إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: النوع الإجتماعي: السعودية
يمكنكم أيضا
 

أوضاع المرأة

دور المرأة في الحياة العامة في السعودية مقيدا تقييدا شديدا. ومع أن وضع المرأة تحسن في مجالي التعليم والتوظيف، فان غياب حقوق الإنسان لكل مواطن يعيق كثيرا قدرة النساء على التمتع بهذه المكاسب.

حققت السعودية منذ الستينات تقدما كبيرا في مجال تعليم الإناث. وبلغت نسبة الفتيات المسجلات في مرحلة التعليم الأساسي 66 بالمئة من مجموع الفتيات من الفئة العمرية الموازية، بينما التحقت بالمرحلة الثانوية 64 بالمئة من مجموع الفتيات من الفئة العمرية الموازية، والتحقت بالجامعات 25 بالمئة من الإناث في سن التعليم الجامعي. ومعدلات الالتحاق المقابلة بالنسبة إلى الذكور هي على التوالي 69 بالمئة و 71 بالمئة و 20 بالمئة. وتبلغ نسبة الإناث 58 بالمئة من جميع الطلبة الجامعيين في السعودية. ولكن النساء ما زلن يواجهن صعوبة في دراسة بعض الموضوعات كالهندسة والصحافة والهندسة المعمارية. وبحسب مصادر البنك الدولي ما تزال 1ر33 بالمئة من النساء الراشدات أميات في مقابل 17 بالمئة من الرجال الراشدين.

وللأسف فان الاستفادة الاقتصادية من التعليم ما تزال محدودة نتيجة لفصل قوة العمل على أساس الجنس. وتشكل النساء 16 بالمئة من قوة العمل، وهي نسبة بالكاد تتخطى نصف المعدلات الإقليمية. وتعمل النساء أساسا في التعليم والرعاية الصحية وفي وظائف الخدمة المدنية التي يسهل عزلها على أساس الجنس. ووفقا لمنظمة العفو الدولية تمتلك النساء 390ر16 مصلحة تجارية، فيما تمتلك الإناث 40 بالمئة من الثروة الخاصة في المملكة. ومع ذلك، تسمح معظم النساء لأقاربهن الذكور بالتحكم في مصالحهن الاقتصادية بدلا من تقبلهن لتحمل هذه المسؤوليات العامة.

أعلى الصفحة

قانون الأحوال الشخصية

تقع المسائل القانونية المتعلقة بالنساء عادة في نطاق سلطة المحاكم الإسلامية التي تعتمد القانون الديني كأساس لقراراتها. ويعطي "مجلس كبار العلماء" التفسير النهائي للقانون الإسلامي في السعودية بموافقة الملك. وقلّص تفسير الحكومة السعودية للإسلام كثيرا دور المرأة في الحياة العامة. فشهادة الرجل في المحكمة تساوي شهادة امرأتين. ويمكن للرجل الحصول على الطلاق بمجرد طلبه ذلك، بينما يفرض على المرأة العزلة عن جميع الذكور من غير أفراد أسرتها المباشرين. وبالتالي يفرض تطبيق الفصل بين الجنسين في جميع أماكن العمل. ولا تستطيع النساء الحصول على رخصة قيادة سيارة، كما يمنع أن يقود سياراتهن رجال من غير أفراد عائلاتهن. ويجب أن تحصل المرأة على موافقة خطية من أحد أفراد أسرتها الذكور لكي تتلقى العلاج الطبي.

أعلى الصفحة

الإصلاحات المتعلقة بالنوع الاجتماعي

لا يوجد حاليا أي نشاط سياسي نسائي منظم. ويفرض عزل النساء عن الرجال في كافة الاجتماعات العامة، ولا يسمح للنساء بعقد اجتماعات عامة خاصة بهن. وفي القطاع الخاص, انتخبت الجمعية العمومية "للبنك السعودي الهولندي" في 1 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2004 السيدة لبنى العليان عضوا في مجلس إدارة البنك، وهي أول سيدة سعودية تشارك في مجلس إدارة بنك وتشغل منصب الرئيس التنفيذي الأعلى لشركة العليان المالية، وعضو في المجلس العربي للأعمال المنبثق عن المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي. وناقش المسؤولون الحكوميون في السنوات الأخيرة مسألة إعطاء أوراق هوية شخصية للنساء. وستكون هذه أول خطوة باتجاه الاستقلال القانوني للنساء من خلال فصل هوياتهن الشخصية عن أزواجهن أو آبائهن. ويمكن أن تكون هذه الخطوة أساسا لمنح النساء جوازات سفر، وقروضا مصرفية، ووسائل أخرى تزيد استقلالهن الذاتي. وقد أدلى الأمير عبد الله، نائب رئيس الوزراء، بتصريحات علنية أيد فيها زيادة دور المرأة في الحياة العامة.

وتوجد امرأتان بين أعضاء مجلس الشورى، وهو مجلس وطني استشاري من 120 عضوا يعينهم الملك. وفي صيف عام 2000 عينت الأميرة الجوهرة بنت فهد بن محمد بن عبد الرحمن آل سعود وكيلا مساعدا لشؤون التعليم، وهذا أعلى منصب حكومي شغلته امرأة في تاريخ المملكة. أمر الملك عبد الله بن عبد العزيز آل سعود في 12 نيسان/إبريل 2007 بتعيين الأميرة الدكتورة الجوهرة بنت فهد بن محمد بن عبد الرحمن آل سعود مديرة لجامعة الرياض بالمرتبة الممتازة. وهذه هي المرة الأولى التي تعين فيها امرأة مديرة لجامعة سعودية. وشغلت الدكتورة الجوهرة سابقا منصب عميدة كلية التربية للبنات في الرياض لمدة 10 أعوام، ثم منصب وكيلة تعليم في وكالة الكليات للبنات.

أعلى الصفحة

اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة

وقعت الحكومة السعودية في آب/أغسطس 2000 اتفاقية "القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة"، مع تحفظها على ما يتعارض مع الشريعة الإسلامية. وما زال أمام السعودية إحراز تقدم كبير في مجال المساواة بين الجنسين قبل أن تتمكن من تحقيق أهداف هذه الاتفاقية. وافق وزير الداخلية السعودي في 22 نيسان/إبريل 2005 على اللائحة المعدلة لنظام الجنسية الذي صدر في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 1945 ولم يطرأ عليه أي تعديل. وتنص المادة 17 حاليا على أن المرأة السعودية لا تفقد جنسيتها إذا تزوجت بأجنبي إلا إذا قررت ذلك وأعلنت التحاقها بجنسية زوجها. ومن المعروف أن السعودية لا تسمح لمواطنيها بحمل جنسيتين في آن واحد.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Gender: Saudi Arabia
You may also
 

Conditions of Women

Women have a sharply restricted role in public life in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Although the status of women has improved in the areas of education and employment, the lack of human rights for every citizen severely hampers the ability of women to enjoy these gains.

Since the 1960s, Saudi Arabia has made substantial gains in the education of women. Primary enrollment rates for girls have reached 66%, with secondary enrollment at 64% and higher education enrollment at 25%, versus enrollment for men at 69%, 71% and 20%, respectively. 58% of all university students are women. However, women are still limited from studying some subjects, such as engineering, journalism, and architecture. According to the World Bank, 33.1% of adult women are illiterate, compared to only 17% of adult men.

Unfortunately, the economic usefulness of women’s education remains limited by the segregated work force. Women comprise 16% of the labor force, which is barely over half of the regional average. Women are primarily employed in education, health care, and civil service jobs, which can more easily be sex-segregated. According to Amnesty International, approximately 16,390 businesses are owned by women and females own 40% of the nation’s private wealth. Nevertheless, most women allow male relatives to control their economic interests rather than accept these public responsibilities.

Top of this page

Law of Personal Status

Legal matters pertaining to women are usually the purview of Islamic courts that use religious law as the basis for decisions. The Council of Senior Ulama makes the final interpretation of Islamic law in Saudi Arabia with the consent of the king. The Saudi government’s interpretation of Islam has sharply curtailed women’s role in public life. A man’s testimony is equal to that of two women in court. A man may receive a divorce simply upon request, while a woman must win a legal decision to separate. Additionally, women are required to remain segregated from all males who are not members of their household. Therefore, all workplaces must be segregated by sex. Women cannot receive driver’s licenses, nor are they allowed to be driven by men who are not family members. A woman must obtain the written consent of a male family member to receive medical treatment.

Top of this page

Gender Reforms

Currently, there is little organized political activity by women. All public meetings must be sex-segregated and women are not allowed to conduct public meetings by themselves. But in the business sector the general assembly of the Saudi-Dutch Bank elected Mrs. Lubna Al-Alyyan as a member of the Bank's Board of Directors on December 1, 2004. She is the chief executive officer of Olayan Corporation and a member of the Arab Business Council, a subsidiary of the Global Economic Forum. In recent years, government officials have discussed granting identity cards to women. This would be the first step towards women’s legal independence by giving then an identity distinct from their husbands or fathers. That could serve as the basis for granting passports, offering bank loans, and other means of increasing women’s autonomy. Crown Prince Abdullah, the Deputy Premier, has made public statements in support of increasing women’s role in public life.

Two women are members of the Majlis Al-Shura, a 120 member national consultative council appointed by the king. In the summer of 2000, Princess Al-Jawhara Fahad bin Mohammed bin Abdel Rahman al-Saud was appointed assistant undersecretary for Education Affairs—the highest position ever held by a woman in the Saudi government. And on April 12, 2007 the klng issued a decree appointing the first Saudi woman as president of a university. Princess Dr. Al-Jawhara bint Fahd Al-Saud was appointed president of Riyadh University for Women after having served for ten years as dean of the College of Education for Women in Riyadh and undersecretary of education for women's colleges.

Top of this page

Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW)

In October 2000, the Saudi government signed the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW) with a reservation for conflicts with Islamic law. To achieve the goals set out in the CEDAW, Saudi Arabia still needs to make substantial progress towards gender equity. The Saudi minister of interior approved on April 22, 2005 the modified list of the citizenship regulations that was issued in October 1945 and had not been modified since that date. Article 17 now states that a Saudi woman will not lose her citizenship if she marries a foreigner unless she chooses to obtain her husband's citizenship. Saudi Arabia does not allow dual citizenship.

Top of this page