberal groups under the umbrella of the National Democratic Alliance were weakened as they were able to win 4 seats only. The Kuwaiti God's Party (a fundamentalist Shiite trend) won 3 seats. In addition, 8 pro-government candidates won parliamentary seats. In terms of sectarian balance, Sunnis have 21 representatives in parliament while Shiites have 5 representatives. Moreover, out of 45 ex-deputies who contested elections 28 were reelected. Political opposition groups retained their control of parliamentary majority (not counting the 15 government ministers who are defacto members of parliament). No violations were recorded during the voting process. However, the two-month election campaign witnessed acts of violence between some tribes and security forces when the tribes attempted to organize preliminary internal elections in violation of Kuwaiti laws.

Legislative elections also took place on June 29, 2006. Kuwaiti women participated in the elections by voting and running for the first time since they gained full political rights in 2005. The total number of registered voters was 340,000, of whom 57% were females. The total number of parliamentary seats is 65, of which 50 were elected by direct secret ballot in 25 electoral districts, while the remaining 15 seats are for cabinet members who become deputies by virtue of their position. A total 249 candidates, including 27 women, competed for the 50 seats. The candidates were divided into two broad political blocs. The opposition joined forces under a loose alliance called “Kuwait Rally”. It included the following political groups: The Democratic Forum; Independent Liberals, Muslim Brothers and Fundamentalists. Its slogan was “Men of the next phase”. Their campaign slogan was “combating corruption”. The other political bloc included candidates loyal to the government and members of the ruling family. Forty-five members of the dissolved parliament ran for re-election. Included in this group were 28 out of the 29 opposition deputies. The elections were preceded by the most intense electoral campaign in Kuwait’s history. Women and youth were heavily represented in the campaign. Overall the participation rate was 66% of registered voters, while the female participation rate was 35% of eligible females. The elections were organized by 341 committees under the supervision of more than 700 legal personnel including counselors, judges and public prosecutors, in addition to the “Election Transparency Committee” (an independent Kuwaiti Committee). Election results were as follows: The opposition bloc won the majority of parliamentary seats (35 seats) up from 29 seats in the dissolved parliament. Among the opposition, Islamists won 21 seats. The largest of their groups, “The Islamic Constitutional Movement” representing the Muslim Brothers, increased their representation from 2 to 6 seats as a result of their efficient women’s organization. Opposition candidates ranked first in 21 electoral districts and won all of the seats in 10 districts. 19 ex-deputies were not re-elected. Six Shiite candidates had run for elections, but only 4 were elected, one less than in the dissolved parliament. None of the 27 female candidates were elected to the new parliament.

Top of this page

Local Elections

The latest municipal elections in Kuwait were held in June 2009. The elections were contested by 71 candidates in 10 electoral districts for 10 seats of the Municipal Council, while the remaining 6 members are appointed by the Emir of Kuwait. According to statistics published by the Elections Committee, 71,402 men and women voters casted their votes out of a total of 374,000 eligible voters. The voter turnout was 20%. The low participation rate was attributed to a number of factors, including: holding the elections on an official work-day, the beginning of the summer season and travel abroad of many citizens, a lack of enthusiasm for local elections following the parliamentary elections that created high interest among citizens and exhausted their energy. The voter turnout in the 10 districts was as follows: 25% in the first district, 23% in the second, 21% in the third, 14% in the fourth, 22% in the fifth, 23% in the sixth, and 14% in the seventh district. The highest participation rate was in the eighth district reaching 28%, whereas it was 20% in the ninth and 16% in the tenth district.

Previous municipal elections in Kuwait took place on June 2, 2005. Fifty-four candidates competed over 10 municipal seats in 10 electoral districts. The remaining 6 municipal members are appointed by the Emir of Kuwait. Around 140 thousand male citizens were eligible to participate in these elections. The term of the municipal council is 4 years. Candidates must be at least 30 years old, must read and write Arabic and have no criminal record. Participation rate was rather low, not exceeding 50% of eligible voters. Tribal candidates won 6 seats, Islamists and "urban" candidates each won 2 seats. For the first time in Kuwait's history, the government appointed in June 2005 two women to the municipal council.

In the previous municipal elections, held in June 1999, the government calculated turnout at 62%, which was higher than in previous elections.

Top of this page