إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الحكم المحلي: الأردن
يمكنكم أيضا
 

تاريخ الحكم المحلي

تاريخيا، ونتيجة لقلة ومحدودية إيرادات الحكومة الأردنية، خضع توزيع المخصصات لقرار السلطة المركزية مما ترك الإدارات المحلية في حالة ضعف نسبي. وتشكل نفقات الإدارات المحلية 6 بالمئة من مجموع الإنفاق الحكومي. وتجاوبت خطة التنمية الوطنية الخامسة (1986-1990) مع تراجع الإيرادات النفطية بتطبيق اللامركزية الإدارية بهدف زيادة المشاركة المدنية وتنويع الإيرادات. وعلى الرغم من ذلك تظل الحكومة الأردنية من أكثر الحكومات مركزية في المنطقة العربية.

أعلى الصفحة

التقسيمات الإدارية

تضم الحكومة الأردنية ثلاثة مستويات من الإدارة المحلية تتبع وزارة الداخلية ووزارة "الشؤون البلدية والقروية والبيئة". وتضم المستويات الثلاثة المجالس المحلية المؤلفة من 214 مجلسا بلديا (عدد سكان كل بلدية لا يقل عن 2500 نسمة)؛ و 142 مجلسا قرويا (عدد سكان كل قرية لا يقل عن 2000 نسمة)؛ و 170 مجلسا تقدم خدمات مشتركة. ويوجد في الأردن 12 محافظة تؤدي وظيفة أجهزة التخطيط الإقليمي. والمحافظات هي: عجلون، العقبة، البلقاء، الكرك، المفرق، عمّان، الطفيلة، الزرقاء، إربد، جرش، معان، مادبا.

أعلى الصفحة

إصلاح ميزانية الحكم المحلي

تتمول المجالس البلدية والقروية من ثلاث مصادر: الحكومة، ومصادر مستقلة، وبنك تنمية المدن والقرى. وتشمل المصادر الحكومية عوائد المحروقات، ورسوم مخالفات أنظمة المرور، والرسوم الجمركية، ورسوم النقل والمواصلات، والضرائب العقارية. وتتولى الحكومة المركزية جباية الضرائب وتوزيعها على البلديات وفقا لعدد سكان كل بلدية ولموقع البلدية وحاجتها. وتقتصر المصادر المستقلة على رسوم رخص العمل ورخص البناء، إضافة إلى الضرائب على المحلات الصغيرة وأسواق الخضار.

تعتمد البلديات الأردنية على الحكومة المركزية في الجزء الأكبر من إيراداتها. ويجب إرسال جميع الميزانيات البلدية إلى وزارة الشؤون البلدية والقروية والبيئة للموافقة عليها مما لا يترك مجالا لتفصيل هذه الميزانيات حسب الحاجات المحلية. وتقدم الحكومة المركزية نحو 40 بالمئة من إيرادات الإدارات المحلية. وتقترض البلديات من بنك تنمية المدن والقرى ما يقرب من 14 بالمئة من نفقاتها إلا أن هذه البلديات تحتفظ بدور محدود في مجال توفير الخدمات العامة. كما أن العديد من الخدمات التي توفرها البلديات في دول أخرى تتولاها الحكومة المركزية في الأردن.

كجزء من جهوده لتلبية متطلبات معايير قاعدة صندوق النقد الدولي الخاصة لنشر البيانات، قام الأردن سنة 2005 بدمج ميزانيات السلطات المحلية والإقليمية في ميزانية حكومية عامة تتسم بقدر أكبر من الشفافية.

أعلى الصفحة

الإصلاح: اللامركزية الضريبية

منذ العام 1989 عبّرت الحكومة الأردنية عن إلتزامها اللامركزية كجزء لا يتجزأ من الاصلاحات الاقتصادية المتواصلة حتى هذا اليوم، ما عدا لامركزية الشؤون المالية. وتم إنشاء بلديات أكبر حجما من أجل تحسين قدراتها الإدارية والإقتصادية. وتشمل الإجراءات الأخرى تطوير نظام محاسبة ووضع ميزانيات نموذجية واضحة، وإصدار القوانين الجديدة الخاصة بالانتخابات البلدية. ونفذ برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي في الأردن مشروعا لزيادة الكفاءة الإدارية والإنصاف في تقديم الخدمات على مستوى المحافظات. وتعتبر "لوائح الخدمة المدنية" لعام 1998 مبادرة باتجاه تطبيق اللامركزية في مجال الخدمات الحكومية، وتطوير القوى البشرية على الصعيد المحلي. ونقلت هذه اللوائح سلطة التوظيف المركزي التابعة لمكتب الخدمة المدنية إلى المحافظين كل في منطقته. كما نصت على تشكيل وحدات لشؤون الموظفين في كل منطقة برئاسة المحافظ وعضوية نائب المحافظ وممثلين عن الوكالات المهنية ومستشار قانوني وأحد موظفي الإدارة في المنطقة. أما دورهذه اللجنة فهو اختيار موظفي المناطق وتعيينهم. وقامت وزارتا الصحة والتربية اللتان تضمان 87 بالمئة من إجمالي موظفي سلك الخدمة المدنية بتنفيذ التوزيع المناطقي لخدماتهما وفوّضتا معظم صلاحياتهما لمديري المناطق.

أعلى الصفحة

الإنتخابات المحلية

بجرت أحدث انتخابات بلدية في الأردن في 31 تموز/يوليو 2007 وفقا لقانون انتخابي جديد يعطي للناخب حق انتخاب رئيس المجلس البلدي وعضو واحد من أعضائه. وخصص القانون الانتخابي الجديد نسبة 20% من مقاعد المجالس البلدية للنساء، وخفض سن الناخب من 19 إلى 18 سنة. وبعكس القانون البلدي لعام 2003، سمح القانون الجديد للناخبين بانتخاب جميع رؤساء وأعضاء المجالس البلدية، باستثناء أمانة عمّان الكبرى حيث ينتخب المواطنون نصف أعضاء مجلسها وتعين وزارة الشؤون البلدية النصف الآخر، إضافة إلى تعيينها رئيس مجلس أمانة العاصمة.

بلغ عدد المواطنين الذين يحق لهم الانتخاب 9ر1 مليونا، 48% منهم من الإناث. وبلغ عدد المرشحين 2325 مرشحا ومرشحة تنافسوا على شغل 1022 مقعدا بلديا. وكان بين المرشحين 361 امرأة تنافسن على مقاعد الكوتا المخصصة للنساء (20%) والتي تساوي 211 مقعدا بلديا. وحققت النساء فوزا ملحوظا حيث فازت مهندسة مرشحة برئاسة بلدية (حسّا) في جنوب الأردن، وهي منطقة بدوية خالصة. وفازت 4 نساء مرشحات أخريات بمقاعد بلدية خارج الكوتا النسائية. وأظهرت النتائج النهائية تحقيق أحزاب المعارضة نجاحا نسبيا حيث فاز عدد من مرشحي "التيار الديمقراطي" الـ 39 والذي يضم 4 أحزاب قومية ويسارية بمقاعد بلدية. وتمكن "حزب الوسط الإسلامي" المختلف عن "الإخوان المسلمين" من الفوز برئاسة 4 بلديات، بينما فاز 5 مرشحون آخرون من مرشحيه بعضوية مجالس بلدية خارج العاصمة، لكن 4 مرشحين من المعارضة الإسلامية فازوا أيضا بمقاعد بلدية.

تم في سنة 2003 تعديل قانون البلديات لتمكين الحكومة من تعيين نصف عدد أعضاء أي مجلس بلدي في مدينة أو قرية، مع انتخاب النصف الآخر. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تتولى الحكومة تعيين رئيس لكل مجلس. وشارك في تموز/يوليو 2003 نحو 58 بالمئة من الـ 803 آلاف ناخب الذين يحق لهم التصويت في انتخاب نصف عدد شاغلي المقاعد البلدية في البلاد. وقد نجح مرشحو 17 بلدية بالتزكية. ولم تفز من الـ 46 امرأة اللواتي ترشحن إلا 5 نساء. لكن الحكومة تعهدت بتعيين امرأة في كل بلدية لم تتمكن النساء من الفوز بمقعد من مقاعدها.

بلغ إقبال الناخبين على التصويت 65% خارج العاصمة عام 2007، لكن ضعف الإقبال في العاصمة عمّان فرض تمديد الاقتراع يوما آخرا من أجل تحقيق نسبة الـ 50% من الناخبين المسجلين في 5 مناطق في عمان. غير أن "حزب جبهة العمل الإسلامي"، الذراع السياسية لحركة الإخوان المسلمين، أعلن سحب مرشحيه الـ 33 من الانتخابات بعد 6 ساعات على بدئها. واتهم الحكومة والأجهزة الرسمية بتزوير الانتخابات وإصدار أوامرها إلى العسكريين للتصويت علنا ضد مرشحيه، والسماح للعسكريين بالتصويت مرات عدة. ورصدت الأجهزة الأمنية وقوع 45 حادث عنف جماعي وفردي شملت صدامات بين أنصار المرشحين استعمل فيها السلاح، وجرى تكسير بعض الممتلكات العامة والخاصة.

كان إقبال الناخبين على التصويت في المناطق الريفية أعلى بكثير من مثيله في المدن الكبرى في 2003. وقد فسّر المحللون انخفاض التصويت والمشاركة في بعض المناطق بعدة أسباب من بينها لامبالاة الجمهور، والاعتراض على تعديل قانون البلديات سنة 2003، ومقاطعة "جبهة العمل الإسلامي" للانتخابات البلدية إحتجاجا على تعديل القانون المذكور. واتهم الأمين العام لجبهة العمل الإسلامي حمزة منصور الحكومة بأنها لا تثق بجمهور الناخبين.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Local Government: Jordan
You may also
 

Local Government History

Historically, as a result of low and limited Jordanian government revenues, a centralized decision-making process has controlled the distribution of allocations, leaving local governments relatively weak. Local government expenditures comprise 6% of total government expenditures for the nation (the expenditure decentralization ratio). The fifth national development plan (1986-1990) responded to declining money flows from grants and workers’ remittances by decentralizing government to increase civic participation and diversify revenues. Nevertheless, the Jordanian government remains one of the most centralized in the Arab region.

Top of this page

Administrative Divisions

The Jordanian government includes three levels of sub-national government under the Ministry of Interior and the Ministry of Municipal and Rural Affairs and Environment (MMRAE). These are the local councils, which include 214 municipal councils (population at least 2,500 people); 142 village councils of 2,000 people; and 170 councils with shared services. There are twelve governorates that act as regional planning agencies. The governorates (muhafazat, singular - muhafazah) are: Ajlun, Al 'Aqabah, Al Balqa', Al Karak, Al Mafraq, 'Amman, At-Tafilah, Az-Zarqa', Irbid, Jarash, Ma'an, Madaba.

Top of this page

Local Government Budgetary Reform

Councils have three sources of financing: the government, independent sources and the Cities and Villages Development Bank (CVDB). Government sources include fuel revenues, fees for traffic violations, customs duties, transportation fees and property taxes. Taxes are collected and allocated by the central government to the local governments according to population, location and necessity. Independent sources are limited and include employment and building licenses as well as taxes on small stores and vegetable markets.

Municipalities in Jordan rely upon the national government for most revenues. All municipal budgets must be sent to the MMRAE for approval, leaving little room for tailoring the budget to local needs. Around 40% of local revenues come from fund transfers from the central government. Municipalities also borrow funds from the CVDB for roughly 14% of their expenditures, but Jordan’s municipalities retain a limited role in the provision of public services. Many of the services provided by municipalities in other countries are the providence of the national government in Jordan.

As part of Jordan’s efforts to meet the International Monetary Fund’s Special Data Dissemination Standard, local and regional government budgets were being integrated into a more transparent general government budget in 2005.

Top of this page

Reform: Fiscal Decentralization

Since 1989, the Jordanian government has expressed its commitment to decentralization as an integral part of economic reforms, albeit without decentralizing government finances. Larger municipalities have been created so as to improve their administrative and economic capabilities. Other measures include developing an accounting system, clear model budgets and new municipal election laws. The United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) has undertaken a project in Jordan to increase administrative efficiency and equitable services at the governorates level. The Civil Service Bylaw of 1998 is an initiative toward decentralization of government services and local-level human resource development. It transferred the central employment authority of the Civil Service Bureau to the governors in the districts. It provided the formation of personnel units in every district chaired by the governor with the membership of the deputy governor, representatives of the concerned agency, a legal counselor, and one of the directorate’s employees in the district. The role of the committee is to recruit and hire employees in the districts. The Ministries of Health and Education, with a workforce representing 87% of total civil service employment, have institutionalized the regional distribution of services and have delegated most of the ministers’ powers to the regional directors.

Top of this page

Local Elections

The most recent municipal elections in Jordan took place on July 31, 2007 in accordance with a new municipal election law that gives voters the right to elect the head of municipal council and one council member only. The new law allocated 20% of all municipal seats to women and lowered voters’ age from 19 to 18 years old. In contrast to the 2003 municipal law, the 2007 law allowed voters to elect all municipal councils, except in the case of Greater Amman Council whereby voters elected half the council members, while the Ministry of Municipal Affairs appointed the other half and the council’s president.

Of the 1.9 million eligible voters, 48% were women. There were 2325 candidates contesting 1022 municipal seats. They included 361 women who competed for the 211 municipal seats (20% of the total) reserved for women. Women achieved remarkable success: one of them, an engineer, was elected mayor of the southern town of Hassa. Four others won seats not reserved for women. Final results showed that opposition parties achieved some success, with some of the 39 candidates of the “Democratic Movement,” which includes 4 nationalist and leftist parties, winning municipal seats. The “Islamic Center Party,” which is in disagreement with the “Muslim Brothers” and close to the government, won the presidency of 4 municipal councils and membership of 5 other councils outside the capital, but four Islamist opposition candidates also won.

In 2003 the Municipal Law had been amended to allow the government to appoint half of the members in any city or village council while the other half was elected. In addition, the government appointed the head of every council. On July 2003, around 58 per cent of the 803,000 eligible voters cast their ballots to elect council members to half the seats in the country’s municipalities. Candidates in 17 municipalities ran unopposed. Among the 46 women contenders, only five won seats. But the government pledged to appoint a woman in each municipality where women candidates failed to win a seat.

Voter turn out was around 65% outside the capital in 2007, but the polls had to stay open an extra day in five districts of Amman to reach the required 50% in the city. The “Islamist Action Front Party”, the political arm of the “Muslim Brothers” movement, withdrew their 33 candidates 6 hours after the voting started and accused the government and security agencies of election fraud, of ordering military personnel to vote against their candidates and allowing them to vote several times each. Security agencies registered the occurrence of 45 violent collective and individual incidents among candidates’ supporters that involved using weapons, and destruction of public and private property.

Voter turnout in rural areas had been much higher that in the major cities in 2003. Where voter turnout was low, analysts pointed to a combination of public apathy and objection to the 2003 amendment to the Municipal Law, marked by a boycott on the part of the Islamic Action Front (IAF) in protest against the amended law. IAF Secretary General Hamzeh Mansour charged that the government had no faith in the electorate.

Top of this page