إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: النوع الإجتماعي: لبنان
يمكنكم أيضا
 

أوضاع المرأة

لعبت المرأة في لبنان دورا نشطا في التعليم والاقتصاد، لكنها ما زالت مستبعدة إلى حد كبيرعن المؤسسات السياسية. ولكن في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2004 ولأول مرة في تاريخ لبنان ضمت الحكومة سيدتين هما وزيرة الصناعة ليلى الصلح ووفاء حمزة وزير دولة . لكن هذه الحكومة استقالت في 28 شباط/فبراير 2005 بعد مضي أسبوعين على اغتيال رئيس الوزراء السابق رفيق الحريري. ولم يعاد تعيين السيدتين في الحكومة اللبنانية الجديدة التي شكلت في 27 نيسان/إبريل 2005. وهناك ثلاث نساء فقط بين أعضاء مجلس النواب الـ 128. ووصلت في الانتخابات البلدية التي جرت في أيار/مايو وحزيران/يونيو 1998 إلى عضوية المجالس البلدية 78 امرأة، أي ما يعادل 1 بالمئة من مجموع أعضاء هذه المجالس. وشكلت الحكومة اللبنانية هيئة وطنية لشؤون المرأة من أجل تحسين وضع النساء. ووضعت هذه الهيئة خطة وطنية للمرأة، كما شكلت لجنة لشؤون المرأة، كما شكلت لجنة لشؤون المرأة للإشراف على تنفيذ هذه الخطة. وتسعى الخطة إلى تمكين النساء وإلى مواجهة التمييز الاجتماعي من خلال مشروعات متنوعة، بما فيها تقديم قروض خاصة وصغيرة للنساء الفقيرات. كما قامت اللجنة بتنفيذ برنامج تثقيف وطني لتعليم النساء حقوقهن ولتقديم صور اجتماعية جديدة عن المرأة في الحياة العامة.

ظهرت في لبنان عدة منظمات نسائية تهتم بتناول قضايا المساواة بين الإناث والذكور. فتأسست "الجمعية اللبنانية لمحاربة العنف ضد النساء" سنة 1994 بهدف محاربة العنف الجنسي. وفشلت الحكومة في إقامة مراكز لمساعدة ضحايا العنف المنزلي. ومن الجماعات النسائية اللبنانية الأخرى "لجنة الحقوق السياسية للمرأة"، و "المجلس النسائي اللبناني"، و "الجمعية اللبنانية للمحاميات" و "مجلس الجمعيات النسائية اللبنانية" الذي يقوم بدور هيئة تنسيقية بين الجماعات المختلفة.

تتلقى معظم النساء تعليما جيدا في لبنان. وقد انخفضت نسبة الأمية بين الإناث الراشدات من 37 بالمئة عام 1980 إلى 19.7 بالمئة عام 2000. وتبلغ نسبة الأمية بين الشابات 8 بالمئة فقط. ونصف الطلاب الجامعيين من الإناث. وقد استفادت النساء من هذا التعليم فتفوقن على الرجال الأقل تعليما في قوة العمل.

تشكل النساء اللبنانيات 29 بالمئة من قوة العمل. والنساء العاملات أكثر تعليما من أقرانهن الذكور لأن التعليم يبدو شرطا مسبقا لدخول المرأة إلى قوة العمل. وما يقرب من ربع النساء العاملات (24.6 بالمئة) يعملن في قطاع المهن العلمية والفنية العليا. ووجدت المرأة فرص عمل في الإدارات الحكومية وفي المهن الطبية والقانونية والأكاديمية وفي الفنون والأعمال التجارية. ولسوء الحظ، لم يصل إلى المراكز العليا في هذه الحقول إلا عدد قليل من النساء. فمثلا، إن 90 بالمئة من موظفي البنوك من النساء، ولكن لا يوجد في لبنان نساء يشغلن وظيفة مدير بنك. وتعمل معظم النساء (81 بالمئة) في قطاع الخدمات، بينما يعمل 14 بالمئة منهن في الصناعة و 4 بالمئة في الزراعة.

أعلى الصفحة

قانون الأحوال الشخصية

يحدد القانون المدني العام بعض المجالات المتعلقة بالأوضاع الشخصية للمرأة اللبنانية. فيضمن هذا القانون حق النساء في امتلاك المصالح التجارية، ويعطي لشهادتهن أمام المحاكم وزنا مساويا لشهادة الرجال. ولكن معظم الأوضاع الشخصية للمرأة تخضع لقوانين طائفتها الدينية. ويعترف لبنان بـ 19 طائفة لكل منها قانونها الديني الخاص. وقد نادت بعض الجماعات النسائية بإصلاح يؤدي إلى وضع قانون اختياري عام للزواج المدني يوحد جميع الزيجات في إطاره. وأظهر مجلس النواب معارضة شديدة لهذا الاقتراح حالت دون عرضه عليه للنظر فيه.

أعلى الصفحة

الإصلاحات المتعلقة بالنوع الاجتماعي

تعلن "اللجنة الوطنية لشؤون المرأة اللبنانية"، وهي لجنة حكومية، التزامها تحقيق المساواة الكاملة بين الرجال والنساء. وهي تهدف إلى ضمان حقوق الإنسان بالنسبة للنساء، وزيادة فرص توفير العيش الكريم والآمن للنساء، وزيادة مشاركة المرأة في الحكومة وفي عملية اتخاذ القرار. وقد وضعت الحكومة "خطة العمل الوطني" للفترة 1997-2000 الهادفة إلى تحسين وضع المرأة في لبنان.

لعبت منظمات حقوق المرأة الدور الرئيسي في حث الحكومة على التصديق على اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة، وفي متابعة تنفيذها. وبذلت المنظمات غير الحكومية جهودا طوعية مستمرة وملتزمة سعيا وراء القضاء على التمييز ضد المرأة وتوسعة نطاق وعي المواطنين في هذه القضية. وعملت المنظمات غير الحكومية على إعادة تأهيل النساء اللبنانيات وحمايتهن ومساعدتهن. وينشط في لبنان حاليا ما يزيد على 3000 منظمة غير حكومية. وبعض هذه المنظمات تهتم مباشرة بقضايا المرأة، بينما تضع منظمات أخرى بعض البرامج حول المرأة من ضمن نشاطها الكلي.

أعلى الصفحة

اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة

في آذار/مارس 1993 قام لبنان بالتصديق على "اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة" مع تحفظه على ما يتعارض مع القوانين الدينية.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Gender: Lebanon
You may also
 

Conditions of Women

Women in Lebanon have taken an active role in education and the economy, but continue to be largely excluded from political institutions. Only in November 2004, for the first time in Lebanon's history, the Lebanese cabinet included two women Mrs. Layla Al-Solh was appointed as minister of industry, and Mrs. Wafa Hamza as minister of state. However, that government resigned on 28 February, two weeks after the assassination of ex-prime minister Rafiq Hariri. The two females were not re-appointed in the new Lebanese cabinet formed on 27 April, 2005. Only three members of the 128-seat parliament are women, and the 78 women elected as municipal council members in May/June 1998 constituted only one per cent of the total. The Lebanese government has established a National Authority on Women’s Issues to improve the status of women. This Authority has created a National Action Plan for Women and a National Committee for Women’s Affairs to oversee the plan’s implementation. The Plan seeks to empower women and challenge social discrimination through a variety of projects, including private and micro-credit development for poor women. The Committee has also implemented a national education program to teach women about their rights and to provide new social images of women in public life.

Several women’s organizations have emerged in Lebanon to address gender issues. The Lebanese Association for Combating Violence Against Women was established in 1994 to combat sexual violence. The government has failed to create facilities to help the victims of domestic violence. Other Lebanese women’s groups include the Committee for the Political Rights of Women, the Lebanese Women’ Council, the Lebanese Association of Women Lawyers, and the Council for Lebanese Women’s Organizations that acts as a coordinating body between different groups.

Most women receive a good education in Lebanon. Adult female illiteracy has fallen from 37% in 1980 to 19.7% in 2000. lliteracy among young females is just 8%. Half of all university students are women. Women have been able to utilize this training to gain an edge over less educated men in the workforce.

Lebanese women comprise 29% of the workforce. Working women tend to be more educated than their male counterparts, as education tends to be a prerequisite for women entering the labor force. Almost a quarter (24.6%) of employed women work in the professional sector. Women have found opportunities in government, medicine, the law, academia, the arts, and business. Unfortunately, few women have achieved senior positions in their field. For instance, 90% of bank employees are women, but there are no female bank directors in the nation. Most women (81%) are employed in the service sector, with 14% in industry and 4% in agriculture.

Top of this page

Law of Personal Status

Some areas of women’s personal status in Lebanon are dictated by a common civil code. This code guarantees that women can own businesses and that their testimony will be given equal weight to men’s in court. But much of a woman’s personal status is dictated by her religious affiliation. Lebanon recognizes 19 different groups that are each accorded their own religious law. Some women’s groups have called for reform to create a universal civil marriage that would bring all marriages under a common code. This proposal has been sharply resisted by the parliament, which has blocked it from consideration.

Top of this page

Gender Reforms

The National Committee for Lebanese Women's Affairs, a governmental committee, states that it is committed to achieving full equality between men and women. It aims to ensure the human rights of women, to augment women’s access to safe and sustainable means of living, and to increase women’s participation in the government and decision making. The government had a National Action Plan between 1997-2000 for empowering and improving the status of women in the country.

Women's rights organizations played the major role in the incitement to ratify the CEDAW convention and the follow up of its enforcement. NGOs have made voluntary, continuous and committed efforts to abolish discrimination against women and to expand awareness among the population. NGOs work towards protecting, rehabilitating and assisting Lebanese women. More than three thousand NGOs are working at the present time in Lebanon. Some are directly concerned with women's issues, while others include some programs about women in their work.

Top of this page

Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW)

In March 1993, Lebanon ratified the Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women with reservations as to conflicts with religious law.

Top of this page