إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: النوع الإجتماعي: البحرين
يمكنكم أيضا
 

أوضاع المرأة

ينص دستور البحرين على المساواة بين الرجل والمرأة وعلى تكافؤ الفرص في مجالات الرعاية الصحية والاجتماعية والتعليم والعمل. ولكن في الواقع نادرا ما يتم تنفيذ هذه القوانين. وما تزال المرأة عرضة للكثير من التمييز من جانب أصحاب العمل من حيث الأجور والتوظيف. وكانت المرأة تمثل 21 بالمئة من قوة العمل في البحرين سنة 2000. وحققت النساء مكاسب كبيرة في مجال التعليم، مع انخفاض نسبة الأمية بينهن إلى 17.4 بالمئة سنة 2000. وتشكل النساء الآن غالبية الطلاب الجامعيين البحرينيين. وازداد دور النساء البحرينيات في المؤسسات الحكومية في السنوات الأخيرة. ولكن معظم النساء يعملن في المكاتب الحكومية في وظائف إدارية مساعدة، ولا يحتل إلا عدد قليل جدا منهن وظائف حكومية عليا. ولم تصل أي امرأة الى عضوية مجلس النواب. لكن تمّ في منتصف سنة 2004 تعيين أول امرأة بحرينية في منصب وزاري حيث عينت الدكتورة ندى حفاظ وزيرة للصحة العامة. وقد رحبت الجميعات النسائية بهذا التعيين . جرى آخر تعديل وزاري في كانون الثاني/يناير 2005 أسندت بموجبه حقيبة وزارية ثانية لامرأة، إذ تم تعيين د. فاطمة البلوشي عميدة كلية التربية في جامعة البحرين وزيرة للشؤون الاجتماعية.

في القطاع الخاص، تم تشجيع النساء على الوصول إلى مراكز اتخاذ القرار، ولا سيما في المصارف حيث وصلت امرأة إلى منصب المدير العام للبنك الوطني للتجارة، بينما شغلت ثلاث نساء وظيفة مدير فرع في بعض البنوك، ووصلت امرأة أخرى إلى مركز مدير شركة تأمين أجنبية. هذا بالإضافة الى عدد آخر من النساء اللواتي يشغلن مناصب إدارية عليا في فروع البنوك والمؤسسات الاستثمارية.

أعلى الصفحة

قانون الأحوال الشخصية

تحدد الشريعة الإسلامية الأحوال الشخصية للمرأة البحرينية. وتوجد فروقات في قانون الأحوال الشخصية للسنّة والشيعة. فالنساء الشيعيات يعاملن بقدر أكبر من المساواة لجهة الميراث والطلاق مقارنة بأقرانهن السنيّات. وللنساء من كلا الجماعتين الحق في التملك وفي تمثيل أنفسهن في المحاكم. والحق في السفر إلى خارج البلاد بحرية، والعمل في القطاعين العام والخاص، وارتداء الملابس التي تروق لهن. صادق البرلمان البحريني في 19 تموز/يوليو 2005 على مسودة قانون لإنشاء جامعة مخصصة للفتيات، وذلك استجابة لمطالب الإسلاميين بالفصل بين الجنسين.

أعلى الصفحة

الإصلاحات المتعلقة بالنوع الاجتماعي

أعلن رئيس الوزراء الشيخ خليفة بن سلمان آل خليفة في أيار/مايو 2000 أن عضوية مجلس الشورى ستكون متاحة للمرأة. وقام الملك بتعيين 6 نساء أعضاء في مجلس الشورى الذي يضم 40 عضوا. كما أصدر ملك البحرين الشيخ حمد بن عيسى آل خليفة مرسوم تشكيل مجلس الشورى الجديد في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2006 وتضمن المرسوم تعيين 10 نساء أعضاء في المجلس الجديد. ونتيجة للتغيرات السياسية التي تمت في سنة 2000 أصبح للنساء الحق في الترشح للمناصب الحكومية وفي التصويت. وقد رشحت 34 امرأة أنفسهن للانتخابات البلدية سنة 2002 من بين 320 مرشحا. وخاضت 8 نساء الانتخابات التشريعية من بين 174 مرشحا في وقت لاحق من السنة نفسها. ولم تفز أي امرأة بمقعد في دورتي الانتخاب. أما في انتخابات 25 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2006 فقد ترشحت 19 امرأة لعضوية مجلس النواب من أصل 206 مرشحين. وفازت امرأة واحدة بعضوية المجلس بالتزكية، وهي السيدة لطيفة القعود. لكن تمّ في منتصف سنة 2004 تعيين أول امرأة بحرينية في منصب وزاري حيث عينت الدكتورة ندى حفاظ وزيرة للصحة العامة. وقد رحبت الجميعات النسائية بهذا التعيين . جرى آخر تعديل وزاري في كانون الثاني/يناير 2005 أسندت بموجبه حقيبة وزارية ثانية لامرأة، إذ تم تعيين د. فاطمة البلوشي عميدة كلية التربية في جامعة البحرين وزيرة للشؤون الاجتماعية .أصدر ملك البحرين الشيخ حمد بن عيسى آل خليفة في 26 نيسان/إبريل 2007 مرسوما بتعيين القاضية ضحى الزياني قاضية في المحكمة الدستورية لتكون بذلك أول امرأة تشغل هذا المنصب منذ إنشاء المحكمة في العام 2002. وتحمل الزياني شهادة دكتوراه في القانون الخاص (القانون المدني) من جامعة القاهرة، وتدرجت في مناصب عدة في وزارة العدل. وكانت البحرين عينت أول امرأة في منصب قاض في 6 حزيران/يونيو 2006.

أطلق المجلس الأعلى للمرأة في البحرين في 8 آذار/مارس 2005 "الاستراتيجية الوطنية للنهوض بالمرأة البحرينية". وتهدف خطة عمل المجلس الأعلى للمرأة إلى تحقيق المشاركة الكاملة للمرأة وتمكينها من شغل المناصب القيادية والوصول إلى مراكز صنع القرار في القطاعين العام والخاص، كما تهدف إلى تغيير الصورة النمطية للمرأة والقضاء على كافة أشكال التمييز ضدها. وسبق لوزارات التربية والصحة والعمل والشؤون الاجتماعية والجمعيات النسائية أن وضعت خططا سنوية وخمسية تهدف إلى تحسين وضع المرأة وتقدمها. ووضعت هذه الجهود البحرين في مصاف الدول العربية الأكثر تقدما في مجال قضايا المرأة والمساواة بين الجنسين. ويتألف المجلس الأعلى للمرأة الذي شكله الأمير الشيخ حمد بن عيسى آل خليفة في 22 آب/أغسطس 2001 من 14 خبيرا برئاسة الشيخة سبيكة بنت ابراهيم آل خليفة، زوجة الأمير.

أعلى الصفحة

اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة

أصبحت البحرين إحدى الدول الموقعة على اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة في سنة 2002، لكنها وضعت عدة تحفظات على نقاط تتعارض مع الشريعة الإسلامية. ولم تمنع هذه التحفظات البحرين عن الموافقة على الاتفاقية. ووقع برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي والمجلس الأعلى للمرأة في البحرين في 20 نيسان/إبريل 2005 بروتوكولا لتعزيز التعاون المشترك، خصوصا بالنسبة لتمكين المرأة من المشاركة السياسية في صنع القرار. وترأس قرينة عاهل البحرين المجلس الأعلى للمرأة.

أعلى الصفحة

القوى الاجتماعية

تمّ تأسيس أربع جمعيات نسائية جديدة في سنة 2001، من ضمنها "الاتحاد النسائي البحريني" و "جمعية البحرين النسائية". وشكلت هذه الجمعيات إضافة جديدة إلى العدد القليل من الجمعيات النسائية الموجودة أصلا. وتشارك النساء أيضا في الجمعيات السياسية وغيرها من الروابط والجمعيات الأهلية. وتقدم الجمعيات النسائية المساعدة للأمهات الأميات من خلال توفير الرعاية النهارية لأطفالهن ومن خلال المساهمة في جهود مراكز محو الأمية في جميع أنحاء البلاد.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Gender: Bahrain
You may also
 

Conditions of Women

The Bahrain Constitution provides for equality and equal opportunity in healthcare, welfare, education, and employment. But in practice, these laws are seldom enforced. Women endure substantial pay and hiring discrimination in the workplace, where they comprised 21% of the labor force in 2000. Women have made substantial gains in education, with female illiteracy falling to 17.4% in 2000. Women are now the majority of the nation’s students in higher education. The role of Bahraini women in government has increased in recent years. However, most women employed in government offices work as support staff, very few of whom occupy senior positions. No woman has served in the Chamber of Deputies. However, in mid 2004 a Bahraini woman -Dr. Nada Haffaz- was appointed as Minister of Health. Women organizations welcomed that appointment. A second woman was appointed as minister of social affairs in Bahrain in January 2005 during a cabinet reshuffle. Dr. Fatema Al-Blushi, dean of the college of Education at the University of Bahrain, was the chosen new female minister.

In the private sector, women have been encouraged to reach decision-making positions, mainly in banking, where one woman became the General Manager of the National Bank of Commerce, three others filled the position of a bank-branch manager, and one became the director of a foreign-owned insurance company, in addition to a number of other women occupying managerial positions in divisions in banking and investment institutions.

Top of this page

Law of Personal Status

Bahraini women’s personal status is defined by Islamic law. Differences exist in the personal status code for Sunni and Shi’a women. Shi’a women are treated more equitably in divorce and inheritance proceedings than their Sunni counterparts. Both groups are allowed to own property, have the right to represent themselves in public and in court, enjoy freedom of travel, may work in public employment, and have open choice in their public attire. The Bahraini parliament approved a draft law for establishing a women's university on July 19, 2005. The approval met the demand of Islamic deputies to implement segregation of the two sexes.

Top of this page

Gender Reforms

In May 2000, Prime Minister Sheikh Khalifa bin Salman al-Khalifa announced that the Consultative Council, the upper house of Bahrain’s bicameral legislature, would be open to women. Subsequently the King appointed 6 women to the 40-member council. He also appointed 10 women to the new consultative council established in December 2006 following legislative elections. Because of the political changes in 2000, women have the right to run for office and vote. Thirty-four women registered among 320 candidates in the 2002 municipal elections, and eight women ran among the 174 candidates in the parliamentary elections later that year. No women won seats in either election. Moreover, 19 women candidates out of 206 candidates contested parliamentary elections held on November 25, 2006. One female candidate, Mrs. Latifa Al-Quood, won uncontested parliamentary seat to be the first elected Bahraini female deputy. In mid 2004 a Bahraini woman -Dr. Nada Haffaz- was appointed as Minister of Health. Women organizations welcomed that appointment. A second woman was appointed as minister of social affairs in Bahrain in January 2005 during a cabinet reshuffle. Dr. Fatema Al-Blushi, dean of the college of Education at the University of Bahrain, was the chosen new female minister. King Hamad ben Issa Al-Khalifa issued a decree on April 26, 2007, appointing Doha Al-Zayyani as a judge in the constitutional court. Doha is the first woman to join the constitutional court since its formation in 2002. She holds a Ph.D. in private law (civil law) from Cairo University. She had assumed several positions at the Ministry of Justice. Bahrain had appointed its first female judge on June 6, 2006.

The Supreme Council for Women in Bahrain announced a "national strategy for advancement of Bahraini women" on March 8, 2005. The work plan of the Supreme Council aims at achieving full participation of women in the work force, enabling them to occupy leadership and decision-making positions both in the public and private sectors, as well as changing the stereotype picture of women and eliminating all forms of discrimination against them. Earlier, the ministries of Education, Health, Labor and Social Affairs and the Women's Association had designed one and five-year plans for the advancement of women. These efforts have placed Bahrain among the most advanced Arab countries in terms of gender issues. The Supreme Council, founded by Emir Sheikh Hamad bin Issa Al-Khalifa on 22 August 2001, consists of 14 experts chaired by Sheikha Sabika bint Ibrahim Al-Khalifa, the wife of the Emir.

Top of this page

Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW)

Bahrain became a signatory member of the Status of the Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) in 2002 but made several reservations with regard to conflicts with Islamic Law. These reservations did not prevent Bahrain from accession. The United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and the Supreme Council for Women in Bahrain signed on April 20, 2005 a protocol for enhancing joint cooperation, especially with regard to empowering women to participate in political decision making. The king's wife heads the Supreme Council for Women in Bahrain.

Top of this page

Social Forces

Four new women's organizations, including the Union of Bahraini Women and the Bahrain Women's Society, were founded in 2001 in addition to a few others that had already existed. They also participate in political societies and other associations. Women's associations help illiterate mothers by providing day care facilities for their children, and by contributing to educational activity at literacy centers throughout the country.

Top of this page