إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: النوع الإجتماعي: الجزائر
يمكنكم أيضا
 

أوضاع المرأة

تصف الجمهورية الجزائرية الديمقراطية الشعبية نفسها بأنها تسير في طريق الانتقال التدريجي نحو المساواة بين الذكور والإناث. وجادلت الحكومة الجزائرية عام 1999 عند تقديمها التقرير الأولي المتعلق بالتقدم الذي أحرزته في السنتين الماضيتين بخصوص "اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة"، بأنه لا بدّ من إقامة توازن بين تحسين مكانة المرأة والاتجاهات الاجتماعية المتجذرة.

أعلى الصفحة

قانون الأحوال الشخصية

سبق للجماعات النسائية الجزائرية أن ركزت جهدها على تحسين الخدمات الاجتماعية المقدمة للمرأة وعلى إصلاح قانون الأحوال الشخصية لعام 1984. وينص قانون الأحوال الشخصية على حضور المرأة أمام المحاكم الإسلامية التي تطبق الشريعة الإسلامية من اجل تسوية شؤونها الشخصية، بينما يرتكز بقية النظام القضائي الجزائري على القانون المدني الفرنسي. والزوج هو الوصي قانونيا على زوجته وفقا لقانون الأحوال الشخصية. وترث المرأة مقدارا أقل مما يرثه إخوانها. وعبّر المسؤولون الجزائريون في تقريرهم الذي قدموه إلى الأمم المتحدة سنة 1999 عن أملهم بإصلاح قريب لقانون الأحوال الشخصية. وكان ذلك الإصلاح موضع بحث في سنة 2003. وصادق المجلس الشعبي الوطني في 14 آذار/مارس 2005 عل مرسوم رئاسي بتعديل قانون الأسرة الصادر سنة 1984. لكن التعديل أبقى على فرض ولي أمر على المرأة. وأدانت جمعيات الدفاع عن حقوق المرأة هذا التعديل لعدم استجابته لمطلبها بإلغاء تعدد الزوجات ومنح المرأة حق التطليق.

أعلى الصفحة

الإصلاحات المتعلقة بالنوع الاجتماعي

عيّن الرئيس بوتفليقة أول امرأة في منصب وال، وأول امرأتين كرئيستي هيئة قضائية في تاريخ الجزائر. وارتفع عدد النساء اللواتي يتدربن كقضاة في آب/أغسطس 2001 من 15 إلى 137 امرأة من مجموع 404 متدربين. وشهدت أحدث انتخابات تشريعية عقدت سنة 2002 زيادة في عدد النساء أعضاء "المجلس الشعبي الوطني" من 13 إلى 25 (من مجموع 389 عضوا). منح التعديل الدستورية المرأة - في12 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2008 - مجالاً أوسع للمشاركة في الحياة السياسية من خلال إلزام الأحزاب بتخصيص نسبة معينة لتمثيل المرأة، على أن يتم تحديد هذه النسبة لاحقاً عبر قانون يتم إصداره في المجالس المنتخبة على المستوى الوطني والمحلي. وتضم جميع الأحزاب السياسية الرئيسية أقساما نسائية. ونفذت الحكومة برامج ضد الفقر وبرامج لتحديد النسل بهدف تحسين وضع المرأة. وبحسب مصادر البنك الدولي، انخفض معدل الخصوبة الإجمالي (عدد الولادات للمرأة الواحدة) من 6.7 ولادات عام 1980 إلى 3.5 ولادات عام 1998.

احتوى التشريع الجزائري على أحكام خاصة بحماية المرأة العاملة. ونص القانون على وجوب تساوي أجور ومرتبات الرجال والنساء بالنسبة لمستويات الكفاءة والأداء المتساوية. وشكلت المرأة 36 بالمئة من قوة العمل الجزائرية سنة 1997 وفقا لتقرير التنمية البشرية لعام 2000 الصادر عن برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي. وواصلت نسبة المرأة في قوة العمل ارتفاعها على الرغم من تزايد نسبة البطالة وحدوث ركود اقتصادي كبير. والجهاز الحكومي هو أكبر قطاع للعمل النسائي. ويشتغل ثلث النساء تقريبا (28 بالمئة) معلمات في المدارس الابتدائية، بينما تعمل 24 بالمئة منهن في الأعمال المكتبية سكرتيرات أو موظفات مبيعات. وتعمل 12 بالمئة من النساء في الأعمال غير الماهرة كالخدمة المنزلية، وتعمل 6 بالمئة في مجال العمل اليدوي. وظل معدل الأمية بين الإناث مرتفعا نسبيا إذ بلغ 42 بالمئة سنة 2001 بعد أن كان 76 بالمئة سنة 1980.

أعلى الصفحة

اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة

وافقت الجزائر على اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة سنة 1997 مع إبداء تحفظاتها عليها. وتعطي الجزائر الأولوية للشريعة الإسلامية على الاتفاقية حينما يوجد تعارض بينهما. ومن اجل الوفاء بالتزاماتها بموجب اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة، وبموجب مؤتمر بكين لعام 1995، عمدت الحكومة إلى تشكيل لجنة دائمة تابعة لـ "وزارة التضامن الوطني والعائلة".

أعلى الصفحة

القوى الاجتماعية

أوقعت الحرب الأهلية إصابات كثيرة بين قوات الحكومة والمعارضة الإسلامية شملت النساء والأطفال. وفي الواقع، استهدفت بعض هجمات إرهابية نفذها إسلاميون النساء وأطفالهن عن قصد. كما قامت القوات الإسلامية بقتل النساء لعدم ارتدائهن الحجاب في الأماكن العامة، وأيضا كجزء من الاغتيالات السياسية. ووصلت تقارير إلى جماعات حقوق الإنسان تفيد بوقوع عشرات العمليات من اغتصاب للنساء وخطفهن، وما يزال أشخاص كثيرون في عداد المفقودين. كما أن القوات شبه العسكرية المدعومة من الحكومة تورطت في عمليات قتل خارج نطاق القانون وعمليات العنف الجنسي وغيرها من أنواع إساءة المعاملة ضد النساء.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Gender: Algeria
You may also
 

Conditions of Women

The People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria is on a self-described “gradual” transition to gender equality. In the 1999 filing of the initial two-year progress report on the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW), the Algerian government argued that improving women’s status must be balanced against deeply-held social attitudes.

Top of this page

Law of Personal Status

Women’s groups in Algeria have largely focused on improving women’s social welfare and reforming the 1984 Personal Code. The Personal Code dictates that women must appear in Islamic court under Islamic law to settle affairs, while the rest of the Algerian legal system is based on French civil law. A husband is a wife’s legal guardian under the personal status code. Women receive less inheritance than their male siblings. In their 1999 report to the UN, Algerian officials expressed hope that the Personal Code would be reformed soon. Reform was under discussion in 2003. The Algerian parliament approved on March 14, 2005 a presidential decree which amends the Family Law of 1984. However, the amendments did not remove the requirement that every woman have a male guardian. The decree was condemned by NGOs that defend the rights of women because it did not meet their demand to abolish polygamy and grant women the right to divorce.

Top of this page

Gender Reforms

President Bouteflika appointed the first female provincial governor and the first two female presiding judges in Algerian history. Women examining judges were increased in number in August 2001 from 15 to 137, out of a total of 404. The most recent legislative elections, held in 2002, increased the number of female members of the People’s National Assembly from 13 to 25 (out of a total of 389 members). Constitutional amendments in November 2008 also provided women with a wider margin of participation in political life through committing political parties to allocate a certain proportion for women's representation. The exact ratio of that allocation will be determined at a later date by a law to that effect promulgated by elected councils at the national and local levels. All major political parties include women’s divisions. The government has implemented anti-poverty and contraception programs to improve the status of women. According to the World Bank, the total fertility rate (births per woman) has fallen from 6.7 in 1980 to 3.5 in 1998.

Algerian legislation has made special provision for the protection of women in the workforce. That Act also provides for wage and salary equality by specifying that men and women shall receive equal pay for equal levels of qualification and performance. Women comprised 36% of the Algerian workforce in 1997 according to the United Nations Development Programme's Human Development Report of 2000. The percentage of women in the workforce had continued to increase despite rising unemployment and a substantial recession. The largest sector of female employment is the civil service. Nearly one-third (28%) of women are employed as elementary school teachers, 24% are office workers, secretaries or salespersons, 12% have unskilled jobs such as household help, and 6% work at manual labour. Female illiteracy remains relatively high, 42% in 2001, but that is down from 76% in 1980.

Top of this page

Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW)

Algeria acceded to the CEDAW in 1997 with reservations as to primacy of Islamic law over the convention when the two were in conflict. To fulfill its obligations under the CEDAW and the 1995 Beijing Conference, the government has established a Standing Committee under the Ministry of National Solidarity and Family.

Top of this page

Social Forces

The civil war between government military forces and the Islamic opposition resulted in substantial casualties, including women and children. In fact, some Islamic terrorist attacks used to specifically target women and their children. Islamic forces also killed women for failing to wear veils in public and as acts of political assassination. Dozens of rapes and kidnappings were reported to human rights groups, and there are still many cases of missing persons. Paramilitary forces supported by the Government had also been implicated in extra-judicial killings, sexual violence, and other acts of gender-based abuse.

Top of this page