إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: النوع الإجتماعي: الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة
يمكنكم أيضا
 

أوضاع المرأة

تواجه النساء في قطاع غزة والضفة الغربية قدرا كبيرا من التمييز الاجتماعي ومن عدم المساواة. وقد أسهم النضال الفلسطيني ضد إسرائيل في نشوء حركة نسائية نشطة وقوية شكلت جزءا جوهريا من النضال الوطني. وقد شاركت نساء كثيرات، في أثناء الانتفاضة، في المقاومة وفي التظاهرات ضد الحكومة الإسرائيلية. ومنذ اتفاقات أوسلو لعام 1993 أخذت الحركة النسائية بالتوسع في نشاطها ليشمل التصدي للتمييز وللعنف ولقضايا أخرى تمس حياة النساء الفلسطينيات. ولكن طاقة هذه الجماعات النسائية ظلت محدودة نتيجة لنقص الموارد وبفعل مقاومة الثقافة السائدة للتغير الاجتماعي.

تظهر الدراسات المسحية المختلفة وجود تأييد كبير لحقوق المرأة السياسية والاقتصادية. ولكن هذا التأييد ينخفض انخفاضا كبيرا بالنسبة إلى علاقات الملكية بين الرجال والنساء، ولإعادة توزيع السلطة داخل الأسرة أو الزواج إزاء توسعة حقوق النساء في هذه المجالات. وسجلت المسوحات أعلى تأييد لحقوق المرأة في مجال حقوقها السياسية (حقها في التصويت وفي شغل المناصب السياسية). وسجل أيضا وجود إقرار واسع نسبيا بقدرات المرأة السياسية والقيادية.

تلعب النساء الفلسطينيات دورا اكبر في الاقتصاد الوطني حيث شكلن 35 بالمئة من مجموع الزيادة في عدد الوظائف سنة 1999. وتميل النساء إلى العمل في قطاعات الزراعة والخدمات الخاصة والعامة. وكان لتجدد الصراع مع إسرائيل تأثيرا مدمرا في الاقتصاد الفلسطيني، إذ أدى إلى خفض حاد في حجم الناتج المحلي الإجمالي منذ تفجر الصراع، وأدى نتيجة للإهمال إلى إبطاء أي تقدم في معالجة قضايا التمييز ضد المرأة في مجال العمل أو التوظيف.

كانت مشاركة النساء في التظاهرات والمسيرات وفي القتال في أثناء انتفاضة الأقصى اقل منها في الانتفاضة السابقة. ولاحظ البعض أن النساء ابتعدن عن أحداث العنف لان معظم الصدامات كانت تحصل عند الحواجز الإسرائيلية على الحدود التي تفصل بين الفلسطينيين والإسرائيليين. وقد نشطت النساء والجماعات النسائية في تقديم الدعم والمساعدة للجرحى من الفلسطينيين.

التحدي الأخير الذي يواجه السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية هو ارتفاع معدل النمو السكاني. ويبلغ معدل الخصوبة لدى المرأة الفلسطينية 7 ولادات في غزة و 5.6 ولادات في الضفة الغربية. وهذا المعدل يفوق كثيرا مثيله على الصعيد الإقليمي البالغ 3.3 ولادات. وتدل الدراسات على وجود اهتمام بتخطيط الأسرة، ولكن السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية تواصل إعطاء بيانات متناقضة حول هذه المسألة. وتؤيد وزارتا الصحة والتعليم تخطيط الأسرة، ويبلغ معدل استخدام موانع الحمل بين الفلسطينيات 42 بالمئة. وفي الوقت نفسه نظرت السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية إلى النمو السكاني كاستراتيجية للضغط على إسرائيل في المفاوضات حول الأراضي. وقد أسهم هذا الموقف الذي ترافق مع تأييد الإسلاميين لإنجاب عدد كبير من الأطفال في الزيادة السكانية السريعة، وخصوصا في قطاع غزة.

أعلى الصفحة

قانون الأحوال الشخصية

تحدد الشريعة الإسلامية الأحوال الشخصية للنساء المسلمات في قطاع غزة والضفة الغربية. والشريعة هي المرجع الأساسي للخلافات الزوجية وللطلاق والميراث وحضانة الأطفال ومعظم المجالات الأخرى التي تمس حياة النساء. وحمل صعود حركة حماس وغيرها من الجماعات الإسلامية معه مطالبات متزايدة بالعودة إلى التفسيرات "التقليدية" للإسلام ولأحوال النساء الشخصية. وعلى الرغم من أن النقاشات بهذا الخصوص خفتت بعد تجدد التوتر مع إسرائيل، فما يزال المجتمع الفلسطيني منقسما حول هذه القضية. وما زال العنف ضد الإناث منتشرا في المجتمع الفلسطيني، وخصوصا العنف المرتبط بالحفاظ على شرف العائلة. وتواجه الجماعات النسائية صعوبة في مكافحة العنف ضد المرأة بسبب وصمة العار الاجتماعي التي تلحق بمن يناقش هذه المسألة علنا.

أعلى الصفحة

الإصلاحات المتعلقة بالنوع الاجتماعي

شكلت النساء 42 بالمئة من مجموع الناخبين في انتخابات 1996، ولكن تمثيلهن في الحكومة ظل محدودا. فالنساء يشغلن خمسة مقاعد فقط من مقاعد المجلس التشريعي الـ 88. وتوجد امرأة واحدة وزيرة في حكومة السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية. ويرى البعض أن ارتفاع معدلات الأمية بين النساء (25 بالمئة) جعلهن يتركن مسألة تصويتهن في الانتخابات لأقاربهن الذكور.

أعلى الصفحة

اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة

لم تصدّق السلطة الفلسطينية "اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة"، ولكن اللجنة التي نظرت في هذه الاتفاقية دعمت بقوة المشروعات الهادفة إلى تحسين مكانة المرأة الفلسطينية.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Gender: Occupied Palestinian Territories
You may also
 

Conditions of Women

Women living in the Gaza Strip and West Bank face substantial social discrimination and inequality. The Palestinian struggle against Israel has fostered an active and strong women’s movement that was an integral part of the national struggle. During the intifada, many women directly participated in protests and resistance to the Israeli government. Since the 1993 Oslo Accords, this movement has begun to expand to deal with discrimination, violence, and other issues that affect the lives of Palestinian women. But these groups have been limited by a lack of resources and by cultural resistance to social change.

Various surveys tend to show that there is high support for women’s political rights and a similar level of support for women’s economic rights – but in areas which concern changes in property relations between men and women or in the re-distribution of power within the family or marriage there is a radical drop in support for an expansion of women’s rights . Highest support is scored for women’s political rights (in terms of voting rights and holding political office) and there is also a relatively high acceptance of women’s political and leadership abilities.

Palestinian women are playing a larger role in the economy, comprising 35% of total domestic job growth in 1999. Women tend to be primarily employed in the agricultural, services, and public services sectors of the economy. Renewed conflict with Israel has had a devastating effect on the Palestinian economy, sharply reducing the GDP since the conflict broke out and, by default, delaying progress in addressing issues of discrimination against women in employment.

Women have participated less in street protests and fighting in the Al-Aqsa intifada than during the previous intifada. Some have observed that women have been more removed from the violence because clashes take place at Israeli checkpoints at the borders of communities. Women and women’s groups have been active in providing support and assistance to those injured in the fighting.

A final challenge facing the PNA is the high level of population growth. The total fertility rate (births per woman) is 7.0 in Gaza and 5.6 in the West Bank, well above the regional average of 3.5. Studies indicate that there is public interest in family planning, but the PNA continues to provide conflicting statements on the issue. The health and education ministries support family planning, and national contraceptive use is at 42%. At the same time, the PNA has seen population growth as a strategy to put pressure on Israel in land negotiations. This, combined with Islamic support for large families, has contributed to rapid population growth, particularly in the Gaza Strip.

Top of this page

Law of Personal Status

The personal status of Muslim women in the Gaza Strip and West Bank is dictated by Islamic law that serves as the basis for disputes over marriage, divorce, inheritance, child custody, and most other areas affecting women’s lives. The rise of Hamas and other Islamist groups have brought increasing demands for a return to “traditional” interpretations of Islam and the personal status of women. Although these debates have been sidetracked by the renewed tensions with Israel, Palestinian society remains divided on the issue. Gender-based violence is common in the nation, particularly as related to preserving family honor. Women’s groups report difficulty combating violence due to the social stigma against publicly discussing the issue.

Top of this page

Gender Reforms

In the 1996 elections in Palestine, women comprised 42% of voters, but their representation in government remains limited. Women fill only five of the 88 seats on the National Legislative Council (PLC). One minister in the Palestinian National Authority (PNA) is a woman. Some have suggested that the high levels of female illiteracy (25%) contributed to many women allowing male relatives to decide how their votes should be cast.

Top of this page

Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW)

The PA has not ratified the Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women, but the convention's committee has actively supported projects aimed at improving the status of Palestinian women.

Top of this page