إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الدستور: عُمان
يمكنكم أيضا
 

التاريخ الدستوري

صدر الكتاب الأبيض، أو القانون الأساسي لسلطنة عمان، سنة 1996 كمرسوم سلطاني رقمه 101/96 معلنا أن نظام الحكم في عُمان سلطنة وراثية تنتقل الخلافة فيها إلى ذكر من سلالة سيد تركي بن سعيد بن سلطان.

أعلى الصفحة

الفصل بين السلطات التنفيذية والتشريعية والقضائية

السلطان رأس الدولة والقائد الأعلى للقوات المسلحة. وشخصه مصون واحترامه واجب. وهو يحكم بمراسيم سلطانية وأوامره مطاعة. ويرأس مجلس الوزراء ويملك سلطة تعيين الوزراء وعزلهم. وإضافة إلى كونه رئيسا للوزراء، يشغل السلطان حقائب الدفاع والشؤون الخارجية والمالية. وبينما يتمتع كل وزير بسلطات استنسابية، فإن السلطان هو صاحب القرارات النهائية، وإن يكن نتيجة لتشاوره مع الوزراء. ويعيّن السلطان نواب رئيس الوزراء، والوزراء ووكلاء الوزارات والأمناء العامين وكبار القضاة ويعزلهم أيضا. ويعلن السلطان حالة الطوارئ والتعبئة العامة والحرب، ويعقد الصلح.

أعلى الصفحة

الأحكام الأساسية

يوضح القانوني الأساسي، الذي يعتبر مساويا للدستور، عملية الخلافة الملكية. فخلال ثلاثة أيام من خلو منصب السلطان يقرر مجلس العائلة الحاكمة من يخلفه على العرش. وإذا لم تتفق العائلة الحاكمة على خليفة، يقرَ مجلس الدفاع الوطني تعيين الشخص الذي اختاره السلطان في رسالته إلى مجلس العائلة. وتنص المادة 9 من القانون الأساسي على أن السلطة في السلطنة تقوم على الشورى. ويعرّف القانون الأساسي مجلس القضاء الأعلى على أنه الهيئة المشرفة على القضاء، ويعرّف "مجلس عُمان" على أنه هيئة البلاد التشريعية المؤلفة من مجلس الشورى ومجلس الدولة.

وفقا للمادة 42 من "القانون الأساسي" يترأس السلطان جلسات مجلس الوزراء أو يكلف من ينوب عنه في ذلك. ويرفع مجلس الوزراء إلى السلطان التوصيات المتعلقة بالمسائل الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والتنفيذية والإدارية، ويقترح مشروعات القوانين والمراسيم. كما يراقب تنفيذ جميع القوانين والمراسيم والأوامر والقرارات، وكذلك المعاهدات والاتفاقيات وأحكام المحاكم بطريقة تضمن العمل بموجبها. أما مداولات المجلس فهي سرية وقراراته تؤخذ بموافقة أغلبية الحاضرين من أعضائه. والمجلس مسؤول جماعيا وفرديا أمام السلطان. يمنع القانون الأساسي الوزراء من امتلاك أسهم أو حصص في شركات تجارية تتعامل مع الدولة كإجراء لفصل النفوذ السياسي عن القوة الاقتصادية. وعلى وزارات الخدمات العامة تقديم التقارير إلى مجلس الشورى والإجابة عن أسئلته بخصوص أدائهم وخططهم.

يرأس السلطان أيضا "المجالس المختصة" أو يعيّن رؤسائها. وسلطات المجالس المتخصصة معرّفة بشكل واضح وأعضاؤها يعينون بمرسوم سلطاني. مجلس الدفاع الوطني مسؤول عن العمل مع وزارات الدفاع والداخلية وعن تنسيق نشاط "القوات الملكية المسلحة" و "قوة شرطة عُمان". ومجلس التنمية الوطني مسؤول عن التخطيط للتنمية العامة.

ينص "القانون الأساسي" على وجود برلمان من مجلسين. المجلس الأعلى للبرلمان هو "مجلس الدولة". غير أن المهمات الدقيقة لهذا المجلس وطبيعة علاقاته مع مجلس الشورى لم تحدد حتى الآن. ولكن حقيقة تعيين 8 نساء من بين أعضاء "مجلس الدولة" الـ 48 تشكل خطوة في اتجاه تحسين المساواة السياسية بين الجنسين وفي اتجاه توسعة نطاق المشاركة.

أعلى الصفحة

الحقوق المدنية

يكفل القانون الأساسي الحقوق والحريات المدنية الأساسية، ويؤكد حكم القانون واستقلال القضاء. وتنص المادة 17 من القانون الأساسي على أن جميع المواطنين سواسية أمام القانون بغض النظر عن الجنس أو الأصل أو اللون أو اللغة أو الديانة أو المذهب أو الموطن أو المركز الاجتماعي. وتنص هذه المادة تحديدا على أن نظام الحكم في السلطنة يقوم على العدل والمشورة والمساواة. وللمواطنين الحق في المشاركة في الشؤون العامة وفقا للظروف التي يعرّفها القانون.

الحريات الشخصية مضمونة وفقا للقانون. فلا يجوز اعتقال أو تفتيش أو حبس أي شخص أو تقييد حريته وإقامته إلا وفقا لنصوص القانون. ولا يجوز تعريض أي شخص للتعذيب الجسدي أو النفسي. ولا تعتمد أية إفادة إذا ثبت أنها انتزعت بواسطة التعذيب أو الإغراء أو المعاملة المهينة أو من خلال التهديد بهذه الاجراءات. والمتهم برئ إلى أن تثبت إدانته في محاكمة قانونية تضمن له ممارسة حقه في الدفاع القانوني. ويحظر إيذاء المتهم جسديا أو ذهنيا. وحقوق الاستشارة القانونية والاستئناف والتقاضي يحميها القانون. وللمواطنين الحق في الاجتماع في حدود القانون. وتعتبر مراعاة النظام العام والأخلاق العامة واجب إلزامي على جميع سكان السلطنة.

حرية الديانة موضع احترام شرط ألا تخل "بالنظام العام وبالمعايير السلوكية السائدة". حرية الرأي والتعبير مضمونتان في حدود القانون. حرية الاتصالات الشخصية وسريتها وكذلك حرية الصحافة والطباعة والنشر مضمونة وفقا للأوضاع والظروف التي يحددها القانون. وتمنع طباعة أو نشر المواد التي تؤدي إلى فتنة عامة، أو تنتهك أمن الدولة أو تسئ إلى كرامة وحقوق أي إنسان.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Constitution: Oman
You may also
 

Historical Background

The White Book, or Basic Law of the Sultanate of Oman, issued in 1996 as Royal Decree No.101/96, declares that the system of government in Oman is a hereditary sultanate, in which succession passes to a male descendant of Sayyid Turki bin Said bin Sultan.

Top of this page

Separation of Executive, Legislative, and Judicial Powers

The Sultan is the head of state and the supreme commander of the armed forces. His person is inviolable and must be respected: he rules by royal decree, and his orders must be obeyed. He presides over the Council of Ministers and has the power to appoint or dismiss ministers. In addition to being the prime minister, the Sultan also holds the portfolios of defense, foreign affairs, and finance. While each minister has significant discretionary power, the Sultan makes the final decisions, albeit as a result of consultation between him and the ministers. The Sultan appoints and dismisses deputy prime ministers, ministers, undersecretaries, general secretaries, provincial governors and senior judges. He declares state of emergency, general mobilization, or war, and makes peace in accordance with the provisions of the law. He issues and ratifies laws and signs international treaties and agreements.

Top of this page

Main Provisions

The Basic Law, considered to be the equivalent of a constitution, clarifies the process of royal succession. Within three days of the position of Sultan becoming vacant, the Ruling Family Council determines the successor to the throne. If the Ruling Family Council does not agree upon a successor, the National Defense Council confirms the appointment of the person designated by the Sultan in his letter to the Family Council. Article 9 of the Basic Law stipulates that power in the Sultanate is based on consultation (shura). The Basic Law defines the Supreme Judiciary Council as the oversight body for the judiciary and the Council of Oman as the country’s bicameral legislature, composed of the Consultative Council and the Council of State.

In accordance with Article 42 of the Basic Law, the Sultan presides over the Council of Ministers or appoints someone to do so. The Council of Ministers submits recommendations to the Sultan on economic, political and social, as well as executive and administrative matters and proposes draft laws and decrees. It also monitors the implementation of all laws, decrees, ordinances and decisions, as well as treaties and agreements and court judgments, in a manner that will ensure that they are complied with. The Council's deliberations are secret and its decisions are issued with the approval of a majority of those present. It is responsible, collectively and individually, before the Sultan. The Basic Law bars ministers from holding interest in companies doing business with the government in order to separate political from economic power. Public service ministries are required to submit reports and answer questions regarding their performance and plans before the lower house of the parliament.

The Sultan also presides over Specialized Councils or appoints chairmen for them. The powers of the Specialized Councils are defined and their members are appointed by royal decree. The National Defense Council is in charge of working with ministries of defense and the interior and coordinating the activities of the Royal Armed Forces and the Oman Police Force, and the National Development Council is in charge of general development planning.

The Basic Law provides for a bicameral parliament. The exact duties of the upper house, the Council of State, and its relations to the lower chamber, the Consultative Council, are not yet well established. But the fact that eight women, among the 48 members, were appointed to the upper house is a step in the direction of improving on political equality and expanding participation.

Top of this page

Civil Rights

The Basic Law guarantees basic civil rights and liberties, affirms the rule of law and the independence of the judiciary. Article 17 of the Basic Law states that all citizens are equal before the law, regardless of gender, origin, color, language, religion, sect, domicile, or social status. It specifies that rule in the Sultanate is based on justice, consultation and equality. Citizens have the right to take part in public affairs in accordance with circumstances defined in the law.

Personal freedoms are guaranteed in accordance with the law. No person may be arrested, searched, detained or imprisoned, or have his residence or movement curtailed, except in accordance with the provisions of the law. No person may be subjected to physical or psychological torture. No statement is valid if it is established that it has been obtained as a result of torture, enticement or humiliating treatment, or threats of such measures. An accused person is innocent until proven guilty in a legal trial, which ensures him the essential guarantee to exercise his right of defense according to the law. It is prohibited to harm the accused either bodily or mentally. The rights to counsel, to appeal, and to litigation are protected. Citizens have the right of assembly within the limits of the law. Observance of public order and public morals is a duty incumbent upon all residents of the Sultanate.

Freedom of religion is respected, provided that it does not disturb “public order and accepted standards of behavior.” Freedom of opinion and expression guaranteed within the limits of the law, freedom and secrecy of personal communication, freedom of the press, printing and publication are guaranteed in accordance with the conditions and circumstances defined by the law. It is prohibited to print or publish material that leads to public discord, violates the security of the state or abuses a person’s dignity and his rights.

Top of this page