إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: التشريع: الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة
يمكنكم أيضا
 

الهيكل الإداري

أسست منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية برلمانا في المنفى سنة 1964 كانت عضويته تتم عن طريق التعيين. وفي العام 1996 أصبح المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني أول هيئة تشريعية فلسطينية منتخبة شعبيا. والمجلس التشريعي الذي يضم 88 عضوا هيئة انتقالية إلى حين استكمال عملية السلام وإعلان قيام دولة فلسطينية.

تعيق القيود التي تفرضها إسرائيل على تنقل الفلسطينيين أعمال المجلس التشريعي، وخصوصا نشاط أعضائه في أوساط مناطقهم الانتخابية وجمهورهم الانتخابي. واعتقلت قوات الدفاع الإسرائيلي (الجيش) عضوي المجلس التشريعي حسام خضر ومروان البرغوثي بتهمة تورطهما في نشاط إرهابي. وأدانت محكمة إسرائيلية في أيار/مايو 2004 البرغوثي بتهمة الانتماء إلى منظمة إرهابية. ووصف البرغوثي محاكمته بأنها "غير قانونية وغير أخلاقية".

تتعزز شرعية المجلس التشريعي بفضل انتخاب أعضائه من الفلسطينيين المقيمين في القدس والضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة. ومع ذلك، فإن منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية التي لا تقوم على أساس انتخابي تمثل جميع الفلسطينيين في فلسطين وفي الشتات. ولم يوضح مشروع النظام الأساسي طبيعة علاقة المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني باللجنة التنفيذية لمنظمة التحرير وبالمجلس الوطني الفلسطيني، أي برلمان المنفى. كما أن مسألة ازدواجية العضوية في المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني وفي المجلس الوطني الفلسطيني لم تحل حتى الآن. وما يزال دور المجلس التشريعي في المفاوضات مع إسرائيل وفي التصديق على المعاهدات موضع بحث ونقاش. وتحظر الاتفاقية المؤقتة لعام 1995 على المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني إصدار التشريعات حول عدد كبير من المسائل المؤجلة إلى حين جلاء المفاوضات التي تقودها منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية.

يعزز المجلس التشريعي حق الفلسطينيين في تقرير مصيرهم. كما أن دوره في استجواب الوزراء وفي تشكيل لجان للتحقيق مع السلطة التنفيذية يسهم في إرساء ظاهرة المساءلة في أوساط السلطة التنفيذية. وقد تعززت الصفة التمثيلية للمجلس التشريعي بفضل نشاط أعضائه طوال سنين على الصعيد الشعبي في دوائرهم الانتخابية وتفحصهم لشكاوى المواطنين الذين ينتخبوهم.

يتعاون المجلس التشريعي بشكل وثيق مع منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية ومع السلطة التنفيذية. وفي الوقت نفسه، يحاول المجلس تأكيد استقلاليته وسط البنية الحكومية الفلسطينية الحديثة نسبيا. فقد رفض المجلس عام 1996 تأكيد السلطة التنفيذية بأنه جزء من المجلس الوطني الفلسطيني، ولكنه سمح لأعضاء اللجنة التنفيذية في منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية بالمشاركة في مناقشات جلساته المكتملة ولكن من غير أن يكون لهم حق التصويت على قراراته.

صدّق المجلس التشريعي بين عامي 1996 و 2000 (24) قانونا وأحالها إلى رئيس السلطة الفلسطينية لتوقيعها. كما صدّق المجلس أيضا لوائحه الداخلية، وراجع مشروع النظام الأساسي لعام 1996 وأحاله على السلطة التنفيذية، وسنّ القانون الذي ينظم انتخاب السلطات المحلية، وصدق قانون الإدارة المحلية، ووضع مسودة مشروع قانون الخدمة المدنية. وزاد المجلس التشريعي أيضا من تعاونه مع المنظمات الفلسطينية غير الحكومية، وأصدر قانون المنظمات الأهلية سنة 1998. وتضمنت مناقشات المجلس التشريعي مؤخرا البحث في قضايا الصحة العامة، وخلق فرص عمل، وعملية السلام الجارية.

أعلى الصفحة

الوظائف

يجوز للمجلس التشريعي اقتراح القوانين واستجواب الحكومة أو أي من الوزراء. ويقرّ المجلس التشريعي القوانين ويناقش السياسات ويعتمد الميزانية وخطط التنمية، ويمنح العفو العام ويصادق على خفض العقوبات، ويوافق على تعيين الوزراء ويسحب الثقة منهم.

أعلى الصفحة

الجلسات، حل الهيئة التشريعية، الحالة الاستثنائية

للمجلس التشريعي دورا انعقاد عاديان سنويا، لا تتجاوز أي منهما ثلاثة أشهر. ويجوز لرئيس السلطة أو لرئيس المجلس دعوة المجلس إلى عقد جلسة استثنائية. ويدعو الرئيس المجلس إلى جلسة استثنائية أيضا في حال تسلمه طلبا بذلك من ثلث أعضاء المجلس على الأقل. وفقا للنظام الأساسي، لا يمكن حل المجلس التشريعي أثناء حال الطوارئ.

أعلى الصفحة

الأمانة العامة

ينتخب المجلس التشريعي في جلسته الأولى من بين أعضائه رئيس المجلس ونائبين للرئيس وأمينا عاما. ويشكل هؤلاء المسؤولون مكتب المجلس. ووضع المجلس التشريعي نظاما لحفظ السجلات، وأنشأ أمانة عامة تتولى مسؤولية إدارة دوائره وموظفيه وتنظيمها. وتشرف الأمانة العامة على مكاتب الدوائر الانتخابية في الأقضية الستة عشر، وعلى الأقسام الإدارية والمالية والإعلامية والقانونية وأقسام العلاقات العامة وغيرها. غير أن القيود التي تفرضها إسرائيل على تنقل الفلسطينيين تعيق عمليات المجلس، وبالأخص عمله في وسط الدوائر الانتخابية.

أعلى الصفحة

القوانين الداخلية

تنظم اللوائح الداخلية للمجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني أعماله وشؤونه الداخلية. يتمتع أعضاء المجلس بالحصانة القانونية طيلة ولاية المجلس. ولا يمكن اتخاذ أي إجراءات جنائية ضد أعضاء المجلس إلا في حال ارتكابهم جريمة فظيعة، على أن يكون ذلك بإذن من المجلس. وإذا كان المجلس خارج دور الانعقاد فعلى الجهات المعنية الحصول على إذن رئيس المجلس لملاحقة العضو موضع الاتهام.

أعلى الصفحة

هياكل اللجان وعضويتها

يلعب نظام اللجان دورا ذا أهمية خاصة في التفاعلات الداخلية للمجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني. جلسات اللجان غير مفتوحة للجمهور، وفي إمكان المجلس تشكيل أية لجنة مؤقتة يراها ضرورية. وقد شكل المجلس التشريعي 12 لجنة دائمة. ويجوز للجان أن تطلب المعلومات مباشرة من الوزراء أو من كبار الموظفين، أو أن تطلب حضورهم جلسات استجواب حول بعض القضايا. وبالإضافة إلى اللجان الدائمة، يمكن للمجلس التشريعي تشكيل لجان فرعية متخصصة أو مشتركة أو مؤقتة.

أعلى الصفحة

عمليات الصياغة التشريعية

تتطلب اجتماعات المجلس وجود نصاب من نصف الأعضاء على الأقل. وجميع القرارات تتخذ بالأغلبية البسيطة من الأعضاء الحاضرين. ويمكن للحكومة أو لأي عضو في المجلس التشريعي اقتراح مشروع قانون، وتنشر القوانين المعتمدة في "جريدة فلسطين الرسمية"، وتصبح نافذة بعد 30 يوما من تاريخ نشرها. ويمكن لرئيس الوزراء اقتراح تصويت المجلس على الثقة بالحكومة. ويمكن لعشرة أعضاء من المجلس أن يطلبوا سحب الثقة من الحكومة وأن يكون لهم ذلك إذا حصل اقتراحهم على أغلبية بسيطة من بين أعضاء المجلس.

أعلى الصفحة

الانتساب والعضوية الدولية

المجلس التشريعي الفلسطيني عضو في الاتحاد البرلماني العربي والاتحاد البرلماني الدولي العالمي.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Legislature: Occupied Palestinian Territories
You may also
 

Administrative Structure

The Palestinian Liberation Organization (PLO) established a parliament-in-exile in 1964, but its membership was largely appointed. In 1996, the Palestinian Legislative Council (PLC) became the first popularly elected legislature of Palestine. The unicameral PLC, with its 88 members, constitutes a transitional body until the peace process is concluded and a Palestinian state is declared.

Israel’s restrictions on Palestinians’ movement impede the operations of the Council and particularly its work with the constituencies. In 2003 the Israeli Defense Force (IDF) arrested two PLC deputies, Husam Khader and Marwan Barghouti, on accusations of involvement in terrorist activity. Barghouti was convicted by an Israeli court of belonging to a terrorist organization in May 2004 in a trial he described as “illegal and immoral”.

The fact that Palestinians living in Jerusalem, the West Bank, and the Gaza Strip elect the PLC adds to its legitimacy. Nevertheless, the PLO, while not based on elections, represents all Palestinians, both in Palestine and in the Diaspora. The nature of the PLC’s relationship with the Executive Committee of the PLO and with the Palestinian National Council (PNC), the parliament in exile, has not been clarified in the draft Basic Law, and the issue of dual membership in the PLC and the PNC has not been settled. The PLC's role in the negotiations with Israel and in ratifying treaties is still subject to discussion. The Interim Agreement of 1995 prohibits the PLC from legislating on a wide range of issues that remain subject to peace negotiations led by the PLO.

The Council reinforces the Palestinian right to self-determination, and its role in questioning ministers and in forming committees to investigate the executive branch contributes to establishing accountability. Work in the constituencies, looking into the complaints of citizens who elect its members, has added over the years to the Council’s representativeness.

The PLC cooperates closely with the PLO and the executive branch. At the same time, it is trying to assert its independence in the relatively new Palestinian governmental structure. In 1996, the PLC rejected the executive branch’s assertion that the Council is part of the PNC, but allowed PLO Executive Committee members to participate in its plenary debates, albeit without the power to vote on its decisions.

Between 1996 and 2001 the PLC approved 24 laws and submitted them for the signature of the president of the Palestinian Authority (PA). The PLC has also approved its own by-laws, reviewed and submitted the Draft Basic Law of 1996 to the executive branch, enacted the law governing the election of local authorities, approved the local government law, and drafted a civil service bill. The PLC has also increased its cooperation with Palestinian non-governmental organizations (NGOs) and passed the NGO Law in 1998. Recent PLC discussions have addressed issues such as public health, job creation, and the ongoing peace process

Top of this page

Functions

The PLC may propose the enactment of laws and may question the government or individual ministers. The PLC approves laws, debates policy, approves the budget and development plans, issues general amnesty and approves pardons, approves the appointment of the cabinet ministers, and withdraws confidence from them.

Top of this page

Sessions, Dissolution, State of Exception

The PLC has two ordinary sessions every year, each to last for no longer than three months. The president or speaker may call for the PLC to meet in extraordinary session. The speaker may also call for extraordinary session if he receives such a request from not less than one third of the members of the Council. According to the Basic Law, the PLC cannot be dissolved during a state of emergency.

Top of this page

General Secretariat

During its first session, the PLC elects a speaker, two deputies and a Secretary General from amongst its members, and these three officials compose the Office of the Speaker. The PLC has set up a record-keeping system and a General Secretariat charged with the administration and organization of its departments and staff. The secretariat also oversees the 16 district constituency offices, as well as administrative, financial, media, public relations, legal, and other departments.

Top of this page

By-laws

The Standing Order of the PLC governs the institution’s internal functioning. Members of the Council enjoy legal immunity during the life of the Council. No criminal proceedings may be instituted against members except in case of flagrant crime and with the permission of the Council. When the Council is not in session the speaker's permission is needed.

Top of this page

Committee Structures and Membership

The committee system plays a particularly significant role in the internal dynamics of the PLC. Committee sessions are closed to the public, and the Council can establish any temporary committee it deems necessary. The PLC has formed 12 permanent committees. The committees may request information directly from cabinet ministers or other senior officials, or request their attendance at hearings on issues. In addition to standing committees, the PLC may form specialized, joint, and interim committees and subcommittees.

Top of this page

Legislative Drafting Processes

Meetings of the Council require a quorum of at least half of its members. All decisions are taken by a simple majority of the members present. The government or any member of the PLC may propose a law, and laws approved are published in The Palestinian Gazette. They come into force in 30 days after their publication. The prime minister may propose a vote of confidence in the cabinet before the Council. A no-confidence motion may also be proposed by at least ten members of the Council and may be passed by a simple majority.

Top of this page

International Affiliations

The Palestinian Legislative Council (PLC) is a member of the Arab Inter-Parliamentary Union (AIPU) and the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU).

Top of this page