إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الحكم المحلي: السعودية
يمكنكم أيضا
 

تاريخ الحكم المحلي

بعد رفع درجة الخدمات البلدية إلى مديرية ضمن وزارة الداخلية في العام 1963، نص المرسوم الملكي الرقم أ/276 لعام 1975 على تأسيس "وزارة الشؤون البلدية والقروية" وأوكل إليها مهمة الإشراف على مختلف وحدات الحكم المحلي. وقرر مجلس الوزراء السعودي في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2003 "توسيع مشاركة المواطنين في إدارة الشؤون المحلية من خلال الانتخابات، وتنشيط المجالس البلدية انسجاما مع القرار المتعلق بالبلديات والقرى والمتضمن في مرسوم ملكي صدر عام 1977، وقرر انتخاب نصف أعضاء جميع "المجالس البلدية".

أعلى الصفحة

التقسيمات الإدارية

تنقسم المملكة إلى 13 منطقة لكل منطقة منها حاكم. ويعين الملك هؤلاء الحكام وهم مسؤولون مباشرة أمامه. ومعظم الحكّام من آل سعود. وتشرف سلطات المناطق على الأجهزة المحلية التابعة للحكومة المركزية وعلى المجالس البلدية. ومنذ العام 2002 أصبحت وزارة الشؤون البلدية والقروية تشرف على 5 بلديات رئيسية وعلى 107 بلديات أخرى مصنفة ضمن فئات "أ" و "ب" و"ج"، وعلى 7 بلديات إقليمية، وعلى 64 تجمعا قرويا مصنفة ضمن فئات "ب"، "ج"، و "د"، إلى جانب مسؤوليتها عن سلطات المياه والصرف الصحي وعن المديريات الأخرى. وتخضع الوحدات الإدارية المحلية إلى إعادة تصنيف كل 3 سنوات بناء على عدد السكان وعلى متغيرات أخرى. وذكرت الصحافة وجود 178 بلدية في سنة 2005.

أعلى الصفحة

ميزانيات الحكم البلدي والمحلي

تشرف وزارة الشؤون البلدية والقروية السعودية على جميع مجالات الإدارة البلدية. وتسيطر هذه الوزارة على الإدارة البلدية وعلى تخطيط المدن والبلدات، وعلى تطوير وصيانة البنية التحتية كالطرق والمجاري. والمملكة العربية السعودية دولة عالية التحضر إذ يقيم 87 بالمئة من سكانها في المناطق الحضرية. ورغم أن نصف أعضاء المجالس البلدية منتخبون، إلا أن رؤساء البلديات معينون ومسؤولون أمام وزارة الشؤون البلدية.

أعلى الصفحة

إصلاح ميزانية الحكم المحلي

أصدر وزير الشؤون البلدية والقروية الأمير متعب بن عبد العزيز في 29 أيلول/سبتمبر 2007 قرارا منح المجالس البلدية صلاحية الرقابة الدقيقة لأداء موظفي البلديات العامة في 6 قطاعات طالما كثرت حولها الشكوك والاتهامات الحادة وهي: بيع الأراضي الحكومية، طلبات حجج الاستحكام، المشاريع التنموية، مشاريع التشغيل والصيانة، عمليات تحصيل الإيرادات، والاستثمارات البلدية. وأعطى القرار المجلس البلدي حق الحصول من البلديات على بيان ربع سنوي بخصوص الحالات التي استوفيت فيها قيمة الأراضي، وحق الحصول على "الوثائق الكاملة" المتعلقة بأية قضية من قضايا بيع الأراضي الحكومية، وحق مساءلة المؤسسة البلدية عن المشاريع التنموية وطرق إدارتها المالية، وحق التحقق من شروط العقود ونظاميتها، والتحقق من شروط رخص الاستثمار الممنوحة لمستثمرين محليين أو غيرهم. ويعزز هذا القرار الدور الرقابي للمجالس البلدية المحلية ويؤكد ميدأ الشفافية والفاعلية.

لا يوجد أي فصل مالي ضريبي بين الحكومة المركزية والبلديات. ففي السنة المالية 2003، خصصت الحكومة 7.5 مليارات ريال سعودي للخدمات البلدية وللهيئات المسؤولة عن المياه، في مقابل 7.9 مليارات ريال للسنة السابقة. وقامت البلديات سنة 2000 بجباية ضرائب بقيمة مليار ريال سعودي (267 مليون دولار) قامت بتحويلها إلى وزارة الشؤون البلدية والقروية. وتقوم الوزارة بإعادة جزء من هذه الضرائب للنفقات العامة، بينما تستخدم الجزء المتبقي لأعمال الوزارة. وبلغ الإنفاق الحكومي على خدمات البلدية وعلى تطوير البنية التحتية والإعانات المحلية 7 بالمئة من الميزانية العامة لسنة 2003. وتعمل وزارة الشؤون البلدية والقروية مع وزارة المالية حاليا على إعداد تشريع من اجل خصخصة عملية جباية الضرائب البلدية.

أعلى الصفحة

الإنتخابات المحلية

أقر الملك سنة 2003 تأسيس مجالس شورى على مستوى البلديات ينتخب نصف أعضائها عن طريق الاقتراع الشعبي. ويتألف كل مجلس بلدية من 14 عضوا، 7 منتخبون و 7 معينون.

وجرت أول انتخابات بلدية في ثلاثة مراحل في التواريخ التالية: 10 شباط/فبراير و 3 آذار/مارس و 16 نيسان/إبريل 2005. وشارك في هذه الانتخابات 70 بالمئة من الناخبين المسجلين من الذكور والبالغ عددهم 330 ألفا. واختار الناخبون 244 عضوا للمجالس البلدية من بين 4600 مرشح. وراقب سير العملية الانتخابية 700 مراقب محلي في 258 مركز اقتراع. وأظهرت النتائج الرسمية فوز أصحاب التوجه الإسلامي بغالبية المقاعد البلدية. فقد فاز الاسلاميون المعتدلون بكامل مقاعد مدينتي جدة ومكة (7 مقاعد لكل منهما)، وفازوا بـ 6 مقاعد من أصل 7 في المدينة المنورة، وبـ 5 مقاعد من أصل 6 في الطائف. وفاز خطباء مساجد بـ 3 مقاعد من أصل 6 في مجلس بلدية تبوك فيما فاز اثنان من رجال العشائر وتاجر عقارات بالمقاعد المتبقية. وفي بريدا فاز المرشحون الاسلاميون بمقعدين من أصل 6 مقاعد. وفي بلدة عنيزة فاز الإسلاميون بمقعدين من أصل 5 مقاعد. وكان معظم المرشحين الاسلاميين من التكنوقراط الذين يتمتعون بكفاءة عالية ومن التيار الاسلامي المعتدل. وقال عدد من المثقفين الليبراليين السعوديين أنه لمن الطبيعي أن يفوز أنصار وأصحاب التوجه الاسلامي بأول انتخابات بلدية تحصل منذ 40 سنة في بلد مسلم محافظ. وأعطى مثقفون سعوديون آخرون وزنا أكبر للكفاءة والقدرة التنظيمية التي أظهرها المرشحون الإسلاميون.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Local Government: Saudi Arabia
You may also
 

Local Government History

After upgrading municipal services to a deputy ministry in the Ministry of Interior in 1963, Royal Decree No. A/276 of 1975 established the Ministry of Municipal and Rural Affairs (MOMRA), which supervises the various units of local government. The Council of Ministers of Saudi Arabia decided in October 2003 “to broaden the participation of citizens in administrating local affairs by means of elections, and to revitalize Saudi Arabia’s municipal councils in conformity with the ruling concerning municipalities and villages issued by Royal Decree in 1977, and to ensure that one half of the members of all municipal councils would henceforth be elected.”

Top of this page

Administrative Divisions

The kingdom is divided into 13 provinces (mintaqat), which are each ruled by a governor. Governors are appointed by the king and usually report directly to him. Most governors are also members of the house of al-Saud. The provincial government oversees the local offices of the central government and municipal officials. As of 2002 MOMRA was supervising 5 main municipalities, 107 other category A, B, and C municipalities, 7 regional municipalities, 64 category B, C, and D village clusters, along with water and drainage authorities and other directorates. Local units were subject to reclassification every three years, depending on population and other variables. Press reports indicated that there were 178 municipalities in 2005.

Top of this page

Municipal and Local Government Budgets

The Saudi Arabian Ministry of Municipal and Rural Affairs (MOMRA) oversees all areas of municipal governance. The ministry controls municipal administration, city and town planning, and the development and maintenance of infrastructure such as roads and sanitation. Saudi Arabia is highly urbanized with 87 percent of its people living in urban areas. Although half of the municipal council members are elected, the president is appointed and reports to the ministry.

Top of this page

Local Government Budgetary Reform

Prince Mit’ib Ben Abdul-Aziz, Minister of Municipal and Village Affairs, issued a Decision on September 29, 2007 granting municipal councils the power to closely monitor the performance of municipal employees in 6 sectors that had been the subject of numerous questions and accusations, namely: sale of government land, land certificates, development projects, operations and maintenance projects, collection of revenues and municipal investments. The Decision gave municipal councils the right to receive a quarterly report from the municipalities concerning land sales; the right to receive the complete documents pertaining to any such sale; the right to question municipal executives about the financial administration of development projects; the right to investigate or review the conditions of signed contracts and determine their appropriateness; the right to review the terms of investment licenses granted to local and other investors. This new administrative Decision enhances the supervisory and monitory role of municipal councils and asserts the principle of transparency and efficiency.

There is no fiscal separation between the central and municipal governments. In fiscal year 2003, the government allocated 7.5 billion Saudi riyals for municipal services and water authorities, down from 7.9 billion the previous year. Municipalities collected 1 billion Saudi riyals ($267 million US) in taxes in 2000, which was transferred to the MOMRA. The MOMRA returns a portion of the money for general expenditures, while utilizing the rest for ministry operations. Government spending on municipal services, infrastructure development and local subsidies amounted to 7% of the government budget for 2003. The MOMRA and Ministry of Finance are currently crafting legislation to privatize municipal tax collection.

Top of this page

Local Elections

In 2003, the King approved the creation of consultative councils on the municipal level, with half of the officials in these bodies to be elected by popular vote. Every municipal council includes 14 members, 7 of whom are elected and 7 are appointed.

The first municipal elections were conducted in 3 stages: on February 10, on March 3, and on April 21, 2005. Seventy percent of an electorate of 330,000 registered male voters participated in the elections. They chose 244 municipal council members out of 4600 candidates. The elections were monitored by 700 local observers in 258 electoral centers. Official results showed that candidates close to or affiliated with Islamic circles won the majority of municipal seats. They won all 7 seats in Jeddah and Mecca, 6 out of 7 seats in Al-Madina and 5 out of 6 seats in Ta'if. In Tabook 3 mosque preachers won half its municipal seats while 2 seats were won by tribal candidates and one seat by a real estate businessman. In Brida Islamic candidates won only 2 out of 6 municipal seats, and in Anaiza town they won 2 out of 5 seats. Most Islamic candidates were highly qualified technocrats and moderate Islamists. Saudi liberal intellectuals said that candidates close to Islamic circles and inclinations would naturally win in the first municipal elections to take place in 40 years in a conservative Muslim country. Other intellectuals gave weight to the efficient organizational capability of Islamic candidates.

Top of this page