إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: النوع الإجتماعي: تونس
يمكنكم أيضا
 

أوضاع المرأة

تتصدر تونس جميع الدول العربية لجهة كونها أكثر دولة تقدمية في قضايا المرأة. وأدت الإصلاحات المتتابعة لقانون الأحوال الشخصية التونسي إلى تحقيق مساواة كاملة تقريبا بين الجنسين. وتلتزم الحكومة إدماج المرأة في التنمية البشرية من خلال الاهتمام بتحقيق المساواة بين الجنسين. وعلى الرغم من أنه ما يزال هناك مجال لتحسين مركز المرأة في المجتمع التونسي، فان سجل الحكومة في هذا الصدد يساعد على التفاؤل بمزيد من التحسن مستقبلا.

أظهرت المرأة التونسية تحسنا مطردا في مجال التعليم. فانخفضت الأمية بين الإناث بنسبة 27 بالمئة منذ سنة 1980، ولكنها ما تزال مرتفعة إذ تصل إلى 42 بالمئة. ومن المتوقع انخفاض هذه النسبة مستقبلا لان تقديرات البنك الدولي تشير إلى أن معدل التحاق الأولاد والبنات بالتعليم الأساسي كان 100 بالمئة تقريبا في سنة 1998. وأثبت التعلم أنه أمر جوهري فيما يخص تأكيد المرأة لحقوقها وسط إصلاحات قانون الأحوال الشخصية. وأظهرت دراسة حكومية أنجزت في سنة 1991 أن 70 بالمئة من النساء الأميات لم تكن على دراية بحقوقهن التي يمنحهن إياها قانون الأحوال الشخصية. وقامت وزارة المرأة والشؤون العائلية بعدة حملات إعلامية على الصعيد الوطني من أجل تعزيز الوعي بحقوق المرأة.

أعلى الصفحة

قانون الأحوال الشخصية

الأحوال الشخصية للمرأة في تونس مساوية بوجه عام لأحوال الرجل. ولا يحتوي قانون الأحوال الشخصية إشارات صريحة إلى الإسلام، مع أن القيم الإسلامية لعبت دورا في صياغته. وقد سعت الحكومة التونسية إلى تطوير مرحلة جديدة من الاجتهاد تتميز عن الشريعة الإسلامية المطبقة في دول إسلامية أخرى. وتضمن الاجتهاد الجديد إصلاحات تؤسس للمساواة بين الجنسين في مجالات الزواج والطلاق وحضانة الأطفال والحرية الاجتماعية للمرأة. وأوجدت آخر جولة من الإصلاحات في سنة 1993 تطابقا بين القانون التونسي والمقاييس الدولية لحقوق الإنسان. ولا ينظر مؤيدو الإصلاحات إلى هذا على أنه تخل عن القيم الإسلامية بل تطوير لهذه القيم لكي تتلاءم مع العصر الحديث. وهناك معلومات عن مواجهة صعوبات في تطبيق الإصلاحات عند تعارضها مع الأعراف والتقاليد الاجتماعية.

أعلى الصفحة

الإصلاحات المتعلقة بالنوع الاجتماعي

تشغل المرأة عددا قليلا نسبيا من الوظائف الحكومية العليا (3 بالمئة على المستوى الوزاري) ولكن هناك عدد من الهيئات الحكومية التي أسست خصيصا للتعامل مع شؤون المرأة من أهمها: "وزارة المرأة والشؤون العائلية" و "اللجنة الوطنية للمرأة والتنمية" و "المجلس الوطني للمرأة والأسرة". وفازت المرأة في الانتخابات النيابية لعام 1999 بـ 21 مقعدا من مجموع 182 مقعدا نيابيا. كما أن مستوى تمثيل المرأة على المستوى المحلي أفضل منه على المستوى الوطني حيث تشكل النساء 17 بالمئة من أعضاء المجالس البلدية التونسية في المحافل الإقليمية والدولية. أعلن الرئيس زين العابدين بن علي في 7 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2007 أن حزب "التجمع الدستوري الديمقراطي" الذي يرأسه سيرفع نسبة حضور المرأة في لوائحه للانتخابات البرلمانية والبلدية إلى 30% على الأقل بدلا من نسبة 20% المعتمدة حاليا. وأكد أن هذا التمييز الإيجابي لصالح المرأة يتناسق مع تطور المجتمع التونسي، ويحمّل المرأة التونسية مسؤولية كبرى في الحفاظ على مكاسبها وتنميتها.

علاوة على المؤسسات الحكومية، المرأة ممثلة سياسيا عن طريق عدد من جماعات المجتمع المدني. أكبر هذه الجماعات "الاتحاد الوطني للمرأة التونسية" وهو منظمة وطنية ذات انتماء حكومي وتلقى الدعم من الحكومة. وقد نفـّذ هذا الاتحاد حملات تعليمية للنساء على مستوى الوطن كله. وتنشط جماعات أخرى، مثل "الجمعية التونسية للنساء الديمقراطيات"، في مناقشة قضايا المرأة وإثارة الرأي العام حولها. كما أن تونس هي مقر "مركز الدراسات والبحث والتوثيق والإعلام حول المرأة" وهو من أهم مراكز الدراسات النسائية في المنطقة العربية. وقد منعت الحكومة التونسية عدة منظمات نسائية من تمثيل المرأة. فازت أول امرأة في تونس بزعامة حزب سياسي في 25 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2006،. واختار "الحزب الديمقراطي التقدمي"، وهو حزب معارض، السيدة مي الجريبي التي تبلغ 46 عاما وهي من مؤسسي هذا الحزب.

أعلى الصفحة

اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة

صدّقت تونس على اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة في سنة 1985، مع تحفظها على ما يتعارض مع القيم الإسلامية.

أعلى الصفحة

القوى الاجتماعية

تشكل النساء 31 بالمئة من قوة العمل في تونس، كما أن 36 بالمئة من النساء التونسيات يعملن. ويقدّر عدد النساء اللواتي يشغلن مراكز رفيعة في مجال الأعمال والتجارة بـ 1500 امرأة. وكان للرئيس بن علي عدة تصريحات عامة أكد فيها على ضرورة تشجيع مشاركة المرأة في التنمية الاقتصادية. كما سعت الحكومة إلى إدماج نماذج تتعلق بالنوع الاجتماعي (الجندر) في التخطيط للتنمية. ووقفت تونس منذ زمن بعيد موقفا تقدميا إزاء مشاركة المرأة في قوة العمل. وأرست الحكومة التونسية في سنة 1966 السياسات الخاصة بإجازات الولادة وبحماية وظائف الأمهات.

أعلنت وزارة الدفاع التونسية في 26 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2002 فرض الخدمة العسكرية الإلزامية على المرأة التونسية ابتداء من سنة 2003 تعزيزا للمساواة بين الجنسين. وكان نواب في البرلمان التونسي بينهم نساء طالبوا خلال الأعوام القليلة السابقة بأن تكون الخدمة العسكرية إلزامية على النساء. وصرح وزير الدفاع بأن تجنيد النساء سيطبق تدريجيا.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Gender: Tunisia
You may also
 

Conditions of Women

Tunisia stands out as the most progressive nation on women’s issues in the Arab region. Successive reforms of the national personal status code have achieved near gender equality. The government is committed to incorporating women into human development through attention to gender concerns. Although women’s position in Tunisia can still be improved, the government’s track record provides optimism for the future.

In the area of education, women in Tunisia have shown steady improvement. Female adult illiteracy has dropped 27 percent since 1980, but remains high at 42 percent. This number can be expected to drop further as the World Bank estimates that nearly 100 percent of both boys and girls were enrolled in primary education by 1998. Literacy has proven vital to women asserting their rights under the reformed personal status code. A government survey in 1991 found that 70 percent of illiterate women were unaware of their rights under the code. The Ministry of Women and Family Affairs has undertaken several national media campaigns to promote awareness of women’s rights.

Top of this page

Law of Personal Status

Women’s personal status in Tunisia is generally equal to that of men. The Tunisian Code of Personal Status does not contain explicit references to Islam, though Islamic values played a role in its crafting. The Tunisian government has sought to develop a new phase of Islamic thinking (ijtihad) distinct from the Islamic law in other Muslim countries. This new thinking has included reforms to create gender equality in the areas of marriage, divorce, child custody, and women’s social autonomy. The latest round of reforms in 1993 brought Tunisian law in accordance with international human rights standards. Supporters of the reforms do not see this as an abandonment of Islamic values, but rather as an evolution for the modern period. Problems have been reported in the enforcement of the reforms when they are contrary to social convention.

Top of this page

Gender Reforms

Women hold relatively few senior positions in the government (3 percent at the ministerial level) but there are a number of governmental bodies created to deal specifically with women’s issues. National institutions for women include the Ministry of Women and Family Affairs, the National Women and Development Commission, and the National Council of Women and the Family. In the 1999 parliamentary elections, women won 21 of the total 182 seats in the national government. Women have a higher level of representation at the local level, where 17 percent of municipal council members are female. President Bin Ali proclaimed on November 7, 2007 that the Constitutional Democratic Rally Party, of which he is the leader, will raise the ratio of women’s presence on its parliamentary and municipal election lists from 20% to at least 30%. He asserted that this positive discrimination in favor of women is in harmony with the development of Tunisian society, and makes Tunisian women responsible for preserving their gains and advancing them.

Aside from government institutions, women are represented in politics by a number of civil society groups. The largest of these is the National Union of Tunisian Women (UNFT), a nationwide organization with government affiliations. The UNFT has undertaken national education campaigns for women. Other groups, such as the Association Tunisienne des Femmes Democrates, are active in debating and publicizing women’s issues. The Center for Studies, Research, Documentation and Information on Women (CREDIF), one of the leading research centers on women in the Arab region, is based in Tunisia. Several women’s organizations have been denied representation by the government. The first Tunisian woman to head a political party was elected on December 25, 2006.. Mrs. Al-Juraibi, 46 years old, was one of the founders of the Democratic Progressive Party in 1983.

Top of this page

Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW)

Tunisia signed the Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) on September 20, 1985 with reservations as regards conflict with Islamic values.

Top of this page

Social Forces

Women comprise 31 percent of the workforce in Tunisia and 36 percent of women work. It is estimated that 1,500 women hold senior positions in businesses. President Ben Ali has made several public statements emphasizing the need to encourage women’s participation in economic development. The government has also sought to incorporate gender models in development planning. Tunisia has long taken a progressive position on women’s participation in the workforce; maternity leave policies and employment protections for mothers were established in 1966.

The Ministry of Defence announced on December 26, 2002 that mandatory military service would be imposed on Tunisian women in 2003, as a step designed to enhance gender equality. During the past few years some parliamentarians, including female members, have called for mandatory military service for Tunisian women. The Minister of Defence declared that women's recruitment would be gradually enforced.

Top of this page