إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: النوع الإجتماعي: الإمارات العربية المتحدة
يمكنكم أيضا
 

أوضاع المرأة

فتحت أمام المرأة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة أبواب التعليم العالي. وتمّ في السنوات الأخيرة فتح أبواب المشاركة في الاقتصاد الرسمي أمام المرأة، علاوة على إشراكها المحدود في عملية اتخاذ القرارات الحكومية. ولا توجد قوانين تمنع المرأة من شغل المناصب الحكومية العليا، ولكن عددا قليلا جدا من النساء شغلن هذه المناصب. وعينت الإمارات في 1 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2004 أول امرأة إماراتية تشغل منصبا وزاريا بعد أن أصدر رئيس الدولة الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان مرسوما اتحاديا بتعيين الشيخة لبنى القاسمي وزيرة للاقتصاد والتجارة. وتسارعت خطوات إشراك المرأة في العملية السياسية عبر انتخاب امرأة هي السيدة أمل القيسي عضوا في المجلس الوطني الاتحادي لأول مرة عام 2006. وأكمل حكام الإمارات هذا التوجه بتعيينهم 8 نساء أعضاء في المجلس الوطني الاتحادي من بين حصة إماراتهم من النواب المعينين العشرين. وبهذا يضم المجلس الوطني الاتحادي الحالي 9 نساء من بين 40 عضوا.

للرجال والنساء في الإمارات العربية المتحدة فرص التعلم نفسها. وزادت معدلات أمية الراشدين (25 بالمئة) عن أمية الراشدات (21 بالمئة) سنة 2000. وقدرت نسبة الأولاد الملتحقين بالتعليم الأساسي بـ 86 بالمئة ونسبة البنات بـ 87 بالمئة سنة 2000. وتبلغ نسبة الإناث من مجموع طلاب جامعة العين 75 بالمئة. ويرجع التحاق أعداد أكبر من النساء بالتعليم الجامعي جزئيا إلى التحاق الرجال بالجامعات الأجنبية في الخارج. وتوفر الحكومة تكافؤ الفرص التعليمية والدعم الاقتصادي للرجال والنساء؛ وقد التحق 95 بالمئة من خريجي المدارس الثانوية سنة 2000 بالجامعات.

أعلى الصفحة

قانون الأحوال الشخصية

تحدد الشريعة الإسلامية الأحوال الشخصية للنساء في الإمارات. وتلتزم الإمارات العربية المتحدة التفسير الإسلامي الذي يمنع النساء المسلمات من الزواج من رجال غير مسلمين، بينما يسمح للرجال المسلمين بالزواج من نساء غير مسلمات. وفي سنة 1998 كانت 28 بالمئة من الزيجات في الإمارات بين رجال مسلمين ونساء أجنبيات. وتمنع النساء المسلمات من مغادرة البلاد من دون إذن أولياء أمورهن. وفي حالات الطلاق، تمنح المرأة المطلقة حق حضانة الأطفال حتى سن السابعة، بينما تصبح حضانتهم بعد ذلك السن قانونيا من حق الوالد.

أعلى الصفحة

الإصلاحات المتعلقة بالنوع الاجتماعي

شكلت النساء 15 بالمئة من قوة العمل سنة 2000. وبحسب الشريعة الإسلامية، على النساء المتزوجات الحصول على موافقة أزواجهن على عملهن خارج المنزل. وتشجيعا للعمل، تضمن الحكومة العمل في القطاع العام لجميع النساء اللواتي يتقدمن بطلبات عمل. وتشكل النساء غالبية الموظفين الحكوميين في قطاعي التعليم والرعاية الصحية. وفي سنة 2000 شكلت النساء 100بالمئة مـن معلمات رياض الأطفـال و 74 بالمئة من معلمي المدارس الابتدائية و54 بالمئة من معلمي المدارس الثانوية. وتبلغ نسبة النساء 39.8 بالمئة من مجموع الموظفين الحكوميين. وشجعت الحكومة النساء في السنوات الأخيرة ليصبحن شرطيات ومتطوعات في القوات المسلحة. وبدأت أولى سائقات سيارات أجرة في منطقة الخليج عملهن في الإمارات العربية المتحدة سنة 2000. ويمكن للمواطنات تملّك مصالحهن التجارية بالكامل، ما سهّل مشاركتهن الملموسة في القطاع الخاص.

أعلى الصفحة

اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة

لم تصدّق الإمارات العربية المتحدة إتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Gender: United Arab Emirates
You may also
 

Conditions of Women

Women in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) have gained access to higher education. Moreover, women were recently encouraged to participate in the formal economy and were given limited access to participate in government decision making. There are no laws preventing women from holding senior government positions, but very few women have done so. On November 1, 2004, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) has appointed a woman in a ministerial position for the first time in its history. The late Sheikh Zayed passed a federal decree appointing Sheikhah Lubna Al-Qasimi as minister of economy and trade. The tendency to involve women in the political process was enhanced in 2006 when a woman, Mrs. Amal Al-Qaisi became the first elected female member of the Federal National Council (parliament) and the rulers of the various emirates appointed 8 other women to the FNC as part of their jurisdiction to nominate 20 appointed members. Thus, the current FNC includes 9 women out of its 40 members.

Men and women have the same opportunities for education in the UAE. Adult male illiteracy exceeded female illiteracy 25 percent to 21 percent in 2000. An estimated 86 percent of boys and 87 percent of girls were enrolled in primary education in 2000. Seventy-five percent of the student body at the National University in Al-Ain is female. More women are enrolled in higher education in the UAE partly because men tend to travel oversees to foreign universities. The government provides equal educational opportunities and economic support to men and women; in 2000, 95 percent of high school graduates continued on to a university.

Top of this page

Law of Personal Status

The personal status of women in the UAE is determined by Islamic law. The UAE’s interpretation of Islam prohibits Muslim women from marrying non-Muslim men. Muslim men are allowed to marry non-Muslim women. In 1998, 28 percent of marriages in the UAE were between Muslim men and foreign women. Muslim women are prohibited from leaving the country without permission from a male guardian. In cases of divorce, custody of children seven and younger is granted to the mother, while older children become the father’s legal responsibility.

Top of this page

Gender Reforms

The UAE has actively promoted the presence of women in the workplace. Women comprised 15 percent of the labor force in 2000. Under Islamic law, married women must receive their husband’s permission to be employed outside the home. To encourage employment, the government guarantees public sector employment for all women who apply. In education and health care, women are the majority of public employees. In 2000, one hundred percent of nursery school teachers, 74 percent of primary school teachers, and 54 percent of secondary school teachers are women. Overall, 39.8 percent of government workers are female. In recent years, the government has encouraged women to become police officers and volunteers in the military. The first female taxi drivers in the gulf region began service in the UAE in 2000. Female citizens are able to fully own private businesses in the country, a fact that facilitated their visible participation in the private sector.

Top of this page

Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW)

The UAE has not ratified the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW).

Top of this page