إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: القضاء: عُمان
يمكنكم أيضا
 

الأساس القضائي والتدوين القانوني

يعتمد النظام القانوني العماني أساسا على تقاليد الشريعة الإسلامية بحسب المذهب الاباضي. وما تزال الأعراف والتقاليد والشريعة تحتل مكانة مهمة كمرجعيات تهتدي بها عملية إصدار الأحكام القضائية، على الرغم من وجود مجموعة متنامية من القوانين المقننة. وتضمن المادة 60 من القانون الأساسي الصادر سنة 1996 استقلال القضاء. وصدرت المراسيم رقم 90-93 لعام 1999 لأجل توافق القضاء مع القانون الأساسي. وقد خففت هذه الإصلاحات إلى حد كبير من تعقيدات النظام القضائي وادمجت سلطات المحاكم الخاصة ضمن نظام قانوني واحد. ويفصّل المرسوم الوزاري رقم 128 لعام 2001 مسؤوليات القضاة في التحكيم وفي التعبير العلني عن التصورات والآراء القانونية، وإصدار الفتاوى.

صدر قانون تجاري واسع بفعل المرسوم السلطاني رقم 55 لعام 1990. ومن المعتقد أن مبادئ هذا القانون مستمدة من القانون التجاري الكويتي لعام 1981 والقانون المدني الفرنسي والقانون المصري. وتم تقنين قانون العمل لأول مرة سنة 1973 ثم عدّل عدة مرات منذ ذلك الحين. ويعتبر قانون المصارف لعام 1974 واحدا من أكثر القوانين تقدما في منطقة الخليج. وصدر قانون العقوبات بمرسوم سلطاني رقم 7 لعام 1974.

أعلى الصفحة

هيكل القضاء ونظام المحاكم

أنشأ المرسوم السلطاني رقم 90 لعام 1999 نظام محاكم من ثلاثة مستويات بدلا من نظام المحاكم السابق المؤلف من محاكم شرعية ومحاكم تجارية ومحاكم جزائية. ففي ظل النظام الجديد تنظر المحاكم الابتدائية في جميع القضايا المدنية والجنائية والتجارية. وتم إنشاء محاكم ابتدائية في 40 منطقة بمعدل محكمة واحدة لكل منطقة. ويرأس جلسات هذه المحاكم قاض منفرد. ولكن المحاكم السبعة الموجودة في أكبر بلديات عُمان لدى كل منها هيئة محكمة من ثلاثة قضاة يتمتعون أيضا بصلاحيات للنظر في الحالات الخاصة. وعلى المستوى التالي في هيكل الاستئناف توجد "محاكم الاستئناف"، وهي موزعة على 6 مناطق في عُمان. وتتألف محاكم الاستئناف من ثلاثة قضاة شرعيين.

أعلى الصفحة

السلطة القضائية وتعيين القضاة

تنص المادة 63 من "القانون الأساسي" على أن تكون جميع جلسات المحاكم علنية ما لم تتطلب المحافظة على الهدوء جعلها سريّة أو مغلقة. وأنشئت "وزارة الشؤون القانونية" في سنة 1994 لتقوم بوظيفة الجهاز الإداري للقضاء. وحلت هذه الوزارة محل "ديوان التشريعات" الذي أسس سنة 1975. وتراجع الوزارة جميع المراسيم ومشروعات القوانين قبل نشرها في الجريدة الرسمية وإعلانها. وتتولى الوزارة أيضا مهمة تنسيق الأعمال المترتبة على السلطة القضائية. وجميع التعيينات القضائية تصدر عن السلطان.

نصت المادة 66 من القانون الأساسي على تأسيس مجلس القضاء الأعلى، بينما حدد المرسوم السلطاني رقم 93 لعام 1999 مهام هذا المجلس وتركيبه. السلطان يرأس المجلس. أما وظيفة المجلس فهي صياغة السياسة القضائية وضمان استقلالية القضاء.

بعد إنشاء نظام المحاكم الجديد سنة 2001 تمّ تقليص صلاحيات المحاكم الشرعية إلى حدود قضايا الأحوال الشخصية، مع العلم بأن هذه المحاكم كانت في السابق تفصل في جميع القضايا المدنية وفي معظم القضايا الجنائية. وترفع الاستئنافات الخاصة بقرارات المحاكم الشرعية إلى محاكم الاستئناف.

أعلى الصفحة

المحكمة العليا

المحكمة العليا مسؤولة عن توحيد المبدأ القانوني وعن مراجعة قرارات المحاكم الأدنى. وأي استئنافات تتجاوز المحكمة العليا ترفع مباشرة إلى السلطان الذي يقرر أو يحكم في المسائل المعروضة عليه وفقا لمفهومه الخاص للعدالة.

أعلى الصفحة

الهيئات الخاصة

كانت عُمان في السابق تمتلك العديد من المحاكم الخاصة مثل المحكمة التجارية، ومحكمة العمل، ولجنة الضرائب، ومحكمة البلدية. وتم حديثا نقل سلطات هذه المحاكم إلى المحاكم الابتدائية بموجب قانون السلطة القضائية لعام 1999. لكن "محكمة أمن الدولة" ما تزال قائمة للنظر في قضايا تمس الأمن الداخلي. وقد عرف عن السلطان ميله إلى تخفيف الأحكام الصادرة عن محكمة أمن الدولة. والمحكمة الإدارية هي هيئة خاصة أخرى تنظر في القضايا المتصلة بقرارات وإجراءات صادرة عن هيئات حكومية.

أعلى الصفحة

الدراسة القضائية ومهنة القضاء

ينظّم المرسوم السلطاني رقم 108 لعام 1996 مهنة المحاماة. كما أن وزارة العدل أنشأت لجنة مهمتها تنظيم نشاط المحامين الأجانب والمحليين. وتتولى كلية الشريعة والفقه تدريب الطلاب على مهنة القانون. ولكي يصبح الطلاب قضاة عليهم التخصص في الشريعة والفقه عبر التحاقهم بمستوى دراسي أعلى. ويتم حاليا وضع خطط لإنشاء كلية جديدة تتولى تدريب القضاة.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Judiciary: Oman
You may also
 

Judicial Foundation and Legal Codification

The legal system of Oman is based primarily on the Islamic Shari’a traditions of the Ibadi school. Custom, tradition, and Shari’a still occupy important places as guides in judicial decision-making, although there is a growing body of codified laws. The independence of the judiciary is guaranteed in Article 60 of the Basic Law adopted in 1996. Royal Decrees 90-93 of 1999 were issued in order to bring the judiciary into line with the Basic Law. These reforms greatly simplified the judicial system and consolidated the jurisdictions of the special courts into one regular system. Ministerial Decree 128 of 2001 delineates judges’ responsibilities in arbitration, public expression of legal views, and the issuance of fatwas.

In 1990, a broad Commercial Law came into effect by virtue of Royal Decree No. 55 of 1990. The principles of this corpus of laws draw on the Kuwaiti commercial code of 1981, French Civil Code and Egyptian Law. The Labor Law was initially codified in 1973 and has been amended several times since then. The Banking Law of 1974 is considered to be one of the most advanced in the Gulf region. Royal Decree No. 7 of 1974 established the Penal Code.

Top of this page

Judicial Structure and Court System

Royal Decree 90 of 1999 established a three-tier court system in place of the earlier system of Sharia Courts, Commercial Courts and Penal Courts. Under the new system, all civil, criminal and commercial cases are heard in the Courts of First Instance, established with one in each of 40 provinces. A single judge presides over each of these courts, but the seven courts in Oman’s largest municipalities additionally possess a panel of three judges with jurisdiction over special cases. Next in the appellate structure are the Courts of Appeal, which exist in six circuits in Oman. The Appeals Courts are composed of three Qadis, or religious judges.

Top of this page

Judicial Authority and Appointment of Judges

Article 63 of the Basic Law states that all court hearings are to be public unless privacy is required for the purposes of keeping the peace. In 1994, the Ministry of Legal Affairs was established to serve as an administrative organ of the judiciary. This body replaced the Diwan of Legislation, an office created in 1975. The Ministry reviews all decrees and draft-laws prior to their publication in the Official Gazette and promulgation. The Ministry also has the task of coordinating the further developments of the judicial branch. The sultan makes all judicial appointments.

Article 66 of the Basic Law established the Supreme Council of the Judiciary, whose functions and composition were defined by Royal Decree 93 of 1999. The council is chaired by the Sultan. Its function is to formulate judicial policy and ensure the independence of the judiciary.

The Shari’a Courts, which formerly held competency in all civil and most criminal cases, had their jurisdiction restricted to cases involving matters of personal status when the new court system was established in 2001. Appeals to decisions of Sharia courts are brought before the Courts of Appeal.

Top of this page

Supreme Court

The Supreme Court is responsible for standardizing legal principle and reviewing the decisions of lower courts. Any appeals beyond the Supreme Court must be made directly to the Sultan who determines matters brought before him in accordance with his own notions of justice.

Top of this page

Special Bodies

Oman formerly possessed numerous special courts, including the Commercial Court, the Labour Court, the Taxation Committee and the Municipality Court. Their jurisdictions were recently subsumed by the Courts of First Instance under the Judicial Authority Law of 1999. The State Security Court still exists to try cases related to national security, though the Sultan has been known to show leniency in overseeing the sentences it issues. The Administrative Court is another special body with competency to hear cases involving decisions and actions of governmental bodies.

Top of this page

Judicial Education and Profession

Royal Decree 108 of 1996 regulates the legal profession. The Ministry of Justice also maintains a committee to regulate the activities of foreign and local lawyers. The College of Sharia and Jurisprudence trains students for the legal profession. To become judges, students must specialize in Sharia Jurisprudence in a further course. Plans are under way to create a new school for the purpose of training judges.

Top of this page