Country Governance

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Legislature: Mauritania
  • Administrative Structure
  • Functions
  • Sessions, Dissolution, State of Exception (n.a)
  • General Secretariat (n.a)
  • By-laws (n.a)
  • Committee Structures and Membership (n.a)
  • Legislative Drafting Processes (n.a)
  • Executive Supervision (n.a)
  • International Affiliations (n.a)
  • Country Comparison
You may also

Administrative Structure

The Military Council for Justice and Democracy holds legislative power during the transitional period which extends from August 3, 2005 to March 31, 2007. The Council issued a constitutional charter on August 6, 2005 that dissolved the elected parliament of 2001. The Council set November 19, 2006 as the date for electing a new National Assembly; January 21, 2007 as the date for electing the senate.

Top of this page


The new bicameral parliament will assume its legislative powers upon the completion of the transitional process on March 31, 2007. On November 19 and December 3, 2006 the 95 members of the National Assembly were elected in a pluralist and competitive election contested by 28 political parties and several independent groups. Elections of members of the Upper House (Senate), composed of 53 members, took place on January 21, 2007 with a second round on February 4, 2007

Top of this page