إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الدستور: اليمن
يمكنكم أيضا
 

التاريخ الدستوري

حصلت تغييرات دستورية مهمة في اليمن في الأعوام 1970 و 1991 و 1994 و 2001. وفي سنة 1994 تم تعديل نحو 52 مادة من مواد الدستور اليمني لعام 1991، وإضافة 29 مادة إلى الدستور في أعقاب الحرب الأهلية التي وقعت في تلك السنة. وأقرّ البرلمان هذه التعديلات سنة 1994. وتم في سنة 2001 تمديد ولاية رئيس الجمهورية ومجلس النواب سنتين إضافيتين.

أعلى الصفحة

الفصل بين السلطات التنفيذية والتشريعية والقضائية

في أعقاب توحيد اليمن الشمالي والجنوبي في سنة 1990 نشأ مجلس رئاسي من خمسة أعضاء بمن فيهم رئيسا البلدين اللذان أصبحا رئيس الجمهورية ورئيس الوزراء في اليمن الموحد. ونص دستور 1991 على منصب رئيس الجمهورية، وهو رأس الدولة، ومنصب نائب الرئيس، وهيئة تشريعية، ومجلس وزراء يعينه رئيس الجمهورية ويرأسه رئيس الوزراء. رئيس الجمهورية الحالي هو علي عبد الله صالح، ورئيس الوزراء هو عبد القادر عبد الرحمن باجمال.

نص دستور 1991 على قيام البرلمان بانتخاب المجلس الرئاسي والتصويت على تأليف الحكومة وعلى برنامجها. ويتولى المجلس الرئاسي اختيار رئيس الجمهورية ونائبه ورئيس الوزراء من بين أعضائه. وتمتد ولاية رئيس الجمهورية ونائبه وأعضاء مجلس النواب لخمس سنوات. لكن تعديلات 1994 ألغت المجلس الرئاسي الخماسي ونصت على اختيار رئيس الجمهورية عن طريق الاقتراع الشعبي العام لولايتين كحد أقصى مدة كل ولاية خمس سنوات جرى تمديدها إلى سبع سنوات عام 2001.

أعلى الصفحة

الأحكام الأساسية

يصدر البرلمان القوانين ويقرّ السياسة العامة للدولة والخطة العامة للتنمية الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والموازنة العامة والحساب الختامي. كما يوجه نشاط السلطة التنفيذية ويشرف عليه، ويناقش التشريعات ويصدق عليها أو يرفضها أو يعدلها.

لرئيس الجمهورية حق الدعوة إلى انتخابات برلمانية والى إجراء استفتاء عام. وهو يعيّن رئيس الوزراء ويكلفه بتشكيل الحكومة، كما يشكل مجلس الدفاع الوطني. ويمكن لرئيس الجمهورية حل البرلمان بمرسوم؛ ولكن عليه الدعوة إلى انتخابات جديدة خلال 60 يوما من تاريخ المرسوم. ولا يمكن حل البرلمان مرتين للأسباب ذاتها. وألغت التعديلات الدستورية عام 2001 حق رئيس الجمهورية في أن يمارس الحكم بالمراسيم عندما يكون البرلمان في إجازة. ولرئيس الجمهورية حق إعادة أي مشروع قانون إلى مجلس النواب في خلال 30 يوما من تقديمه له. فإذا لم يعد مشروع القانون إلى المجلس خلال هذه المدة وصادق عليها المجلس مرة ثانية بأغلبية أعضائه يعتبر المشروع قانونا وعلى رئيس الجمهورية إصداره في مهلة أسبوعين.

يكون اتهام رئيس الجمهورية بناء على طلب من نصف أعضاء مجلس النواب. أما قرار إحالته إلى المحاكمة أمام المحكمة العليا فيتطلب أغلبية ثلثي أعضاء مجلس النواب. السلطة القضائية مستقلة. ومكتب المدعي العام أحد مقوماتها الأساسية. ويشرف المجلس الأعلى للقضاء على تسمية القضاة وتعيينهم، كما ينفذ الضمانات المعطاة للقضاة والمتعلقة بتعيينهم أو تسريحهم.

وفقا للدستور، تشكل العدالة الاجتماعية الإسلامية الأساس الذي تقوم عليه العلاقات الاقتصادية. والدستور يحمي الملكية الخاصة. وشعب اليمن مالك السلطة ومصدرها ويمارسها بشكل مباشر عن طريق الاستفتاء والانتخابات العامة، وبطريقة غير مباشرة عن طريق الهيئات التشريعية والتنفيذية والقضائية وعن طريق المجالس المحلية المنتخبة.

أعلى الصفحة

الحقوق المدنية

يتساوى المواطنون في الحقوق والواجبات، ولكل مواطن حق المشاركة في الحياة السياسية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية في البلاد. وتكفل الدولة حرية الفكر والتعبير عن الرأي في حدود القانون. ولا يجوز القبض على أي شخص أو تفتيشه أو حجزه إلا في حالة التلبس أو بأمر توجبه ضرورة التحقيق وصيانة الأمن ويصدره القاضي أو النيابة العامة. ويحظر التعذيب الجسدي والنفسي وانتزاع الاعترافات بالقوة. وحق الدفاع أصالة أو وكالة مكفول دستوريا.

أعلى الصفحة

المحكمة الدستورية

تدرس المحكمة العليا وهي أعلى هيئة قضائية في الجمهورية دستورية القوانين والتشريعات.

أعلى الصفحة

التعديلات والإجراءات الدستورية

لرئيس الجمهورية ولثلثي أعضاء مجلس النواب حق طلب تعديل مادة أو اكثر من مواد الدستور. فإذا رفض الطلب لا يجوز تقديمه مجددا للمواد نفسها إلا بعد مرور سنة على رفضه. وإذا وافق ثلاثة أرباع أعضاء مجلس النواب على التعديل يعرض على الشعب في استفتاء عام. فإذا وافقت الغالبية المطلقة ممن اقترعوا في الاستفتاء على التعديل يصبح نافذ المفعول.

اقترح الرئيس علي عبد الله صالح في آب 2000 سلسلة من التعديلات على الدستور. وتم التصويت عليها في استفتاء عام بتاريخ 24 شباط/فبراير 2001. وتضمنت التعديلات المقترحة مادة إضافية تعلن أن حماية البيئة واجب من واجبات الدولة. وزادت تعديلات أخرى مدة ولاية مجلس النواب من أربع إلى ست سنوات، وولاية رئيس الجمهورية من خمس إلى سبع سنوات، وأعطت رئيس الجمهورية صلاحية الدعوة مباشرة إلى إجراء انتخابات عامة جديدة في أعقاب حل مجلس النواب ومن دون إجراء استفتاء شعبي على أسباب حله، وألغت المادة التي تنص على حق الرئيس في إصدار مراسيم يكون لها قوة القانون عندما لا يكون مجلس النواب في دورة انعقاد أو منحلا.

وقد وسعت التعديلات الجديدة من صلاحيات مجلس الشورى وزادت عدد أعضائه من 59 إلى 111 عضوا، وأتاحت له تقاسم صلاحية فحص الترشيحات لرئاسة الجمهورية مع مجلس النواب. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، أصبح مجلس الشورى الآن قادرا على المشاركة في التصويت على التشريعات عندما يجتمع مع مجلس النواب لمناقشة تشريع يتعلق بشؤون الدفاع الوطني أو لبحث موضوع خاص أثاره رئيس الجمهورية. ويتألف مجلس الشورى، الذي أسس بفعل التعديلات الدستورية بتاريخ 9 أيلول/سبتمبر 1994 (المادة 125)، من ذوي الخبرات والكفاءات المتخصصة في مختلف الميادين لمساعدة رئيس الجمهورية على تطوير استراتيجيات إزاء القضايا الوطنية والعالمية.

أعلى الصفحة

الاتفاقيات الدولية

وقّع اليمن على العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية، وعلى العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والسياسية.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Constitution: Yemen
You may also
 

Historical Background

Significant constitutional changes in Yemen took place in 1970, 1991, 1994, and 2001. Some 52 clauses of the Yemeni constitution of 1991 were amended in 1994 and 29 clauses were added, following the civil war of that year. The changes were adopted by the parliament in 1994. In 2001 the terms of office of the president and the National Assembly were each extended two years.

Top of this page

Separation of Executive, Legislative, and Judicial Powers

Following the unification of North and South Yemen in 1990, a five-member Presidential Council was established, which included the presidents from both sides, who have become the president and the prime minister of the unified Yemen. The constitution of 1991 provided for a president, who is the head of state, a vice president, a legislature, and a Council of Ministers appointed by the president and headed by a prime minister. The current president is Ali Abdullah Saleh, and the prime minister is Abd al-Qadir Abd al-Rahman Bajammal.

The 1991 constitution called for the parliament to elect the Presidential Council and to vote on the composition and the program of the cabinet. The Presidential Council was to choose, from its membership, a president and a vice president and to nominate a prime minister. The president, the vice president, and the members of the Council of Deputies are chosen for five-year terms. The 1994 amendments abolished the five-member Presidential Council and stipulated that the president be chosen by universal suffrage for no more than two terms, each term of office lasting five years, extended to seven year in 2001.

Top of this page

Main Provisions

The parliament ratifies laws and endorses the state’s general policy, the general plan for economic and social development, the general budget and the final accounts. It also engages in directing and overseeing the activities of the executive branch and discusses, ratifies, rejects, and amends legislation.

The president has the right to call for parliamentary elections and for a general referendum. He appoints a prime minister to form a government, and he also forms the National Defense Council. The president may dissolve the parliament by decree; however, he must call new elections within sixty days of the date of the decree. The parliament cannot be dissolved twice for the same reason. The president's right to rule by decree during the absence of the parliament was abolished by the 2001 amendments. The president may return a bill to the House of Representatives within thirty days of its submission to him. If he does not return the bill to the House within this period and the bill is then approved once again by the majority of the House, it is considered a law, and the president issues it within two weeks.

An impeachment of the president can be submitted by half of the members of the parliament. Referring the president to trial by the Supreme Court (see Judiciary) requires a two-third parliamentary majority. The judicial authority is independent. The General Prosecutor’s Office is one of its integral constituents. The Supreme Judicial Council oversees the nomination and appointment of judges, and works on implementing the guarantees given to judges for appointment or dismissal.

According to the constitution, Islamic social justice is the basis of economic relations, while private property is protected. The people of Yemen are the possessors and the source of power, which they exercise directly through public referenda and elections, or indirectly through the legislative, executive and judicial authorities, as well as through elected local councils.

Top of this page

Civil Rights

Citizens are equal in rights and duties. Every citizen has the right to participate in the political, economic, social and cultural life of the country. The state is to guarantee freedom of thought and expression of opinion within the limits of the law. No individual can be arrested, searched or detained unless caught in the act or served with a summons from a judge or the public prosecutor. Physical and psychological torture and forced confessions are prohibited. The rights to defense and to council are constitutionally guaranteed.

Top of this page

Constitutional Court

The highest judicial authority in the republic, the Supreme Court, studies the constitutionality of laws and statutes.

Top of this page

Constitutional Amendments and Procedures

The president of the republic and two-thirds of the House of Representatives have the right to request and amend one or more articles of the constitution. If the request is rejected, another request for the amendment of the same articles may not be submitted until the lapse of one year. If three-quarters of the House agree on the amendment, it is presented to the people in a general referendum. If the absolute majority of those who vote are in favor of the amendment, the amendment is considered valid.

In August 2000, President Ali Abdullah Saleh proposed a series of amendments to the constitution. These amendments were voted on in a referendum on February 24, 2001. They include an added article to the constitution, declaring the protection of the environment a duty of the state. New amendments also increased the term of office of the parliament from four to six years, extended the presidential mandate to seven years, enabled the president to call directly for new elections, following the dissolution of the parliament, without a popular referendum on the reasons for dissolution, and eliminated the provision on the right of the president to issue decrees with the force of law when the parliament is not in session or is dissolved.

The new amendments also widen the powers of the Consultative Council, increasing its membership from 59 to 111 and enabling it to share the power to examine presidential nominees with the parliament. In addition, the Council now has the ability to vote on legislation when convened together with the House of Representatives either to discuss legilation related to defense, or to discuss a specific issue raised by the president. The Consultative Council, introduced by the constitutional amendments of September 9, 1994 (Article 125), consists of appointees from among experts and specialists in a variety of fields to assist the president in developing strategies on national and international issues.

Top of this page

International Conventions

Yemen is a signatory to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR) and the International Covenant on Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights (ICESCR).

Top of this page