إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: التشريع: الكويت
يمكنكم أيضا
 

الهيكل الإداري

مجلس الأمة هو الهيئة التشريعية في الكويت. ويضم هذا المجلس حاليا 65 عضوا، 50 منهم منتخبون لمدة أربع سنوات و 15 عضوا من الوزراء الذين يعينهم الأمير ويحصلون على عضوية مجلس الأمة بحكم منصبهم الوزاري. ويمكن لأعضاء مجلس الأمة المنتخبين أن يشغلوا منصبا وزاريا، وفي هذه الحال يقل عدد أعضاء المجلس من الوزراء تبعا لذلك.

أعلى الصفحة

الوظائف

يناقش مجلس الأمة السياسات وبرامج الحكومة ويصدر القوانين. وللمجلس الحق في مساءلة الوزراء وطرح الثقة بأي عضو من أعضاء الحكومة. وتسحب الثقة من الوزير بموافقة أغلبية أعضاء مجلس الأمة، على أن يستثنى الوزراء من التصويت. ولا يمكن طرح الثقة برئيس مجلس الوزراء في مجلس الأمة. ومع ذلك، إذا قرر مجلس الأمة عدم إمكانية التعاون مع رئيس الوزراء يرفع الأمر إلى الأمير. وفي هذه الحالة، قد يعفي الأمير رئيس الوزراء من منصبه. ويعين وزارة جديدة أو يحل مجلس الأمة.

أعلى الصفحة

الجلسات، حل الهيئة التشريعية، الحالة الاستثنائية

دور الانعقاد السنوي المنتظم لمجلس الأمة لا يقل عن ثمانية شهور. ويجتمع المجلس كل عام في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر بدعوة من الأمير، وإذا تأخرت الدعوة يجتمع المجلس في السبت الثالث من الشهر نفسه حيث تعلن دعوته للاجتماع. جلسات المجلس علنية ويجوز تحويلها إلى جلسات سرية بناء على طلب الحكومة أو رئيس المجلس أو عشرة أعضاء، وتكون مناقشة هذا الطلب سرية. وإذا عقد المجلس إجتماعاته في غير الأماكن والأوقات المحددة لها تعتبر نتائجها ملغاة وفقا للقانون. ويمكن دعوة مجلس الأمة إلى جلسة غير عادية بمرسوم إذا ارتأى الأمير ضرورة ذلك، أو بناء على طلب غالبية أعضاء المجلس. ولا بدّ من وجود نصف أعضاء المجلس لكي يكون نصاب الجلسة صحيحا.

يفتتح الأمير الدورة السنوية للمجلس ويلقي خطابا يراجع فيه وضع البلاد والأمور العامة المهمة التي حصلت في العام السابق ويعرض المشروعات التي تخطط الحكومة لتنفيذها في العام المقبل. ويختار مجلس الأمة لجنة من بين أعضائه لكتابة رد على خطاب الأمير يتضمن تعليقات ورغبات المجلس. وبعد إقرار الرد من قبل المجلس يتم رفعه إلى الأمير.

وفقا للدستور باستطاعة الأمير حل مجلس الأمة بمرسوم يتضمن أسباب هذه الخطوة. ولكن لا يمكن حل المجلس مرة أخرى للأسباب ذاتها. وإذا حل المجلس تجري الانتخابات لمجلس جديد خلال شهرين من تاريخ حله. وإذا لم تحصل انتخابات خلال فترة الشهرين يعاد المجلس السابق بكامله إلى حين انتخاب مجلس جديد. واستخدم أمير الكويت صلاحية حل مجلس الأمة 4 مرات منذ تأسيس أول مجلس أمة عام 1963. أما تواريخ حل مجلس الأمة فكانت في الأعوام 1976، 1986، 1999، وفي 21 أيار/مايو 2006. وإلى جانب إصدار مرسوم حل مجلس الأمة الأخير، أصدر الأمير مرسوما دعا فيه الهيئة الناخبة إلى انتخاب مجلس جديد في 29 حزيران/يونيو 2006.

أعلى الصفحة

الأمانة العامة

ينتخب المجلس رئيسا له ونائبا للرئيس من بين أعضائه بالأكثرية المطلقة للأعضاء الحاضرين في الجولة الأولى، وبالغالبية النسبية في الجولة الثانية من التصويت إذا دعت الضرورة. لرئيس المجلس سلطة عقد الدورات وتعديل جدول الأعمال وتنظيم المناقشات وتحديد وقت لكل متحدث، وفحص مشروعات القوانين والتعديلات لتقرير ما إذا كانت مقبولة أو معقولة، وإحالة النصوص إلى لجنة لدراستها، وتأليف اللجان، وتقرير كيفية إجراء التصويت، وإلغاء نتيجة التصويت في حال حدوث مخالفات. وهو يعطي الإذن بالكلام في بنود من خارج جدول الأعمال وبالتالي ينظم المناقشات المرتجلة، وهو يعدّ ميزانية المجلس ويقدمها إلى مكتب مجلس الأمة، ويشارك في التصويت، ويقترح مشروعات قوانين أو تعديلات، ويتدخل في إجراءات الرقابة البرلمانية. كما يستشيره رئيس الدولة قبل تعيين رئيس الوزراء، ويلعب دورا محددا في إدارة شؤون السياسة الخارجية والدفاع بالتعاون مع السلطة التنفيذية.

يتألف مكتب مجلس الأمة من رئيس المجلس ونائبه وأمين السر، ورئيس لجنة التشريع والشؤون القانونية، ورئيس لجنة الشؤون المالية والاقتصادية. إن رئيس مجلس الأمة الحالي هو جاسم محمد عبد المحسن الخرافي. وأمين عام المجلس هو مشاري العنجري.

أعلى الصفحة

القوانين الداخلية

ينص الدستور على اللوائح الداخلية الخاصة بالإجراءات البرلمانية وعلى لجان مجلس الأمة والقواعد الخاصة بالمناقشات والتصويت وطرح الأسئلة والاستجواب وجميع المهام الأخرى. وتحدد اللوائح الداخلية العقوبات التي تفرض على عضو المجلس الذي يخالف النظام أو يتغيب عن اجتماعات المجلس أو عن اجتماعات لجانه من دون عذر مشروع.

وفقا للمادة 159 من "القواعد التنظيمية"، تحضّر الحكومة مشروع الموازنة السنوية تشتمل على إيرادات الدولة ونفقاتها وتقدمها إلى مجلس الأمة كي يناقشها ويقرّها قبل شهرين على الأقل من نهاية السنة المالية. ووفقا للمادة 171 من "القواعد التنظمية" يلحق "ديوان الرقابة المالية" بمجلس الأمة تبعا للمادة 151 من الدستور. ويساعد هذا الديوان الحكومة ومجلس الأمة على ضبط عملية جباية إيرادات الدولة وعملية توزيع نفقاتها في حدود الموازنة. ويقدم الديوان إلى الحكومة وإلى مجلس الأمة تقريرا سنويا عن أنشطته وملاحظاته.

أعلى الصفحة

هياكل اللجان وعضويتها

يشكل مجلس الأمة لجان استقصاء أو يفوض أعضاءه بالتحقيق في أمور تقع ضمن اختصاصه. وعلى الوزراء وجميع المسؤولين الحكوميين تقديم الشهادات المكتوبة والوثائق والبيانات التي يطلبها منهم مجلس الأمة. كما يشكل المجلس من بين لجانه السنوية الدائمة لجنة خاصة للنظر في العرائض والشكاوى التي يقدمها المواطنون.

أعلى الصفحة

عمليات الصياغة التشريعية

وفقا للدستور، لا يصدر أي قانون إن لم يجزه مجلس الأمة. وتكون جلسات المجلس صحيحة إذا حضرها أكثر من نصف الأعضاء. وإذا أقرّ مجلس الأمة مشروع قانون بأغلبية ثلثي الأصوات يصدر الأمير هذا القانون. وإذا لم يحصل مشروع القانون على الأغلبية المذكورة يمكن إعادة النظر فيه في الجلسة ذاتها. وإذا أصدر مجلس الأمة في جلسة أخرى مشروع القانون نفسه بأغلبية الأصوات يصدره الأمير كقانون. يتم إصدار القوانين خلال ثلاثين يوما من تاريخ تقديمها من جانب مجلس الأمة إلى الأمير. وفي الحالات المستعجلة تخفض هذه المدة إلى سبعة أيام. وتنشر القوانين في الجريدة الرسمية قبل أن تصبح سارية المفعول.

أعلى الصفحة

الرقابة التنفيذية

يشرف وزير الدولة للشؤون البرلمانية على نشاطات مجلس الأمة نيابة عن السلطة التنفيذية.

أعلى الصفحة

الانتساب والعضوية الدولية

مجلس الأمة الكويتي عضو في الاتحاد البرلماني العالمي وفي الاتحاد البرلماني العربي.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Legislature: Kuwait
You may also
 

Administrative Structure

The Kuwaiti legislature is the unicameral National Assembly (Majles Al-Ummah). It currently has 65 members, including fifty who are elected for four-year terms of office and 15 cabinet ministers appointed by the Emir who sit as ex officio members. Elected officials may also serve in the cabinet, in which case the number of ex officio members is reduced accordingly.

Top of this page

Functions

The National Assembly debates policies and government programs and passes laws. It is also permitted to question ministers and take a vote of no confidence in individual members of the government. Withdrawal of confidence from a minister takes place by a majority vote of the members constituting the Assembly excluding ministers. The question of confidence in the prime minister may not be raised before the National Assembly. Nevertheless, if the National Assembly decides that it cannot cooperate with the prime minister, the matter is submitted to the Emir. In such a case, the Emir may either relieve the prime minister of office and appoint a new cabinet or dissolve the National Assembly.

Top of this page

Sessions, Dissolution, State of Exception

Regular annual parliamentary sessions are convened for no less than eight months. Every year, the Assembly meets in October at the invitation of the Emir; if the invitation is announced late, the meeting is held on the third Saturday of the month in which it is announced. Sittings of the National Assembly are public, though they may be held in secret upon the request of the government, the president of the Assembly, or ten of its members; and if the meetings are held in other places or times than assigned, their results must be canceled according to the Law. The debate on such a request is held in secret. The National Assembly is called by decree to an extraordinary session if the Emir deems it necessary, or upon the demand of the majority of the members of the Assembly. A quorum of half the members must be present for any session to continue.

The Emir opens the annual session of the National Assembly and delivers a speech reviewing the situation of the country and the important public matters from the preceding year and outlining the projects to be undertaken by the government during the coming year. The National Assembly chooses from among its members a committee to draft the reply to the Emir’s speech, which embodies the comments and wishes of the Assembly. Upon approval of the response by the Assembly, the response is submitted to the Emir.

The constitution empowers the Emir to dissolve the National Assembly by a decree, in which the reasons for dissolution are indicated. However, the dissolution of the Assembly may not be repeated for the same reasons. In the event of dissolution, elections for the new Assembly are held within two months. Otherwise, the dissolved Assembly is restored fully until the new Assembly is elected. The Emir exercised his powers dissolving the parliament 4 times since its inception in 1963. The 4 times were 1976, 1986, 1999 and May 21, 2006. The dissolution decree of 2006 was accompanied by a decree calling for new parliamentary elections on June 29, 2006.

Top of this page

General Secretariat

The National Assembly elects a speaker and a deputy speaker from among its members by an absolute majority vote of the members present in the first round or, if necessary, by a relative majority in a second round of voting. The speaker has the powers to convene sessions, establish and modify the agenda, organize the debates and set speaking times, examine the admissibility of bills and amendments, refer texts to a committee for study, set up committees, decide how the vote is carried out, and cancel a vote in the event of irregularities. He can bring items outside the agenda to the floor, and thus organize impromptu debates. He draws up the budget of the Assembly, submits it to the Bureau of the National Assembly, takes part in voting, proposes bills or amendments, and intervenes in parliamentary oversight procedures. He is also consulted by the head of state prior to the appointment of the prime minister and plays a specific role in the conduct of foreign affairs and defense matters, in collaboration with the executive branch.

The Bureau of the National Assembly consists of the speaker, the deputy speaker, the secretary, the chairmen of the Legislative and Legal Affairs Committee and of the Financial and the Economic Affairs Committee. The current speaker of the Kuwaiti parliament is Jasem Mohammad Abdulmuhsen Al-Khorafi. The secretary general is Mashari Al-Anjari.

Top of this page

By-laws

The standing orders of the Assembly procedures, its committees and the rules pertaining to discussion, voting, questions, interpellation, and all other functions are prescribed in the constitution. The standing orders specify the sanctions to be imposed on any member who violates order or absents himself from the meetings of the Assembly or the committees without a legitimate excuse.

According to article 159 of the Rule of Orders, the government draws up an annual draft budget comprising the revenue and expenditure of the state, and submits it to the National Assembly for discussion and approval, at least two months before the end of the fiscal year. According to article 171 of the Rule of Orders, The Financial Control Diwan (Audit Bureau) is attached to the National Assembly in line with article 151 of the Constitution and assists the government and the National Assembly in controlling the collection of the state revenues and the disbursement of its expenditures within the limits of the budget. The Diwan submits to both the government and the National Assembly an annual report on its activities and its observations.

Top of this page

Committee Structures and Membership

The National Assembly sets up committees of inquiry or delegates its members to investigate matters within its competence. Ministers and all government officials must produce testimonials, documents, and statements requested from them. The Assembly also sets up, among its annual standing committees, a special committee to deal with petitions and complaints submitted by citizens.

Top of this page

Legislative Drafting Processes

The constitution stipulates that no law may be promulgated unless the National Assembly passes it. The decisions of the Assembly are only valid when more than half of the members are present. If the National Assembly confirms a bill by a two-thirds majority vote, the Emir promulgates the bill. If the bill does not receive the said majority, it may not be reconsidered during the same session. If the National Assembly, in another session, passes the same bill by a majority vote, the Emir promulgates the bill as law. Promulgation of laws takes place within thirty days from the date of submission by the National Assembly to the Emir. In cases of emergency this period is reduced to seven days. Laws are published in the Official Gazette before they become effective.

Top of this page

Executive Supervision

The Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs oversees the activities of the parliament on behalf of the executive branch.

Top of this page

International Affiliations

The Kuwaiti parliament is a member of the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU) and the Arab Inter-Parliamentary Union (AIPU).

Top of this page