إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: النوع الإجتماعي: الأردن
يمكنكم أيضا
 

أوضاع المرأة

يتعرض النظام الملكي الأردني إلى الشد باتجاهين متعارضين من جانب قوى سياسية متنافسة حول قضايا تتعلق بمكانة المرأة في البلاد. فمنذ منتصف الثمانينات، زاد الانفتاح السياسي في البلاد من التعبئة لدى الإسلاميين المحافظين ولدى جماعات حقوق المرأة. وحققت الحكومة الأردنية في السنوات الأخيرة إصلاحات تدريجية على الرغم من المعارضة الإسلامية.

أعلى الصفحة

قانون الأحوال الشخصية

تتقرر قضايا الأحوال الشخصية كالزواج والطلاق وحضانة الأطفال في المحاكم الشرعية وفقا للشريعة الإسلامية. وكما هو الحال في العديد من الدول العربية، تحسب شهادة المرأة في المحاكم الأردنية نصف شهادة الرجل. ويمكن للرجال تطليق زوجاتهم بكل حرية، بينما على النساء تقديم أسباب لطلب الطلاق أمام المحكمة. وتحصل المرأة على قدر من الميراث أقل مما يحصل عليه الرجل، ومن الضروري موافقة الأزواج على حصول زوجاتهن على جوازات سفر. وبالنسبة إلى العديد من الجماعات السياسية الإسلامية، أضحت قضايا الأحوال الشخصية الخاصة بالمرأة رمزا للنزاع بين القوى الدينية والعلمانية. وبالتالي، كان من الصعوبة بمكان إصلاح قوانين الأحوال الشخصية. وفي الواقع، أصدر برلمان 1991 قوانين تنص على التوزيع غير المتكافئ للثروة عند الطلاق، وتنص أيضا على مؤسسات تعليمية منفصلة للإناث والذكور.

أعلى الصفحة

الإصلاحات المتعلقة بالنوع الاجتماعي

وعلى الرغم من أن الملك يحتفظ لنفسه بالجزء الأعظم من السلطة السياسية في الأردن، فان العودة للانتخابات الديمقراطية في أواخر الثمانينات حفزت النساء على صعيد العمل السياسي. فالنساء يظهرن باستمرار معدلات مشاركة في الاقتراع أعلى من معدلات الرجال. ولكن النساء يبقين إلى حد كبير مستبعدات عن المناصب الحكومية. فلا توجد إلا وزيرة واحدة وثلاث نساء من الأعيان.

أثناء حل البرلمان بين عامي 2001 و 2003 انتهزت الحكومة الفرصة لتمرير مشروعي قانون يتعلقان بحقوق المرأة. وأعطى مشروع القانون الأول المرأة حق رفع دعوى تطلب فيها الطلاق، بينما أعطى مشروع القانون الثاني للمحاكم حرية أكبر في تطبيق عقوبات صارمة على مرتكبي جرائم الشرف أو العرض. وكان برلمان 1999 قرر الحفاظ على الحصانة للمدانين بارتكاب جرائم شرف. لكن مجلس النواب الجديد رفض هذين التعديلين اللذين أدخلا على قانون الأحوال الشخصية وقانون العقوبات. وبموجب القانون الجديد تم رفع سن الزواج للذكور والإناث من 16 و 15 سنة على التوالي إلى 18 سنة للجنسين. وعلاوة على ذلك، حصلت النساء الأردنيات المتزوجات من رجال غير أردنيين على حق تمتع أطفالهن بالجنسية الأردنية.

جرت آخر انتخابات تشريعية في الأردن في 17 حزيران/يونيو 2003. وكانت هذه الانتخابات مخيبة لآمال النساء. فمن مجموع 54 امرأة ترشحن في الانتخابات لم تفز أي منهن بمقعد نيابي، مع أن أكثر من 40 امرأة منهن كنّ مشاركات نشطات في الدورات التدريبية التي نظمها "المعهد الوطني الديمقراطي". ولم تنتخب في تاريخ الأردن قبل عام 2003 لعضوية مجلس النواب إلا امرأة واحدة. لكن ست نساء أصبحن عضوات في برلمان 2003 بفضل نظام "الكوتا (الحصة النسبية) النسائية" الذي أرساه الملك عبد الله. وتم انتخاب هؤلاء النساء من كافة أنحاء المملكة شمالا وجنوبا، شرقا وغربا. أما مهن العضوات الفائزات فهي: طبيبة أسنان، ثلاث مدرسات، صيدلانية ومحامية. وحصلت النساء المرشحات على أكثر من ضعف عدد الأصوات التي حصلت عليها المرشحات في انتخابات 1999.

لتحقيق أهداف الأردن في تطوير وضع المرأة، أسست الحكومة "اللجنة الوطنية للمرأة" للإشراف على البرامج والمشروعات. انخفضت نسبة الأمية بين النساء من 46 بالمئة سنة 1980 إلىأقل من 15 بالمئة سنة 2001، وتشكل النساء حاليا نصف الطلاب الجامعيين. ويشهد النمو السكاني في الأردن انخفاضا في معدل الخصوبة الإجمالي (عدد الولادات للمرأة الواحدة) إذ انخفض من 4.4 سنة 1995 إلى 3.6 سنة 2001، لكنه ما يزال أعلى من معدل الخصوبة الإقليمي البالغ 3.3 ولادات. وأظهرت الدراسات أن رجال الدين وعامة الجمهور يؤيدون تحديد النسل كطريقة لخفض حجم الأسرة. وازداد استعمال موانع الحمل في العشرين سنة الأخيرة، ولكن معظم السكان ما زالت تنقصهم المعرفة بقضايا الإنجاب التي تساعدهم على منع الحمل غير المرغوب فيه بشكل فعال. وكشفت دراسة أجريت في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2001 أن الرجال أصبحوا أقل خوفا وقلقا حيال استعمال وسائل منع الحمل. فقد أظهروا استعدادا أكبر لإشراك زوجاتهم في قرارات تنظيم الأسرة. كما أظهرت الدراسة أن 85 بالمئة من الذكور الأردنيين يؤيدون استعمال المرأة وسائل منع الحمل. وارتفعت قرارات الزوجين المشتركة حول تنظيم الأسرة من 62 بالمئة عام 1996 إلى 76 بالمئة عام 2001.

أعلى الصفحة

اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة

انضم الأردن إلى اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة وصدق عليها سنة 1992، مع تحفظه على ما يتعارض منها مع الشريعة الإسلامية. وذكر المسؤولون الحكوميون، في تقريرهم حول تقدم الأردن في مجال اعتماد تلك الاتفاقية والذي أعدوه في كانون الثاني/يناير 2000، بأنهم يعملون على تضييق التعارضات بين "الاتفاقية" وقانون الأحوال الشخصية الإسلامي، وانهم يأملون باعتماد "الاتفاقية" بالكامل. ويحظر الدستور الأردني التمييز على أساس الجنس، ولكن التقارير تدل على استمرار التمييز ضد المرأة الأردنية في العديد من مجالات حياتها. ويبقى العنف ضد النساء مشكلة رئيسية في جميع أنحاء الأردن.

أعلى الصفحة

القوى الاجتماعية

أكبر أنصار المرأة في الحكومة الأردنية الملكة نور والملكة رانيا والأميرة بسمة. فقد دعمن مشروعات تنمية وضع المرأة وطالبن بإجراء إصلاحات اجتماعية لمصلحتها. ومنذ تبوأ الملك عبد الله الثاني العرش سنة 1999، عمد النظام الملكي بقوة إلى حماية المنظمات النسائية واظهر اهتماما بالعمل على تحسين وضع المرأة في الأردن.

في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 1999 أسس في عمان "المركز الإعلامي النسائي العربي" مهمته تدريب الصحافيات ودراسة قضايا المرأة. وتم بناء مقر المركز وتجهيزه عن طريق هبة من الأميرة بسمة بنت طلال. ويضم المركز حاليا 79 عضوا. وحلّت الصحفيات الأردنيات محل رؤساء التحرير في صحف المملكة ووسائل إعلامها ليوم واحد في 8 آذار/مارس 2000 كجزء من بادرة هدفها إحياء اليوم العالمي للمرأة.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Gender: Jordan
You may also
 

Conditions of Women

The Jordanian monarchy is being pulled in opposite directions by two competing political forces on issues concerning the status of women in the country. Since the mid-1980s, the nation’s political liberalization has increased mobilization by both Islamic conservatives and women’s rights groups. In recent years, the Jordanian government has achieved some gradual reforms despite Islamic opposition.

Top of this page

Law of Personal Status

Personal status issues such as marriage, divorce, and child custody are decided in courts based on Islamic law. Similar to many Arab nations, the testimony of a woman in Jordanian court counts half as much as a man’s. Men can freely divorce their wives, while women must present their grounds in a court proceeding. Women receive less inheritance than men and must obtain consent from their husbands before applying for a passport. For many political Islamic groups, these issues of the personal status of women have become a symbol of the conflict between religious and secular forces. Hence, reform of personal status laws has been difficult. Indeed, the 1991 Parliament enacted laws creating unequal distribution of wealth in divorces and segregated educational institutions.

Top of this page

Gender Reforms

Although the king retains much of the political power in Jordan, the return to democratic elections in the late 1980s politically galvanized women. Women consistently exhibit higher voter turnout than men. However, women remain largely excluded from the government itself, as there are only one female minister and three female senators.

While the Parliament was not in session between 2001 and 2003, the government took the opportunity to amend two bills related to women rights. The first allowed women the right to file for divorce and the second gave the courts more leeway in imposing harsh punishments on those who commit honor crimes. The 1999 parliament had decided to retain impunity for those convicted of honor killings. The new House of Representatives rejected these amendments to Civil Status Law and the Penal Code. According to the new law the age of marriage for men and women, which had been 16 and 15 respectively, was raised to the age of 18. In addition, Jordanian women not married to Jordanian men now have the right to pass on Jordanian citizenship to their children.

The latest legislative elections, which took place on June 17, 2003, were disappointing to women. Of the 54 women who ran for the parliamentary seats, none was elected, although over 40 had been active participants in training sessions organized by the National Democratic Institute. Previously only one woman had ever been elected in Jordan. However, six women became members of parliament in 2003 as a result of the "female quota" which King Abdullah instated. These women—a dentist, three teachers, a pharmacist, and a lawyer—were elected throughout the kingdom from the north, the south, the east and the west. Women candidates received more than twice the number of votes that women candidates had received four year ago.

To meet Jordan’s goals for women’s development, the government has established a National Committee for Women that oversees programs and projects. The female illiteracy rate has fallen from 46% in 1980 to just under 15% in 2001, and women currently comprise half of all university students. Population growth in Jordan is declining, with a total fertility rate (births per woman) diminishing from 4.4 in 1995 to 3.6 in 2001, but it is still above the regional average of 3.3. Studies have indicated that both religious leaders and the general public support family planning as a strategy to reduce family size. Contraceptive use has substantially increased in the last twenty years, but much of the populace still lacks sufficient knowledge of reproductive issues to effectively prevent unplanned pregnancies. A study conducted in October 2001 revealed that men are now less apprehensive about contraception. They are showing a greater willingness to involve their partners in family-planning decisions. According to the study, 85 per cent of the male population of Jordan is in favor of female contraception. Joint spousal decisions on family planning rose from 62% in 1996 to 76% in 2001.

Top of this page

Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW)

Jordan ratified and acceded to the Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) in 1992, with reservations as to conflicts with Islamic law. In the nation’s last report in January 2000 on their progress in adopting the Convention, government officials stated that they were working to narrow the conflicts between the Convention and Islamic personal law, and that they hope to achieve full adoption of CEDAW. The nation’s constitution prohibits discrimination on the basis of gender, but reports indicate that discrimination persists in many areas of Jordanian women’s lives. Gender-based violence remains a major problem throughout the nation.

Top of this page

Social Forces

Major advocates for women in the Jordanian government have been Queen Noor, Queen Rania and Princess Basma. They have supported women’s development projects and spoken out on social reform for women. Since the coronation of King Abdullah II in 1999, the monarchy has been generally protective of women’s organizations and has shown interest in working to improve the status of women in Jordan.

In December 1999, the Arab Women’s Media Centre (AWMC) was founded in Amman to train journalists and study women’s issues. AWMC, whose infrastructure was created with donations from Princess Basma Bint Talal, now has 79 members. Jordanian female journalists occupied the chief editors’ seats in the Kingdom’s media for one day on 8 March 2000 as part of an initiative to celebrate Women’s day.

Top of this page