إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الدستور: الكويت
يمكنكم أيضا
 

التاريخ الدستوري

الكويت إمارة دستورية: وفي عام 1962 قامت جمعية تأسيسية منتخبة بوضع دستور الكويت الذي يمنح العائلة الحاكمة سلطة اختيار الأمير كرأس للسلطة التنفيذية والذي له الحق في إصدار التشريعات بمرسوم. وتحكم الكويت بهذا الدستور الذي نص أيضا على إنشاء مجلس الأمة. وأصبح الدستور نافذ المفعول في 29 كانون الثاني/يناير 1963 عند انعقاد أول مجلس أمة كويتي.

أعلى الصفحة

الفصل بين السلطات التنفيذية والتشريعية والقضائية

يقوم النظام الحكومي على مبدأ فصل السلطات. فالسلطة التشريعية مناطة بالأمير وبمجلس الأمة. والسلطة التنفيذية مناطة بالأمير بصفته رئيس الدولة، وبمجلس الوزراء. والسلطة القضائية مناطة بالمحاكم التي تمارسها باسم الأمير في حدود الدستور. وشخص الأمير مصان وله حرمة تمنع أي طعن أو شك فيه. ويعيّن الأمير رئيس الوزراء ونائبين لرئيس مجلس الوزراء. ويعين رئيس الوزراء أعضاء مجلس الوزراء ويصادق الأمير على تعيينهم. ولمجلس الأمة سلطة سحب الثقة من الوزراء ومن مجلس الوزراء ولا يحق لأعضاء مجلس الأمة كأفراد أن يتدخلوا في عمل السلطة القضائية أو التنفيذية.

أعلى الصفحة

الأحكام الأساسية

للأمير الحق في المبادرة باقتراح القوانين وإصدارها، وله حق إصدار المراسيم واللوائح الضرورية لتنفيذ القوانين. يتم نشر القوانين خلال ثلاثين يوما من قيام مجلس الأمة بتقديمها إلى الأمير بعد إقرارها في المجلس بأكثرية ثلثي الأصوات. وتخفض هذه المدة إلى سبعة أيام في حال الاستعجال. وإذا انتهت فترة إصدار القانون من دون أن يطلب رئيس الدولة إعادة النظر فيه، يعتبر مشروع القانون نافذا ويتم إصدار القانون.

يعلن الأمير الحرب الدفاعية والأحكام العرفية بمرسوم. وتحال هذه المراسيم إلى مجلس الأمة خلال خمسة عشر يوما من صدورها. ولا يمكن استمرار الحكم العرفي إلا إذا قرر مجلس الأمة ذلك بأكثرية الأصوات. ويعقد الأمير أيضا المعاهدات بمرسوم ثم يرسلها إلى مجلس الأمة لإقرارها. يعيّن الأمير ويقيل المسؤولين الرسميين المدنيين والعسكريين والدبلوماسيين. ويستطيع الأمير أن يمنح العفو أو يخفف مدة الحكم. ولكن العفو العام لا يمنح إلا بقانون. وفي حال وجود الأمير خارج البلاد وعدم قدرة ولي عهده على التصرف كنائب له، يعين الأمير نائبا له يؤدي قسم الولاء للأمير في جلسة خاصة يعقدها مجلس الأمة.

إذا دعت الحاجة إلى اتخاذ إجراءات عاجلة عندما لا يكون مجلس الأمة في دورة انعقاد عادية أو إذا كان منحلا، يصدر الأمير مراسيم يكون لها قوة القانون، بشرط ألا تتعارض مع الدستور أو مع التخصيصات المتضمنة في قانون الميزانية. وتحال هذه المراسيم إلى مجلس الأمة خلال خمسة عشر يوما من صدورها إذا كان المجلس في حال انعقاد. وإذا لم يقرّ المجلس هذه المراسيم تفقد قوة القانون بأثر رجعي.

يصف الدستور النظام السياسي الكويتي بأنه ديمقراطي والسيادة فيه للشعب. ويذكر الدستور العدالة والحرية والمساواة والتعاون كقيم اجتماعية رئيسية، ويؤكد مسؤولية الدولة عن ضمان الأمن والطمأنينة وتكافؤ الفرص للمواطنين. وهو يكفل الحريات الشخصية والمساواة في الحقوق والواجبات أمام القانون بغض النظر عن العرق والأصل واللغة والدين. وتوجد ضمانات ضد الاعتقال التعسفي والتعذيب. كما أن هناك ضمانا لحرية التنقل ولافتراض البراءة والحق في المحاكمة. وحسب الدستور حرية المعتقد مطلقة. وتحمي الدولة حرية ممارسة الشعائر الدينية تماشيا مع التقاليد المتبعة شرط ألا تتعارض مع السياسة العامة أو مع الأخلاق العامة. وللأفراد الحق في الاجتماع الخاص من دون تصريح أو إبلاغ مسبق، ولا يحق للشرطة حضور الاجتماعات الخاصة. لكن الحق في التجمعات العامة مقيد بقانون التجمعات العامة الذي صدر عام 1979 بمرسوم أميري خلال فترة تعليق مجلس الأمة الذي صادق على القانون بعد انتهاء فترة تعليق عمله في العام 1981. وألغت المحكمة الدستورية في 1 أيار/مايو 2006 القانون المذكور الذي كان ينص على وجوب حصول المواطنين على ترخيص مسبق من السلطات قبل تنظيم أي تجمع أو اجتماع عام. وبهذا أصبح بإمكان المواطنين تنظيم التجمعات أو المسيرات العامة بعد إخطار السلطات بما ينوون القيام به من دون حاجتهم إلى موافقتها مسبقا.

أعلى الصفحة

الحقوق المدنية

حرية الرأي والصحافة والطباعة والنشر، وحرية تأليف الجمعيات الأهلية والاتحادات على أسس وطنية وبوسائل سلمية "لا تتعارض مع الأخلاق" مكفولة "وفقا للشروط والشكل الذي يحدده القانون". ولكل كويتي الحق في العمل وفي اختيار العمل الذي يناسبه، فالعمل واجب على كل مواطن "تفرضه الكرامة الشخصية والصالح العام". وتوفر الدولة العمل لمواطنيها وتجعل شروطه منصفة.

الحقوق الفردية التي يكفلها الدستور واسعة وتشمل الحرية الشخصية والمساواة أمام القانون، وحرية المعتقد والتعبير عن الآ راء، وحرية الصحافة. وبيوت المواطنين حرام، أي لا تنتهك حرمتها. ويحظر تعذيب المواطنين الكويتيين أو إبعادهم عن البلاد، والمتهم برئ حتى تثبت إدانته. كما يكفل القانون حرية تأسيس الجمعيات الأهلية والاتحادات العمالية.

أعلى الصفحة

المحكمة الدستورية

المحكمة الدستورية العليا هي رأس القضاء الكويتي. تتولى هذه المحكمة تفسير الدستور وتنظر في النزاعات المتعلقة بدستورية القوانين والتشريعات واللوائح. ويعتبر حكم أو قرار المحكمة الدستورية العليا ملزما لجميع المحاكم الأدنى.

أعلى الصفحة

التعديلات والإجراءات الدستورية

للأمير أو لثلث أعضاء مجلس الأمة الحق في اقتراح مراجعة بعض نصوص الدستور سواء عن طريق تعديلها أو حذفها أو إضافة نصوص جديدة. فإذا أقرّ الأمير وغالبية أعضاء مجلس الأمة مبدأ المراجعة ومادتها أو موضوعها، يناقش مجلس الأمة مشروع التعديل المقترح مادة مادة. ويتطلب إصدار مشروع التعديل موافقة ثلثي أعضاء مجلس الأمة. ولا يمكن مراجعة النصوص المتعلقة بالنظام الأميري في الكويت وبمبادئ الحرية والمساواة. وتجوز المراجعة فقط إذا كانت تتعلق بتغيير اسم الإمارة أو إذا كانت تهدف إلى زيادة الضمانات الخاصة بالحرية والمساواة.

أعلى الصفحة

الاتفاقيات الدولية

وقعت الكويت "العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية" و "العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية".

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Constitution: Kuwait
You may also
 

Historical Background

Kuwait is a constitutional monarchy. In 1962, an elected Constituent Assembly drew up the constitution of Kuwait, which authorizes the ruling family to choose an Emir, who is the chief executive and can proclaim legislation by decree. Kuwait is governed by this constitution, which established a National Assembly. The constitution came into force on January 29, 1963 when the first Kuwaiti National Assembly convened.

Top of this page

Separation of Executive, Legislative, and Judicial Powers

The system of government is based on the separation of powers. Legislative power is vested in the Emir and the Assembly. Executive power is vested in the Emir, as the head of state, and in the cabinet. Judicial power is vested in the courts, which exercise it in the name of the Emir within the limits of the constitution. The Emir’s person is immune and inviolable. The Emir appoints the prime minister and two deputy prime ministers. The Council of Ministers is appointed by the prime minister and approved by the Emir. The National Assembly has the authority to withdraw confidence from ministers and the cabinet, although individual members of the National Assembly may not interfere with the work of either the judicial or the executive power.

Top of this page

Main Provisions

The Emir has the right to initiate and promulgate laws and to issue decrees and regulations necessary for the execution of the laws. Promulgation of laws takes place within thirty days of their submission by the National Assembly to the Emir, after being confirmed in the Assembly by a two-thirds majority vote. This period is reduced to seven days in case of urgency. If the period of promulgation expires without the head of state demanding reconsideration, the bill is considered as having been sanctioned and is promulgated.

The Emir declares defensive war and martial law by decree. Such decrees are referred to the National Assembly within fifteen days. Martial law may not continue unless a decision to that effect is made by a majority vote in the Assembly. The Emir also concludes treaties by decree and transmits them to the National Assembly for approval. The Emir appoints and dismisses civil, military, and diplomatic officials. The Emir may grant a pardon or commute a sentence. However, a general amnesty is only granted by law. In the event of his absence outside the country and the inability of the heir apparent to act as deputy for him, the Emir appoints a deputy who, at a special sitting of the National Assembly, takes the oath to be loyal to the Emir.

Should the need arise for urgent measures to be taken while the National Assembly is not in session or is dissolved, the Emir may issue decrees which have the force of law, provided that they are not contrary to the constitution or to the appropriations included in the budget law. Such decrees are referred to the National Assembly within the fifteen days following their issue if the Assembly is in session. If the Assembly does not confirm them, they retrospectively cease to have the force of law.

The constitution describes Kuwait’s political system as democratic, with sovereignty residing in the people. Justice, liberty, equality, and cooperation are listed as the main social values, and the state is to ensure security, tranquility, and equal opportunities for citizens. Personal liberty and equality of rights and duties before the law, irrespective of race, origin, language, or religion, are guaranteed. There are safeguards against arbitrary arrest and torture. Also safeguarded are the freedom of movement, the presumption of innocence, and the right to trial. According to the constitution, freedom of belief is absolute. The State protects the freedom of practicing religion in accordance with established customs, provided that it does not conflict with public policy or morals. Individuals have the right of private assembly without permission or prior notification, and the police may not attend such private meetings. However, public meetings and rallies are firmly restricted by the law of public assembly issued in 1979 by Emiri decree while the parliament was suspended. The law was approved by parliament in 1981 upon lifting its suspension. The 1979 law stipulated that Kuwaiti citizens must obtain a permit from the authorities before they hold any public meeting or rally. On May 1, 2006 the constitutional court abrogated that part of the public assembly law. Kuwaiti citizens need only notify the authorities of their intention to hold public meetings and rallies without having to wait for an official approval or permission.

Top of this page

Civil Rights

Freedom of opinion, the press, printing, and publishing, and freedom to form associations and unions on a national basis and by peaceful means that are “not contrary to morals” are guaranteed “in accordance with the conditions and manner specified by law.” Every Kuwaiti has the right to work and to choose his type of work. Work is a duty of every citizen “necessitated by personal dignity and public good.” The state makes work available to citizens and makes its terms equitable.

Individual rights protected by the constitution are extensive and include personal liberty and equality before the law, freedom to hold beliefs and express opinions, and freedom of the press. The residences of citizens are inviolable, the torture and the deportation of Kuwaiti citizens are prohibited, and the accused are assumed innocent until proven guilty. Also guaranteed is the freedom to form associations and trade unions.

Top of this page

Constitutional Court

The Superior Constitutional Court is the highest level of the Kuwaiti judiciary. The Superior Constitutional Court interprets the constitution and deals with disputes related to the constitutionality of laws, statutes and by-laws. The judgment of the Constitutional Court is binding on all lower courts.

Top of this page

Constitutional Amendments and Procedures

The Emir or one-third of the National Assembly has the right to propose revising provisions in the Constitution by amending , deleting or adding new ones. If the Emir and the majority of the National Assembly approve the principle of revision and its subject matter, the Assembly debates the bill article by article. Approval by a two-thirds majority is required for the bill to be passed. The provisions relating to the Emiri System in Kuwait and the principles of liberty and equality are not subject to revision except in relation to the title of the Emirate or to the increase of the guarantees of liberty and equality.

Top of this page

International Conventions

.Kuwait is a signatory to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR) and the International Covenant on Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights (ICESCR).

Top of this page