إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: النوع الإجتماعي: قطر
يمكنكم أيضا
 

أوضاع المرأة

يلتزم الشيخ حمد بن خليفة آل ثاني تحسين وضع المرأة. وقد بادر الشيخ حمد، منذ توليه الحكم سنة 1995، إلى إطلاق عملية الانتقال إلى الديمقراطية بمشاركة نسائية كاملة، ودعا إلى إعطاء دور أكبر للإناث في الحياة العامة. وعلى الرغم من ارتباطهن العميق بالتقاليد، فان النساء القطريات يخطون خطوات مثيرة للإعجاب نحو تحقيق المساواة مع الرجال.

عقدت قطر في آذار/مارس 1999 أول انتخابات في تاريخها. وترشحت ست نساء لعضوية المجلس البلدي لكنهن لم يفزن بأي مقعد. وشكلت النساء 44 بالمئة من مجموع الناخبين في تلك الانتخابات، ولكنهن فشلن في تقديم دعم كاف للمرشحات. وأعطت الانتخابات البلدية الثانية التي جرت في نيسان/إبريل 2003 قطر أول مسؤولة رسمية منتخبة في تاريخها وهي شيخة يوسف الجفيري التي فازت بالتزكية بعد انسحاب المرشحين الاثنين اللذين كانا ينافسانها على المقعد البلدي. وفشلت مرشحتان آخرتان في الفوز بمقعد بلدي.

أعلى الصفحة

قانون الأحوال الشخصية

أصدر الأمير الشيخ حمد بن خليفة آل ثاني"قانون الأسرة" في 29 حزيران/يونيو 2007. ويتألف القانون من 301 مادة تناولت مختلف جوانب العلاقات الأسرية بدءا من تحديد سن الزواج للجنسين وتوثيق عقود الزواج، مرورا بحقوق الزوجين والميراث والوصية وشروط الحضانة. ونص القانون على حق المرأة في فسخ الزواج وفي الخلع. وحرّم القانون الزواج "بصفة مؤقتة". ومنح القانون المرأة حق طلب التفريق من زوجها بسبب غيابه عن موطنه أو محل إقامته لمدة سنة فأكثر. ونصت المادة الثانية من القانون على أن تتولى الفصل في الدعاوى والمنازعات المتعلقة بمسائل الأسرة والتركات دائرة أو أكثر في المحكمة الابتدائية ومحكمة الاستئناف تسمى "محكمة الأسرة".

أعلى الصفحة

الإصلاحات المتعلقة بالنوع الاجتماعي

شغلت النساء العديد من المناصب الحكومية في حقبة التسعينات وزادت نسبتهن في الوظائف الحكومية 61 بالمئة بين عامي 1991 و 1997. وأعطى الشيخ حمد للنساء فرصا كبيرة لدخول الحكومة حتى أنه عيّن امرأة في منصب وزاري. فقد أصبحت شيخة بنت أحمد المحمود وزيرة للتربية والتعليم في نيسان/إبريل 2003 بعد أن كانت تشغل منصب وكيل تلك الوزارة. وكانت أخت الشيخ حمد قبل هذا التعيين تشغل أعلى منصب شغلته امرأة في قطر وهو منصب نائب رئيس "اللجنة العليا لشؤون الأسرة". عموما، تشكل النساء 15 بالمئة فقط من مجموع قوة العمل. وتشجع الأعراف الاجتماعية النساء بقوة على البقاء في البيوت. وعلى الرغم من ذلك، استطاعت النساء تحقيق نجاحات في مجال التعليم والطب والإعلام. وحمل الشيخ حمد لواء الصحافة الحرة، فألغى وزارة الإعلام وسمح بازدهار الإعلام الخاص. وقد أثارت محطة تلفزيون "الجزيرة" الكثير من الجدل في المنطقة العربية لانفتاحها واستعدادها لمناقشة الموضوعات الخلافية، بما فيها موضوع حقوق المرأة.

ازداد شغل المرأة القطرية للمناصب الحكومية بشكل ملحوظ في عقد التسعينات، وحقق زيادة بلغت 61% بين عامي 1991 و 1997. ووفر الشيخ حمد للنساء فرصا كبيرة للمشاركة في المؤسسات الحكومية، بما في ذلك تعيين امرأة وزيرة في الحكومة هي شيخة بنت أحمد المحمود التي أصبحت وزيرة للتربية والتعليم في نيسان/إبريل 2003 بعد أن كانت تشغل منصب وكيل وزارة التربية والتعليم. وسبق لشقيقة شيخة حمد أن شغلت منصب نائب رئيس "اللجنة العليا لشؤون الأسرة" وهو أعلى منصب شغلته امرأة في قطر في حينه.

أعلى الصفحة

اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة

حتى نيسان/إبريل 2007 لم تصدّق قطر اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة.

أعلى الصفحة

القوى الاجتماعية

تعارض الغالبية من المواطنين القطريين، ذكورا وإناثا، أن تلعب المرأة دورا نشطا في الحياة العامة. وقد رسخت الخلفية الإسلامية التقليدية للأمة، وخصوصا في أوساط كبار السن، موقفا نقديا من التحديث على النمط الغربي ومن حقوق المرأة. وقد ساند الشيخ حمد حقوق المرأة، ولكنه صرّح بأن التغيير يجب أن يلطّف بالمعتقدات التقليدية. ولا توجد مجموعات نسائية نشطة في البلاد. وما تزال المدارس وأماكن العمل تقوم على الفصل بين الجنسين.

في السنوات الخمس الأخيرة لعبت زوجة الأمير الشيخة موزة بنت ناصر المسند دورا نشطا جدا في الحياة العامة القطرية على خلاف ما تقضي به التقاليد الاجتماعية حول دور المرأة. ومن بين جهودها المتعددة، تعهدت الشيخة موزة برنامجا لرفع مستوى التحصيل الدراسي بين الفتيات. وبلغت نسبة المسجلين في التعليم الأساسي في سنة 2000 (96 بالمئة) من الفتيات و (95 بالمئة) من الأولاد. وكان معدل أمية الراشدين 19.6 بالمئة للرجال و 15.6 بالمئة للنساء في سنة 2002. وتوفر الحكومة التعليم المجاني والرعاية الصحية والسكن والخدمات العامة لجميع المواطنين.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Gender: Qatar
You may also
 

Conditions of Women

Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa al-Thani of Qatar is committed to improving the status of women in Qatar. Since assuming power in 1995, Sheikh Hamad has initiated a transition to democracy with the full participation of women and advocated a larger female role in public life. Although deeply bound to tradition, women in Qatar are making impressive strides towards gender equality.

In March 1999, Qatar held the first elections in the nation’s history. Six women ran for positions on the Municipal Council, though none succeeded in winning a seat. Women comprised 44% of voters in the election, but failed to support the female candidates in substantial numbers. The second municipal elections in April 2003 gave Qatar its first female elected official, Sheikha Yusuf al-Juffairi, after her two male competitors simultaneously dropped out of the race, leaving her unopposed. Two other female candidates failed to win seats.

Top of this page

Law of Personal Status

The Family Law, promulgated by the Emir Sheikh Hamad Ben Khalifa Al-Thani on June 29, 2007, is made of 301 articles that address all aspects of family relations, such as setting a minimum marriage age for both sexes, certifying marital contracts, the rights of husbands and wives, inheritance, wills and child custody. The Law also gives the wife the right to end the marriage under certain conditions, and banned “temporary marriage” (limited duration). It also gives a wife the right to request nullifying her marriage contract if the husband was away from the country or from his place of residence for one year or longer without making his whereabouts known to his wife and living up to his family obligations. The second article of the Family Law stipulates that cases concerning family disputes are to be heard by one or more chamber in the court of first instance and court of appeal. That chamber is to be called The Family Court.

Top of this page

Gender Reforms

Women’s presence in government positions grew significantly in the 1990’s, showing a 61% increase between 1991 and 1997. Sheikh Hamad has given women significant opportunities in government, even appointing a woman to the cabinet. Sheikha bint Ahmed al-Mahmud, formerly undersecretary of education, became Minister of Education in April 2003. Sheikh Hamad’s sister previously held the highest position given to a woman as deputy chairman of the Higher Committee for Family Affairs. Overall, women comprise only 15% of the total labor force and social codes strongly encourage women to stay in the home. Still, women have been able to achieve success in education, medicine, and the media. Sheikh Hamad has championed a free press, abolishing the Ministry of Information and allowing private media to flourish. The television station Al-Jazeera has created substantial controversy throughout the Arab region through its openness and willingness to discuss controversial issues, including women’s rights.

Women’s presence in government positions grew significantly in the 1990’s, showing a 61% increase between 1991 and 1997. Sheikh Hamad has given women significant opportunities in government, even appointing a woman to the cabinet. Sheikha bint Ahmed al-Mahmud, formerly undersecretary of education, became Minister of Education in April 2003. Sheikh Hamad’s sister previously held the highest position given to a woman as deputy chairman of the Higher Committee for Family Affairs.

Top of this page

Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW)

As of April 2007, Qatar had not ratified Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW).

Top of this page

Social Forces

The majority of Qatar’s citizens, male and female, oppose women taking an active role in public life. The traditional Islamic background of the nation, particularly among the older generation, has fostered a critical attitude towards westernization and women’s rights. Sheikh Hamad has supported women’s rights, but also states that change must be tempered with traditional beliefs. There are no active women’s groups in the nation. Education and most workplaces remain segregated by sex.

In the last five years, the Sheikh’s wife, Sheikha Moza bint Nasser al-Masnad, has taken a very active role in the public sphere, contrary to tradition. Among other efforts, she has undertaken a program to increase educational achievement among girls. In 2000, 96% of girls and 95% of boys were enrolled in primary education. Adult illiteracy was 19.6% for men and 15.6% for women in 2002. The government provides free education, health care, housing, and utilities to all citizens.

Top of this page