إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الإنتخابات: لبنان
يمكنكم أيضا
 

نظرة عامة

رئيس الجمهورية اللبنانية يجب أن يكون مسيحيا مارونيا. ويرأس رئيس الجمهورية، الذي ينتخب بغالبية ثلثي مجلس النواب، السلطة التنفيذية. فإن لم يحصل أي مرشح على ثلثي الأصوات في الجولة الأولى من التصويت، ينتقل التصويت إلى الجولة الثانية حيث تكفي الغالبية المطلقة لانتخاب الرئيس. ويحتفظ الرئيس بالحكم لست سنوات، ولا يعاد انتخابه قبل مرور ست سنوات على انتهاء ولايته.

أعلى الصفحة

قوانين الانتخابات، النظم والعمليات

لبنان دولة ديمقراطية برلمانية لمواطنيها حق دستوري في تغيير حكومتهم. لكن الفترة الممتدة من منتصف السبعينات حتى الانتخابات النيابية سنة 1992 كانت فترة حرم المواطنون فيها من ممارسة حقوقهم السياسية بسبب الحرب الأهلية. ووفقا للدستور يجب إجراء انتخابات عامة مباشرة لمجلس النواب كل 4 سنوات. وينتخب مجلس النواب رئيس الجمهورية كل 6 سنوات. وجرت آخر انتخابات رئاسية سنة 1998، لكن بدلا من إجراء انتخابات رئاسية جديدة سنة2004 أقر مجلس النواب تعديلا دستوريا استنثائيا مددت بموجبه ولاية رئيس الجمهورية الحالي ثلاث سنوات إضافية. وحصل التعديل الدستوري المقترح بسهولة على أغلبية الثلثين المطلوبة لإقراره لأن رئيس الوزراء الذي عارض في وقت سابق تعديل الدستور ما لبث أن أيده وطلب من أنصاره التصويت لصالح التعديل. ولم يصوت ضد التعديل الدستوري المقترح إلا 29 نائبا من أصل 128 نائب. وغاب 3 نواب عن الجلسة. لكن 4 وزراء استقالوا لاحقا احتجاجا على ما اعتبروه تدخلا خارجيا في شؤون لبنان الداخلية. وأظهرت استطلاعات الرأي العام أن أكثرية اللبنانيين يعارضون التعديل الدستوري. وفي 2 أيلول/سبتمبر، أي قبل يوم واحد من تصويت مجلس النواب على التعديل المقترح، أصدر مجلس الأمن الدولي القرار رقم 1559 الذي رعته فرنسا وبريطانيا وألمانيا بموافقة 9 دول من أعضائه وامتناع 6 دول عن التصويت (الصين، روسيا، الجزائر، البرازيل، باكستان، والفلبين). وطالب القرار "احترام كامل سيادة لبنان وسلامة أراضيه ووحدته الوطنية واستقلاله السياسي". وأعلن دعم مجلس الأمن الدولي لإجراء الانتخابات الرئاسية وفقا للقواعد الدستورية اللبنانية. كما طالب بانسحاب جميع القوات الأجنبية من لبنان، ونزع سلاح كافة المليشيات اللبنانية وغير اللبنانية. ومن ناحية ثانية اعتبرت جامعة الدول العربية التي تأثرت بمواقف مصر والسعودية وسورية أن قرار مجلس النواب اللبناني شأن داخلي يقع في نطاق ممارسة الدولة لسيادتها. وجاء قرار الحكومة اللبنانية بعد شهور من الصراع السياسي العنيف بين معارضي التعديل الدستوري ومؤيديه. واعتبر معارضو التعديل أنه إجراء غير دستوري لأنه يتم بناء على ضغط قوة خارجية ولمصلحة فرد واحد هو رئيس الجمهورية الحالي. أما مؤيدو التعديل فقالوا ان الاعتبارات الإقليمية ومواجهة الضغوط الأمريكية على سورية لمصلحة إسرائيل تتقدم على الاعتبارات المحلية. وأضافوا أن تمديد ولاية الرئيس لحود أمر ضروري لحماية المقاومة اللبنانية في الجنوب ولتحصين العلاقات السورية اللبنانية.

يتألف المجلس التشريعي من مجلس واحد وهو مجلس النواب. وينتخب أعضاؤه الـ 128 بالاقتراع الشعبي لفترة أربع سنوات. ويجب ألا يقل عمر المرشحين عن 25 سنة. وينتخب المرشحون على أساس نظام اللائحة الحزبية في ستة دوائر انتخابية متعددة العضوية تتطابق مع المحافظات الست. ويجري ملء المقاعد الشاغرة بين انتخابات وأخرى بواسطة الانتخابات الفرعية. وتنقسم المقاعد النيابية الـ 128 بالتساوي بين الطائفتين المسيحية والإسلامية. ويجري تقسيم المقاعد المخصصة لكل طائفة بين المذاهب على أساس نسبة أصحاب كل مذهب من السكان. ويختار الجمهور من بين عدة لوائح حزبية تلتزم كل لائحة منها المقاعد النيابية الموزعة مسبقا على الطوائف. ويحق للناخبين شطب أي عدد يرتأونه من اللائحة الانتخابية. ويتم توفير المعلومات عن توزيع المقاعد النيابية على الجماعات الدينية للجمهور، كما تنشر بأشكال متعددة بما فيها عبر شبكة الإنترنت. ويصوت المواطنون لجميع المرشحين، وليس لأبناء طوائفهم فقط. وتنقسم البلاد الى 13 دائرة انتخابية، ولكل دائرة لوائح للمرشحين من مختلف الطوائف يختار الناخبون من يشاؤوا من بينهم ولكن في حدود العدد المسموح به لكل لائحة. وينتمي بعض المرشحين إلى أحزاب سياسية، ولكن معظم هذه الأحزاب، في واقع الأمر، أحزاب محلية تمثل مصالح سياسية وطائفية محلية. وتشكل هذه الجماعات تحالفات غير رسمية فيما بينها في مجلس النواب.

يقوم كل محافظ بتعيين رئيس لكل قلم اقتراع ضمن محافظته. ويشرف رؤساء الأقلام مباشرة على الانتخابات. ويراقب المجلس الدستوري المؤلف من عشرة أفراد والذي تشكل عام 1990 دستورية القوانين والمراسيم الحكومية، كما يقوم بالفصل في المنازعات الناجمة عن الانتخابات النيابية والرئاسية. ويحكم الانتخابات قانون انتخابي صدرت أحدث صيغة منه سنة 2000.

التصويت في الانتخابات النيابية ليس إجباريا، ويحق لأي مواطن لبناني ـ ذكر أم أنثى تجاوز الحادية والعشرين ـ أن يصوت في الانتخابات العامة. ويحق للمتجنسين الترشح للانتخابات النيابية بعد مرور عشر سنوات على حصولهم على الجنسية. وتخضع الأحزاب السياسية اللبنانية لأحكام قانون الجمعيات الأهلية لسنة 1909 الذي ينطبق على المنظمات السياسية وغير السياسية. وبحسب هذا القانون، على المنظمات إبلإغ الحكومة بتأسيسها وبنظمها الداخلية. وتم تعديل القانون الصادر في سنة 1909، ولكن منطقه الأساسي ما يزال ساريا.

ومن الممكن تشكيل الأحزاب السياسية ولها دور في الانتخابات البرلمانية. لكن معظم هذه الأحزاب تقوم على مصالح طائفية. ومنذ قيام دولة ما بعد عام 1943 كانت السياسة العامة أو سياسة الدولة تخضع لإرادة مجموعة مغلقة نسبيا من زعماء المناطق التقليديين وزعماء الطوائف. وخصص الميثاق الوطني لعام 1943، وهو عبارة عن اتفاقية غير مكتوبة وضعت الأسس السياسية للبنان الحديث، توزيع السلطة السياسية بناء على نظام طائفي يرتكز إلى تعداد السكان لعام 1932. وحتى سنة 1990 كانت مقاعد المجلس النيابي تقسم على أساس 6 إلى 5 بين المسيحيين والمسلمين على التوالي. وقد تغيرت هذه المعادلة وأصبحت مناصفة سنة 1990. ويتم تخصيص الوظائف في الإدارة والمؤسسات الحكومية على المنوال نفسه. وفي الواقع، يستحيل عمليا الحصول على منصب سياسي من دون الدعم القوي من جانب إحدى الجماعات الدينية أو المذهبية. كما حدد الميثاق الوطني توزيع الوظائف العامة على أسس دينية، بما في ذلك توزيع المناصب الثلاثة العليا التي تشكل الترويكا (الثلاثي) الحاكم فأعطى رئاسة الجمهورية لمسيحي ماروني ورئاسة الوزراء لمسلم سنّي ورئاسة مجلس النواب لمسلم شيعي.

أعلى الصفحة

السلطات الانتخابية

أنشأ قانون الانتخابات الصادر عام 2008 هيئة الإشراف على الحملة الانتخابية. تتولى الهيئة ممارسة الرقابة على الإنفاق الانتخاب وقضايا الإعلام والإعلان الانتخابيين. ويشرف وزير الداخلية والبلديات على أعمال الهيئة، ويعود له أن يحضر اجتماعاتها متى يشاء، فيترأس هذه الاجتماعات دون أن يشارك في التصويت.

أعلى الصفحة

الإنتخابات الرئاسية

انتخب مجلس النواب اللبناني في 25 أيار/مايو 2008 قائد الجيش العماد ميشال سليمان رئيسا للجمهورية لولاية مدتها 6 سنوات. ونال العماد سليمان موافقة 118 نائبا من أصل 127 نائبا حضروا جلسة الانتخاب. وشغل العماد سليمان منصب رئاسة الجمهورية الذي ظل شاغرا منذ يوم 24 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2007 وذلك في أعقاب انتهاء مدة ولاية رئيس الجمهورية السابق إميل لحود التي دامت من عام 1998 إلى عام 2007، وتضمنت ولاية استثنائية مدتها ثلاث سنوات بناء على تعديل دستوري استثنائي لمرة واحدة أقره مجلس النواب اللبناني في أيلول/سبتمبر 2004.

وقد تولت الحكومة، وفقا لنص الدستور، إدارة شؤون الدولة إلى حين اتفاق القوى السياسية على مرشح جديد. وفي 21 أيار/مايو 2008 انتهت الأزمة اللبنانية التي دامت 17 شهرا حين توصل الزعماء اللبنانيين الى الاتفاق على صيغة لحل كل القضايا الخلافية وسمي هذا الاتفاق بـ "إعلان الدوحة". واتفق الأطراف على أن يدعو رئيس مجلس النواب البرلمان اللبناني للانعقاد وفي 25 أيار/مايو 2008 طبقا للقواعد المتبعة لانتخاب المرشح التوافقي العماد ميشال سليمان رئيسا للجمهورية.

أعلى الصفحة

الإنتخابات التشريعية

جرت أحدث انتخابات نيابية في لبنان في 7 حزيران/يونيو 2009 وفق قانون الانتخابات الصادر عام 2008 والذي يوزع 128 مقعداً على 26 دائرة انتخابية وفقاً لاتفاق الدوحة. أنشأ قانون الانتخابات الجديد هيئة الإشراف على الحملة الانتخابية. يشرف وزير الداخلية والبلديات على أعمال الهيئة، ويعود له أن يحضر اجتماعاتها متى يشاء، فيترأس هذه الاجتماعات دون أن يشارك في التصويت. تنافس في هذه الانتخابات 587 مرشحاً من بينهم 12 امرأة فقط على 128 مقعداً في مجلس النواب. وقد تم تسجيل حوالي 3,257,224 مقترع يمثلون ازدياداً بنسبة 7% في عدد السكان المسجّلين لانتخابات العام 2005 . وكان للموارد المالية دوراً كبيراً في الحملة الانتخابية. فبالإضافة إلى التقارير حول شراء الأصوات المباشر، بدا جلياً أن توفير الخدمات الصحية والتربوية وغيرها من الخدمات الاجتماعية من قبل مؤسساتٍ وشبكات تابعة لمجموعات سياسية قد لعب دوراً كبيراً في كسب الدعم الانتخابي. بلغت نسبة الاقتراع في هذه الانتخابات 54.08%. حافظت قوى 14 آذار على الأغلبية داخل مجلس النواب بفوزها بـ 71 مقعداً من أصل 128 بينما حصلت قوى 8 آذار على 57 مقعداً. وقد تم انتخاب 4 نساء بحيث يشكلن 3% من البرلمان الجديد، وتشكل هذه النسبة انخفاضاً بالنسبة إلى العام 2005 حيث تم انتخاب 6 نواب نساء أي أقل من 5%.

جرت انتخابات تشريعية في 4 مراحل خلال الفترة 29 أيار/مايو و19 حزيران/يونيو 2005. وكانت هذه أول انتخابات تشريعية تجري منذ 30 عاما في غياب الوجود العسكري السوري مما أعطاها حيوية ملفتة للنظر. وجرت الانتخابات على أساس القانون الانتخابي لعام 2000 رغم إجماع غالبية القوى السياسية على أنه قانون غير عادل من زاوية تقسيمه للدوائر الانتخابية. وشملت الانتخابات التشريعية 5 محافظات هي: بيروت والجنوب وجبل لبنان والبقاع والشمال. ويحق لكل مواطن لبناني بلغ 21 سنة من العمر التصويت في الانتخابات. وبلغ عدد الناخبين المسجلين 2.8 مليون ناخبا وعدد الذين اقترعوا فعلا 1.2 مليون مما يجعل معدل المشاركة 42.9%. وتراوح معدل المشاركة بين 36% في محافظة بيروت و 55.5% في جبل لبنان. وتنافس 432 مرشحا على شغل 111 مقعدا نيابيا من أصل 128 مقعدا نظرا لإعلان فوز 17 نائبا بالتزكية قبل بدء العملية الانتخابية في محافظات بيروت والجنوب وجبل لبنان. وخاضت الانتخابات جميع القوى السياسية والأحزاب الرئيسية والشخصيات المستقلة. وشاركت في الانتخابات القوى والأحزاب السياسية المسيحية التي سبق لها أن قاطعت انتخابات عامي 2000 و 1996، وفي مقدمها التيار الوطني الحر بزعامة ميشال عون، وتيار القوات اللبنانية الذي يتزعمه سمير جعجع. وتميزت الانتخابات بوجود تحالفات لقوى سياسية كبرى لم تترك أي أمل بالفوز للمرشحين المنفردين والمستقلين. وسيطر تيار المستقبل وحلفائه على محافظة بيروت فيما سيطر تحالف حزب الله وحركة أمل على محافظة الجنوب وعلى دائرة بعلبك – الهرمل في محافظة البقاع. وسيطر التيار الوطني الحر على دائرة كسروان في جبل لبنان. وعموما تمثلت المعركة ككل في صراع بين تحالف قوى المعارضة بزعامة "تيار المستقبل" والقوى السياسية الموالية للحكم الحالي والمتحالفة مع رئيس الجمهورية إميل لحود. وجاءت النتائج النهائية على النحو التالي: تمكن تحالف قوى المعارضة من الحصول على 72 مقعدا نيابيا الأمر الذي أعطى للمعارضة أغلبية مطلقة تتيح لها تقرير من يشغل منصبي رئاسة مجلس النواب ورئاسة الحكومة والحصول على أصوات كافية لإقرار مشاريع القوانين التي تتبناها. ولم يتمكن التحالف الموالي للحكم من الحصول على الثلث المعطل في مجلس النواب بعد أن خسر جميع المقاعد النيابية المخصصة لمحافظة الشمال. وأدخلت الانتخابات 61 نائبا جديدا إلى البرلمان فيما غابت وجوه وزعامات تاريخية عن عضويته. وتضاعفت عضوية المرأة في المجلس النيابي إذ ارتفع عدد العضوات من 3 إلى 6 نساء يشكلن 4.7% من أعضاء المجلس. وراقب الانتخابات التشريعية عدد من البعثات تضم مراقبين أجانب، بالإضافة إلى "الجمعية اللبنانية من أجل انتخابات ديمقراطية" ومندوبين عن جميع المرشحين. وضمت بعثة الاتحاد الأوروبي 62 مراقبا. وأنتجت الانتخابات أربع قوى سياسية رئيسية تتحكم بمجلس النواب اللبناني الحالي وهي: تيار المستقبل الذي أسسه الرئيس رفيق الحريري (يمثل الطائفة السنية أساسا)؛ حركة أمل وحزب الله (يمثلان الطائفة الشيعية أساسا)؛ الحزب التقدمي الاشتراكي بزعامة وليد جنبلاط (يمثل الطائفة الدرزية أساسا)؛ والتيار الوطني الحر بزعامة ميشال عون (يمثل الطائفة المارونية أساسا).

أعلى الصفحة

الإنتخابات المحلية

جرت الانتخابات البلدية والاختيارية في لبنان خلال أيار/مايو 2010، على أربعة دورات: الدورة الأولى في جبل لبنان، والثانية في البقاع وبيروت، والثالثة في جنوب لبنان، والدورة الرابعة والأخيرة في شمال لبنان. وشملت العملية الانتخابية 964 بلدية منها 212 فازت بالتزكية أي 22%، و7 بلديات لم تجر فيها انتخابات إما لاسباب ترتبط بانسحاب المرشحين أو بقرارات صدرت عن مجلس الوزراء اللبناني لظروف خاصة. بلغ عدد الناخبين المسجلين 3,311,000 ناخباً وقاربت نسبة المشاركة في كل المراحل 47%، علماً أنه لا يمكن الحديث عن معدل وسطي عام لأن نسبة الاقتراع كانت متدنية جداً في بلديات ومرتفعة جداً في أخرى. وبلغ عدد المرشحين الإجمالي على مستوى المحافظات 24,000 مرشح ومرشحة تنافسوا على 11,424 مقعداً بلدياً، وبلغت نسبة النساء 6.5%. أما على مستوى المخاتير فبلغ عدد المرشحين 6053 مرشحاً ومرشحة تنافسوا على 2578 مقعداً من بينهم 33.2% من النساء.

جرت الانتخابات البلدية السابقة في أيار/مايو 2004 حيث تم انتخاب 300ر15 من المخاتير وأعضاء المجالس البلدية. وكان الإقبال على الاقتراع منخفضا إذ بلغ 20% في بيروت نتيجة لاستياء الناخبين من القانون الانتخابي الحالي. ولم يكن الإقبال في مدينة طرابلس أفضل مما كان عليه في بيروت. لكن الإقبال كان كبيراً في محافظتي جبل لبنان والجنوب حيث فاز حزب الله بـ 87 مقعداً بلدياً من أصل 142 مقعداً. وعلى الرغم من هزيمة اللائحة المدعومة من رئيس الوزراء رفيق الحريري في مدينته صيدا فان لائحته فازت في بيروت، بينما خسر منافسه التقليدي على رئاسة الحكومة عمر كرامي في طرابلس.

كما جرت انتخابات بلدية خلال أيار/مايو وحزيران/يونيو 1998. كما حصلت جولة انتخابات بلدية أخرى سنة 2001 في المناطق المحررة حديثا من جنوب لبنان بعد انسحاب اسرائيل منها في أيار/مايو 2000.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Elections: Lebanon
You may also
 

Overview

The President of the Lebanese Republic must be a Christian Maronite elected by a two-thirds majority of the legislature, and he heads the executive branch of the Lebanese Republic. If no candidates are able to meet the two-thirds majority requirement in the first round of voting, voting proceeds to the second round. In this round, an absolute majority suffices to elect the president. The president holds a six-year term, and may be re-elected only after a break of six years.

Top of this page

Election Laws, Systems and Processes

Lebanon is a parliamentary democracy in which the people constitutionally have the right to change their government. However, from the mid-1970s until the parliamentary elections in 1992, civil war precluded the exercise of political rights. According to the constitution, direct elections must be held for the parliament every 4 years. Parliament, in turn, elects a president every 6 years. The last presidential election was conducted in 1998, but instead of holding a new one in 2004, the parliament passed a constitutional amendment to extend the incumbent president’s term exceptionally for an additional three years. The required two-thirds majority was easily met because the prime minister, who had earlier opposed the measure, lined up his supporters in favor of it. Only twenty-nine deputies voted against it, and three were absent, but four ministers resigned in protest against what they viewed as external intervention in Lebanon’s internal affairs. Public opinion polls also indicated substantial majorities of Lebanese opposed to the amendment. On September 2, a day before the Lebanese parliament voted for the amendment, the United Nations Security Council had voted 9-0 (with China, Russia, Algeria, Brazil, Pakistan, and the Philippines abstaining) for Resolution 1559, co-sponsored by France, Britain and Germany, demanding “strict respect of Lebanon's sovereignty, territorial integrity, unity, and political independence of Lebanon,” and, consequently, the holding of the presidential elections as stipulated by the constitution and the withdrawal of all foreign troops from Lebanon. On the other hand, the Arab League, influenced by Egypt and Saudi Arabia as well as Syria, viewed the Lebanese parliament’s decision as an internal affair and exercise of state sovereignty. The Lebanese government’s decision had come after months of severe conflict between opponents and supporters of the constitutional amendment. The opponents considered the proposed amendment unconstitutional because it was carried out under pressure from an external power and for the sake of one specific person, the incumbent president. The supporters argued that regional considerations and United States pressure on Syria in favor of Israel have priority over local considerations, and that the extension of President Lahhoud’s term is needed to protect Lebanese resistance in the south and to fortify Syrian-Lebanese relations.

The unicameral legislature is the National Assembly, composed of the Chamber of Deputies (Majlis al-Nuwwab). The 128 members of the Chamber of Deputies are elected by popular vote for four-year terms. Candidates must be at least 25 years of age. Candidates are elected by a party-list system from five multi-member constituencies, which correspond to the five governorates. Seats vacated in between elections are filled through by-elections. The 128 seats are equally divided between the Christian and Muslim communities. The seats granted to each community are further subdivided between various sects based on their proportions in the Lebanese population. The public selects from among various party lists, each of which conforms to the pre-established allotment of seats among confessions. Voters are free to cross out as many names as they choose from the list. Information on the distribution of seats among religious groups is available to the public, disseminated in many forms, including via the Internet. Citizens vote for all candidates, not just members of their own religious orientation. The country is divided into 13 electoral districts, and in each district there are lists of candidates from the various religious communities from among whom voters may choose, although a fixed number of candidates from each list must be elected. Some candidates belong to various political parties but most of these parties are in fact local, and represent the local political or confessional interests. These groupings then form informal alliances in the Assembly.

The Governor of each province appoints a president for each of the polling stations within his region. Elections are directly overseen by these local officials. The ten-member Constitutional Council that was created in 1990 judges the constitutionality of governmental acts and also adjudicates in the event of litigation during parliamentary and presidential elections. Elections are governed by the Electoral Law, the most recent version of which was promulgated in 2000.

Voting is not mandatory, and any Lebanese citizen—male or female over the age of 21—is eligible to vote in national elections. Naturalized citizens may run for parliamentary office only after ten years following naturalization. Political parties in Lebanon are governed by the 1909 Law of Associations, which applies to both political and non-political organizations. According to this ruling, organizations are required to inform the government of their establishment and of the by-laws of the association. The law has been modified since 1909, but its basic premise remains unchanged.

Political parties may be formed and play a role in parliamentary elections. However, most are based on sectarian interests. Since the emergence of the post-1943 state, national policy has been determined largely by a relatively restricted group of traditional regional and sectarian leaders. The 1943 national pact, an unwritten agreement that established the political foundations of modern Lebanon, allocated political power on an essentially confessional system based on the 1932 census. Until 1990, seats in parliament were divided on a 6-to-5 ratio of Christians to Muslims; at that point the ratio changed to parity. Positions in the government bureaucracy are allocated on a similar basis. Indeed, gaining political office is virtually impossible without the firm backing of a particular religious or confessional group. The pact also allocated public offices along religious lines, with the top three positions in the ruling "troika" distributed with the presidency going to a Maronite Christian, the premiership to a Sunni Muslim, and the presidency of the National Assembly to a Shia Muslim.

Top of this page

Election Authorities

The 2008 Election Law established a Supervisory Commission on the Electoral Campaign. The Commission’s two main areas of competence relate to campaign financing and media issues. The Minister of Interior and municipalities supervises the Commission’s work and may chair its meetings, but does not have the right to vote.

Top of this page

Presidential Elections

The Lebanese parliament elected on May 25, 2008 the commander of the Lebanese army General Michel Sulaiman as Lebanon's new president for a 6-year term. General Sulaiman's election was approved by 118 parliament members out of 127 members who attended the election session. The position of Lebanon's president had been vacant since November 24, 2007 following the end of the term of ex-President Emile Lahhoud who remained in power from 1998 to 2007, a period which included an extended 3-year term based on an exceptional one-time constitutional amendment approved by the Lebanese parliament in September 2004.

The Lebanese government had governed the country until the various political parties agree on electing a new president. On May 21, 2008 - The 17 month-old Lebanese crisis came to an end when the Lebanese leaders reached an agreement -The Doha Declaration - on all disputed issues. The parties agreed that the parliament's speaker will invite the parliament to convene on May, 25, 2008 to elect the reconciliatory candidate, General Michel Sulaiman as Lebanon's president.

Top of this page

Legislative Elections

Latest parliamentary elections in Lebanon took place on June 7, 2009 according to the 2008 Election Law that allocates 128 seats among 26 electoral districts, as per the Doha Agreement. The new Election Law established a Supervisory Commission on the Electoral Campaign. The Commission’s two main areas of competence relate to campaign financing and media issues. The Minister supervises the Commission’s work and may chair its meetings, but does not have the right to vote. 587 candidates competed in these elections for 128 seats in the Parliament. Only 12 of the 587 candidates were women. The number of registered voters was around 3,257,224 representing around a 7% increase in the number of citizens registered for the 2005 elections. Financial resources played an excessively large role in the electoral campaign. In addition to reports of direct vote-buying, it was evident that the provision of health, education and other welfare services by permanent foundations and networks affiliated to different political groups played a significant role in achieving electoral support. The participation rate in these elections was 54,08%. The March 14 coalition retained the majority by winning 71 out of 128 seats in the parliament while the 8 March coalition won 57 seats. Four women were elected and will constitute 3% of the new parliament, even less than the 5% representation in the outgoing parliament.

Legislative elections in Lebanon took place in 4 phases between May 29 and June 19, 2005. These were the first legislative elections in 30 years to take place in the absence of the Syrian military presence, a fact that gave these elections remarkable vitality. The elections were conducted according to the electoral law of the year 2000 despite the admission by most political parties and leaders that it is an unfair law as far as the distribution of electoral districts is concerned. The elections covered 5 governorates: Beirut, South Lebanon, Mount Lebanon, Biqaa and North Lebanon. Every citizen 21 years old or over was eligible to vote. The total number of registered voters was 2.8 million, of whom 1.2 million did vote. The rate of participation was 42.9%. It ranged from 36% in Beirut to 55.5% in Mount Lebanon. 432 candidates competed for 111 out of 128 parliamentary seats because 17 seats were not contested and the winners were declared before the voting took place in Beirut, South Lebanon and Mount Lebanon. All major political parties, groupings and personalities ran in the elections. Christian political parties and groupings that had boycotted the elections of 1996 and 2000 participated in the current elections, most notably the "Free Patriotic Stream" led by General Michel Aoun, and the "Lebanese Forces Stream" led by Samir Ja'ja'. The elections were characterized by unprecedented alliances and coalitions across the political board that left very small chance for independent candidates to win. In general, the main battle was between the coalition of opposition political parties and those parties loyal to the regime of president Lahhoud. The final results gave a stunning victory to the opposition coalition that won 72 parliamentary seats and controlled around 90 seats out of 128 seats thereby gaining the power to pass any legislation and to nominate the prime minister and the speaker. Election results carried 61 new deputies into the parliament while keeping out many prominent political leaders. Female membership in the parliament doubled from 3 to 6 female deputies representing 4.7% of deputies. The elections were monitored by several missions of foreign observers, including 62 observers representing the European Union. The Lebanese society for Democratic Elections monitored the elections, as well as local representatives of all candidates. Major political blocks in the current parliament are: "The Future Stream" established by the late prime minister Mr. Rafiq Hariri (mainly Sunnis); Amal Movement and Hizbullah (the Shiite community); the Progressive Socialist Party led by Walid Jumbulat (the Druze community) and the Free Patriotic Stream led by Michel Aoun (the Maronite community).

Top of this page

Local Elections

Municipal and neighborhood-level mayors [Mukhtar] elections in Lebanon took place in May 2010 in four rounds. The first round was held in Mount Lebanon, the second in Beirut and the Bikaa, the third in South Lebanon and the fourth in North Lebanon. The election process involved 964 municipalities of which 212 or 22% were uncontested. Another 7 municipalities did not hold elections for reasons relating to withdrawal of candidates or to decisions made by the government for special reasons. The number of registered voters was 3,311,000 and the participation rate was around 74% for the 4 rounds. However, one cannot speak of an average rate of participation because the voting rate was very low in some municipalities and very high in others. The total number of candidates in all 4 provinces was 24,000 (males and females) who competed for 11,424 municipal seats. Women comprised 6.5% of total candidates. At the neighborhood-level mayors (Mukhtar) elections there were 6053 candidates of both sexes who competed for 2578 seats. Women comprised 33.2% of those candidates.

Earlier Local elections were held in May 2004, to elect 15,300 mukhtars and municipal councilors. Turnout tended to be low, reaching only 20% of the voters in Beirut because of dissatisfaction with the electoral law, and it was not much higher in Tripoli. Only in Mount Lebanon and in the South, where Hizbullah won 87 out of 142 contested municipalities, was the turnout high. Although the list supported by Prime Minister Rafiq al-Hariri in his home town of Saida was defeated, his list won in Beirut, and that of a potential rival as prime minister, Omar Karami, lost in Tripoli.

Local elections were also held in May and June 1998. In 2001 another round of municipal elections took place in the newly liberated areas of South Lebanon after the Israeli withdrawal in May 2000.

Top of this page