إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الدستور: الأردن
يمكنكم أيضا
 

التاريخ الدستوري

الأردن دولة ملكية دستورية وراثية. الملك عبد الله الثاني بن الحسين هاشمي يرجع نسبه إلى النبي محمد، وتحديدا إلى فرع الحسن ابن الإمام علي والسيدة فاطمة الزهراء.

ينص دستور 1952 المعدّل على أن الأمة مصدر جميع السلطات. وعلى الرغم من أن المادة 30 من الدستور تنص على أن الملك مصون من كل تبعة ومسؤولية، فحقيقة كون الأردن مملكة دستورية وليست مطلقة تحد من سلطات الملك. فالقضاء المستقل الذي تترأسه محكمة التمييز (محكمة الاستئناف العليا) ووثيقتان قانونيتان، أي الدستور والميثاق الوطني، اللتان تحويان الخطوط العامة لإدارة النشاط السياسي الحزبي في البلاد، تدعم جميعها التعددية السياسية وسيادة القانون. وكان توقيع الملك وزعماء الجماعات السياسية الرئيسية على الميثاق الوطني سنة 1991 يعني السماح للأحزاب السياسية بالعمل في مقابل قبولها الدستور والنظام الملكي.

أعلى الصفحة

الفصل بين السلطات التنفيذية والتشريعية والقضائية

الملك رأس الدولة ورأس الحكومة. فهو يعيّن رئيس الوزراء والوزراء. وله أيضا صلاحيات تشريعية واسعة تشمل تعيين الأعيان والتصديق على القوانين، وإلغاء مجلس الأمة، وتأجيل انتخابات مجلس النواب. وعندما يكون مجلس الأمة غير منعقد أو منحل يحق لمجلس الوزراء بموافقة الملك أن يضع قوانين مؤقتة يكون لها قوة القانون. يستقبل الملك المبعوثين الأجانب، ويمنح الألقاب وأوسمة الشرف لمن أدوا خدمات جليلة للوطن، ويمنح العفو الخاص ويخفف الأحكام القضائية. وهو القائد الأعلى للجيش والقوات البحرية والجوية. وهو الذي يعلن الحرب ويتوصل إلى السلام ويوقّع المعاهدات.

تتوافر في الأردن حاليا آليات مهمة تؤسس لنظام من الضوابط والتوازنات. ومن السلطات المهمة الممنوحة لمجلس النواب وحده سلطة طرح الثقة بالحكومة. وعلاوة على ذلك، لمجلس الأمة سلطة إبطال حق النقض الذي يستخدمه الملك من خلال تصويت أكثرية ثلثي أعضاء مجلسيه. كما فتحت السلطة التشريعية تحقيقا في اتهامات بالفساد وجهت إلى أعضاء بارزين من النخبة السياسية في السنوات الأخيرة. وللمحكمة العليا، المؤلفة من أعيان ومن قضاة كبار، الحق في استجواب الوزراء وفي محاكمتهم. وعلى نحو مماثل، يجب أن تخضع القوانين التشريعية لمراجعة قضائية من جانب المحكمة العليا ومن جانب المجلس العالي المؤلف من كبار قضاة المحاكم النظامية ومن مسؤول إداري. ولا يجوز إجراء أي تعديل دستوري يمس حقوق الملك. ويجب أن تحصل التعديلات المقترحة على موافقة ثلثي أعضاء كل مجلس من مجلسي الأمة وان يصدق عليها الملك كي تقرّ.

أعلى الصفحة

الأحكام الأساسية

يتضمن الفصل الثاني من الدستور في المواد من الرقم 5 إلى الرقم 23 تحت عنوان "حقوق الأردنيين وواجباتهم" قائمة واسعة من الحريات الشخصية المكفولة من جانب الحكومة. كما تكفل الحكومة في حدود معينة تكافؤ الفرص من خلال العمل والتعليم لجميع الأردنيين. وتشمل الحريات الشخصية التحرر من التمييز القائم على أساس العرق أو الديانة أو اللغة. والتحرر من التوقيف أو الحبس والإقامة الجبرية والعمل القسري والنفي ومصادرة الملكية من دون إجراء قانوني صحيح. حرية العبادة والصحافة والرأي والالتماس والاجتماع السلمي مكفولة في حدود القانون شرط أن تكون أهدافها وغاياتها قانونية.

أعلى الصفحة

المحكمة الدستورية

مع أن الميثاق الوطني لعام 1991 يدعو إلى تأسيس محكمة دستورية فإن هذا الأمر لم يتحقق. وما برحت نقابة المحامين الأردنيين طوال سنوات تضغط لتشكيل هذه المحكمة، ولكن رؤساء الوزارات كانوا يرفضون ذلك ويتذرعون بوجود مسائل أكثر إلحاحا وبأن المناخ السياسي غير ناضج بعد لتحقيق خطوة كهذه. ويسمح الدستور الأردني بإجراء تعديلات على معظم القضايا التي يحتويها باستثناء القضايا المتعلقة بحقوق الملك والعائلة المالكة وخلافة العرش. ويعطي الدستور الملك حق إعلان الأحكام العرفية في المملكة الأمر الذي يترتب عليه تعليق نصوص الدستور وأحكامه. ويتطلب إجراء تعديلات على الدستور موافقة أغلبية ثلثي أعضاء مجلسي الأعيان والنواب في جلسة مشتركة. ولا يصبح أي تعديل دستوري نافذ المفعول ما لم يصدق عليه الملك.

أعلى الصفحة

التعديلات والإجراءات الدستورية

أعد دستور 1928، الذي أصدره الأمير عبد الله في ظل الانتداب البريطاني، الإطار العام الذي تقوم عليه القوانين الحالية. ففي أعقاب استقلال الأردن عن بريطانيا سنة 1946، أقرّ المجلس التشريعي الدستور الأردني الثاني سنة 1947. وقام الملك عبد الله سنة 1950، بعد توقيع اتفاقية الهدنة مع إسرائيل سنة 1949، بضم الضفة الغربية رسميا إلى شرقي الأردن على الرغم من المعارضة الشديدة من جانب الدول العربية لتلك الخطوة. وبعد أن تم له ما أراد، اعدّ دستورا معدلا للمملكة الأردنية. وقد جعل الملك طلال ذلك الدستور اكثر تحررية وتم التصديق عليه سنة 1952.

تم تعديل دستور 1952 في الأعوام 1974 و 1976 و 1984. وأتاح تعديلان أقرا سنة 1984 للملك حل مجلس الأمة وتأجيل انتخابات مجلس النواب سنة كاملة. كما أتاح له تعديل 1976 إرجاء الانتخابات النيابية إلى اجل غير مسمى. ولكن الملك لا يستطيع حاليا إرجاء هذه الانتخابات اكثر من سنتين وفي "ظروف قاهرة" يرى معها أن إجراء الانتخابات أمر متعذر. وتم حل مجلس الأمة في 16 حزيران/يونيو 2001. وجرت انتخابات نيابية جديدة في 17 حزيران/يونيو 2003.

أعلى الصفحة

الاتفاقيات الدولية

الأردن طرف في العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية، وفي العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Constitution: Jordan
You may also
 

Historical Background

Jordan is a hereditary constitutional monarchy. King Abdullah II bin al-Hussein is a Hashemite whose lineage can be traced back to the Prophet and specifically to Ali and Fatima's son Hassan's branch.

The revised Constitution of 1952 states that the nation is the source of all powers. Although Article 30 states that the king is immune from any liability and responsibility, the fact that Jordan is not an absolute but constitutional monarchy limits the king’s powers. An independent judiciary, headed by the Court of Cassation (the Supreme Court of Appeal), and two documents, namely, the constitution and the National Charter, which contains guidelines for the conduct of political party activities, uphold political pluralism and the supremacy of the law. The signing of the National Charter by the king and the leaders of the main political groups in 1991 meant that political parties were permitted in exchange for the acceptance of the constitution and the monarchy.

Top of this page

Separation of Executive, Legislative, and Judicial Powers

The king is the head of the state and the head of government; he appoints both the prime minister and the cabinet. The king also has extensive lawmaking powers that include the appointment of senators, ratification of laws, abolition of the parliament, and postponement of House elections. In cases where the parliament is not sitting or is dissolved, the Council of Ministers, with the approval of the king, has the power to issue provisional laws, which have the force of law. The king also receives foreign envoys, confers honors and medals for meritorious service, grants special pardons and remits sentences. He is the Supreme Commander of the armed, naval and air forces, declaring war, concluding peace and signing treaties.

Important mechanisms instituting a system of checks and balances are now in place in Jordan. One significant power given to the House of Representatives alone is the right to cast a vote of confidence in the cabinet. Moreover, the parliament has the power to override the monarch’s veto by a two-thirds majority in both houses. The legislative branch has also engaged in investigating corruption charges of several prominent members of the political elite in recent years. The High Tribunal, composed of Senate members and senior judges, has the right to question and try ministers. Similarly, legislative acts may undergo judicial review by the High Tribunal and a Special Tribunal consisting of highest civil court judges and an administrative official. No constitutional amendment may be made affecting the rights of the king. Amendments have to be passed by two-thirds majority of the members of each house and be ratified by the king.

Top of this page

Main Provisions

An extensive list of personal freedoms ensured by the government under “the rights and duties of Jordanians” is given in Chapter 2, Articles 5 through 23. The government also ensures, within limits, equality of opportunity through employment and education to all Jordanians. Personal freedoms include freedom from discrimination based on race, religion, or language. Freedom from arrest, imprisonment, forced residence and forced labor, exile, expropriation of property without due process of law, freedom of worship, press, opinion, petition, and peaceful assembly are guaranteed within the limits of the law and with the provision that their objectives are lawful.

Top of this page

Constitutional Court

Even though the 1991 National Charter calls for the establishment of a constitutional court, this has not materialized. The Jordanian Bar Association has been pressing this matter for years but prime ministers have refused, citing more pressing matters and an unripe political climate as justification. The Jordanian Constitution allows amendments to take place on most issues except on issues regarding the rights of the king, the royal family and succession to the throne. The king is also allowed to declare martial law in the Kingdom; thereby suspending the provisions of the constitution. To make amendments to the constitution a two-third majority is required from both the House of Notables and the House of Representatives or a two-third majority of a joint session. An amendment cannot come into force unless it is ratified by the king.

Top of this page

Constitutional Amendments and Procedures

The 1928 Constitution, promulgated under the British Mandate by Emir Abdullah, prepared the general framework upon which today's laws are based. Following independence in 1946, the Legislative Council adopted the second constitution in 1947. In 1950, following the armistice with Israel the year before and in the face of strong Arab opposition, King Abdullah formally merged the West Bank with Trans-Jordan and introduced a revised Constitution of the Kingdom of Jordan. That constitution was liberalized by King Talal and ratified in 1952.

The 1952 Constitution was amended in 1974, 1976, and 1984. In 1974, two amendments enabled the King to dissolve the parliament and postpone House elections for one year. The 1976 amendment enabled him to postpone elections indefinitely, but currently postponement is limited to two years, and only when "compelling circumstances" are deemed to impede the electoral process. Parliament was dissolved on June 16, 2001, and new elections were conducted on June 17, 2003.

Top of this page

International Conventions

Jordan is a party to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR) and the International Covenant on Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights (ICESCR)

Top of this page