إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: النوع الإجتماعي: الصومال
يمكنكم أيضا
 

أوضاع المرأة

كان للحرب الأهلية ولاستمرار غياب حكومة مركزية تأثير مدمر في الصومال وفي المواطنات الصوماليات. وغالبا ما سقط النساء والأطفال ضحايا العنف العشائري في أثناء الحرب. ونشرت تقارير تشير إلى اعتداءات استهدفت النساء في "بيدواة" في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2003. وأدى تدمير البنية التحتية إلى استمرار انتشار الجوع والمرض والفقر في الصومال. وقدّرت منظمة "اليونيسيف" أن مليون صومالي، معظمهم من النساء والأطفال، معرضون حاليا لخطر المجاعة.

تعتبر مشاركة المرأة في قوة العمل مسألة ثانوية بالنسبة لمسألة التنمية الاقتصادية الوطنية. واستنتج أحدث تقرير لبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي عن الصومال أن غياب البنية التحتية ونقص الاستثمارات وتفشي البطالة والتدهور البيئي تشكل عوائق في وجه التعافي الاقتصادي. وتشكل المرأة حاليا 43 بالمئة من قوة العمل.

معدل الخصوبة الإجمالي للمرأة الصومالية مرتفع ويبلغ 7.2 ولادات للمرأة الواحدة. وكان لنقص الخدمات العامة، بما فيها الرعاية الصحية والتعليم ومياه الشرب النظيفة، آثار سلبية على صحة الأطفال وتسببت في ارتفاع معدل وفيات الأطفال. وتعتبر الصومال واحدة من الدول التي تتصف بأدنى معدلات معرفة القراءة والكتابة حيث كانت نسبة الصوماليات اللواتي يعرفن القراءة والكتابة 26 بالمئة من مجموع الصوماليات في سنة 2001، بينما كانت النسبة المماثلة بين الرجال 50 بالمئة للسنة ذاتها. وأدى غياب المؤسسات الحكومية إلى معدل التحاق بالمدارس الابتدائية لم يتجاوز 20 بالمئة من الأطفال في سن التعليم الأساسي. وتبلغ نسبة البنات بين تلاميذ مرحلة التعليم الأساسي 48 بالمئة على الرغم من أن الإناث يشكلن 65 بالمئة من مجموع سكان الصومال.

أعلى الصفحة

قانون الأحوال الشخصية

يتحكم القانون المدني والقانوني الجنائي لما قبل الحرب بالمكانة القانونية للمرأة في الصومال، ولكن هذه القوانين لم تطبق طوال عقد كامل. ويحظر الدستور الصومالي التمييز على أساس الجنس. لكن قانون الأحوال الشخصية يورث المرأة نصف ما يرثه إخوانها الذكور. وقاوم بعض المسلمين دخول المرأة إلى الحياة العامة.

أعلى الصفحة

الإصلاحات المتعلقة بالنوع الاجتماعي

بذلت الجماعات النسائية جهدا كبيرا في سبيل تحقيق السلام وإعادة بناء الصومال. واجتمعت في سنة 2000 جميع العشائر الصومالية في جيبوتي وتمكنت من تشكيل حكومة انتقالية. وحصلت المرأة على 25 مقعدا من مقاعد المجلس الوطني الانتقالي وعددها 245 مقعدا. وتم توزيع المقاعد بشكل يحافظ على التكافؤ بين العشائر المتنافسة. وتم تمثيل كل عشيرة من العشائر الرئيسية الأربع بخمس نساء، فيما خصصت المقاعد النسائية الخمس المتبقية للعشائر الصغيرة. وشكلت النساء من أعضاء المجلس الوطني الانتقالي فيما بينهن كتلة تمثل مصالح المرأة الصومالية متجاوزة التقسيمات العشائرية. ويخصص البرلمان الاتحادي الانتقالي الذي سيخلف قريبا المجلس الشعبي الانتقالي 12 بالمئة من مقاعده الـ 275 للنساء. وضمت الحكومة الوطنية الانتقالية منذ تشكيلها في سنة 2000 على الدوام وزيرتين من أعضائها، على الرغم من تعرض الحكومة للتعديل مرتين. وأعلنت ثلاث نساء عزمهن على الترشح لرئاسة الجمهورية عندما يعقد البرلمان الاتحادي الانتقالي انتخابات رئاسة الجمهورية المفترضة في سنة 2004. وأبرز هؤلاء المرشحات آشا عبد الله، وهي وزيرة سابقة تولت "وزارة تسريح الجيش، ونزع السلاح، وإعادة الاندماج ورعاية المعوقين"، علاوة على كونها عضو وفد مؤتمر السلام الذي عقد في نيروبي. كما أن امرأة تشغل منصب وزيرة الشؤون الخارجية في جمهورية أرض الصومال المنشقة.

أعلى الصفحة

اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة

الصومال ليست من الدول الموقعة على اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة.

أعلى الصفحة

القوى الاجتماعية

مع أن المرأة أقصيت بوجه عام عن مراكز النفوذ العام، فقد نشطت عدة جماعات نسائية في العمل من اجل السلام. وجمعية "صوت المرأة الصومالية من اجل السلام والمصالحة والحقوق السياسية" منظمة غير حكومية مقرها الصومال وتعمل على الصعيد الدولي من اجل تحسين وضع المرأة الصومالية. وعملت عدة جماعات نسائية في منطقة هرغيسيا على تلبية حاجات النساء والأطفال. وأعيق عمل هذه الجماعات النسائية بسبب غياب بنية اتصالات تحتية ونتيجة لصعوبة تنشيط الجهود في ظل ظروف كهذه. وتشمل الشبكات الأربع الرئيسية من المنظمات النسائية 90 بالمئة من الجماعات النسائية الصومالية. والشبكات الأربع هي: منظمة الائتلاف الشعبي النسائي؛ منظمة ايدا لتطوير المرأة؛ "نحن نساء ناشطات" (واوا)؛ ومنظمة "ناجاد". وأطلقت هذه المنظمات الأربع في آذار/مارس 2004 حملة على مستوى الوطن ضد ختان الإناث الذي يمارس بشكل شامل تقريبا في المجتمع الصومالي.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Gender: Somalia
You may also
 

Conditions of Women

The civil war and continuing absence of a central government have had a devastating impact on Somalia and its female citizens. Women and children were frequently victims of clan violence during the war, with the most recent reports of attacks directed against women occuring in Baidoa in December 2003. The destruction of the national infrastructure continues to plague Somalia with hunger, disease, and poverty. UNICEF has estimated that one million people, primarily women and children, are at risk of starvation in Somalia today.

The question of women’s participation in the workforce is largely secondary to the question of national economic development. The lack of infrastructure, investment, rampant unemployment, and environmental degradation are severe barriers to economic recovery. Women currently comprise about 43 percent of the workforce.

Somali women also have a high total fertility rate (births per woman) of 7.2. The lack of public services including health care, education, and clean drinking water has had severe impact on child health and has led to a high child mortality rate. Somalia has among the lowest literacy rates in the world, with 26 percent female and 50 percent male literacy in 2001. The absence of governmental institutions results in a primary school enrollment rate of about 20 percent, and about 48 percent of all primary students are girls, despite the fact that women make up 65 percent of the population as a whole.

Top of this page

Law of Personal Status

The legal status of women in Somalia is currently dictated by the pre-war civil and criminal code, but these laws have not been enforced for a decade. The Somali Constitution prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex. Under the personal status code, however, women are entitled to half of the inheritance of their brothers. Some Muslims have been resistant to women entering the public sphere.

Top of this page

Gender Reforms

Women have played an increased role in the efforts to achieve peace and rebuild Somalia. In 2000, all of the Somali clans met in Djibouti and devised a transition government. Women hold 25 seats in the 245-member Transitional National Assembly (TNA). Seats in the Assembly were distributed to provide parity between competing clans. Each of the four major clans is represented by five women, while the five remaining women are from minor clans. These women have formed a bloc to represent female interests across clan lines. The transitional federal parliament that will soon replace the TNA provides for 12 percent of its 275 members to be women. The Transitional National Government has consistently had two female ministers since its creation in 2000, despite having been reformed twice. Three women have announced their candidacy for president when the transitional federal parliament holds its elections for the position, presumably in 2004; the most prominent among them is Asha Abdalla, former Minister of Demobilization, Disarmament, Reintegration and Disabled Care and a delegate to the Nairobi peace conference. In the breakaway republic of Somaliland, the Minister of Foreign Affairs is a woman.

Top of this page

Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW)

Somalia is not a signatory to the Convention on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW).

Top of this page

Social Forces

Although women have been largely excluded from public positions of power, many groups have actively pursued peace. The Voice of Somali Women for Peace, Reconciliation and Political Rights is a Somali-based NGO that works on the international level to improve the status of Somali women. Several women’s groups in Hargeisa have worked to satisfy the needs of women and children. These women’s groups have been hampered by the lack of a national communications infrastructure and the difficulty of coordinating efforts under such conditions. Four major networks of women’s organizations comprise 90 percent of Somalia’s women’s groups; they include the Coalition of Grassroots Women's Organization (COGWO), IIDA Women's Development Organization, We Are Women Activists (WAWA) and NAGAAD. In March 2004, these four launched a nationwide campaign against female genital mutilation (FGM), which is almost universally practiced in Somalia.

Top of this page