إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الحكم المحلي: اليمن
يمكنكم أيضا
 

تاريخ الحكم المحلي

اعتمد اليمن الشمالي واليمن الجنوبي تاريخيا اللامركزية في إدارة الحكم. ففي الجنوب، أكدت التنمية السياسية على نقل مسؤولية الخدمات العامة إلى المناطق في سبيل زيادة الكفاءة والمشاركة في إيصالها إلى مختلف المناطق. وفي الشمال، شجعت الانتخابات البلدية المشاركة السياسية على المستوى المحلي. وأعادت دولة اليمن الموحد منذ عام 1995 التأكيد على اللامركزية. وفي آذار/مارس 1999، أعطى مؤتمر وطني حول اللامركزية لمجلس النواب اليمني الدافع لإقرار "قانون السلطة المحلية" الذي يمثل النموذج الراهن للامركزية في اليمن. انتقدت بعض الجماعات مثل "المعهد الوطني للديمقراطية"، القانون السلطة المحلية لعدم توسعته نطاق الانتخابات الشعبية لتشمل مناصب المحافظين والمديرين العامين في المحافظات . وعلاوة على ذلك، تفتقر الحكومة إلى البنية التحتية اللازمة لإجراء انتخابات بلدية فاعلة وصحيحة. ولا توفر الضمانات المتاحة للسلطات المحلية أي حماية ضد قيام الحكومة المركزية أو المحافظين بعزل المجالس المحلية أو حلها.

أعلى الصفحة

التقسيمات الإدارية

يوجد في اليمن حاليا 21 بلدية على مستوى المحافظات و 326 بلدية على مستوى المديريات. والمحافظات هي: أبين، عدن، البيضاء، الحديدة، الجوف، المهرة، المحويت، عتاق، ذمار، حضرموت، حجة، إب، لحج، صعدة، صنعاء، تعز، الضالع، شبوة، ريمه، مأرب ومدينة صنعاء العاصمة.

أعلى الصفحة

ميزانيات الحكم البلدي والمحلي

يعيد قانون السلطة المحلية نمط توزيع موارد الموازنة العامة بين السلطات المحلية والمركزية. ويدمج القانون السلطة المحلية المسؤولة عن التخطيط والتنمية والإدارة في هيئة واحدة منتخبة وهي المجلس البلدي. كما ينص على عقد مؤتمر وطني سنوي بدعوة من رئيس الوزراء لمراجعة وضع اللامركزية على صعيد البلاد.

أعلى الصفحة

إصلاح ميزانية الحكم المحلي

تم تنفيذ قانون السلطة المحلية بصورة بطيئة بسبب المعارضة السياسية التي واجهته، ولصعوبة تعيين حدود المناطق البلدية الجديدة، ولعدم التزام المؤسسات الرسمية به. وفي سبيل تطوير استراتيجيات اللامركزية، نظمت "وزارة الإدارة المحلية" مؤتمرا لمناقشة هذه المسألة في شباط/فبراير 2003. وفي تموز/يوليو 2003 وقعت اتفاقية مع "برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي" لوضع "برنامج اللامركزية والتنمية المحلية" الذي سينفذه "صندوق الأمم المتحدة لتنمية رأس المال". وسيبدأ العمل في المشروع في محافظتي تعز وحضرموت؛ ويهدف المشروع إلى تنفيذ إصلاحات لامركزية، وبناء القدرات المؤسسية للمجالس البلدية، وتخفيف حدة الفقر من خلال التنمية المحلية. وسوف تستخدم المساعدات الخارجية لتوسيع البرنامج ليشمل كافة أنحاء البلاد بمرور الزمن.

أعلى الصفحة

الإصلاح: اللامركزية الضريبية

يسعى قانون السلطة المحلية إلى تحويل الحكومة اليمنية إلى سلطة لامركزية على الصعيد الضريبي من خلال زيادة استقلالية ميزانيات السلطات المحلية. وكانت الحكومة المركزية قبل سنة 1999 تتحكم تحكما شديدا بالمخصصات المالية والضريبية الأمر الذي تسبب بالتأخير في تنفيذ مشروعات التنمية المحلية. وكانت معظم الإيرادات المحلية التي تجبى عن طريق الضرائب والرسوم تحوّل إلى العاصمة صنعاء حيث تتولى الحكومة المركزية توزيع الإيرادات على ميزانيات جميع السلطات المحلية تقريبا. وينص القانون الجديد على احتفاظ السلطات المحلية لنفسها بالإيرادات التي تجبيها محليا. كما ستوزع الحكومة المركزية بعض الأموال التي تجبيها على البلديات على أساس الكثافة السكانية.

أعلى الصفحة

الإنتخابات المحلية

أجرت اليمن أول انتخابات لمحافظي المحافظات من جانب أعضاء المجالس المحلية المنتخبين على مستوى المحافظات والمديريات والتي يبلغ عدد أعضائها 7484 عضوا قاموا بانتخاب 21 محافظا. وقاطعت أحزاب المعارضة المنضوية في "اللقاء المشترك" هذه الانتخابات واعتبرتها تراجعا عن الديمقراطية لأن حزب "المؤتمر الشعبي العام" الحاكم يسيطر على المجالس المحلية نتيجة حصوله على 70% من مقاعدها في الانتخابات المحلية التي جرت في أيلول/سبتمبر 2006. وأسفرت النتائج النهائية عن فوز مرشحي الحزب الحاكم في 17 محافظة بينا فاز مرشحون مستقلون من أنصار الحزب الحاكم في 3 محافظات. وتعذر إجراء الانتخابات في محافظة الضالع (جنوب البلاد) لعدم اكتمال النصاب القانوني حيث حضر 79 عضوا من أصل 196 عضوا يشكلون الهيئة الناخبة. وأعلن الرئيس علي عبد الله صالح عن تعديلات قريبة في قانون الحكم المحلي تتضمن تعيين الأمناء العامين للمجالس المحلية في المحافظات والمديريات بدلا من انتخابهم بحيث يكونون ممثلين للسلطة المركزية، وليس شرطا أن يكون الأمين العام من أبناء المحافظة أو المديرية المعين فيها. وحث الرئيس صالح الحكومة على وضع إستراتيجية لحكم محلي واسع الصلاحيات في القريب العاجل.

وكانت أول انتخابات محلية على مستوى اليمن كله قد جرت في شباط/فبراير 2001 حيث تنافس 832ر26 مرشحا لشغل 6614 مقعدا بلديا في المديريات، وتنافس 2500 مرشحا لشغل 418 مقعدا بلديا على مستوى المحافظات. وانتخب الفائزون بعضوية المجالس البلدية في المديريات والمحافظات لولاية انتقالية كأول ممثلين بلديين منتخبين في تاريخ اليمن.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Local Government: Yemen
You may also
 

Local Government History

Both North Yemen and South Yemen historically supported decentralization in governance. In the South, political development emphasized devolving public services for efficiency and participation. In the North, municipal elections encouraged political participation at the local level. Since 1995, the united nation of Yemen has reemphasized decentralization. In March 1999, a national conference on decentralization helped provide the impetus for the Yemen Parliament to adopt the Local Authority Law, which presents the present model for national decentralization. Some groups, such as the National Democracy Institute, have criticized the law for not extending popular elections to the positions of governors or general-directors at the provincial level. Additionally, the government lacks the necessary electoral infrastructure to conduct efficient and proper municipal elections. The safeguards for local governments provide few protections against the removal or dissolution of local councils by the central government or governors.

Top of this page

Administrative Divisions

Yemen currently has 21 provincial municipalities and 326 district municipalities. The governorates (muhafazat) are: Abyan, 'Adan, Al Bayda', Al Hudaydah, Al Jawf, Al Mahrah, Al Mahwit, 'Ataq, Dhamar, Hadhramawt, Hajjah, Ibb, Lahij, Ma'rib, Sa'dah, San'a', Ta'izz, Al Daleh, Shabwah, Reemeh and the capital city of Sana'a.

Top of this page

Municipal and Local Government Budgets

The Local Authority Law restructures the distribution of budgetary resources between the local and central government. The law consolidates local authority for planning, development, and administration into one elected body: the municipal council. It also provides for a yearly national conference to be convened by the prime minister to review the status of national decentralization.

Top of this page

Local Government Budgetary Reform

Implementation of the Local Authority Law has been slow due to political opposition, difficulties in demarcating new municipal districts, and a lack of institutional commitment. In order to further develop strategies for decentralization, the Ministry of Local Administration called a conference to discuss the matter in February 2003 and in July 2003 entered into an agreement with the United Nations Development Project to create the Decentralization and Local Development Support Program (DLDSP), to be executed by the United Nations Capital Development Fund. The project will begin work in Taiz and Hadramawt provinces with the goal of implementing decentralization reforms, building the capacity of municipal councils, and alleviating poverty through local development. Foreign aid will be used to expand the project throughout the country over time.

Top of this page

Reform: Fiscal Decentralization

The Local Authority Law seeks to fiscally decentralize the Yemeni government by increasing local budgetary autonomy. Before 1999, fiscal allocations were tightly controlled by the central government, creating delays in local development projects. Most local revenues raised through taxes and fees were transferred to the capital, Sana’a, with virtually all of local budgets coming from fund transfers from the national government. The new law provides that local authorities will keep revenues collected at the local level. Portions of monies collected by the central government will be distributed to municipalities based on population density.

Top of this page

Local Elections

Yemen conducted its first ever elections of the governors of its 21 provinces on May 17, 2008. The governors were elected by 7484 members of local councils. The local councils are at the provincial and district levels. Political parties of the opposition that belong to the "Joint Forum" boycotted these elections because they considered them a regression in democracy since the "General Popular Conference" party (the ruling party) controls local councils as of September 2006 local elections where it won 70% of local councils seats. Final results showed that the ruling party candidates won in 17 provinces, while independents who support the ruling party won in 3 provinces. Elections were not held in Al-Daleh province (in Southern Yemen) due to lack of quorum. Only 79 out of 196 members electoral body in Daleh were present and ready to vote. After the elections, President Ali Abdullah Saleh announced that the local governance law will be amended soon. The proposed amendments include appointing rather than electing the general secretaries of local councils at the provincial and district levels so that they become representatives of the central authority. The secretary general should not necessarily be a resident of the province or district to which he will be appointed. President Saleh urged the government to set a strategy for a local governance that possesses vast powers as soon as possible.

Local elections were held for the first time across all of Yemen in February 2001 included 26,832 candidates for 6,614 district municipal council seats and over 2,500 candidates for 418 provincial municipal council seats. These officials were elected to serve a transitional term as the first elected municipal representatives in Yemen’s history.

Top of this page