إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: النوع الإجتماعي: عُمان
يمكنكم أيضا
 

أوضاع المرأة

عُمان واحدة من أكثر الدول تقدمية في منطقة الخليج بالنسبة إلى حقوق المرأة. فمنذ السبعينات شجعت الحكومة العُمانية بقوة تعليم الإناث فجاءت نتائج هذا التشجيع مثيرة للإعجاب. وللنساء حق التصويت والترشح في الانتخابات. وما تزال مشاركة المرأة في قوة العمل منخفضة، كما يتواصل التمييز ضد المرأة في بعض المجالات. ولكن عُمان تبرز كنموذج لبقية بلدان الخليج. وتمنح جميع القوانين والأنظمة العمانية القائمة النساء فرصا متكافئة في مجالات التجارة والعمل والخدمة المدنية والضمان الاجتماعي.

كانت الانتخابات النيابية التي جرت في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2003 أول انتخابات أتاحت للمرأة حرية المشاركة من دون أي قيود. وقد سجلت 95 ألف امرأة نفسها من مجموع 262 ألف مواطن تسجلوا للتصويت. وارتفع عدد النساء المسجلات 5000 امرأة مقارنة بانتخابات سنة 2000. وعلى الرغم من زيادة مشاركتهن، فشلت النساء العمانيات في زيادة حجم تمثيلهن في مجلس الشورى. وكانت التوقعات قبل الانتخابات كبيرة حول انتخاب المزيد من النساء لعضوية مجلس الشورى، ولكن لم تفز أي من المرشحات لأول مرة وعددهن 13 امرأة. وتمت إعادة انتخاب المرشحتين اللتين كانتا من أعضاء مجلس الشورى السابق.

أدى تعليم الإناث إلى خفض معدل الأمية خفضا كبيرا. ففي العام 1970 لم يكن هناك أي مدارس للبنات في عُمان. وبحلول عام 1984 كان 84 بالمئة من النساء الراشدات ما يزلن أميات. وتم خفض هذه النسبة منذ سنة 2002 إلى 34.6 بالمئة. ومع أن ارتفاع نسبة الأمية ما يزال مشكلة وطنية، فقد تساوت المرأة مع الرجل في مجال التعليم. ففي العام الدراسي 1997-1998 كان نصف الطلاب المسجلين من البنات. ومع ذلك لم يلتحق بالتعليم الأساسي سنة 2000 سوى 64 بالمئة من البنات و 65 بالمئة من الأولاد. وتم اعتماد نظام الحصص النسبية للجنسين في مجال التعليم الجامعي ما تسبب في وجود تخصصات علمية يسيطر عليها الذكور وتخصصات أخرى تسيطر عليها الإناث.

أعلى الصفحة

قانون الأحوال الشخصية

الوضع الشخصي للمرأة تفرضه الشريعة الإسلامية. فالقانون العُماني يفرض على المرأة الحصول على إذن والدها أو زوجها أو أحد أفراد عائلتها من الذكور للسماح لها بالسفر إلى خارج البلاد. وترث النساء مقدارا أقل من مقدار أقربائها الذكور. وصدّقت عُمان اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لحقوق الطفل سنة 1996.

أعلى الصفحة

الإصلاحات المتعلقة بالنوع الاجتماعي

يضم مجلس الدولة حاليا 8 نساء قام السلطان بتعيينهن في المجلس. وتم تعيين أول امرأة في منصب سفير في أيلول/سبتمبر 1999 حيث تولت سفارة بلادها في هولندا. وعيّن السلطان قابوس السيدة راوية بنت سعود البوسعيدي في منصب وزير التعليم العالي. وكانت هذه أول امرأة في تاريخ عُمان تشغل منصب وزير. وتشكل النساء حوالى 20 بالمئة من الموظفين الحكوميين. وتشغل النساء 13 بالمئة من الوظائف الإدارية العليا.

لم يتم استغلال الزيادة في تعليم المرأة في الاقتصاد العُماني. ففي سنة 2000 شكلت المرأة 17 بالمئة من قوة العمل. ووصلت بعض النساء إلى المراكز المهنية العليا في الحكومة وفي مجال الأعمال التجارية وفي مجال الإعلام. ويحظر القانون التمييز على أساس النوع في أماكن العمل، كما ينص على تساوي أجور النساء والرجال لنفس الأعمال. ولكن المرأة ما تزال تتعرض للتمييز في مجال الترقيات. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، أظهر المسؤولون الحكوميون تحيزا على أساس النوع في توزيع منح الأراضي والقروض المالية. وتحصل النساء في القطاعين العام والخاص على إجازة ولادة مدفوعة الأجر لمدة 40 يوما.

أعلى الصفحة

اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة

مع أن عُمان خطت خطوات واسعة في مجال حقوق المرأة، إلا أنها حتى آذار/مارس 2004 لم توقع اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة.

أعلى الصفحة

القوى الاجتماعية

وزارة الشؤون الاجتماعية والعمل والتدريب المهني هي الجهة الحكومية المسؤولة عن قضايا المرأة. وتدعم هذه الوزارة شؤون المرأة من خلال تمويل ومساندة "جمعية النساء العُمانيات" وغيرها من الجمعيات النسائية. ولجمعية النساء العُمانيات 23 فرعا في كافة أنحاء البلاد ويبلغ عدد عضواتها 3000. وتشمل أنشطة الجمعية تنظيم المحاضرات الصحية والاجتماعية، ورياض الأطفال، وبرامج التدريب على الأشغال اليدوية. كما توفر الجمعية خدمات استشارية وإرشادية غير رسمية للنساء اللواتي يواجهن مصاعب متصلة بالطلاق، وللبنات اللواتي يتم تزويجهن رغم إرادتهن، وللنساء والبنات اللواتي يعانين العنف المنزلي وسوء المعاملة الأسرية. وتنشط أيضا 50 جماعة في أرجاء البلاد في سبيل تحسين وضع المرأة وزيادة إسهامها في المجتمع.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Gender: Oman
You may also
 

Conditions of Women

Oman is one of the more progressive states in the Gulf region in the area of women’s rights. Since the 1970s, the Omani government has actively promoted female education with impressive results. Women have the right to vote and run for office in elections. Female participation in the workforce remains low and areas of discrimination persist, but Oman stands out as a model for other countries in the Gulf. All present laws and regulations in Oman give equal opportunities to women in trade, labor, civil service and social insurance.

The parliamentary elections in October 2003 were the first in which women were free to participate without restrictions. About 95,000 women registered to vote of a total of 262,000 registered voters, up from 5,000 registered female voters in the 2000 elections. Despite increased participation, Omani women failed to increase their representation in Oman's Consultative Council (Majlis ash-Shoura). Expectations before the elections were high that more women would be elected to the consultative council, but none of the 13 first-time female candidates won. The two female incumbents were both re-elected, however.

Female education has dramatically reduced illiteracy. In 1970, there were no schools for girls in the country. By 1984, 84% of adult women were still illiterate. As of 2002, that has been reduced to 34.6%. Although high illiteracy remains a national problem, women have achieved gender parity with men in education. By 1997-1998, half of enrolled students were girls. Still, only 64% of girls and 65% of boys were enrolled in primary education in 2000. A gender quota system has been established in higher education, which accounts for male and female dominated disciplines.

Top of this page

Law of Personal Status

Women’s personal status is dictated by Islamic law. In Oman, the law requires that women have the permission of a father, husband, or male family member to travel outside the country. Women receive less inheritance than their male relatives. Oman ratified the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child in 1996.

Top of this page

Gender Reforms

Currently, eight women serve in the Council of State (Majlis Ad-Dawla), appointed by Sultan Qaboos. The first female ambassador was appointed to the Netherlands in September 1999. Sultan Qaboos appointed Rawya bint Saud al-Bousaidi as Minister for Higher Education, making her the first female minister in Oman’s history. Approximately 20% of civil servants are women, with 13% of senior management positions held by females.

The increased education of women has yet to be utilized in Oman’s economy. In 2000, 17% of the workforce consisted of women. Some women have achieved professional level positions in government, business, and the media. Gender discrimination is prohibited in the workplace and the law provides for equal pay for equal work, but woman have encountered discrimination with respect to promotions. Additionally, government officials have shown gender bias in the distribution of land grants and loans. Women in the public and private sectors are granted 40 days of paid maternity leave.

Top of this page

Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW)

Though Oman has made tremendous strides in promoting women’s rights, it has not signed the Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women as of March 2004.

Top of this page

Social Forces

The Ministry of Social Affairs, Labor, and Vocational Training is responsible for women issues at the governmental level. The Ministry supports women's affairs by funding and supporting the Oman Women's Association (OWA) and grassroots women organizations. The OWA has 23 chapters all over the country with a membership of 3,000 women. Typical OWA activities include sponsoring health or sociological lectures, kindergarten services, and handicraft training programs. The OWA provides services such as teaching and kindergarten, but also provides an informal counseling and support role for women with divorce-related difficulties, girls forced to marry against their will, and women and girls suffering from domestic abuse. There are also 50 affiliated groups throughout the country that work to improve the status of women and their contributions to society.

Top of this page