إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الدستور: سوريا
يمكنكم أيضا
 

التاريخ الدستوري

ينص دستور 1973 على نظام حكم جمهوري وعلى أن الشعب هو المصدر النهائي لجميع السلطات. وتنقسم السلطات الرسمية إلى تنفيذية وتشريعية وقضائية. ويتمتع رئيس الجمهورية بسلطات تنفيذية وببعض السلطات التشريعية. والسلطة التشريعية مناطة أساسا بمجلس الشعب.

أعلى الصفحة

الأحكام الأساسية

يتولى حزب البعث العربي الاشتراكي اقتراح الشخص المرشح لرئاسة الجمهورية، ويقوم مجلس الشعب باعتماد هذه التسمية، ومن ثم يطرح اسم هذا المرشح على استفتاء عام لتثبيته كرئيس للجمهورية لفترة سبع سنوات. ويجوز لرئيس الجمهورية بناء على تقديره الشخصي تفويض سلطاته إلى نوابه.

رئيس الجمهورية هو رأس الدولة وهو الأمين العام لحزب البعث الحاكم. وهو الذي يعيّن نوابه ويعزلهم، ويعين رئيس الوزراء ونوابه وأعضاء وزارته، ويعين كبار الموظفين المدنيين والعسكريين. ومجلس الوزراء بما فيه رئيسه، مسؤول أمام رئيس الجمهورية.

رئيس الجمهورية هو القائد الأعلى للقوات المسلحة وله صلاحية إعلان الحرب. ويصدر رئيس الجمهورية القوانين التي يقرها مجلس الشعب. كما يمكنه نقض هذه القوانين مع إبداء أسباب النقض خلال شهر واحد من تاريخ استلامها. فإذا صدق مجلس الشعب مرة أخرى على القوانين بأغلبية ثلثي الأصوات يصبح رئيس الجمهورية ملزما بإصدارها. ولكن لرئيس الجمهورية أيضا الحق في حل مجلس الشعب ومن ثم الدعوة إلى إجراء انتخابات نيابية جديدة خلال 90 يوما من تاريخ الحل. ولا يقدر رئيس الجمهورية حل المجلس مرتين للسبب نفسه.

يتولى رئيس الجمهورية مسؤولية السلطة التشريعية عندما لا يكون مجلس الشعب في دور انعقاد شرط أن تحال جميع التشريعات التي يصدرها إلى مجلس الشعب في أول دور انعقاد له. ويمكن لرئيس الجمهورية تولي السلطة التشريعية حتى في أثناء دور انعقاد مجلس الشعب في سبيل حماية المصلحة الوطنية العليا "في حال وجود ضرورة مطلقة مرتبطة بالأمن القومي". ولكن يجب عليه إحالة جميع المراسيم الرئاسية إلى مجلس الشعب للمصادقة عليها. ويجوز لمجلس الشعب تعديل المراسيم الرئاسية أو إلغائها بأغلبية ثلثي الأصوات، شرط ألا يقل ثلثي الأصوات عن الأغلبية المطلقة لعدد أعضائه.

ولا يمكن عزل رئيس الجمهورية من منصبه إلا بتهمة الخيانة العظمى. ويمكن البدء بإجراءات الإدانة والعزل بناء على عريضة يوقعها ثلث أعضاء مجلس الشعب بالتصويت العلني عليها، أو بعريضة يوقعها ثلثا أعضاء مجلس الشعب في جلسة مغلقة تخصص للتصويت على العريضة. ولا يمكن محاكمة رئيس الجمهورية إلا أمام المحكمة الدستورية العليا التي هو عضو فيها.

تمنح المادة 113 من الدستور رئيس الجمهورية سلطات واسعة في حالات الطوارئ، وما تزال هذه السلطات سارية في سوريا منذ سنة 1963. ويمكن لرئيس الجمهورية أن يدعو إلى استفتاء عام. وتعتبر نتائج الاستفتاء ملزمة وسارية المفعول من تاريخ صدورها عن رئيس الجمهورية. ويمكن لرئيس الجمهورية تأليف هيئات ومجالس ولجان متخصصة.

إن حزب البعث العربي الاشتراكي، وفقا للمادة 8 من الدستور، هو الحزب القائد في الدولة والمجتمع، ويرأس "الجبهة الوطنية التقدمية". رئيس الجمهورية هو رئيس هذه الجبهة والأمين العام لحزب البعث. وللجبهة الوطنية صلاحية البت في مسائل الحرب والسلام. كما أنها تصادق على خطط التنمية الخمسية، وتناقش السياسة الاقتصادية العامة، وترسم خطط التعليم الوطني والاشتراكي، وتقرر التوجه السياسي العام للدولة.

تبحث المادتان 9 و 10 من الدستور أوضاع المنظمات الشعبية، والجمعيات التعاونية والمجالس الشعبية بوصفها المؤسسات التي يمارس المواطنون من خلالها حقوقهم في إدارة الدولة وفي قيادة المجتمع. وتصف هاتان المادتان الحرية بأنها حق مقدس، كما تؤكد على أن سيادة القانون مبدأ أساسي. وتحترم الدولة جميع الأديان بشرط ألا تعكر صفو النظام العام.

أعلى الصفحة

الحقوق المدنية

تكفل الدولة مبادئ المساواة أمام القانون وتكافؤ الفرص لمواطنيها. كما تصون الدولة حق التقاضي والطعن والدفاع والوقاية من التعذيب. والعمل حق وواجب. توفر الدولة العمل لجميع مواطنيها، وتحدد ساعاته وتوفر الضمان الاجتماعي، كما تنظم أوقات الراحة والإجازات والتعويضات والمكافآت لجميع العاملين. والتعليم حق تكفله الدولة. أما الهدف النهائي للنظام التعليمي فهو تكوين "جيل عربي قومي اشتراكي مؤهل علميا". ويتبنى الدستور الاقتصاد الاشتراكي المخطط ويعترف بالملكية العامة والجماعية والخاصة، ولكنه يخضع الملكية الخاصة للمصلحة العامة.

تكفل الدولة حرية التعبير وحرية الصحافة وفقا للقانون. وللمواطنين الحق في الاجتماع والتظاهر السلمي في حدود مبادئ الدستور. وتكفل الدولة توفير الفرص أمام النساء وتعمل على إزالة أي قيود تقف في وجه تطورهن ومشاركتهن في بناء المجتمع.

أعلى الصفحة

المحكمة الدستورية

تقرر المحكمة الدستورية العليا دستورية القوانين ومشاريع المراسيم في حال شكك رئيس الجمهورية أو ربع أعضاء مجلس الشعب بدستوريتها. ولكن المحكمة الدستورية العليا لا تملك حق النظر في القوانين التي يطرحها رئيس الجمهورية على الاستفتاء العام ويوافق الشعب عليها.

أعلى الصفحة

التعديلات والإجراءات الدستورية

يمكن لرئيس الجمهورية أو لثلث أعضاء البرلمان التقدم بمشروع قانون لتعديل الدستور، ولكن إقرار مشروع التعديل يتطلب موافقة ثلاثة أرباع أعضاء مجلس الشعب ومعهم رئيس الجمهورية. وقد عدّل الدستور المؤقت لعام 1969 مرتين في عام 1972 ثم في عام 1973. وحصل آخر تعديل سنة 2000 عندما جرى خفض الحد الأدنى لسن رئيس الجمهورية من 40 إلى 34 سنة وذلك لتمكين بشار الأسد للترشح في الانتخابات الرئاسية بعد وفاة والده.

أعلى الصفحة

الاتفاقيات الدولية

وقعت سوريا على "العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية" وعلى "العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثفافية".

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Constitution: Syria
You may also
 

Historical Background

The Constitution of 1973 provides for a republican form of government and stipulates that the people are the ultimate source of national sovereignty. Power is divided into the executive, legislative, and judicial branches. The President of the Republic has executive as well as some legislative powers. Legislative authority, however, is entrusted mainly to the People's Assembly.

Top of this page

Main Provisions

The President, proposed by the Ba’th (Arab Socialist Resurrection) Party and then nominated by the People's Assembly, is voted into office by national referendum to serve a seven-year term. He may delegate his powers, at his sole discretion, to his vice presidents.

The President is the Head of State, the chief executive, and the secretary of the ruling Ba’th Party. He appoints and dismisses the vice presidents, the prime minister, deputy prime ministers, other members of the Council of Ministers (the cabinet), and top civil servants and military officers. The Council of Ministers, headed by the prime minister, is responsible to the president.

The President of the Republic is the commander in chief of the armed forces and can declare war. He promulgates the laws approved by the People's Assembly. He may veto these laws, giving the reasons for his objection within a month after their receipt. If the Assembly again approves them by a two-thirds majority, the president of the republic has to issue them. However, he has the right to dissolve the People's Assembly, in which case a new Assembly must be elected within 90 days from the date of dissolution. He may not do so twice for the same reason.

The President of the Republic assumes legislative authority when the People's Assembly is not in session, provided that all the legislation issued by him is referred to the People's Assembly in its first session. The President can assume legislative authority even when the Assembly is in session in order to safeguard the country's national interest “in case of absolute need relating to national security.” All presidential decrees, however, must be presented to the legislature for their endorsement. The Assembly may, by a two-thirds vote, amend or rescind presidential decrees, provided that the two-thirds majority constitutes no less than the absolute majority of the Assembly membership.

The President cannot be removed from power except for high treason. Impeachment proceedings may be initiated through a petition signed by one-third of the members of the People's Assembly voting openly or by a petition of two-thirds of the Assembly members voting at a special closed session. The President can be tried only by the Supreme Constitutional Court, of which he is a member.

Article 113 of the constitution grants the President broad emergency powers and those powers have been in effect in Syria since the 1963. The President of the Republic can call for national referenda. The results of the referenda are binding and effective on the date of their promulgation by the President. He can form specialized organizations, councils, and committees.

By Article 8 of the Constitution, the Arab Ba’th Socialist Party is the leading party in the state and society and heads the National Progressive Front. The President of the Republic is chairman of the Front as well as Secretary General of the Ba’th Party. The Front decides on matters of war and peace. It approves the five-year plans of the state, discusses the economic policy, lays down the plans for a national, socialist education, and determines the state’s general political orientation.

Articles 9 and 10 of the constitution discuss popular organizations, cooperative associations, and people’s councils as institutions through which the citizens exercise their rights in administering the state and leading the society. Freedom is described as a sacred right and the supremacy of law as a fundamental principle. The state respects all religions provided they do not disturb the public order.

Top of this page

Civil Rights

The state insures the principles of equality before law and equal opportunities for citizens. The rights of litigation, contest, defense, and protection against torture are safeguarded. Work is a right and duty. The state provides work for all citizens, fixes working hours, guarantees social security, and regulates rest, leave, compensations, and rewards for workers. Education is also a right guaranteed by the state. The purpose of the educational system is described as creation of “an Arab national socialist generation with scientific training.” The constitution sets forth a planned socialist economy that recognizes public, collective, and private property, but private property is subordinated to public interest.

The state guarantees freedom of expression and the press in accordance with the law. Citizens have the right to meet and demonstrate peacefully within the principles of the constitution. The state guarantees women all opportunities and removes the restrictions that prevent their development and participation in society.

Top of this page

Constitutional Court

The Supreme Constitutional Court decides on the constitutionality of laws and draft decrees when the president or one-quarter of the People's Assembly members challenge the constitutionality of a law. However, the Court has no right to review laws that the president of the republic submits to public referendum.

Top of this page

Constitutional Amendments and Procedures

A bill to amend the constitution may be introduced by the president or one-third of the members of the parliament, but its passage requires approval by a majority of three-fourths of the parliament as well as by the president. The provisional constitution of 1969 was amended twice in 1971 and then again in 1973. The most recent amendment came in 2000, when the minimum age of the president was reduced from 40 to 34 in order to allow Bashar al-Assad to stand as a candidate in the presidential elections after his father’s death.

Top of this page

International Conventions

Syria is a signatory of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR) and the International Covenant on Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights (ICESCR).

Top of this page