إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الدستور: تونس
يمكنكم أيضا
 

التاريخ الدستوري

في أعقاب الاستقلال عن فرنسا سنة 1956 وخلع الباي التونسي، أصدرت الجمهورية التونسية دستورها في سنة 1959. وينص الدستور على صلاحيات واسعة لرئيس الجمهورية تشمل اختيار رئيس الوزراء، وتعيين أعضاء الحكومة، والحكم بالمراسيم في أثناء عطلة السلطة التشريعية. ولرئيس الجمهورية بصفته رأس السلطة التنفيذية نفوذ كبير على الحكومة وعلى رئيس الوزراء وعلى القوات المسلحة. وهو الذي يعيّن كبار المسؤولين المدنيين والعسكريين بناء على توصية الحكومة.

أعلى الصفحة

الفصل بين السلطات التنفيذية والتشريعية والقضائية

يقسم الدستور التونسي السلطة التشريعية بين رئيس الجمهورية ومجلس تشريعي مؤلف من مجلسين هما: "مجلس المستشارين" و "مجلس النواب". وينتخب رئيس الجمهورية بالاقتراع الشعبي لمدة خمس سنوات. ويتزامن انتخابه مع انتخاب أعضاء مجلس النواب. ويتم استبدال نصف أعضاء مجلس المستشارين كل ثلاث سنوات. ويستطيع رئيس الجمهورية اقتراح التشريعات وإعادة مشاريع القوانين الى مجلس النواب لاعادة النظر فيها. ووفقا للدستور فإن القضاء مستقل، لكن رئيس الجمهورية يرأس مجلس القضاء الأعلى المسؤول عن تعيين جميع القضاة وعزلهم. والمجلس الدستوري هيئة استشارية مسؤولة عن تقرير دستورية التشريعات المقترحة. ويملك المجلس الدستوري سلطة تنحية رئيس الجمهورية إذا وجد أنه لا يصلح لأداء مهام منصبه، وفي هذه الحالة يصبح رئيس مجلس النواب رئيسا للجمهورية.

أعلى الصفحة

الأحكام الأساسية

رئيس الجمهورية هو الضامن للاستقلال الوطني ووحدة الأراضي التونسية واحترام الدستور والقوانين علاوة على ضمانه لتنفيذ القوانين والالتزام بالمعاهدات والاتفاقيات. وهو الذي يراقب الالتزام بالسلطات التي يمنحها الدستور ويحافظ على تماسك الدولة. وهو الذي يوجه السياسة العامة للدولة، ويحدد خياراتها الأساسية ويتواصل، عبر هذه المهمة، مع مجلس النواب. وهو الذي يبرم المعاهدات ويعلن الحرب ويعقد الصلح بموافقة مجلس النواب. ويتمتع رئيس الجمهورية بحصانة قضائية عن جميع تصرفاته أثناء توليه الحكم.

يحق لرئيس الجمهورية أن يعرض على الاستفتاء العام أي مشروع قانون يتعلق بتنظيم السلطات العامة أو يهدف إلى التصديق على معاهدة غير مناقضة للدستور ولكنها قد تؤثر في أداء المؤسسات الحكومية. وإذا أقر الاستفتاء العام مشروع القانون يصدره رئيس الجمهورية في مدة أقصاها خمسة عشر يوما.

عندما يكون مجلس النواب في إجازة يحق لرئيس الجمهورية إصدار مراسيم يكون لها قوة القانون. ولكن عليه التشاور مع اللجنة البرلمانية الدائمة المعنية بموضوع القانون الذي سيصدره بمرسوم قبل إصداره.

يحق لرئيس الجمهورية في حال وجود خطر داهم يتهدد مؤسسات الجمهورية ويهدد أمن البلاد واستقلالها أن يتخذ "إجراءات استثنائية" بعد التشاور مع رئيس الوزراء ورئيس مجلس النواب. ولا يحق لرئيس الجمهورية في أثناء هذه الفترة حل البرلمان، كما لا يجوز تقديم أي اقتراح بإسقاط الحكومة. وينتفي مفعول هذه الإجراءات فور زوال الظروف التي أدت إلى اعتمادها. وعند زوال الظروف الاستثنائية يوجه رئيس الجمهورية خطابا إلى البرلمان بهذا الخصوص.

أعلى الصفحة

الحقوق المدنية

يتيح الدستور الحريات الفردية في سياق النظام العام. وينص على حرية ممارسة الشعائر الدينية شرط ألا يعكر صفو النظام العام. كما ينص على انه لا يحد من ممارسة المواطنين لحقوقهم سوى القانون الذي سنّ لحماية الآخرين، ولاحترام النظام العام، ولضرورات الدفاع عن البلاد وتطوير الاقتصاد والتقدم الاجتماعي. ويكفل الدستور تحت سقف القانون وفي حدوده حرية الرأي والتعبير والصحافة والنشر والاجتماع وتأسيس الجمعيات والروابط الأهلية. وتعرّف المادة السابعة من الدستور الظروف التي تقيد ممارسة الحريات الفردية. وتشمل هذه الظروف "حماية الآخرين، واحترام النظام العام، والدفاع الوطني، وتطوير الاقتصاد والتقدم الاجتماعي".

حق تأسيس النقابات مكفول دستوريا. ويحوي الدستور نصوصا تراعي حرمة البيوت وسرية المراسلات وافتراض براءة المتهم حتى يثبت العكس، والملكية الخاصة، وواجب الدفاع عن الوطن ودفع الضرائب.

أعلى الصفحة

المحكمة الدستورية

تم تأسيس المجلس الدستوري سنة 1987 للتأكد من توافق التشريعات التي تسن مع الدستور. وأصبحت أحكام المجلس الدستوري ملزمة نتيجة تعديل ادخل على الدستور سنة 1999. ويفصل مجلس شورى الدولة في المنازعات القائمة بين المواطنين والمؤسسات الحكومية. ويضم هذا المجلس محكمة لتدقيق الحسابات. المجلس الاقتصادي والاجتماعي الذي تمت توسعته سنة 1988 هو هيئة استشارية تهتم بشؤون التخطيط الاقتصادي والاجتماعي.

أعلى الصفحة

التعديلات والإجراءات الدستورية

نص تعديل دستوري صدر في عام 1969 على تعيين رئيس الوزراء من قبل رئيس الجمهورية يكون له الحق في تولي رئاسة الجمهورية في حال وفاة رئيس الجمهورية أو إصابته بعجز يمنعه من أداء مهامه. بناء على هذا التعديل الدستوري، حل سنة 1987 زين العابدين بن علي، بصفته رئيس الوزراء وله حق دستوري بخلافة رئيس الجمهورية، محل الحبيب بورقيبة بعد إعلانه أن بورقيبة فقد قدرته العقلية على إدارة الحكم. وتم بعد ذلك إجراء تعديلات دستورية ألغت مبدأ الرئاسة مدى الحياة الذي منح لبورقيبة في سنة 1975. ويسمح التعديل الذي أقرّ في 12 تموز/يوليو 1988 لرئيس الجمهورية بتولي الحكم لثلاث ولايات مدة كل منها خمس سنوات. لكن لرئيس الجمهورية أو لثلث أعضاء مجلس النواب حق المبادرة باقتراح تعديل على الدستور. وتم تعديل الدستور التونسي مرات عدة بعد سنة 1991 ما ترك تأثيرا كبيرا في تنظيم الانتخابات ومجلس النواب وأهلية رئيس الجمهورية. وتم عام 1999 تخفيف بعض القيود عن الترشيح لرئاسة الجمهورية، الأمر الذي سمح لمرشحي المعارضة بالتنافس على الانتخابات الرئاسية.

تم في 26 أيار/مايو 2002 إقرار حزمة كاسحة من التعديلات الدستورية حيث عدّلت 38 مادة من مواد الدستور البالغ عددها 78 مادة. وألغت التعديلات عدد الولايات التي يحق لرئيس الجمهورية تولي الحكم فيها، ورفعت سقف السن الذي يؤهل الشخص لمنصب رئيس الجمهورية من 70 إلى 75 سنة. ونصت التعديلات على تأسيس غرفة عليا للبرلمان هي "مجلس المستشارين" فتحول البرلمان التونسي إلى هيئة تشريعية من مجلسين. ووسعت الإصلاحات الدستورية نطاق الحريات المدنية، وأدخلت التسامح وحقوق الانسان في الدستور، واشترطت موافقة القضاء على أي اعتقالات "وقائية"، ونصت على توفير ضمان المعاملة الانسانية للسجناء. ومن ناحية أخرى، تمت توسعة المادة التي كانت تجبر جميع المواطنين على المشاركة في الدفاع الوطني لتصبح على النحو التالي: يفرض على جميع المواطنين الدفاع عن استقلال تونس وعن سيادتها الوطنية ووحدة أراضيها. ويخشى الناشطون السياسيون من استخدام الصياغة الجديدة ضد من ينتقدون النظام التونسي وسياساته في الصحف والمجلات المحلية أو الأجنبية.

أعلى الصفحة

الاتفاقيات الدولية

تونس طرف في العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية، وفي العهد الخاص بالحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Constitution: Tunisia
You may also
 

Historical Background

Following independence from France in 1956 and the deposition of the Tunisian Bey, the constitution of the Republic of Tunisia was promulgated in 1959. It provides for a president with broad powers, including the right to select the prime minister, appoint the cabinet, and rule by decree during legislative adjournments. As the chief executive, the president has considerable power over the cabinet, prime minister, and the armed forces. He also nominates the highest civil and military officers upon the recommendation of the government.

Top of this page

Separation of Executive, Legislative, and Judicial Powers

The Tunisian constitution divides legislative power between the president and a bicameral legislature, with an upper house, the Chamber of Councilors (Majlis al-Mustasharin), and a lower house, the Chamber of Deputies (Majlis al-Nuwaab). The president is elected by popular vote for five years, concurrently with the Chamber of Deputies. Half of the Chamber of Councilors is renewed every three years. The president can propose legislation and send bills back to the legislature for a second reading. According to the constitution, the judiciary is independent; however, the president heads the Superior Council of the Judiciary, which is charged with the appointment and dismissal of all judges. The Constitutional Council, a consultative body charged with determining the constitutionality of proposed legislation, has the power to remove the president if he is deemed unfit for office, in which case the President of the Chamber of Deputies becomes President of the Republic.

Top of this page

Main Provisions

The president is the guarantor of national independence, of territorial integrity, and of respect for the constitution and the laws as well as the execution of the laws and treaties. He watches over the regular functioning of the constitutional powers and assures the continuity of the state. He directs the general policy of the nation, defines its fundamental options, and, in doing so, communicates with the parliament. He ratifies treaties, declares war and concludes peace with the approval of the parliament. The president has judicial immunity for all acts committed while in office.

The president may submit to referendum any bill relating to the organization of the public powers or seeking to ratify a treaty, which, without being contrary to the constitution, may affect the functioning of the institutions. When the referendum has resulted in the adoption of the bill, the president promulgates it within a maximum period of fifteen days.

When the parliament is on vacation, the president may issue decrees with the force of law. However, he has to consult the relevant permanent parliamentary committee when doing so.

In case of imminent danger to the institutions of the republic and to the security and independence of the country, the president may take “exceptional measures,” after consulting the prime minister and the president of the parliament. During this period, the president may not dissolve the parliament and no motion of censure may be presented against the government. These measures cease to have effect as soon as the circumstances that produced them come to an end. The president addresses a message to the parliament on this subject.

Top of this page

Civil Rights

The constitution grants personal freedoms within the context of public order. It provides for the free exercise of belief provided that public order is not disturbed and stipulates that the exercise of rights cannot be limited except by law enacted for the protection of others, the respect for public order, the national defense, the development of the economy, and social progress. The freedoms of opinion, expression, press, publication, assembly and association, are all guaranteed under and within the limits of the law. Article 7 defines the circumstances under which the exercise of personal rights may be limited. They include “the protection of others, the respect for public order, the national defense, the development of economy, and social progress.”

The right to unionize is guaranteed constitutionally. There are provisions respecting the inviolability of home, secrecy of correspondence, guaranteed except in exceptional cases by law, presumption of innocence, right to property, and duty to defend the nation and to pay taxes.

Top of this page

Constitutional Court

The Constitutional Council was created in 1987 to ascertain the compatibility of enacted legislation with the constitution. The Council’s rulings have been made binding by virtue of an amendment to the constitution introduced in 1999. The Council of State deals with legal disputes between citizens and public institutions and also includes an Audit Court. The Economic and Social Council, enlarged in 1988, is a consultative body concerned with issues of economic and social planning.

Top of this page

Constitutional Amendments and Procedures

In 1969, a constitutional amendment provided for a premier to be appointed by the president who would assume the presidency in case of death or disability. Based on this amendment, in 1987, Zine El Abidine Ben Ali, the prime minister and the constitutionally ordained successor of the president, replaced Habib Bourgiba as the president by declaring him mentally unfit to rule. Constitutional amendments then eliminated the lifetime presidency that had been bestowed on Habib Bourgiba in 1975. The amendment of July 12, 1988, permitted the president to serve for three five-year terms of office. The president or one-third of the parliament, however, may initiate a constitutional amendment. The constitution has been amended several times after 1991, substantially affecting elections, parliament, and the eligibility of the president. In 1999, some restrictions on candidacy were relaxed, allowing opposition candidates to contest presidential elections.

A sweeping package of constitutional reform passed on May 26, 2002, altering 38 of the 78 articles of the constitution. Its provisions abolished the term limits on the presidency and extended the age of eligibility from 70 to 75. The amendments established an upper house for parliament, the Chamber of Councilors, making the formerly unicameral legislature into a bicameral one. The reform also broadened civil liberties, among other things enshrining tolerance and human rights in the constitution, requiring judicial approval for all ‘preventative’ detentions and providing a guarantee of humane treatment for prisoners. On another note, the article that formerly obligated all citizens to participate in national defense was expanded to require all citizens to defend Tunisia’s independence, national sovereignty and integrity. Activists fear that the new wording could potentially be used against Tunisians who criticize the regime and its policies in domestic or foreign publications.

Top of this page

International Conventions

Tunisia is a party to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR) and the International Covenant on Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights (ICESCR).

Top of this page