إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

Skip Navigation Linksبرنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: الدستور: لبنان
يمكنكم أيضا
 

التاريخ الدستوري

ينص دستور 1990 المعدّل على أن لبنان جمهورية ذات نظام يسمح بتعدد الأحزاب يرتكز إلى جماعات دينية متعددة. ويحوي الدستور مبادئ الفصل بين السلطات الحكومية الثلاث وتوازنها وتعاونها. رئيس الجمهورية هو رئيس الدولة، ورئيس الوزراء، والمعروف أيضا بلقب رئيس مجلس الوزراء، هو رئيس الحكومة. وينتخب مجلس النواب رئيس الجمهورية بأغلبية الثلثين لفترة ست سنوات. ويمكن إعادة انتخابه بعد مرور ست سنوات على انتهاء ولايته. لكن مجلس النواب اللبناني عدّل الدستور في 3 أيلول/سبتمبر 2004 لأجل تمديد ولاية رئيس الجمهورية الحالي استثنائيا لثلاث سنوات إضافية.

أعلى الصفحة

الفصل بين السلطات التنفيذية والتشريعية والقضائية

يرأس رئيس الجمهورية المجلس الأعلى للدفاع وهو القائد الأعلى للقوات المسلحة. ويترأس مجلس الوزراء عندما يشاء من دون أن يصوت، ويدعو مجلس الوزراء استثنائيا إلى اجتماعات طارئة. ويعين رئيس الحكومة بالتشاور مع رئيس مجلس النواب، ويحيل مشاريع القوانين، التي ترفع إليه من مجلس الوزراء، إلى مجلس النواب. ويعتمد رئيس الجمهورية السفراء ويتسلم أوراق اعتمادهم. ويمنح العفو بمرسوم خاص، ولكن العفو العام لا يمنح إلا بقانون صادر عن مجلس النواب.

أعلى الصفحة

الأحكام الأساسية

لكن المادة 54 من الدستور تنص على أن كل قانون أو مرسوم يصدره رئيس الجمهورية يجب أن يوقعه أيضا رئيس الوزراء والوزير المختص. والاستثناءان الوحيدان هما مرسوم تعيين رئيس الوزراء ومرسوم قبول استقالة الحكومة. ويتفاوض رئيس الجمهورية في شأن عقد المعاهدات الدولية وإبرامها بالاتفاق مع رئيس الحكومة الذي يوقّع إلى جانبه على تلك المعاهدات.

يصدر رئيس الجمهورية القوانين خلال شهر من إبلاغ الحكومة بأن مجلس النواب قد أقرها. ويمكنه إصدار المراسيم وطلب نشرها. وله حق الطلب إلى مجلس الوزراء إعادة النظر في قراراته. والكلمة الأخيرة لمجلس الوزراء، ولكن لرئيس الجمهورية الحق في طلب مناقشة إضافية واحدة بخصوص أي قانون تم إقراره.

ينتقي رئيس الحكومة وزراءه بالتشاور مع رئيس الجمهورية ومع أعضاء مجلس النواب. ويعيّن رئيس الجمهورية رئيس الحكومة ونائب رئيس الحكومة بالتشاور مع أعضاء المجلس النيابي. ويمكن اختيار الوزراء من مجلس النواب أو من خارجه. وأما المبادرة إلى سن القوانين فمن مهمة مجلس النواب ومجلس الوزراء.

يتمتع القضاة باستقلالية في ممارسة مهامهم. ولا توجد مراجعة قضائية للقوانين التشريعية. وحرية ضمير القضاة مطلقة. ويكفل الدستور المساواة أمام القانون، وحرية التعبير والصحافة، والتحرر من الاعتقالات التعسفية، واعتماد مبدأ الكفاءة في الوصول إلى الموارد. والتعليم حر "ما دام لا يتعارض مع النظام العام ومع الأخلاق الحميدة ولا يمس كرامة العقائد الدينية".

أعلى الصفحة

المحكمة الدستورية

يحكم المجلس الدستوري المؤلف من عشرة أعضاء، والذي تشكل سنة 1990، على دستورية القوانين ويتمتع بسلطة البت في المنازعات والطعون الناشئة عن الانتخابات الرئاسية والنيابية. ويحق اللجوء إلى هذا المجلس لكل من رئيس الجمهورية ورئيس مجلس النواب ورئيس مجلس الوزراء أو لعشرة من النواب. كما يحق لرؤساء الطوائف المعترف بها قانونيا مراجعة هذا المجلس على أن تحصر مراجعاتهم في ما يخص الأحوال الشخصية، وحرية المعتقد وممارسة الشعائر الدينية، وحرية التعليم الديني.

ينص الدستور أيضا على تأسيس محكمة عليا وظيفتها محاكمة رئيس الجمهورية والوزراء. وتتألف هذه المحكمة من سبعة أعضاء ينتخبهم مجلس النواب وثمانية من كبار القضاة اللبنانيين.

أعلى الصفحة

التعديلات والإجراءات الدستورية

يمكن لرئيس الجمهورية ولمجلس النواب أن يقترحا مراجعة في الدستور. وباستطاعة مجلس النواب في جلسته العادية الموافقة على مراجعة الدستور بناء على اقتراح ما لا يقل عن عشرة من أعضائه. ويقتضي وضع إجراءات التعديل المعقدة واعتماد التعديل النهائي موافقة أغلبية ثلثي أعضاء مجلس النواب.

استكمل دستور 1926، الذي تم تعديله في الأعوام 1927 و 1929 و 1943، بالميثاق الوطني لعام 1943 عندما كان المسيحيون أكثرية السكان. ونص الميثاق الوطني، وهو ميثاق غير مكتوب، على أن يكون رئيس الجمهورية مسيحيا مارونيا، ورئيس الدولة مسلما سنيا، ورئيس مجلس النواب مسلما شيعيا. كما نص على أن تكون نسبة المقاعد النيابية ستة مقاعد للمسيحيين مقابل كل خمسة مقاعد للمسلمين، وأن يتم تخصيص المناصب الحكومية الأخرى بناء على معايير طائفية مماثلة. وحافظت التعديلات الدستورية التي أقرت سنة 1990 على التوزيعات الطائفية ولكنها زادت من سلطة المسلمين من خلال تقسيم المقاعد النيابية مناصفة بين المسيحيين والمسلمين. ويراعى هذا التوزيع الطائفي أيضا في التعيينات للوظائف الحكومية. إلغاء الطائفية السياسية هدف وطني أساسي وسوف يتم تحقيقه وفقا لخطة تدريجية بحسب ما نصت عليه المادة 95 من الدستور. لبنان بلد عربي الهوية والانتماء. وهو عضو مؤسس وفاعل في جامعة الدول العربية يلتزم مواثيقها واتفاقاتها. كما أن لبنان عضو مؤسس وفاعل في منظمة الأمم المتحدة يلتزم مواثيقها والإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان.

أعلى الصفحة

الاتفاقيات الدولية

لبنان طرف في العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية وفي العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

Skip Navigation LinksPOGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Constitution: Lebanon
You may also
 

Historical Background

The revised constitution of 1990 declares that Lebanon is a republic with a multiparty system based on multiple religious groups. The Constitution contains the principles of separation of powers and balance and cooperation among the three branches of government. The president is the head of state and the prime minister, also called the President of the Council of Ministers, is the head of government. The president of the Republic is elected by the National Assembly by a two-thirds majority for a six-year term and normally may not stand for re-election until six years after the end of his mandate. The Lebanese parliament amended the constitution on September 3, 2004, however, to extend the incumbent president’s term exceptionally for an additional three years.

Top of this page

Separation of Executive, Legislative, and Judicial Powers

The president of the Republic presides over the Higher Defense Council and is the supreme head of the armed forces. The president also presides over the Council of Ministers when he so wishes, without participating in a vote, and he may convene the Council of Ministers in emergency meetings. The president appoints the prime minister, in consultation with the speaker of the parliament, and transmits the draft laws, which are presented to him by the Council of Ministers, to the parliament. The president accredits the ambassadors and receives their credentials. He may pardon by decree, but general amnesty may only be granted by parliamentary action.

Top of this page

Main Provisions

Article 54 of the Constitution stipulates that every act of the president must be countersigned by the prime minister or by the relevant minister. The only exceptions are the decree appointing the prime minister and the decree accepting the resignation of the government. The president may negotiate and ratify international treaties, but they also require the signature of the prime minister.

The President of the Republic promulgates laws within one month following the communication to the government that the law has passed. He may also issue decrees and request their publication. He has the right to request the Council of Ministers to reconsider its decisions. The Council of Ministers has the final word, but the president may require one additional debate regarding a law that has already been passed.

The prime minister chooses his ministers, in consultation with the president of the Republic and the members of the National Assembly. The president, in consultation with the National Assembly, appoints the prime minister and the deputy prime minister. Ministers may be selected from within the parliament or outside of it. The initiative for laws belongs to the National Assembly and the Council of Ministers.

Judges are independent in the exercise of their functions. There is no judicial review of legislative acts. Freedom of conscience is absolute. Equality before the law, freedom of expression, the press, freedom from arbitrary arrests, and meritocracy in the access to resources are constitutionally guaranteed. Education is free, “so long as it is not contrary to public order and good manners, and does not touch the dignity of creeds.”

Top of this page

Constitutional Court

The ten-member Constitutional Council, created in 1990, rules on the constitutionality of laws and has the power to settle litigation over presidential and parliamentary elections. The right of recourse to this Council belongs to the president of the Republic, to the president of the parliament, to the president of the Council of Ministers, to any ten members of the parliament, as well as to the heads of the legally recognized communities for matters concerning personal status, liberty of conscience, exercise of the religion, and freedom of religious education.

The constitution also establishes a Higher Court, whose function is to judge the president and the ministers. It is composed of seven members elected by the parliament and eight of the highest Lebanese judges.

Top of this page

Constitutional Amendments and Procedures

The President of the Republic and the parliament may suggest revisions to the constitution. The parliament may, during an ordinary session and on the proposal of at least ten members, voice the wish that the constitution be revised. A majority of two-thirds of the total membership is required to initiate complex amendment procedures and to adopt the final amendment.

The 1926 constitution, amended in 1927, 1929, and 1943, was complemented by the National Pact of 1943, when Christians were a majority according to the last census of 1932. The National Pact, an unwritten covenant, provided for a Maronite Christian president, a Sunni Muslim prime minister, and a Shiite Muslim speaker of parliament. It also provided that the ratio of seats in parliament would be six Christian seats for every five Muslim seats, and other government posts would be allotted on similar sectarian criteria. The constitutional amendments passed in 1990 preserved confessional allotments, but gave Muslims increased power, for example, by dividing parliament’s seats equally between Christians and Muslims. This sectarian distribution is also to be observed in appointments to public office. The abolition of political confessionalism is a basic national goal and shall be achieved according to a gradual plan according to article 95 of the constitution. Lebanon is Arab in its identity and in its association. It is a founding and active member of the League of Arab States and abides by its pacts and covenants. Lebanon is also a founding and active member of the United Nations Organization and abides by its covenants and by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Top of this page

International Conventions

Lebanon, is a party to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR) and the International Covenant on Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights (ICESCR).

Top of this page