إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: النوع الإجتماعي: السودان
يمكنكم أيضا
 

أوضاع المرأة

خلقت الحرب الأهلية السودانية التي مضى عليها 21 سنة صعوبات وفرصا أمام مشاركة المرأة في الحياة العامة. فقد قتل الآلاف وشرّد الملايين من بيوتهم وقراهم في معارك الحرب الأهلية. وتغرق معظم البلاد في وحل الفقر بعد أن اضعف النزاع جهود التنمية الاقتصادية. وتحملت المرأة والأطفال وطأة هذه المصاعب طوال سنوات. ولكن المرأة استطاعت استغلال الحرب لفرض نفسها في مجال الحياة العامة.

تقدر الأمم المتحدة أن 1.8 مليون شخص، معظمهم من النساء والأطفال، قد هجروا من جنوب السودان إلى مخيمات اللاجئين في شمال السودان وفي الدول المجاورة. وأدت الحرب الأهلية الجديدة في ولاية غرب دارفور إلى تهجير حوالي مليون شخص آخرين. ولا تتوافر للنساء المقيمات في هذه المخيمات فرص اقتصادية، وغالبا ما أجبرن على امتهان الدعارة وعلى صنع الخمر، وهو عمل محظور قانونيا، من أجل إعالة أفراد عائلاتهن. ويذكر تقرير للأمم المتحدة عن هذا الوضع أن 80 بالمئة من النساء في "سجن أم درمان للنساء في الخرطوم" تم سجنهن بسبب ممارسة الدعارة وصنع الخمر.

عندما ينضم الرجال إلى القتال تصبح زوجاتهم المسؤولات عن تدبير معيشة أفراد الأسرة. وفي العديد من الحالات، كانت عائلات بكاملها تضطر للعمل من اجل تحصيل معيشتها. ويعيش نحو 90 بالمئة من السودانيين حاليا تحت خط الفقر. وأوجدت الحرب فرص عمل للنساء، ولكن الصعوبات الاقتصادية الناجمة عن الحرب جعلت معظم النساء يكدحن ليلا ونهارا لتوفير الحد الأدنى من متطلبات المعيشة. وشكلت النساء 42 بالمئة من قوة العمل في سنة 2003.

أضعفت الحرب الأهلية النظام التعليمي في السودان. ففي سنة 2000 كانت نسبة المسجلين بالتعليم الأساسي 50 بالمئة من الأولاد و 42 بالمئة من البنات. ولا يكمل مرحلة التعليم الأساسي إلا 53 بالمئة من التلاميذ المسجلين. ويلغ معدل الأمية بين النساء الراشدات 50.9 بالمئة عام 2002، بينما بلغت نسبة أمية الشابات (15-24 سنة) 25.6 بالمئة. وقد شكلت النساء ما قد يصل 60 بالمئة من الطلاب الجامعيين، ولكن ارتفاع هذه النسبة يرجع جزئيا إلى ارتفاع معدل التحاق الرجال بالخدمة العسكرية. وتشير الإحصاءات إلى أن الوضع التعليمي في الولايات الجنوبية أكثر سوءا بدرجة كبيرة. ويقدّر الالتحاق بالتعليم الأساسي بـ 30 بالمئة من الأولاد و 10 بالمئة من البنات. كما أن 7 بالمئة من المعلمين مؤهلون للتعليم. أما معدل الأمية في الجنوب فهو أعلى منه في الشمال. ويرجع الفرق بين الشمال والجنوب في معدل الأمية أساسا إلى تأثيرات الحرب الأهلية.

أعلى الصفحة

قانون الأحوال الشخصية

عرّف اتفاق السلام الشامل لعام 2005 والدستور الانتقالي السودان كدولة متعددة الأديان تحمي التنوع الثقافي. وتنص المادة 5 من الدستور على استناد التشريع الوطني المطبق في جنوب السودان على قيم وعادات وأعراف سكان الجنوب وليس على الشريعة الإسلامية التي تشكل أساس التشريع الوطني المطبق في شمال السودان. وتطلب المادة 6 من الدولة احترام حقوق الشعب في ممارسة الديانات التي يعتنقها.

أعلى الصفحة

الإصلاحات المتعلقة بالنوع الاجتماعي

تمكنت بعض النساء السودانيات من احتلال مراكز رفيعة في عدد من الميادين. ففي سنة 1964 فتحت الحكومة السودانية مجال القضاء أمام المرأة، ويوجد حاليا خمس قاضيات في المحكمة العليا. ودخلت المرأة مجال التعليم الجامعي والطب والشرطة والجيش. ومع وجود 66 عضوة في المجلس الوطني، تبلغ نسبة البرلمانيات 15% تقريبا ويخصص لهن 10% من المقاعد في مجالس الولايات. وعينّت الحكومة عدة نساء سفيرات. وعيّن رئيس الجمهورية في سنة 2000 مستشارات لشؤون المرأة في منصب وزاري. وأصدر في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2000 مرسوما رئاسيا يمنح بموجبه المرأة إجازة ولادة مدفوعة الأجر لمدة عامين.

أعلى الصفحة

اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة

لتاريخ أيار/مايو 2004 لم يكن السودان طرفا في اتفاقية القضاء على جمسع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة.

أعلى الصفحة

القوى الاجتماعية

نشطت عدة جماعات نسائية في شمال السودان وفي جنوبه. فـ "الإتحاد العام لنساء السودان" ينفذ برامج اجتماعية من خلال فروعه المحلية العديدة. والتحالف النسائي الديمقراطي واحد من اكبر الجماعات النسائية المعارضة للحكومة الناشطة في الشمال. وقد نشطت الجماعات النسائية في مجال الضغط من اجل إحلال السلام ووضع نهاية للحرب الأهلية.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Gender: Sudan
You may also
 

Conditions of Women

The 21-year civil war in Sudan has created both hardship and opportunities for women in public life. Thousands have been killed and millions more displaced from their homes during the fighting. Much of the country is mired in poverty, as the conflict has undermined efforts to economically develop. Women and children have borne the brunt of these hardships over the years. But women have also been able to use the war to insert themselves into public life.

The UN estimates that 1.8 million individuals, mostly women and children, have been displaced from southern Sudan to refugee camps in the North and surrounding countries. The recent civil war in the western province of Darfur has also resulted in the displacement of approximately one million people. Women living in these camps have few economic opportunities and are frequently forced to turn to prostitution and the illegal brewing of alcohol to support their families. A UN report on the situation found that 80 percent of women in Omdurman Women’s Prison in Khartoum were there for prostitution or the production of alcohol.

When men join the fighting, their wives are left to become the family breadwinners. In many cases, entire families must work to provide for themselves. Around 90 percent of Sudanese currently live below the poverty line. The civil war has created opportunities for women to find employment, but the economic hardships of war have left most women scraping to make ends meet. Women comprised 42 percent of the labor force in 2003.

The civil war has undermined education in Sudan. In 2000, 50 percent of boys and 42 percent of girls were enrolled in primary education, while only 53 percent of those enrolled completing primary school. Adult female illiteracy was 50.9 percent in 2002, while youth female illiteracy (ages 15-24) was 25.6 percent. Women may have made up 60 percent of enrolled university students, but this was due in part to the high level of military service among men. Statistics for southern states are considerably lower with regard to education. Primary enrollment is estimated to be around 30 percent of boys and 10 percent of girls, and only 7 percent of teachers are qualified to teach. Illiteracy is also higher in the south, mainly due to the effects of the civil war there.

Top of this page

Law of Personal Status

The Comprehensive Peace Agreement of 2005 and Interim Constitution define Sudan as multi-religious and protect cultural diversity. Article 5 stipulates that national legislation applicable to the southern part of the country shall be based on the values and customs of their people rather than upon Islamic law, which is the basis of national legislation applicable to the northern part of the country. Article 6 requires the state to respect the rights of people to practice their religion.

Top of this page

Gender Reforms

Some women in Sudan have achieved senior positions in a number of fields. In 1964, Sudan opened the judiciary to women and currently five women sit on the high court. Women have become university professors, doctors, and police and army officers. With 66 of them in the National Assembly, they comprised almost 15 per cent of this group of legislators, and they are allocated at least 10 per cent of the seats in every state council. The government has appointed female ambassadors, and in 2000 the President appointed an advisor on women’s affairs to a cabinet position. In November 2000, the President decreed that women would receive two years paid maternity leave.

Top of this page

Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW)

As of May 2004, Sudan is not a party to the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW).

Top of this page

Social Forces

Several women’s groups were operating in both northern and southern Sudan. The Sudanese Women’s General Union executes social programs through numerous local chapters. The Democratic Women’s Alliance is one of the main women’s opposition groups in the North. Women’s groups were also active in pushing for peace and an end to the civil war.

Top of this page