إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: النوع الإجتماعي: اليمن
يمكنكم أيضا
 

أوضاع المرأة

قبل توحيد اليمن الشمالي واليمن الجنوبي سنة 1994، تمتعت المرأة في اليمن الجنوبي بدرجة عالية من الاستقلالية والمساواة. ومنذ توحيد شطري اليمن أتيحت للمرأة فرص جديدة وواجهت تحديات جديدة في مجال الحياة العامة. وشجع انتعاش القيم الإسلامية في المجتمع اليمني المرأة على البقاء في المنزل والابتعاد عن الحياة العامة. وفي الوقت نفسه، عززت الديمقراطية السياسية نشاط المرأة السياسي وشجعتها على لعب دور أكبر في المجال الحكومي.

يمكن للمرأة اليمنية التصويت في الانتخابات العامة وشغل الوظائف العامة. وقد شكلت النساء 47 بالمئة من مجموع الناخبين اليمنيين في الانتخابات التشريعية التي جرت في 28 نيسان/إبريل 2003. لكن جميع الأحزاب السياسية اليمنية امتنعت عن ترشيح أية امرأة على قوائمها الانتخابية. وتمكنت امرأة واحدة من بين 37 مرشحة مستقلة من الفوز بمقعد في مجلس النواب اليمني الجديد بينما فازت اثنتان بمقاعد نيابية في انتخابات 1997. وفازت 35 امرأة بمقاعد في المجالس البلدية في الانتخابات البلدية سنة 2001.

تأتي اليمن في آخر الدول العربية في مجال تعليم المرأة وتخطيط الأسرة. وتزيد نسبة الأمية بين النساء على ضعف نسبتها بين الرجال (76 بالمئة في مقابل 33 بالمئة) في سنة 2000. وتقزّم أمية الشابات وضع الأمية بين الشباب (54 بالمئة في مقابل 17 بالمئة). وما يزال معدل الخصوبة الإجمالي في اليمن مرتفعا (عدد الولادات للمرأة الواحدة) إذ يبلغ 6.2 ولادات مع انه انخفض من 7.5 ولادات في سنة 1990. وكانت 22 بالمئة من النساء اليمنيات المتزوجات يستخدمن وسائل منع الحمل سنة 1998. ودعمت برامج المساعدات الخارجية تنفيذ مشروع بقيمة 31 مليون دولار يهدف إلى التوعية والتعليم الخاص بالصحة الإنجابية.

تؤلف النساء 28 بالمئة من قوة العمل اليمنية، مع مشاركة اكبر للنساء في الجنوب منها في الشمال. ومنذ توحيد شطري اليمن، أضعفت البطالة واضعف ازدياد التمييز الاجتماعي مركز المرأة في سوق العمل.

أعلى الصفحة

قانون الأحوال الشخصية

تقرر الشريعة الإسلامية الأحوال الشخصية للمرأة في اليمن. ووفقا لقانون الأحوال الشخصية اليمني، على المرأة أن تطيع زوجها وان تقيم معه. ويسمح للرجال بتطليق زوجاتهم بكل حرية، بينما لا تستطيع المرأة طلب الطلاق إلا في حال عجز زوجها عن إعالتها. ولا تستطيع المرأة السفر إلى خارج البلاد إلا بعد حصولها على إذن من ولي أمرها من الذكور. وتمنع الشريعة الإسلامية الزوجة من مغادرة المنزل من دون إذن زوجها. وتطبق جميع هذه التشريعات بدرجات متفاوتة. ويجري اتباع هذه الشروط في الشمال الإسلامي بدرجة اكبر من اتباعها في الجنوب الاشتراكي السابق. فقبل توحيد شطري اليمن، كان نصف القضاة في الجنوب من النساء. ومنذ التوحيد، نجحت القوى القضائية المحافظة في إعادة تكليف القاضيات بأعمال إدارية وكتابية. ولا يوجد حاليا إلا عدد قليل من القاضيات يعملن في المنطقة المحيطة بمدينة عدن.

أعلى الصفحة

الإصلاحات المتعلقة بالنوع الاجتماعي

تقوم الحكومة بخطوات لزيادة الحضور النسائي في الوظائف الحكومية العليا. وتم تعيين أول امرأة في منصب وكيل وزارة الإعلام سنة 1997. وأعلن رئيس وزراء اليمن سنة 1998 أن على كل وزارة تعيين امرأة برتبة مدير عام. وعينت اليمن أول سفيرة لها سنة 1999. وفي سنة 2001 عيّنت أول امرأة في منصب "وزير دولة لحقوق الإنسان". وفي سنة 2002 خلفتها امرأة في المنصب نفسه. وصدر عن رئيس الجمهورية ورئيس الوزراء الكثير من التصريحات العلنية المؤيدة لحقوق المرأة وللتنمية التي تركز على تطوير وضع المرأة.

أعلى الصفحة

اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة

أصبحت اليمن في 30 أيار/مايو 1984 من الدول الموقعة على اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة.

أعلى الصفحة

القوى الاجتماعية

برزت إلى حيز الوجود في السنوات الأخيرة عدة منظمات غير حكومية تعنى بحقوق المرأة اليمنية. ومن أبرز هذه المنظمات الأهلية "الجمعية الاجتماعية من أجل عائلات منتجة"، وقسم المرأة والطفل التابع لمركز الدراسات المستقبلية، وجمعية تنمية المرأة والطفل، والمجلس اليمني للأمومة والطفولة.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Gender: Yemen
You may also
 

Conditions of Women

Before the unification of North Yemen and South Yemen in 1994, women in the former South Yemen enjoyed a high degree of independence and equality. Since the unification, women have faced both new opportunities and new challenges in public life. The resurgence of Islamic values in Yemeni society has encouraged women to remain in the home and remove themselves from public life. At the same time, democratic politics have fostered women's political activity and encouraged them to play a larger role in government.

Women in Yemen can vote and hold public office. Women composed 47 percent of voters in Yemeni legislative elections of April 2003. However, the political parties refrained from running any woman on their lists. Only one independent woman candidate was able to capture a seat in parliament, whereas two women won seats in the 1997 elections. In the 2001 municipal elections, however, 35 women won seats on the municipal councils.

Yemen trails most nations in the Arab region in female education and family planning. Adult female illiteracy is over double that of men (75 percent to 33 percent in 2000), and female youth illiteracy dwarfs males (54 percent to 17 percent). The national total fertility rate (births per woman) remains high at 6.2, though it has decreased from 7.5 in 1990. Contraceptive use by Yemeni women was 22 percent in 1998. Foreign assistance programs have implemented a $31 million project to increase reproductive education and health.

Women make up 28 percent of the nation's labor force, with higher rates of participation in the South than in the North. Since unification, unemployment and increasing social discrimination has weakened women's position in the job market.

Top of this page

Law of Personal Status

Islamic law determines the personal status of women in Yemen. Under Yemeni personal status code, a wife must obey her husband and live with him. Men are allowed to divorce freely, while women usually ask for a divorce only when their husband has failed to support them. Women must receive permission from a male guardian to travel outside of the country. Islamic law also prohibits a wife from leaving the house without her husband's permission. All of these statutes are enforced to varying degrees. In the Islamicist North these provisions tend to be followed more closely than in the formerly socialist South. Prior to unification, half of judges in South Yemen were women. Since unification, conservative forces in the judiciary have reassigned female judges to administrative or clerical jobs. Only a few female justices currently serve in the area surrounding Aden.

Top of this page

Gender Reforms

The government is taking steps to increase women's presence in senior government positions. The first female undersecretary of information was appointed in 1997. The prime minister of Yemen announced in 1998 that each ministry must have a woman at the director-general level. In 1999, the country appointed its first female ambassador. In 2001, the first woman was appointed to the government as Minister of State for Human Rights; her successor in 2002 was also a woman. Both the president and prime minister have made many public statements in support of women's rights and women-focused development.

Top of this page

Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW)

Yemen became a signatory to the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) on May 30, 1984.

Top of this page

Social Forces

A number of Yemeni women's rights NGOs have emerged in recent years. Some of the leading groups include the Social Association for Productive Families, the Women and Children's Department of the Center for Future Studies, the Woman and Child Development Association, and the Yemeni Council for Motherhood and Childhood.

Top of this page