إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الحكم المحلي: الكويت
يمكنكم أيضا
 

تاريخ الحكم المحلي

تأسس المجلس البلدي الكويتي سنة 1932. وخلال السبعين سنة الماضية تولت الحكومة الوطنية بعض المهمات التي كانت تسيطر عليها سابقا بلدية الكويت، ولكن المجلس البلدي ما يزال يحتفظ بعدة مسؤوليات مهمة.

أعلى الصفحة

التقسيمات الإدارية

بالإضاقة إلى بلدية الكويت، هناك خمس محافظات: الأحمدي، الفروانية، العاصمة، الجهراء، وحولّي، ولكنها عبارة عن وحدات إدارية تابعة للحكومة المركزية.

أعلى الصفحة

ميزانيات الحكم البلدي والمحلي

توفر الإدارة المحلية تشكيلة واسعة من الخدمات العامة تشمل شق الطرقات وصيانتها وتخطيط المدن، والصحة العامة، والتخلص من النفايات، والتأكد من سلامة الأطعمة، ومنح التراخيص. وقد ركّز المجلس البلدي اهتمامه مؤخرا على الإسكان، وقضايا البيئة، وعلى تبسيط وتنسيق جهازه البيروقراطي، وإجراءات التراخيص. ويتألف المجلس البلدي من 16 عضوا: عشرة منهم أعضاء منتخبين وستة يعينهم الأمير. ويضم المجلس خمس لجان فرعية تتقاسم المسؤوليات الإدارية.

أعلى الصفحة

الإصلاح: اللامركزية الضريبية

تمتاز دولة الكويت على دول الخليج من حيث سلطاتها البلدية المنتخبة والتي تسيطر على إدارة عدد من الخدمات العامة. ضريبيا، ما تزال الحكومة على درجة عالية من المركزية التي يصحبها بيروقراطية عديمة الكفاءة. وفي الكويت خمس محافظات ولكنها عبارة عن وحدات إدارية تابعة للحكومة المركزية. ونظرا لحجم البلاد الصغير لا تعتبر اللامركزية مسألة ملحة أو إحدى موجهات السياسة العام.

أعلى الصفحة

الإنتخابات المحلية

جرت آخر انتخابات بلدية في الكويت حزيران /يونيو 2009 وتنافس فيها 71 مرشح في 10 دوائر انتخابية لاختيار 10 أعضاء في المجلس، مع العلم بأن أمير الكويت يعين الأعضاء الـ 6 الباقين. حسب إحصائيات لجنة الانتخابات فإن 71,402 ناخب وناخبة أدلوا بأصواتهم من أصل أكثر من 374,000 ناخب وناخبة. وبلغت نسبة المشاركة في التصويت 20%. وقد جاء عزوف الناخبين عن المشاركة إلى أسباب عدة من بينها إجراء الانتخابات في يوم عمل رسمي وبدء موسم السفر وحرارة الجو، إضافة إلى غياب الحماسة بعد أن استنفدت انتخابات مجلس الأمة كل الاهتمام والحرص. هذا وقد بلغت نسبة الإقبال في الدائرة الأولى 25%، فيما كانت نسبته في الثانية 23%، وفي الثالثة 21%، وجاءت النسبة الأقل في الدائرة الرابعة وبلغت 14%، وفي الخامسة 22% وفي السادسة 23%، وتساوت السابعة مع الرابعة بنسبة 14%، فيما كانت النسبة الأعلى في الدائرة الثامنة حيث بلغت 28%، أما في الدائرة التاسعة فكانت النسبة 20%، وفي العاشرة كانت النسبة 16%.

جرت الانتخابات البلدية السابقة في 2 حزيران/يونيو 2005 وتنافس فيها 54 مرشحا في 10 دوائر انتخابية لاختيار 10 أعضاء في المجلس، مع العلم بأن أمير الكويت يعين الأعضاء الـ 6 الباقين. ويحق لنحو 140 ألف مواطن من الذكور المشاركة في انتخاب أعضاء المجلس البلدي لولاية مدتها 4 سنوات. لكن نسبة المشاركة في هذه الانتخابات لم تتجاوز 50 بالمئة. وتنص شروط الترشيح لعضوية المجلس على ألاّ يقل عمر المرشح عن 30 سنة وأن يعرف القراءة والكتابة باللغة العربية وألاّ يكون له سجل جنائي. وأظهرت نتيجة الانتخابات سيطرة مرشحو القبائل الذين فازو بـ 6 مقاعد في 6 دوائر، بينما فاز الإسلاميون بمقعدين ومرشحو "الحضر" بمقعدين. وعينت الحكومة الكويتية في حزيران/يونيو 2005 للمرة الأولى في تاريخ الكويت عضوتين في المجلس البلدي من أصل الأعضاء الستة التي يمنحها القانون الحق في تعيينهم.

وقدرت الحكومة معدل المشاركة في الانتخابات البلدية السابقة التي جرت في حزيران/يونيو 1999 بـ 62% وهي أعلى من معدلات المشاركة التي سجلت في انتخابات بلدية سابقة.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Local Government: Kuwait
You may also
 

Local Government History

Kuwait’s Municipal Council was established in 1932. Over the past seventy years, the national government has assumed some functions previously controlled by Kuwait’s municipality, but the Council still retains several important responsibilities.

Top of this page

Administrative Divisions

In addition to the Kuwait municipality, Kuwait has five governorates: Al Ahmadi, Al Farwaniyah, Al 'Asimah, Al Jahra', and Hawalli, but they exist largely as administrative units for the central government.

Top of this page

Municipal and Local Government Budgets

The local government provides a wide variety of public services including roads, urban planning, sanitation, garbage, food inspection, and licensing. The Municipal Council has recently focused on housing, environmental issues, streamlining and coordinating its bureaucracy, and simplifying licensing procedures. The Council is composed of sixteen members: ten who are elected and six who are appointed by the Emir. The Council includes five subcommittees that divide up administrative responsibilities.

Top of this page

Reform: Fiscal Decentralization

The nation of Kuwait stands out among the Gulf States for its elected municipal authorities that control the administration of a number of public services. Fiscally, however, the government remains highly centralized with an inefficient bureaucracy. Kuwait also has five governorates, but they exist largely as administrative units for the central government. Due to the small size of Kuwait, decentralization is not a pressing issue, nor a policy directive.

Top of this page

Local Elections

The latest municipal elections in Kuwait were held in June 2009. The elections were contested by 71 candidates in 10 electoral districts for 10 seats of the Municipal Council, while the remaining 6 members are appointed by the Emir of Kuwait. According to statistics published by the Elections Committee, 71,402 men and women voters casted their votes out of a total of 374,000 eligible voters. The voter turnout was 20%. The low participation rate was attributed to a number of factors, including: holding the elections on an official work-day, the beginning of the summer season and travel abroad of many citizens, a lack of enthusiasm for local elections following the parliamentary elections that created high interest among citizens and exhausted their energy. The voter turnout in the 10 districts was as follows: 25% in the first district, 23% in the second, 21% in the third, 14% in the fourth, 22% in the fifth, 23% in the sixth, and 14% in the seventh district. The highest participation rate was in the eighth district reaching 28%, whereas it was 20% in the ninth and 16% in the tenth district.

Previous municipal elections in Kuwait took place on June 2, 2005. Fifty-four candidates competed over 10 municipal seats in 10 electoral districts. The remaining 6 municipal members are appointed by the Emir of Kuwait. Around 140 thousand male citizens were eligible to participate in these elections. The term of the municipal council is 4 years. Candidates must be at least 30 years old, must read and write Arabic and have no criminal record. Participation rate was rather low, not exceeding 50% of eligible voters. Tribal candidates won 6 seats, Islamists and "urban" candidates each won 2 seats. For the first time in Kuwait's history, the government appointed in June 2005 two women to the municipal council.

In the previous municipal elections, held in June 1999, the government calculated turnout at 62%, which was higher than in previous elections.

Top of this page