إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الدستور: الإمارات العربية المتحدة
يمكنكم أيضا
 

التاريخ الدستوري

قام المجلس الوطني الاتحادي والمجلس الأعلى للاتحاد بتعديل دستور 1971 المؤقت لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة الذي تمت صياغته مع تأسيس الاتحاد، وجعلاه دستورا دائما سنة 1996.

أعلى الصفحة

الفصل بين السلطات التنفيذية والتشريعية والقضائية

يصف الدستور خمس مؤسسات اتحادية وهي: المجلس الأعلى للاتحاد (تنفيذي)، ورئيس الاتحاد ونائبه، ومجلس وزراء الاتحاد، والمجلس الوطني الاتحادي (تشريعي) والقضاء الاتحادي.

انتخب المجلس الأعلى للاتحاد حاكم إمارة أبو ظبي الشيخ زايد بالإجماع رئيسا للاتحاد للمرة السادسة في 2 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2001.

يضع مجلس الوزراء مشروعات المراسيم والقرارات على اختلاف أنواعها. ويعتبر رئيس الوزراء وأعضاء حكومته مسؤولين أمام الرئيس وأمام المجلس الأعلى للاتحاد، وهو أعلى هيئة تنفيذية في الاتحاد ويتألف من حكام الإمارات السبع.

أعلى الصفحة

الأحكام الأساسية

المجلس الأعلى للاتحاد هو أرفع سلطة دستورية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة. كما أنه أعلى هيئة تشريعية وتنفيذية. وهو الذي يرسم السياسات العامة ويقرّ التشريعات الاتحادية. ولحاكميّ أبو ظبي ودبي حق النقض. يجتمع المجلس أربع مرات في السنة، وعادة ما تكون اجتماعاته بشكل غير رسمي.

يحكم دستور 1996 العلاقة بين الحكومة الاتحادية وحكومات الإمارات بإعطائه الحكومة المركزية سلطات محددة وتركه مساحة غير محددة من السلطات المفهومة ضمنيا للإمارات الأخرى. وتحتفظ كل إمارة بالسيطرة على نفطها وعلى ثروتها المعدنية وعلى بعض مظاهر أمنها الداخلي. وللحكومة الاتحادية الكلمة الأولى في معظم مسائل القانون والحكم.

توكل المادتان 120 و 121 من الدستور المسؤولية للحكومة الاتحادية في مجالات الشؤون الخارجية، والأمن والدفاع، ومسائل الجنسية والهجرة، والتعليم، والرعاية الصحية، والعملة الوطنية، وخدمات البريد والهاتف والاتصالات الأخرى، وضبط حركة الطيران، والترخيص للطائرات، وعدد من الموضوعات المنصوص عليها تحديدا والتي تشمل العلاقة بين العمال وأرباب العمل، والأعمال المصرفية، وتحديد المياه الإقليمية، وتسليم المجرمين إلى حكوماتهم. وتم تعديل المادة 121 سنة 2004 لاتاحة المجال أمام انتقال السلطة التشريعية المناطة بالاتحاد إلى المنظمات الاتحادية، وخصوصا إلى "مركز دبي المالي الدولي" الذي تأسس حديثا. ويسجل هذا التعديل سابقة في مجال توسيع السلطة الاتحادية.

في ما يخص الإمارات، تنص المادة 116 على أن "تمارس كل إمارة جميع السلطات التي لا يوكلها هذا الدستور للاتحاد". وتشدد المادة 122 أيضا على ما يلي: "تنفرد كل إمارة بكل ما لا تنفرد به السلطات الاتحادية، وفقا لما نصت عليه المادتين السابقتين". لكن الدستور يمكّن حكام الإمارات من التنازل للحكومة الاتحادية، في حال رغبوا في ذلك، عن سلطات معينة نص عليها كمسؤولية منفردة لكل إمارة. ومن الأمثلة على هذا الامتياز قرار توحيد القوات المسلحة في منتصف السبعينات.

سمح دستور 1971 لكل إمارة أن تحتفظ بعضويتها في منظمة الدول المصدرة للنفط (أوبك) وفي منظمة الأقطار العربية المصدرة للنفط (اوابك) أو أن تحصل على هذه العضوية، مع أن أي منها لم تفعل ذلك. فإمارة أبو ظبي كانت سنة 1971 الإمارة الوحيدة العضو في المنظمتين المذكورتين سنة 1971، لكنها تنازلت عن عضويتها لمصلحة الاتحاد.

تتعرض العلاقة بين المستويات الحكومية الاتحادية والمحلية باستمرار للتغير والتطور. واستفادت بعض الإمارات الصغرى من الاتحاد في مجالات كالتعليم والسياحة، وفي مجالات أخرى كالقضاء، وظهرت نزعة متطورة نحو المزيد من التنازل الطوعي عن السلطة المحلية إلى المؤسسات الاتحادية.

أعلى الصفحة

الحقوق المدنية

تتعايش الأشكال الحكومية التقليدية والحديثة ويكمل بعضها بعضا. ومع أن الزعماء السياسيين في الإمارات غير منتخبين، فالمواطنون يعبرون عن همومهم مباشرة لزعمائهم عن طريق الآليات التقليدية مثل المجالس المفتوحة، أو اللقاءات والاجتماعات غير الرسمية.

يحظر الدستور التعذيب أو المعاملة المهينة للكرامة، ويمنع إلقاء القبض والتفتيش والتوقيف أو الحبس، ودخول المنازل من دون إذن أصحابها، إلا وفقا للقانون. وينص الدستور على استقلال القضاء، لكن قراراته تخضع للمراجعة من جانب القيادة السياسية. كما ينص الدستور على حرية التعبير وعلى المساواة أمام القانون بغض النظر عن العرق أو الجنسية أو المعتقدات الدينية أو المركز الاجتماعي.

أعلى الصفحة

المحكمة الدستورية

يوكل الدستور إلى محكمة التمييز السلطة القضائية الخاصة بتقرير دستورية التشريعات.

أعلى الصفحة

التعديلات والإجراءات الدستورية

وفقا للمادة 144 من الدستور، يقترح "المجلس الأعلى للاتحاد" التعديلات لكن يجب أن يوافق عليها أعضاء "المجلس الوطني الاتحادي" بأغلبية ثلثي الأعضاء، ومن ثم يوقعها رئيس الدولة وتصدر كقانون.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Constitution: United Arab Emirates
You may also
 

Historical Background

The Federal National Council (FNC) and the Federal Supreme Council (FSC) amended the 1971 interim constitution of the United Arab Emirates, drafted with the establishment of the federation, to make it permanent in 1996.

Top of this page

Separation of Executive, Legislative, and Judicial Powers

The constitution describes five federal institutions. These are the Federal Supreme Council (FSC-executive), the President of the Union and the vice president, the Council of Ministers of the Union, the Federal National Council (FNC-legislative), and the Judiciary of the Union.

The Federal Supreme Council elected Abu Dhabi’s president Shaikh Zayed unanimously for the sixth time on December 2, 2001 as the President of the Union.

The Council of Ministers drafts decrees and various decisions. The prime minister and the members of the cabinet are responsible to the president and to the Federal Supreme Council (FSC), which is the highest executive body in the federation, made up of the rulers of the seven emirates.

Top of this page

Main Provisions

The Federal Supreme Coucil is the highest constitutional authority in the UAE. It is also the highest legislative and executive body. It establishes general policies and sanctions federal legislation. The rulers of Abu Dhabi and Dubai have veto power. The FSC meets four times a year, usually informally.

The 1996 constitution governs the relationship between the federal government and the emirate governments by giving the central government specific powers and leaving an unspecified area of implicit powers to the emirates. Each emirate retains control over its own oil and mineral wealth and some aspects of internal security. The federal government asserts primacy in most matters of law and government.

Articles 120 and 121 of the constitution assign responsibility to the federal government in areas such as foreign affairs, security and defense, nationality and immigration issues, education, public health, currency, postal, telephone and other communications services, air traffic control and licensing of aircraft and a number of other topics specifically prescribed, including labor relations, banking, delimitation of territorial waters and extradition of criminals. Article 121 was amended in 2004 to allow for the devolution of legislative authority vested in the Union onto local federal organizations, specifically the newly formed Dubai International Financial Center (DIFC). The amendment sets a precedent for the expansion of the federal authority.

With respect to the Emirates, article 116 stipulates that “the Emirates shall exercise all powers not assigned to the Federation by this Constitution.” Article 122 further emphasizes that “the Emirates shall have jurisdiction in all matters not assigned to the exclusive jurisdiction of the Federation, in accordance with the provision of the preceding two Articles.” The constitution also enables the rulers of the emirates, however, to relinquish, if they wish, certain areas of authority prescribed as being the responsibility of individual emirates to the federal government. The decision to unify the Armed Forces in the mid-1970s is an example of this prerogative.

The 1971 constitution permitted each emirate to retain or to take up membership in the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) and the Organization of Arab Petroleum Exporting Countries (OAPEC), although none has done so. The only emirate to be a member in 1971, Abu Dhabi, relinquished its memberships in favor of the federation.

The relationship between the federal and the local levels of government continues to change and evolve. Smaller emirates have benefited from the federation in areas like education and tourism. At the same time, in other areas, such as the judiciary, there has been an evolving trend towards a further voluntary relinquishment of local authority to the federal institutions.

Top of this page

Civil Rights

Traditional and modern forms of government coexist and supplement each other. Although political leaders in the emirates are not elected, citizens may express their concerns directly to their leaders via traditional mechanisms, such as the open majlis, or informal assembly.

The constitution prohibits torture or degrading treatment and prohibits arrest, search, detention, or imprisonment, and entry into homes without the owner's permission, except in accordance with the law. It provides for the independence of the judiciary, but its decisions are subject to review by the political leadership. The constitution also provides for freedom of speech and equality before the law with regard to race, nationality, religious beliefs, or social status.

Top of this page

Constitutional Court

The constitution vests the Court of Cassation with judicial authority over the constitutionality of legislation.

Top of this page

Constitutional Amendments and Procedures

According to Article 144 of the constitution, amendments to the constitution are drafted by the Federal Supreme Council, and must be approved by a two-thirds majority of the Federal National Council, after which the amendment is signed into law by the president.

Top of this page