إدارة الحكم في الدولة
بحث

تلميح: يرجى إدخال كلمة أو جملة البحث كما في محرك البحث Google، ثم الضغط على زر "بحث" أو المفتاح "ENTER"

برنامج إدارة الحكم في الدول العربية > الدول > ملامح الدولة: القضاء: مصر
يمكنكم أيضا
 

الأساس القضائي والتدوين القانوني

يقوم النظام القضائي المصري على مزيج من تقاليد "القانون المدني" ومبادئ الشريعة الإسلامية. وتطبق الشريعة الإسلامية أساسا على المسلمين في الأمور العائلية والأحوال الشخصية والميراث. وعلى الرغم من إخضاع غير المسلمين لقوانين الشريعة فيما يتعلق بالميراث، فقد سمح لهم بالاحتفاظ بقضاء مستقل في جميع المسائل الأخرى. وتشمل المدونات القانونية الرئيسية القانون المدني المتضمن في القانون رقم 131 الصادر في تموز/يوليو 1948؛ وقانون أصول المحاكمات المدنية المتضمن في القانون رقم 13 لعام 1968؛ والقانون التجاري لعام 1983 المعدّل بالقانون رقم 30 لعام 1984؛ والقانون الجنائي المتضمن في القانون رقم 58 لعام 1937 والذي تم تعديله في عامي 1950 و 1952؛ وقانون أصول المحاكمات الجنائية لعام 1950 والذي تم تعديله عام 1952 وتعديله بالقانون رقم 107 لعام 1962.

أعلى الصفحة

هيكل القضاء ونظام المحاكم

تنقسم المحاكم الدنيا، وهي المحاكم الجزئية والمحاكم الكلية، إلى محاكم مدنية وجنائية. وللمحاكم الجزئية صلاحية الفصل في المخالفات البسيطة والجنح، والقضايا المدنية والتجارية البسيطة، وقضايا الأحوال الشخصية البسيطة والقضايا المتعلقة بمنازعات العمل. وتنعقد المحاكم الكلية في هيئة من ثلاثة قضاة للفصل في الاستئنافات المرفوعة من المحاكم الجزئية ومن محاكم البداية للفصل في القضايا المدنية والتجارية التي تتعدى 250 جنيها مصريا (60 دولارا أميركيا) وفي جميع قضايا الأحوال الشخصية المهمة.

تنظر محاكم الاستئناف العليا في القضايا المرفوعة من محاكم البداية. ويجب ألا يقل عمر قضاة المحاكم الجزئية والكلية عن 28 سنة وان يكونوا أعضاء في نقابة المحامين منذ سبع سنوات على الأقل. كما أن أساتذة القانون والمدعين العامين الذين لهم سبع سنوات من الخبرة أو اكثر مؤهلين للعمل كقضاة في هذه المحاكم.

تنعقد محاكم الاستئناف العليا السبعة في هيئة من ثلاثة قضاة. وهذه المحاكم موجودة في القاهرة والإسكندرية وطنطا والمنصورة وأسيوط وبني سويف والإسماعيلية. وتنقسم هذه المحاكم إلى محاكم مدنية وجنائية. ويتم اختيار قضاة محاكم الاستئناف العليا من بين ثلاث مجموعات من الفقهاء هم: رؤساء المحاكم الجزئية والكلية الذين لا تقل أعمارهم عن 38 سنة، وأساتذة الجامعات الذين امضوا ما لا يقل عن خمس سنوات في تدريس القانون، والمحامون الذين مضى على عضويتهم في نقابة المحامين ما لا يقل عن 15 سنة والذين حصلوا على إذن بالمرافعة أمام المحكمة العليا لثلاث سنوات على الأقل.

أعلى الصفحة

السلطة القضائية وتعيين القضاة

يعين القضاة بمرسوم حكومي. وتعطي المادتان 174 و 178 من الدستور لجهاز قضائي مستقل آخر، وهو المحكمة الدستورية، صلاحية تقرير المسائل الدستورية. ولهذه المحكمة التي أسست في القاهرة سنة 1961 صلاحية حصرية حول دستورية القوانين والقواعد والأنظمة. وتنشر قرارات المحكمة الدستورية العليا في الجريدة الرسمية.

اختار مجلس القضاء الأعلى في مصر في آذار/مارس 2007 (31) قاضية من بين 124 مرشحة من هيئتي النيابة الإدارية وقضايا الدولة. وأدت 30 قاضية في 10 نيسان/إبريل 2007 اليمين القانونية أمام مجلس القضاء الأعلى، فيما اعتذرت إحدى القضاة عن عدم قبول وظيفتها الجديدة. وستتسلم القاضيات عملهن في المحاكم الابتدائية. وسبق هذا الاختيار تمكن امرأة هي المستشارة تهاني الجبالي من أن تصبح أول قاضية في تاريخ مصر عام 2003، لكنها لم تفصل في أي قضية إذ تم تعيينها عضوا في المحكمة الدستورية العليا. وأثار تعيين القاضيات غضب إسلاميين ودعاة وعدد من القضاة الذكور الذين اعتبروا أن الإسلام لا يبيح تولي المرأة ولاية القضاء. وفي المقابل، رحبت جمعيات حقوقية ونسائية بهذه الخطوة. وقال رئيس مجلس القضاء الأعلى "إن الشريعة الإسلامية والدستور والقانون المصري لا يمنع المرأة من التعيين في القضاء، وما أعاق هذه الخطوة أن الرأي العام المصري لم يكن مهيئا لها".

أعلى الصفحة

المحكمة العليا

تقع المحكمة العليا، أو محكمة التمييز، في رأس النظام القضائي الهرمي، وتتألف من 30 قاضيا، بمن فيهم رئيس القضاة، وتنعقد في هيئة من خمسة قضاة على الأقل. القاهرة مقر هذه المحكمة. وهي المحكمة النهائية للاستئنافات الناتجة عن أخطاء قانونية وقعت في المحاكم الدنيا. وقرارات هذه المحكمة غير ملزمة قانونيا، ولكن ينظر إليها كمرجعية مقنعة.

يتم اختيار قضاة المحكمة العليا من بين القضاة الذين لهم خبرة لا تقل عن سنتين كقضاة في محاكم الاستئناف العليا، ومن أساتذة القانون الذين لهم خبرة لا تقل عن 20 سنة في مجالهم، ومن المحامين الذين أمضوا 20 سنة على الأقل كأعضاء في نقابة المحامين وثماني سنوات من المرافعة أمام المحكمة العليا.

أعلى الصفحة

الهيئات الخاصة

يشمل مجلس الدولة نظام المحاكم الإدارية التي لها صلاحية الفصل في القضايا التي تكون الدولة طرفا فيها. ويستمد المجلس سلطته من المادة 172 من دستور 1971. ويتولى المجلس الأعلى للقضاء جميع المسائل المتعلقة بتعيين القضاة وترقيتهم ومناقلاتهم. ويتألف هذا المجلس، الذي يرأسه رئيس القضاة، من قاضيين من قضاة المحكمة العليا ومن رئيس محكمة الاستئناف ومحكمة البداية في القاهرة ومن النائب العام ووكيل وزارة العدل.

أعلى الصفحة

الدراسة القضائية ومهنة القضاء

توجد كليات للقانون في جامعات القاهرة وعين شمس والأزهر والمنصورة والإسكندرية وفي الجمعية المصرية للقانون الدولي. وللمحامين المصريين نقابة واحدة مقرها القاهرة يرأسها نقيب منتخب لمدة سنتين بينما ينتخب أعضاء مجلس النقابة لمدة أربع سنوات.

أعلى الصفحة

© كافة الحقوق محفوظة www.pogar.org. البريد الإلكتروني: info@pogar.org. للاتصال بنا

Country Governance
Search

Tip: Enter a search term (word or phrase, as in Google) and press ENTER or click the search button

POGAR > Countries > Country Theme: Judiciary: Egypt
You may also
 

Judicial Foundation and Legal Codification

The Egyptian system of law is based on a combination of Civil Law traditions and Islamic legal concepts. Islamic law is applicable primarily to Muslims in matters of family, personal status, and inheritance. Although non-Muslims are subject to Shari’a laws with respect to inheritance matters, they have been allowed to maintain separate legislation in all other matters. The chief legal codifications include the Civil Code contained in Law No. 131 of July 1948; the Code of Civil Procedure contained in Law No. 13 of 1968; the Commercial Code of 1983, revised by Law No. 30 of 1984; the Criminal Code contained in Law No. 58 of 1937, and reformed in 1950 and 1952; and the Code of Criminal Procedure of 1950, reformed in 1952 and amended by Law No. 107 of 1962.

Top of this page

Judicial Structure and Court System

The lowest level courts are the Summary Tribunals (Mahakim Guz’iya) and Summary Tribunals of First Instance (Mahakim Kulliya), both of which are subdivided into civil and criminal courts. The Summary Tribunals are empowered to settle minor offenses and misdemeanors, civil and commercial cases of lesser value, minor personal status matters, and labor issues. The Tribunals of First Instance sit in three-judge panels to hear appeals from the Summary Tribunals, and, in the first instance, civil and commercial cases exceeding 250 Egyptian Pounds (about $60) and all significant personal status matters.

Appeals from Tribunals of First Instance are heard by the High Courts of Appeal (Mahkama al-Isti’naf). Judges of the Summary Tribunals and Tribunals of First Instance must be at least 28 years old and hold membership in the Bar Association for at least seven years. Law professors and public prosecutors with at least seven years of experience are also eligible.

The seven High Courts of Appeal, located in Cairo, Alexandria, Tanta, Mansourah, Assiout, Bani-Souef, and Ismailia, sit in chambers of three judges. They are subdivided into civil and criminal courts. Members of the High Courts of Appeal are chosen from among three groups of jurors: presidents of the Tribunals who are at least 38 years old, university professors who have been teaching law for at least five years, and barristers who have been members of the Bar Association for at least 15 years and who have been given permission to plead before the Supreme Court for at least three years.

Top of this page

Judicial Authority and Appointment of Judges

Judges are appointed by governmental decree. An additional independent judicial organ, the Supreme Constitutional Court, is empowered by Articles 174 to 178 of the Constitution to determine matters of constitutionality. Established in 1969 in Cairo, the Court has exclusive jurisdiction over questions of constitutionality of laws, rules, and regulations. Decisions of the Supreme Constitutional Court are published in the official Gazette.

In March 2007, the Supreme Judicial Council in Egypt chose 31 women to be judges out of 124 female candidates who work for the administrative prosecution office and at the department of the state's legal cases. Thirty of the newly appointed judges took legal oath on April 10, 2007. One chosen female judge declined her new position. These women will be working at courts of first instance. In a previous incident, one female was able in 2003 to assume the position of a judge, but she did not hear any cases as she was appointed to the Supreme Constitutional Court. The new appointments angered Islamist activists and some male judges who expressed their objection on the pretext that Islam does not allow females to preside over judicial power. In contrast, human rights and women's organizations welcomed that move. The president of the Supreme Judicial Council said that Islamic law (Shari'a) as well as the Egyptian constitution and law do not forbid appointing women judges. He added that the move had been delayed because the Egyptian public opinion had not been ready to accept it.

Top of this page

Supreme Court

At the apex of the judicial hierarchy is the Supreme Court, or Court of Cassation, which is composed of thirty justices, including the Chief Justice, and sits in panels of at least five justices. Located in Cairo, this body serves as the final court of appeals on errors of law originating in the lower courts. Its decisions are not legally binding, but are persuasive authority.

Justices of the Supreme Court are chosen from among the judges with at least two years of experience in the High Courts of Appeal, law professors with at least 20 years of legal experience, and barristers with at least 20 years of membership in the Bar Association and eight years of experience pleading before the Supreme Court.

Top of this page

Special Bodies

The Council of State (Maglis id-Dowla) comprises an administrative court system with jurisdiction over cases involving the state. The Council derives its authority from Article 172 of the Constitution of 1971. A Supreme Judicial Council attends to all matters of appointment, promotion, and transfer of judges. Headed by the Chief Justice, it is composed of two additional justices of the Supreme Court, the President of the Court of Appeal and of the Tribunal of First Instance in Cairo, the Attorney General, and the Under-Secretary of State for Justice.

Top of this page

Judicial Education and Profession

Faculties of law include programs at Cairo University, Ain Shams University, Al-Ashar University, Mansoura University, Alexandria University, and the Egyptian Society of International Law. Lawyers in Egypt are organized in a single Egyptian Bar located in Cairo, which is headed by a president, elected for two-year terms, and board members, elected for four-year terms.

Top of this page